Starting at

$3,199.99

69

4.5 based on 69 customer reviews

46
13
9
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

What an upgrade !

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 20/04/2022 by Santesson_89 (United Kingdom)

I updated from the A7III and I couldn't be happier, the camera responsiveness is fantastic, the flip screen makes life so much easier and tons of other features will make you appreciate the camera even more !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Beware of Overheating Issues.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 23/02/2022  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to love it but, while setting it up along with a YouTube video last night it overheated in an hour and turned off. Had to extend the overheating threshold. This was without videoing or taking multiple pictures. Just set up, I want to love it but this frightens me. Hopefully this can be fixed with an update SOON!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

79 Customer Reviews

0

Best ergonomics ever!

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 15/05/2022 by Dr Panos (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently and I am impressed by the level of customization you can have in this camera. Within minutes, everything was so intuitive... I can just think about the photos now and not about the camera settings. Also, I haven't seen autofocus working like that... Simply amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far so good

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15/05/2022 by footprint photography (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as an extra body to support my Sony Alpha 1. There are some features (the articulated back for one) that I wish was on the A1. Only had the camera a week or so but so far it is an excellent camera. The 10fps is a bit slow for action but for things like weddings or events it should be superb. My wife and I both enjoy using it and the images that come out of the sensor are stunningly good. The 4k video is equally good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Grey camera.

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 14/05/2022 by Daniel75d (United Kingdom)

Perfect, I am really happy. The only thing missing Video side is a video raw out, even only 25p. That can give a really Hight value to this camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony support team
16/05/2022

Hi Daniel75d,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera.
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
We'll make sure to pass your feedback about the video RAW out through the proper channels for future consideration.
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Eye focus should be called eyelash focus.

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 07/05/2022 by Cashman2112 (United Kingdom)

Really annoyed that I went for the A74 over the A73. It seemed like a no brainer and after owning a A72 and I really was looking forward to having great Eye AF on my new camera. Really annoyed that even after the firmware update it’s still front focusing on most shots.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony support team
09/05/2022

Hi Cashman2112,

We appreciate your feedback on the Real-time Eye AF function of ILCE-7M4.
We're sorry to learn that you're experiencing an issue eye focus.
We have released an update that resolves the issue as promised which you can find here: https://bit.ly/3yp0Qhv. If you updated the camera and the issue still there, we recommend following the steps below:
-Remove the battery pack, wait for about one minute, re-insert the battery pack, then turn on the power.
-Initialize the settings: https://bit.ly/38h2ffp
If the issue persists, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Great hybrid camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 07/05/2022 by Mpnde (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera on back order and it was well worth the wait. The image coming out of this camera is phenomenonal, and the eye autofocus is crisp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony support team
09/05/2022

Hi Mpnde,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera.
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Very good camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 07/05/2022 by Jono12 (United Kingdom)

Bought a few weeks ago still getting used to it after a move from Canon. Overall a great camera although the updating of firmware leaves something to be desired

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 05/05/2022 by Domotions (United Kingdom)

Bought this one and really happy with it. Good quality images.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony Support Team
09/05/2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and happy with the picture quality we always aim to deliver! We're also glad to keep you as one of our loyal family members and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come!

Moreover, don't hesitate to reach out to us over the phone, chat support and email using the details here: https://bit.ly/3xPUapp to provide us with any further feedback you may have, we’re always delighted to hear from our customers!

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

Overall Great Camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 05/05/2022 by JBinx (United Kingdom)

Had this for about a month and it’s brilliant, image quality is best in class and the features are plentiful. The cons are the overheating, the crop in 4k 60 (not the biggest issue though) and I’d of liked there to be 2 of the same dual card slot with the Type A CFexpress as they’re fast. But I get why there’s just the one of those.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony Support Team
09/05/2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and happy with the picture quality we always aim to deliver! We're also glad to keep you as one of our loyal family members and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come!

As for the overheating issue, could you ensure that your camera is running on the latest software version by following these links: https://bit.ly/3P6nLnL (Windows) & https://bit.ly/3vWNKXd (Mac)?

If the issue remains, try resetting the camera to its factory settings by following the steps described here: https://bit.ly/3ypWLdg.

If the issue is still disrupting you, we'd love to offer extra assistance. Feel free to contact us by following this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL, we will gladly assist you further!

Moreover, regarding supporting dual Type A memory cards, we appreciate your valuable feedback and we've passed it on the proper channels to be taken into consideration. to read more about the supported memory cards by this camera, check out the following link: https://bit.ly/3sohgTG.

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

Reliable

ilce-7m4-uc2 04/05/2022 by Apocalipsis (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has been such an amazing gift for Christmas. I have had it for almost 2 years and it has been so reliable and useful. If you needed to upgrade to a camera that gives stunning results this is a good starting camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 04/05/2022 by Den101 (United Kingdom)

My wife got me this camera at Xmas and it’s fantastic in each and every way . Highly recommend. And a great price to boot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor image quality

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 04/05/2022 by moldova1959 (United Kingdom)

I received this a couple of weeks ago and I have to say I am not impressed, my a7iii produces better images, I have used both cameras with the same lens and settings and the a7iv is very poor, images are darker and not as sharp as the a7iii. I dont know if it is a fault with the camera or not but I dont think I will be keeping it.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony Support Team
06/05/2022

Hi,

Thank you for leaving your review, and we're sorry to hear that our product hasn't satisfied your expectations, this is not the norm as we strive to deliver the best quality possible.

As an attempt of rectifying the issue, could you ensure that your camera is running on the latest software version by following this link: https://cutt.ly/SG1tjeb (Windows) & https://cutt.ly/RG1tTFC (Mac).

We'd also like to highlight that if the subject is beyond the flash range (the distance that the flash can reach), the pictures will be dark because the flash light cannot reach the subject. If you change the ISO, the flash range also changes.

Moreover, please follow the troubleshooting steps mentioned here: https://cutt.ly/rG1pZ7L.

If the issue persists, try to initialize the settings by following the steps described here: https://cutt.ly/gG1t883.

If the issue is still disrupting you, we would love to offer extra assistance. Feel free to contact us by following this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL, we will gladly assist you!

Mennah @Sony Support UK



0

OK BUT NOT AS ADVERTISED SO FAR

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 28/04/2022 by derekseaward (United Kingdom)

I bought this especially for the Sony quality I have with my a7r but unfortunately it doesn't shoot RAW tethered

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony Support Team
02/05/2022

Hi Derek,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties shooting RAW tethered with the camera.

You can shoot raw images, and tether the camera to the PC with the combination of some of the camera settings.
First, you need to set the camera shoot format to your desired mode: https://bit.ly/3OUeEGD.
Then you need to select ''PC Remote Function'' to ON: https://bit.ly/3F7PUqb.
Then connect the camera to Imaging edge desktop, and you can shoot, and save the images both on the camera, and the PC: https://bit.ly/3KzILQq & https://bit.ly/3F9VOXS.


If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

A Really Good Full Frame Camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 27/04/2022 by ThadeusB (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera for a short time. However, with the lenses I bought with it I am getting superb results - beautiful A3+ prints. It took a while to learn the menu system, however, it is layed out fairly logically. The camera is easy to set up for custom modes and I love the 'Back Focus' button, a great feature for wildlife photography. What is missing: focus stacking and bracketing for modes other than exposure. The overall quality is superb. I am growing to love this camera. My next purchase will be the FE 200-600mm G OSS lens. I have yet to use it for video. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

What an upgrade !

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 20/04/2022 by Santesson_89 (United Kingdom)

I updated from the A7III and I couldn't be happier, the camera responsiveness is fantastic, the flip screen makes life so much easier and tons of other features will make you appreciate the camera even more !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Exceeded my expectations

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15/04/2022 by WildernessWays (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a month ago although I always had this camera in mind from before it was even released. Seeing all the specs announced it looked to meet everything I personal need from a camera. The A7iv does not disappoint. Super happy with my camera and all the customisation it offers. The mode dial is a blessing for what I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Much simpler and more intuitive

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15/04/2022 by Bathboy2 (United Kingdom)

A while ago I bought an A7C as a travel camera and was really impressed with the quality of the images and the ease of use compared to my A7Riii. When I read the reviews of the A7IV I decided to bite the bullet and sell my A7Riii and get the newly launched A7IV. No regrets whatsoever. The camera seems to be so simple to use to get great images. Also the new menu structure means no hunting around for changes. I particularly like the separation into 2 dials of the main setting wheel. I don't take video so just leave it on the still phot and don't have to worry. The autofocus is so quick and reliable. An image attached form my first outing with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Love this camera…but

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 07/04/2022 by Mtde (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Love this camera! The image is just fantastic and it’s very nice to work with. The only weird thing is how hot it gets, not even while recording, just holding it and going through the menus it can get crazy hot….but it still seems to work fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great hybrid camera for the enthusiasts

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 06/04/2022 by N Emes (United Kingdom)

I love the upgrade from my previous A7 III. If you only take photos the A7 III is still a very capable alternative and save money towards a decent lens. But if you do videos as well this is hands down the better option, just shame about the crop mode 4K 60 hence the 4stars instead of 5, I`ve owned 2previous generations of Sony cameras and I believe it was about time not to cripple any features on a new model in 2022.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Response From Sony Support Team
11/04/2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and happy with the quality we always aim to deliver! We're also glad to keep you as one of our loyal family members and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come!

Regarding the crop mode issue, we'd like to highlight that you're able to adjust the aspect ratio of the cropping frame using the rear dial L/rear dial R. You can also change the orientation as well as the size of the cropping frame using the front dial or the control wheel. The file format and image quality setting of the cropped image will be the same as those of the original image.

For more details, check out the following link: https://bit.ly/3E1dcNG.

Moreover, don't hesitate to reach out to us over the phone, chat support and email using the details here: https://bit.ly/3xPUapp to provide us with any further feedback you may have, we’re always delighted to hear from our customers!

Mennah @Sony Support UK

0

Very MORDEN band

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 03/04/2022 by dougals dad (United Kingdom)

I filmed a young band it was the best video i have ever filmed could not believe the quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best hybrid camera ever made

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 01/04/2022 by Gabrielcraciun67 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and is the best decision iade as a photographer. The camere has great feature, great autofocus, great button placements, and lots and lots of customization. I love how the camera feels in my hands, while having a very good grip of the camera, so i feel confident when holding it, even woth heavier and longer lenses. Great picture quality, great video quality, a bit dissapointed on the x1 crop but this is just one con for me, the camera has plenty of pros.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 28/03/2022 by janeyD100 (United Kingdom)

Only had the camera a week or so, but immediately impressed by superior speed and accuracy of focusing - esp face recognition. Only thing i dont like as much as the 7M3 is the screen - bit awkward - found M3 much better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love Love Love

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 28/03/2022 by Traffik (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Almost 2 weeks in and I’m loving all the features of this Camera and the crisp photos and videos it takes. It also has great build quality because it is fully weather sealed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great upgrade from a7iii

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 28/03/2022  (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming from the a7iii, I like the upgrade to the EVF and the AF the most. The grip is more comfortable and the articulating screen with more touch capabilities is a great addition. The new video upgrades and separating photo and video settings is also a very nice feature. However I do wish the monitor resolution was better, the space between the grip and mount to be greater for people with bigger hands. Also it would be nice if the burst mode was more than 10fps, between 12 -14 fps. Overall, I'm very happy with the camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera so far

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 25/03/2022 by draganmikki (United Kingdom)

I am new to Sony photographic equipment, and with my limited experience so far I am comfortable in saying that this camera possess the best auto focusing of all cameras I have owned and worked with. I am almost certain the the dynamic range of the sensor is the best I have experienced. Small form factor is appealing feature but for the comfortable handling, when using the most of the Sony lenses, the battery grip is necessary. Quality of the images is beyond my expectations. I do find the menu quite complicated, coming from different systems, but with so many features, and being the hybrid camera, this might be the price to pay. I would not describe the ease of operating the camera as the easiest amongst the more established professional brands, but I approached this camera as a tool more akin to being designed by and for, a contemporary user without modern outlook on photography. So far, I am very happy with the purchase. My views are solely based on photographic use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16

17

0

Simply Awesome

ilce-7m4-uc2 24/03/2022 by Sam254 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The A7IV is like a baby A1. Works perfect. The image quality is Amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best hybrid camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 24/03/2022 by KristianCapuliak (United Kingdom)

So far I bought this camera week ago and it did exceeded all of my expectations. Excellent video performance, excellent photo performance, great menu system coming from previous generation camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

41

0

JACK OF ALL TRICKS BUT MASTER OF SOME.

ilce-7m4-uc2 20/03/2022 by Jll35 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

used this camera for a month now. I'm a sony user of A72,A7R3, A7C, A6600, A6400, A6500,and A6300. Patiently Watch sony improve thier camera with each reneration. My main reason for using sony now is the unlimited recording that help me to do long event plus some photos section. I know there are other company that have unlimited recording time. But AF is also important to me. I have mix feeling using A74 when it come down to video. It's amazing in photos mode. But in video mode, the camera get very hot to touch after an hr or more recording which I did not experienced in A7C or A6600. Even in 4k 420 8bit. And for some strange reason. When I plugged the power bank to extend my record time. The camera overheat even faster then it would have with just the battery. So it actually shorten your recording time with usb-c attached on it. And I cannot record higher then 1080p 60p in S&Q mode with v30 card. Where I was able to record that with A7c and a6600. Over all. This is still a very good hybrid camera. However if you are planning to record any long form in 4k. You should know that overheating is still an issue. YES. I SET THE TEMP. HIGH ON IN THE MENU.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Best camera for Photographer

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 14/03/2022 by Masst (United Kingdom)

I have used Sony camera in last 4 Years. I am very happy and at the moment I am using Sony A 9 and I was waiting for A7 IV to come and now I bought this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

128

43

0

Nice new features

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 13/03/2022 by 4wdcowboy (United Kingdom)

Coming from A7iii and A7Siii I soon got to grips with most of the features but some of the new things in A7iv are useful and quite impressive. The Focus breathing compensation and Focus Mapping are good examples It's quite difficult to seriously bring up any niggles but batter goes down faster than the A7ii and the 50/60fps 4k crop which makes what is my default option on A7Siii sometimes is annoying. I wonder if there is any way to add a further file quality option which does away with that at expense of some resolution. Anyway great new camera and do hope that focus map at least makes its way to A7Siii too by firmware update

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

19

0

Fantastic Camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 07/03/2022 by D8rters (United Kingdom)

I decided to upgrade from my A mount to a mirrorless E Mount and chose this product as my replacement. I chose this is it had an upgrade in the megapixels, a new menu system and more functionality than my old one. It also had 2 card slots, so that I couls set one up as RAW and the other as a backup in Jpeg. I also like the ability to charge 2 batteries ( I also own a grip) via the USB C slot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

65

42

0

GREAT CAMERA!

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 03/03/2022 by FabioFabs88 (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera for less than a week but I already love it. I had hired it before so I know it's incredible.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

27

Response From Sony support team
07/03/2022

Hi Fabio,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link:
https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Moe @Sony UK

0

just love this camera,

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 01/03/2022 by mike the bike bonny (United Kingdom)

fantastic auto focus and programmable buttons, great to handle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

28

0

Beware of Overheating Issues.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 23/02/2022  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to love it but, while setting it up along with a YouTube video last night it overheated in an hour and turned off. Had to extend the overheating threshold. This was without videoing or taking multiple pictures. Just set up, I want to love it but this frightens me. Hopefully this can be fixed with an update SOON!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Decent but not great

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 19/02/2022 by AdrianPhotography (United Kingdom)

Bought the camera over a month ago. Been my first Sony camera ever, I've been a different brand shooter for over 5 years. Obviously I will compare it with my other cameras. Although it features a 33mp sensor, and some will say a better low light performance, comparing with my previous camera can't say there's much of difference, although my camera had 2 years since release. After using it for few days, I've started to encounter this weird EyeAf focusing issue, every few shots I had more front focus or back focus than acceptable hits, like 6out of 10 were miss focused, on eyebrows or nose. That happened on wide aperture from 1.8 to 2.8 even 4. It happened on different focusing zones when eye af was priority. As this wasn't bad enough, the focus box confirmed focus on one eye and to find out that the other eye was more in focus, than the eye that should have been but was not. Seems there are more people encountered this issue, sadly the camera became unreliable for my use. Have no idea if this is a hardware or software related issue, as Sony support isn't that helpful as you would expect. Also, my a7iv copy seems to have more noise than normal even at low ISO, from 160 to 400 it looks like 800 to 1000 on my different brand camera (2 years old) in controled lighting conditions. It leeds me to believe that quality control isn't that strict as I would have thought for a big company like Sony. I am aware that there is a world chip crisis, but for no reason customer should pay that price, they should receive a faultless product that works as advertised.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

39

23

Response From Sony support team
21/02/2022

Hi AdrianPhotography,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you're experiencing an issue with the EyeAF and there's noise on the pics more than usual.
We're aware of the issue with the EyeAF and our engineers are working on a software update to resolve the issue.
Having read your feedback about the noise, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Mix Feelings

ilce-7m4-uc2 19/02/2022 by Ilikephotography (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 2nd a7iv body. First one was returned following the advise of Sony support - Due to focusing on eye-brows / eye lashes when using the Eye Focusing system (no problem if use the spot metering)... I need to retest it ... not sure that it solved it. Also - The camera has a tendency to show over heating symbol (and shut down unless you change the heating settings to "high"), even by just playing with the menu in video setting (not filming) ... Other than that ... this is a capable camera (if you get used to the menu system), very snappy, excellent control and flexible configuration. The lenses are very good, So nice that its supporting 3rd party lenses. The Phone connection - now that is working really nice. Not kidding here. Not the best SW out there .. but AWSOME to use for Macro, or even in the studio .. really nice and fun ! Eyepiece is not as good as I would expect for $2500 - It is better than my old Nex6, I would not say that this is the intention ... to show improvement compared to a 9 years old camera .. that costs 1/3 The back screens has such low res that it is just annoying ... remember to use that phone for critical review on the go.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Used On two big events, absolutely amazing camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 11/02/2022 by VideoManchester (United Kingdom)

I’ve bought this for professional videography and photography and it’s blew me away how well it performs in terms of fidelity of captured images and videos. Having different settings between photo and video is a massive time saver, the ease of use is incredible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

27

0

great features and outstanding performance

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 05/02/2022 by MGD_ (United Kingdom)

I bought this over two months ago (moving from canon). I couldn't be happier

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

58

19

0

Over heating yet again

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 29/01/2022 by Jack d p (United Kingdom)

New hdmi port over the micro hdmi is most welcome. Over heating issues yet again, in some cases when just going through the menu system. New menu system is great. Cropped 4K 60 is frustrating.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

7

Response From Sony Support Team
03/02/2022

Hi Jack,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your ILCE-7M4.
We highly appreciate your valued feedback and we've raised your concerns to the relevant channels for future considerations.
We would also like to highlight that when the camera is set to Movie or S&Q mode, internal operation is the same as shooting, regardless if the actual shooting (recording) is performed. As a result, the power consumption remains the same and camera temperature may increase even during menu operation.

If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Amazing

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 21/01/2022 by Alex766 (United Kingdom)

Best camera for this year. It does everything for photos and videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

320

93

0

Overall picture quality is good

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 21/01/2022 by Vishnu_photoplorer (United Kingdom)

Picture clarify and autofucs is good but Gear is over heating even for pictures. I am now in less then 10 degrees Celsius so not sure if go to trips to India where 40 degrees is normal. I Never faced thses problems with my nikon even though I clicked 1000 pics in a day for 6 to 7 hours.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

6

Response From Sony Support Team
24/01/2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with your ILCE-7M4.
Having read your feedback about overheating, we would like to be able to offer some assistance, so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Omnia@Sony UK

0

First Sony Camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 21/01/2022 by Churchill378 (United Kingdom)

This is my first Sony camera so I’m still getting familiar with all it can do. Very pleased with it so far. Excellent build quality and customisation. Menus are a bit confusing at first but easy to customise and navigate. Auto focus is amazing compared to my previous non Sony body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

3

0

Wow...what a difference!!

ilce-7m4-uc2 19/01/2022 by Huie D (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an owner of the A7III (Full frame) camera, as well as other manuf cameras (Nikon and Canon). After reading reviews from others, I have found, since having had it for approx. 3 weeks now, to be ABSOLUTELY an amazing camera. Focusing-amazing! Resolution on LCD and Viewfinder and digital images (30+ megapixels) are SOOOO fantastic! I would buy another if I could. Swivel LCD that can close with display protected facing the body of the camera is such a plus-helps keep it very well protected. The clicked or non-clicked extra (formally exposure compensation wheel) that I use for my ISO, just adds to the worth/value of my investment! Lastly, the FULL SIZED HDMI port....YEESSSSS!!!!! That helped seal the deal for my purchasing it! Thank you Sony for listening to us and giving us this wonderful camera!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing video and picture quality

ilce-7m4-uc2 16/01/2022 by TLY Rider (USA)

I bought it for my YouTube channel, I was always a fan of Sony A7III and I wished it had a flip out screen, a 10 bit color and 60fps for slow motion and walah... Sony A7IV was released with all my wishlist. I love this camera because of the new color science and updated autofocus for video and overall ease of use for Video and Photo right out of the box. I have dialed in my settings for SLOG3 for my youtube videos and I am thrilled with the videos coming out of this hybrid camera. I also use this to take thumbnail photos for my youtube videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Colours and 10bit are fantastic

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 16/01/2022 by If you get it (United Kingdom)

I had the A7sii from brand new upon release. The low light of course has a much better reach that the A7iv but that doesn’t concern me anymore. Having great video and photos are a must for me these days and this camera does just that. The crop on 4k60 doesn’t matter to me as I usually use slow motion for B roll so having a tighter angle is a good thing for getting those detailed shots. S&Q can be used without CF express cards but not in 4k resolution. Various videos have been calling these trade offs “deal breakers” get real, how many people are shoot for big corps where these matter? It’s a great piece of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

5

0

Great camera!

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15/01/2022 by AstroMax (United Kingdom)

It’s one week that I am using it and I already love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

3

0

Sony A7iv

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 08/01/2022 by CJD1 (United Kingdom)

Love the camera. Great changes to menus and much easier to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

6

0

manual and control still need to improve

ilce-7m4k-uc2 07/01/2022 by gadsgfagfda (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Despite the touch screen is a good feature just like phone, but the screen is too small and the icon and selection bar is even smaller. There is a personal customize menu that is good, but it still not a one click to access. And from my experience, it seems like sony is waiting for customer to create their own setting rather than provide one which is quit awkward, like the AF-ON bottom is conflict with default setting of focus while holding shutter botton. Image edge app is unfinished product, 3 times connect to phone, there will be two-time failures. image edge desktop can't transfer file in Wifi which making the software totally useless, the editing also pointless since it is hard to use, with less function and everybody already has there own post work software. There is another awkward things that is the focus / tracking cancel, I don't know how it was there. I remember I'm doing the same thing since I just got the camera but now it always there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Improved Alpha 7 series layout & chunkier handgrip

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 06/01/2022 by Stoney Guy (United Kingdom)

I've only had this camera a week but because I've got a similar Sony 7Alpha model the improvements are noticeable. Because of some design changes it'll take a little while to get used to a few of the changes but overall first impressions are very positive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

35

27

0

Long awaited upgrade from my A7II

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 06/01/2022 by Ruben J (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I placed this order right when it was announced in October I was so ready to jump into the new offer as I have had my A7II for many years. This A7IV is better in almost every possible way, I love that we finally have a flip screen. Also the resolution on the view finder and the screen is way better than the pixel density found on my A7II, the buttons feel nice and punchy, I love the joy stick, the new menu is very intuitive and makes dealing with the camera way more pleasant. I love the dual card slot and the better battery, I'm still debating if I'll need a battery grip which was a total necessity for the A7II. The body has a nice feel to it, compared to my A7II you can totally see the upgrades on ergonomics specially for people like me with large hands. I love the attention to detail and all the small and large upgrades Sony has brought to this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Maybe it's just because of the default lens

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 03/01/2022 by js2345 (United Kingdom)

Overall focus speed is very good and performs in low light environment. But for the similar price to my old stolen D850, I think its advantage is only on the size and weight side. I found though with way way more claimed focus points, the focusing algo lags behind Nikon. And my old lens is a very nice F2.8 Tamron, the default Sony 24-70 f3.5-5.6 set lens in the deal totally underperforms, I say about 20%+ of my shot photos are not sharp nor well focused. And overal camera system menu takes time to get used to. Some option like switching off the focus sound I really need to google and watch youtube on topics of A7M3 menu selection.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

3

Response From Sony Support Team
05/01/2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your ILCE-7M4.
We highly appreciate your feedback and we've raised it to the relevant channels for future considerations and developments.
You can find the compatible lenses with the ILCE-7M4 in this link: https://bit.ly/3t0BXWT
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Great auto focus

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 31/12/2021 by RafiSre (United Kingdom)

love it ! fast autofocus great dynamic range battery lasts forever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Big improvement on A7iii

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 28/12/2021 by Goef (United Kingdom)

I have upgraded from the A7iii. I also own a A7Riii. The A7iv is a big improvement for 3 main reasons. 1. Vastly improved auto focus and tracking. 2. Easier menu and ability to navigate it via touch screen. Bigger grip makes it easier to hold.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Wow. I sold all my gear and...

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 28/12/2021 by LesJ5794 (United Kingdom)

Just used my RX10 mkiV, which was a fantastic camera. My friend kept showing photos taken with an Alpha on Social media and I was blown away by the quality of his photos. So I Sold my RX and bought an Alpha 7 Mk iV. Wow what a camera. I have always been an Olympus fan and loved them for years. This camera's focus is soo quick the build quality and the feel of it oozes class. I am looking forward to taking photos again after years and have Joined the Sony Experience to learn more about the camera and about techniques. Sony camera's are a class above .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

3

0

Nice upgrade

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 24/12/2021 by Mike6044 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

The A7iv is a definite upgrade in manufacturing and imagine quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

love it so far

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 24/12/2021 by Shirley Li (United Kingdom)

pre-ordered A7 IV, the order processing is bit unhappy, as we got another camera from WEX earlier than the SONY official one, which dispatched very slow, but thanks for the help from LEEDS SONY CENTRE we have sorted this out and do not have to wait until next year. So far enjoyed using it on weddings and pre-wedding shoots, performed well even under bad light conditions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

Response From Sony Support Team
27/12/2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your ILCE-7M4.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support UK

0

Awful I took it back

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 19/12/2021 by Sally2021 (United Kingdom)

Card slot turns out to be operated in a different way from rest of cameras in the works (I found out later), dioptuc button too hard to move . All in all it’s dreadful camera

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

33

Response From Sony Support Team
22/12/2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties with ILCE-7M4.
We highly appreciate your feedback and we've passed it to the relevant channels for future developments.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support UK

0

So many options!

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 19/12/2021 by LaLewa (United Kingdom)

I recently bought the camera and I love it! The quality of the pictures is amazing. The possibilities offered by the camera are fascinating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Best camera yet

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 18/12/2021 by Nando_King (United Kingdom)

This is the best camera I’ve ever owned! It’s perfect for my filmmaking needs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

The perfect balance for me.

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 17/12/2021 by iphotogriff (United Kingdom)

I recently upgraded from the A7iii and it was the right decision. A few of the key things that make a difference for me are a) the new and improved menus b) the upgraded autofocus c) slight bump in resolution d) the larger grip. Combined, these 4 things take it to the next level whilst keeping price in check. I also like having the option of closing the shutter when the camera is off which makes it far easier to change lens in the field without getting dust on the sensor. I know this isn't the flagship model but for what it is trying to be, an all rounder, it does a great job. Perfect for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Great but let down by the FPS

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 17/12/2021 by Stevie Bruce (United Kingdom)

The a7iv is an improvement on the already great a7iii, however the available FPS when shooting uncompressed RAW is a serious disappointment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

Response From Sony Support Team
20/12/2021

Hi Stevie,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your ILCE-7M4.
We highly appreciate your feedback and we've passed it to the relevant channels for future developments.
If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support UK

0

Great for hybrid shooting

ILCE-7M4/BQ AP2 16/12/2021 by Tha33 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been waiting for this upgrade for a while, love the photo shooting capabilities but yet to explore the video features. I found the crop zoom mode far more useful than i expected and really like the new menu system and all the customisations to all the buttons and dials so its setup the way you want it. Only wish was that Sony still offered GPS capabilities as they used to offer in some of their older models so pics are tagged to location, even gopro has gps, but happy for it to be an addon that connects to the hot-shoe that would make the camera perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Absolutely outstanding!!

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15/12/2021 by Super Er Mario (United Kingdom)

I was very lucky to be one of the first ones to get it from Jessops who was as expected incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. I am so incredibly happy with it, I can't recommend it enough, it is just outstanding. I am not much of a photographer so there is loads to learn but even with my limited skills I am managing to produce outstanding photos. The only thing I am not entirely happy with is 4K 60p crop but I suppose I will have to live with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

This is the Swiss army knife of cameras

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15/12/2021 by ICEFE07 (United Kingdom)

I have had this for 5 days, still in the process of exploring the many features. Love the quality of the images being produced with this camera. The focusing is fast and accurate, the grip is the right size to allow you to hold it comfortably for extended periods. The image stabilization is amazing allow me to use really slow shutter speeds and still getting acceptably sharp pictures. I am looking forward to creating images and memories with this great camera.

5

2

0

Brilliant

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15/12/2021 by wwwwwwww (United Kingdom)

Brilliant . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

2

0

Raw files unsupported

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 13/12/2021 by kjenner (United Kingdom)

I might give write a review when I don't have to waste so much time converting the raw files before impoting to Lightroom. The workflow is far from acceptable.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

8

Response From Sony support team
15/12/2021

Hi kjenner,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to learn that you're experiencing an issue using the picture from the camera with third party software.
Although we don't guarantee the functionality of third party software, we'll make sure to pass your feedback through the proper channels for future consideration. If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony UK

0

many good features very good tracking and eye af

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 13/12/2021 by john 88 (United Kingdom)

early days but initial use is very positive i had good results with the a7iii but this is big step up,very pleased with the iv on many levels.one thing i like is the closed shutter on switch off shields the sensor when changing the lens so a well built camera feels good in the hand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

Amazing camera - shame about RAWs

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 13/12/2021 by Farmer1989 (United Kingdom)

Great camera, but poor form from Sony not sharing the RAW files with the likes of Adobe ahead of the general release. Sony clearly know their users will use 3rd party software to edit their photos and still to this day Adobe can’t support the RAW files… Sony and Adobe need to sort their heads out

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

37

28

Response From Sony support team
15/12/2021

Hi Farmer1989,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your camera. We're happy to welcome you into the Sony family!
We'll make sure to pass your feedback through the proper channels for future consideration. If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Sony A7M4

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 12/12/2021 by Jaime Sebe (United Kingdom)

I want my Sony A7M4 just few days ago and amazed with the new specs and ergonomic of this camera.I came from the APS-C world keeping my A6300 for almost 4 years in January, to jump into this camera, is a life changer. I would strongly recommend it. I will be sharing pics and videos from this camera in my social media sites.Thanks Sony to listen to us!!THE CREATORS!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

4

0

Outstanding Camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 12/12/2021 by ClickerStacy (United Kingdom)

I ordered this camera before it was released, and I have to say it was definitely worth the wait, wow what a camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

32

18

0

Amazing autofocus, great intro to full-frame

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 11/12/2021 by Ivor313 (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from an APS-C camera and this is my first full-frame. It feels great to hold, as any camera that doesn't feel good in the hand will never be used. While it's not the best at everything, for the price it's very very good at most things making it the perfect allrounder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

8

0

90% of the features I’ve been waiting for.

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 11/12/2021  (United Kingdom)

Had the camera for a week or so now, but unable to fully realise its potential, until support for ARW RAW files is released. Having moved from Nikon some years ago, I have travelled the Sony path via A7R, A7III, A7RIII, finally settling for an A9 and the A7IV. The A7IV has the ideal megapixels for my photography outside of sports (A9). The variangle screen, phenomenal AF tracking, ergonomics and generous amount of customisable buttons are just a few of the features I’ve been waiting for, in an ‘all-rounder’ camera. Just need the firmware and Adobe updates to enable ARW file downloads and I’m good to go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

30

11

Response From Sony Support Team
13/12/2021

Hi Peter,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your ILCE-7M4 and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.
We can confirm that RAW developments are supported on our software Imaging Edge Desktop, you can find the supported devices from this link: https://bit.ly/3s1CW8B
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony Support

0

Amazing piece of technology

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 11/12/2021 by Roger108 (United Kingdom)

I sold all my Fujifilm gear (xt4 and lenses) to buy this camera and oh boy was it worthy it! The images are beautiful, so much detail and freedom to crop considerably. It feels really good in the hands, solid and very nice grip and yet not too bulky or heavy. Lowlight performance is amazing and the focus is super quick and snappy, really hard to miss a shot - I particularly love real-time tracking, impressive technology. I loved my XT4 but it sucked in lowlight and the focus was hit and miss which was frustrating. The Sony a7 IV is not cheap (especially when pairing it with good quality lenses) and with all that said it is a beautiful powerful piece of technology worth every penny. I hope to keep it for many years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

5