183

4.7 based on 183 customer reviews

136
40
2
3
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The Best Camera I ever owned

ILCE-7RM2 29/10/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an ex-professional photographer and have owned many cameras over the years. One month ago I changed from my usual brand to Sony and purchased the a7R II - Wow! What a camera. With 42 mps and Auto ISO that copes with all lighting the results are stunning. I visited a stately home where no flash was allowed and the photos I took are amazing. All details were captured and no noise problems are apparent. I have heard that there may be a problem with overheating on the video capture but I am a stills photographer and this does not concern me. I you want perfect video then maybe choose a dedicate video camera. The a7RII is the best camera available for stills and I have no regrets in converting to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointment for a camera of this level

ILCE-7RM2 28/01/2018 by DogsAfire (USA)

1) The very intuitive controls of the NEX-7 have been replaced by far less intuitive and, to me, less useful ones. For something that only affects results in one specific shooting mode, the MM compensation dial takes up a huge amount of room for little benefit. The exposure compensation knob of the NEX-7 functioned in all modes and was very useful. 2) The camera simply does not tolerate cold weather well. I live in northern Michigan and when temperatures get below about 10 deg F, the camera starts making odd noises and misfiring. For this area, 10 degrees is not cold at all and I would expect a professional camera to function properly. 3) The camera reboots on its own at random times for apparently no reason. I have lost a number of shots because of this behavior 4) I bought the absolute fastest SD card I could find, from a very reputable dealer. Once the internal buffer is exhausted, the camera can write no more than about one photo per second to memory (I always shoot RAW + JPEG). Eliminating the JPEG storage doesn't help. The camera simply cannot write its data to memory at a faster rate. Items 3) and 4) are particularly troublesome for me because I shoot image stacks of snowflakes, which melt before my eyes as I'm shooting them. A reboot in the middle of an image stack destroys the entire process. The log write times greatly extend the amount of time that it takes to build an images stack. These are serious problems for me. 5) The image display size has only two magnifications, unlike the earlier NEX-7 which allows a very smooth range of zooming into an image, both for focus and for image review. The a7R Mk II is difficult to use in critical focus situations because of the restriction. 6) The camera has no built-in flash of any sort. C'mon people. I don't always carry a big flash unit everywhere with me. To be honest, I never looked to see if the camera had a flash before I bought it because, well, _all_ cameras have one these days. I just assumed it would be there. Surprise! I am NOT HAPPY with this very expensive camera. I thought I was buying the top of the line and got a mediocre, somewhat usable one instead. This single purchase has greatly decreased my confidence in Sony engineering. I was very pleased with the design of the NEX-7 and still love that camera. I was looking for a full frame upgrade. The Sony a7R Mk II is NOT IT!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

183 Customer Reviews

0

great tool

Body Only 14/10/2018 by zack8888 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it. she love it. great camera and easy to use. I Got it at Best Buy $200 off

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome camera

ILCE-7RM2 07/10/2018 by Blackbat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera following using a nikon cropped camera, and just blown away with the quality of the camera. It is just amazing. One aspect I would like different is a larger grip, as my little finger is lost underneath and had to get a cover to help with that. Also an app that works for Marco photography would be good. As you need a small aperture for detail, but this makes it hard to see setting up as it's mirror less. So an app where you can have viewing setting (so brighter) then have your settings set for when you take the photo, as those settings normally are too dark on the viewer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great image quality!

ILCE-7RM2 23/09/2018 by Simos805 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it about 2 weeks aggo. It's my first camera and I'm amazed with the quality I'm getting! I'm usibg it right now with the Sony prime 50mm f/1.8 lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

wow just amazing!

Body Only 22/09/2018 by igchavez (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this camera has been a great tool since the day i about it. i have done several portraits and lifestyle shots even wildlife and it's just amazing. very happy customer here.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera that needs a new menu system

Body Only 01/09/2018 by rcycholl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just received and went out and done some shooting. I shoot mainly landscape and see no issues, except the menu system. I realize the batteries do not last long, but that was taken care of with the new verson. I could live with carring a few more batteries. Just wish there can be a firmware upgrade for the menu system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Extremely Disappointed!

Body Only 30/08/2018 by Bruce480 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purposely chose the Sony due to the eye autofocus feature. It did NOT work. I did several photoshoots with the camera and half of the photos came out blurry. Anything at or above f/10 would NOT work with either eye autofocus or face recognition. Several of my colleagues who have been using Sony for quite some time attempted to take photos with the camera, but it would not work for them either. May I return the camera for a refund please!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent!

ILCE-7RM2 28/08/2018 by Mommo (USA)

I bought this a few months ago and I am loving it! This is my first mirror-less camera and the quality of the pictures to the body of the camera are top notch. I really like the wide range of ISO and the small body that allows carrying around super easy.M

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Another great camera

ILCE-7RM2 25/08/2018 by Pally_ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The A7rii is a vast improvement over my loved A7r. I struggled with the decision of whether to buy the A7iii or the r2...both had strong reasons for their purchase but in the end I went for higher resolution to help with my street photography. My review scores are tempered by the missing features found in the A7iii and A7rii models.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

grate camera excellent IQ

ILCE-7RM2 21/08/2018 by ag16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tree wicks ago I love it I use all my canon L lenses with this I am happy I bout this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome beast

ILCE-7RM2 08/08/2018 by Dickeboy63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A fantastic camera. I’ve come from a Canon system and will never go back. I’ve got a Sony adapter for old maf fit lenses, a sigma mc11a adapter for Canon L glass and some new g master FE lenses. The results are amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent equipment, rubbish website

ILCE-7RM2 08/07/2018 by The Flying Condor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using this camera quite a lot and it is an excellent piece of equipment unfortunately sony website is lame and I haven't been able to upload the updates so I am going to have to go my local shop to do this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great auto ISO

ILCE-7RM2 06/07/2018 by Glen21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this camera a short while and already can see the benefits. Coming from an SLR with L lenses this camera performs as good, even better dare I say! The auto ISO hits the light every time and the auto focus is fast and accurate. Wish I had made the move to this camera sooner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 25/06/2018 by JQTran (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this camera for a month and I am very happy about the quality images this camera produces. sharp and clear

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Game Changer!!!

Body Only 19/05/2018 by Lex809 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing camera: Can be use for both professional video and photography!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Overall awesome camera

ILCE-7RM2 09/05/2018 by Maina wa Ndungu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have it for at least two years but have an issue, when I want to download time lapse it says it's not available in my country,question are we not supposed to have it in Africa,Kenya to be precise

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A significant improvement

ILCE-7RM2 02/05/2018 by SteveG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replacing my A7R, the A7Rii is a distinct improvement, addressing all the inadequacies I had recognised and proving a much more useful camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Best camera

ILCE-7RM2 01/05/2018 by Yarm McD on flickr (United Kingdom)

Nice camera, takes great quality images, great with the GM 24-70 lens. Not able to add remote on/off to any memory, custom or FN button, this would be nice when using a tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Gropund Breaking Advancement.

ILCE-7RM2 25/04/2018 by Kokoe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera takes some careful and methodical setting up. But once configured to your needs (filming or stills) you will find it to be not only the most forgiving but the most compact and most capable of the mirrorless camera range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A very special concept!!

ILCE-7RM2 31/03/2018 by Chris 67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had an A7, an A7M2 and I've recently upgraded to an A7RM2 so I'm a firm believer in her product!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

So far, so good

ILCE-7RM2 30/03/2018 by Clompertronic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my Sony for a few weeks now and from what I have seen the quality is superb, I changed from a Canon 6d and I am struggling a little with some of the operation features although I’m sure I’ll get used to it in time. Would have preferred a touch screen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, poor user manual

ILCE-7RM2 24/03/2018 by Bernabia (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovely camera, feels good in the hand. Menu is extensive but the included user guide does not e plain the options adequately and need significantly improving in a PAPER format, not on-line

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very good camera, opens up great possibilities

ILCE-7RM2 23/03/2018 by muratski (United Kingdom)

Huge resolution, good low light sensitivity and IBS make for a great camera packed into a small format.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great further

ILCE-7RM2 17/03/2018 by gbyshoot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera last week so I happy but only battery not nice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great camera, need improvement

ILCE-7RM2 15/03/2018 by matt side (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the A7rII for about two year, I am doing mostly 8K Timelapse with it. Very good images quality, poor battery life, the screen without a screen protection it gets damages due to weather conditions. The menu is not very easy to understand, I would love to select the size of the Raw images (Small - 12M, Medium 24M, Large - 42M), not always i need to shoot a 40Mb pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM2 09/03/2018 by Turley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera 2 weeks and I am over the moon with it the build quality is fantastic and some people complain about the menu I think it is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

AMAZED ... AND DISAPPOINTED

ILCE-7RM2 28/02/2018 by Urleyn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having moved up from an APS-C DSLR, I was amazed at the quality of the images produced by this camera. Frames can be readily cropped while retaining usability. However, I am gutted by the short life of the battery. Not on Sony for a camera at this price! Controls take some getting used to but the camera has a wealth of features that will come in very handy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Bad First Impression

Body Only 24/02/2018 by Datadave (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera and I have to continually take the lens off to get the camera to read that I have one attached. What's up with that?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 23/02/2018 by kyleguts (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is a workhorse - it takes very high quality images and does so with minimal adjustments needed to the settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera, May be I got a defective piece.

Body Only 19/02/2018 by vaasu7777 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its been almost an year since I have transitioned myself from canon user to Sony, I am really happy with the product except for the fact that since I have bought there are always dust particles on the sensor . Unfortunately this was a huge defect because you dont get to see these dots on lcd (and for the price), but when u take print or view it on a large screen these dots were all over the place especially when you take HDR picture or under exposed picture. I tried talking to sony customer service and they said they would help me on this. Hopefully they will figure this out!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb camera in a compact body.

ILCE-7RM2 07/02/2018 by Stoneyguy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this quite recently and not had much chance to experiment fully but judging by the great quality of the A6300 with full frame lenses the A7RII will be fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

NFC, WIFI do not work

Body Only 03/02/2018 by son1man (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this product new just before the Christmas holidays and did not get to try all the features right away. By the time I got to try everything it was past the store's return period. The NFC and WIFI remote would not work. The PlayMemories Mobile would not work with the latest Android upgrade, on a Sony phone! Service advised me to send the camera in for repairs, to Whitby. Not sure why the service centre is an hour and a half away from where most customers live! As far as I am concerned, the product was defective out of the box. Why do I have to now be inconvenienced because of poor quality assurance, especially given the price of the camera? Very disappointed, especially as support can see the number of Sony products I have registered.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

For my personal requirements ...perfect camera

ILCE-7RM2 30/01/2018 by Scarlat (USA)

I have used for 3 years Sony A6000 and A6300 ...very good photo cameras until one day when I have decided to move to full frame and after days, weeks, months of reading reviews, I have purchased a new Sony A7R2. I have considered that will be the perfect camera to complete my personal requirements and I was right. I also decided to have 16-35mm f4 Zeiss lens and I can say that I have a very good combination. The firmware was updated to v4 and I did the setup on my photo camera. I'm not a "video" person, means that I do not comment. Image quality? amazing even using Auto mode ...very friendly after we set up the buttons as we wish, small, compact and light camera. We have lifetime battery issue. Very interesting is that in one day, in the beach conditions, I had 621 triggerings with a single-battery, which still had at the end of the day 22% of the capacity but in the evening, in poor lighting conditions, I did not exceed 285 triggerings with the second battery.I consider that two battery /day are sufficient in quiet working conditions. About A7R2 I can say that it's a good photo camera and I want to specify that I own also a Nikon D810 and it is very easy for me to have terms of comparison for image quality, versatility, battery, etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact Quality

ILCE-7RM2 29/01/2018 by Grandysandy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not had this camera for long, but have found the controls logical and the results to date excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointment for a camera of this level

ILCE-7RM2 28/01/2018 by DogsAfire (USA)

1) The very intuitive controls of the NEX-7 have been replaced by far less intuitive and, to me, less useful ones. For something that only affects results in one specific shooting mode, the MM compensation dial takes up a huge amount of room for little benefit. The exposure compensation knob of the NEX-7 functioned in all modes and was very useful. 2) The camera simply does not tolerate cold weather well. I live in northern Michigan and when temperatures get below about 10 deg F, the camera starts making odd noises and misfiring. For this area, 10 degrees is not cold at all and I would expect a professional camera to function properly. 3) The camera reboots on its own at random times for apparently no reason. I have lost a number of shots because of this behavior 4) I bought the absolute fastest SD card I could find, from a very reputable dealer. Once the internal buffer is exhausted, the camera can write no more than about one photo per second to memory (I always shoot RAW + JPEG). Eliminating the JPEG storage doesn't help. The camera simply cannot write its data to memory at a faster rate. Items 3) and 4) are particularly troublesome for me because I shoot image stacks of snowflakes, which melt before my eyes as I'm shooting them. A reboot in the middle of an image stack destroys the entire process. The log write times greatly extend the amount of time that it takes to build an images stack. These are serious problems for me. 5) The image display size has only two magnifications, unlike the earlier NEX-7 which allows a very smooth range of zooming into an image, both for focus and for image review. The a7R Mk II is difficult to use in critical focus situations because of the restriction. 6) The camera has no built-in flash of any sort. C'mon people. I don't always carry a big flash unit everywhere with me. To be honest, I never looked to see if the camera had a flash before I bought it because, well, _all_ cameras have one these days. I just assumed it would be there. Surprise! I am NOT HAPPY with this very expensive camera. I thought I was buying the top of the line and got a mediocre, somewhat usable one instead. This single purchase has greatly decreased my confidence in Sony engineering. I was very pleased with the design of the NEX-7 and still love that camera. I was looking for a full frame upgrade. The Sony a7R Mk II is NOT IT!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Easy to use. Very good picture

Body Only 26/01/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this camera as a gift. It is light and easy to use

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM2 19/01/2018 by RuslanArt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera with alot functions, helps in every moment take amazing pictures.Thanks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

What todays camera should strive for

Body Only 17/01/2018 by MrO2u (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm glad I made the switch. This has options galore! focusing is much faster than I had expected even in low light. It takes some getting used to but with practice, I've got it down. The only negative is the menu system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Unbelievable Quality-Super Sharp Images

Body Only 17/01/2018 by Jim2000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

On a whim I changed from a 20 year Nikon user to the Sony A7RII. My first shots blew me away. I have printed pictures as large as 24 X 40 and the detail is amazing. I am using sony's professional glass for my travels. I will never go back to a standard DSLR again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Simply Stunning Pictures

ILCE-7RM2 15/01/2018 by jfermo2000 (USA)

I have used my A7 RII for about 2 years now. During that time we have traveled to multiple countries in Europe. When My wife and I returned home we were amazed. I love this new technology and this camera. I have used Nikon equipment for 20 + years. I am a real Sony Beleiver.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera, could have less preset

ILCE-7RM2 14/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a surprising camera. Compact and high quality. The sensor coupled with good lenses has a beautiful high quality render. I mostly use the camera in the studio. The autofocus is quick and precise. The eye tracking is surprisingly accurate for portraits. Customising controls could be more flexible. Too many amateurish presets, not needed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A very good 'Stills' camera

ILCE-7RM2 12/01/2018 by Ybloc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for its ' Resolution & Dynamic Range ' - this camera has lived up to expectation for low noise / highly detailed images & effective post production manipulation Using a loxia 21mm - 1.8 lens the images are superb & the much criticised battery life is not much of a problem as - being a manual lens - I use much less battery driven functions The body isn't the most comfortable to hold - the function buttons are not as 'to hand ' as they could be but - for my first camera since my pentax me film days - this is as close as it gets & you forgive the foibles once you see your first images I don't shoot video so can't comment but the memory function is very useful - I have Hand Held General Aperture Priority / Manual Astro / Manual Landscape / Aperture Priority Landscape & a quick dial selection brings up 85% of the settings for a given type of shot The image stabilisation is excellent & also effective against tripod vibration in wind or when stood in running water My recommendation is upon 'stills' photography !!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Still an awesome camera!

ILCE-7RM2 07/01/2018 by Bravomikefoxtrot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

3 years after it’s release there is very little to compete with it at any price. It’s biggest competition is from the recent additions to its own family. Paired with quality glass the a7rII is capable of amazing images be they still or moving. I waited a long time for this camera and it is everything I need it to be and more. I couldn’t be happier with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost perfect

ILCE-7RM2 02/01/2018 by Macaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as an upgrade to an A7II I owned, it is superb, image quality is amazing as is dynamic range. Sony’s firmwarecentric drive with omission of features to try and make you upgrade ala A7RIII does leave a bitter taste, prime example is ‘my menu’ sorely needed on this camera and implemented on the III, with literally no reason other than the aforementioned to miss it off an update to the A7RII which is a shame because honestly the jumbled menu system is this cameras weakest aspect for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Incredibly powerful

ILCE-7RM2 26/12/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

formerly a long term canon shooter, i made the switch to sony with the a7 a few years ago. After being truly impressed, i upgraded to the a7Rii and wow was it worth it. AF is fast dynamic range is amazing, and the build quality is by far the best I've experienced on a camera. This is definitely a keeper.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features like big file size

ILCE-7RM2 26/12/2017 by Labib (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I started to buy accessories for it. The only thing that I don’t like is the short life of the battery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Sony camera that won my heart over

Body Only 20/12/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was my first Sony body paired up with my Canon 5D mk 3.. When I purchased this camera I found myself never using my Canon again and eventually I upgraded the Canon to the Sony A9. It all started with this camera, everything was perfect for what I was doing.. Way to go Sony for pushing the envelope with amazing innovation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Upgraded from the a7ii - very impressed

ILCE-7RM2 18/12/2017 by Jr987 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from the a7ii before my trip to Myanmar...so glad I did. Can really get close into the subject without being on top of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Next Step Up

ILCE-7RM2 18/12/2017 by PixAl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Despite only having and using this camera for a couple of weeks, a recent trip to Snowdonia has shown me that this camera is a significant upgrade over my previous A7 ll. It is more or less the same to use - comfortable for any current Sony user - but the photos taken are exhibiting greater resolution, dynamic range and detail. Used with Zeiss Batis or Loxia lenses, this camera is giving me the best photographic experience l have ever had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning image quality.

ILCE-7RM2 15/12/2017 by Philcam777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decided on A7rii after reading so many great reviews and I was certainly not disappointed. I am just blown away by the image quality. The amount of detail from this 42 megapixel sensor is amazing! I would definitely recommend this camera without hesitation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unbelievable camera

ILCE-7RM2 09/12/2017 by Dovber (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I switched from canon. Was nervous but best decision. Amazing camera. So clear. So sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning resolution

ILCE-7RM2 08/12/2017 by KWTMEDIA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to pair with my A7sIi use mainly for video, wanted it mainly to match but also to take photos. Not only is the photo resolution crazy good. But video capability particular in APC mode is unmatchable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Great Camera

Body Only 07/12/2017 by Baker2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 2 months ago and just love it and all the features. The only thing I feel that the Sony A 99ii has over this one is the automatic settings are not adjustable. Like the scene select setting. Other than that this is definitly a great camera for the value!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Just the ticket

ILCE-7RM2 01/12/2017 by Camshy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced a7R mk1 as needed autofocus that worked faster. mk1 was used for landscape work so not an issue. mk2 is great, still small and light but with the features I need. Considered mk3 but the improvements and new features are not required at this time and I already have lots of spare batteries. On that note I will say that, in nearly two years use I never found battery life that big a deal. They are small enough to carry spares around plus I charge camera via power bank or car when out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost unrivalled images

ILCE-7RM2 28/11/2017 by Nevalti (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my α7R II with a Sony 28mm f2 + 55mm f1.8 + 85mm f1.8 and the images from the α7R II and these E-mount lenses is almost unrivalled. Comparison: I have owned Olympus, Minolta and Canon systems. I also have a Sony α900, a Sony α65 and a Sony α6000. All are excellent cameras but with drawbacks that I hoped the α7R II would overcome. It does to some extent. Surprisingly, the α7R II is noticeably slower than the α6000 in virtually every respect. I will keep my excellent α6000 which now forms part of a compact 2 body E-mount system. The α900 is far quicker to use in my hands and it feels far more of a professional tool. The small size of the α7R II limits how many controls you can cram on the body. I will probably speed up a bit when I get more used to the α7R II but it will never be as easy to use as the α900. The lack of instant digital zoom is disappointing. It is available on both the α6000 and the α65 and can be very useful, especially for a fast sequence of images. It may sound odd wanting a feature that will obviously degrade the image, BUT it works remarkably well on the 24mb sensor and should be brilliant on the 42mb sensor. You CAN fool the α7R II into thinking it has an APS-C lens fitted in which case it will ‘zoom-in’ but I can’t find any way of assigning that to a button for instant use. You have to slog through the menu to do it – which is a great shame! I do realise that I can crop the image later BUT the way it works in-camera seems to give better results, don’t ask me why, and if you are taking a lot of distant shots, cropping in camera saves a lot of time. Maybe Sony can enable it in a future software upgrade, so let me explain some other advantages. If you are using (say) the 55mm lens for full length portraits, you could use the button to ‘zoom-in’ to head and shoulders without changing lenses. The α65 does this in 2 stages, which is even better. If (say) you are taking head and shoulder portraits with an 85mm you could instantly ‘zoom-in’ to a close-up head shot. With a 42mb sensor and a good lens – why on earth not? Complexity: Hmmm. Every facility has a use, so perhaps I shouldn’t complain BUT access to the right part of the menu is a challenge to the old grey matter. The menus could be better! Battery life: Let me just say that I always carry at least three batteries. It is the penalty for small size but the α9 battery, with a bigger grip, would be far better. It was a strange decision by Sony to continue to use this tiny battery. Conclusion: The α7R II deserves high praise. The image quality is nigh on unbeatable. The camera does have flaws – but don’t they all? I can live with the flaws and hopefully Sony will upgrade the software to remove some of them. I can’t really claim that it is good value for money but I have no regrets that I bought it or the superb E-mount lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Awesome

Body Only 22/11/2017 by Fuzzball (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this camera mainly for video. i have taken about 100 pictures and shot a short film on this during the short time i've had this camera and it's amazing. i'm fairly new to this level of equipment so i still have a lot to learn about this camera, but i am very pleased with the results so far. Great camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Huge Performance in a Small Package

ILCE-7RM2 20/11/2017 by Vision of You (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased approximately 3 weeks ago. Full disclosure I am a Canon user for over 30 years and bought the Sony as it was smaller, lighter, better resolution and could be used with non native lenses via an adaptor saving me replacing all the glass I own. Images are amazingly sharp with lots of detail, the what you see is what you get is fantastic and saves all that chimping that we are sometimes tempted to do. Battery life once you have learnt your way round the menu is pretty good, somewhere around 250-300 shots which is roughty a 32 gig card of Raw images. Have not tried any of the apps as of yet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fantastic camera

ILCE-7RM2 09/11/2017 by KANAPATHI (United Kingdom)

easy to carry any where and use full frame camera, takes very good picture.Trying to learn more about it, too early to review fully

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-7RM2 30/10/2017 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera because of the resolution and great dynamic range. I do a lot of interior shots in low light and the dynamic range in the 42MP raw files give me the exposure latitude I need in difficult lighting situations. The silent shutter mode is also a very useful feature. Coupled with the new FE 12-24 mm f4 G lens I am getting great sharp detailed images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just a great camera.

ILCE-7RM2 25/10/2017 by Mike Mce (United Kingdom)

As a professional I have moved over from Nikon, to the Sony range of cameras and are extremely pleased with the results. And have no regrets about moving over to Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Extraordinary piece of equipment!

ILCE-7RM2 23/10/2017 by GritsnSalsa (USA)

I upgraded from a Sony NEX 5r that I absolutely LOVE. I am so impressed with the quality of the a7RII! I purchased it in June 2017 and I am still learning to use all the really cool features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The camera is everything I hoped it would be.

ILCE-7RM2 14/10/2017  (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera a couple of weeks, and so far it has impressed me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall - The Best Camera I've Owned

Body Only 11/10/2017 by Ben S (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to move to Sony's platform from shooting Nikon's D810 and I'm really glad I did. While the controls might not be quite as intuitive as my Nikon D810 and this camera definitely wouldn't work well as a weapon in a pinch, the image quality is so perfect and amazing that it's forgivable. Here are the pros and cons as I see them to owning the SonyA7rII: Pros: Amazing image quality - the best I've ever seen - and I did a lot of side by side with the D850. When dealing with high end camera's that occupy very top of the DxoMark scale, it really comes down to specific needs and personal preference. The EVF is absolutely fantastic to use. It's clear, the colors are wonderfully vibrant and true to life, and the ability to zoom in on far away objects from the viewfinder for perfect focus is a great benefit worth the extra demand on the battery. Silent mode which uses an electric front shutter is great and now (after upgrading to the latest firmware version) appears to work when uncompressed RAW is selected Though small, this camera feels solid and, with the grip, fits my large hands comfortably Though Sony doesn't have a large lens selection, the lenses they do have are insanely sharp and bar none among the best I've ever owned, particularly their Zeiss lenses and new Sony "G" lenses. To give some perspective - the best lens for Nikon ends at a 36 sharpness rating, Sony's lens lineup almost starts where Nikon leaves off and goes up to an insane 46 rating (per DxoMark). I can use this camera with ALL of my vintage glass including Nikkor AI and NAI MF lenses, Helios, Pentacon, Zeiss, and INDUSTAR, etc. All that's needed is a simple adapter and each of every one of theses lenses benefits from Sony's 5-axis in-body image stabilization. the shallow depth of the camera body ensures it's compatible with virtually every 35mm camera lens ever made - something that I ran into trouble with on my D810 because Nikon actually has the widest body of all camera makes. My M42 mount lenses (for example) would have to be mounted slightly inside of the D810 body to get the right magnification and infinite focus. And that's not even an option because doing this risks destroying the mirror. Even vintage Nikkor AI and NAI lenses can't be used without fairly major modification which also ruins the lens value. A lot of people seem to really dislike the A7 line UI. I personally kind of like the interface. Maybe it’s because I work with a lot of technology, but I find it pretty simple to use and after owning my camera for a few weeks have the placement of everything committed to my long-term memory. It also looks more modern than Nikon or Cannon’s UI. It might seem a little segmented at first, but in the end, everything kind of makes sense as a whole so I’m counting it as a pro. Love that Sony included two batteries and a charger. This really makes me feel like I bought a high-end camera. If they’d throw in a screen protector (see my grumble below), I’d be completely happy with the included accessories. Cons: The battery life could be better I'd love to see the build quality be just a bit more robust. I.e. I wouldn't take this on out in sub zero weather, do a photo-shoot in a sand storm, or bring it with me white water rafting. Even decent weather sealing would be a nice gesture. This one is probably on the top of my list - I'd love to see dedicated controls for all major settings that I use every day. I can set the aperture from the back dial and the exposure from the front dial, but it would be great to have a control for the ISO. I virtually always shoot in full manual mode and having to right click on the wheel to bring up an ISO dialogue before selecting the ISO is just the tiniest bit annoying. The camera should come with a snap on screen protector like Nikon provides. When you spend this much on a camera and don't get basic protective equipment, you feel like Sony is being a tad on the penny pinching/apathetic side. Some tips: Knowing how short the battery life would be I loaded on six batteries and bought a grip for the camera so I can use two at a time. With the grip I can shoot about half of what I used to get away with using my D810, which is workable Get a good protective carrying case/backpack for this camera to keep it safe. My final verdict: It's overall the best camera I've ever owned. While it is quirky in some way, some of the quirks are starting to grow on me. Now we'll see about longevity. The shutter is rated at 500,000 actuations (which isn't everything), but I'm hopeful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Love the expanded dynamic range

ILCE-7RM2 02/10/2017 by GailJo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the camera - my second Sony full frame - so I found the menu system easy to operate, but I still struggle changing focus points. However 90 % of the time I chose zone focusing and it always seems to focus on what I want - I change to spot focus only when necessary. The Dynamic Range is amazing as well as the low light performance. Love the new silent shooting - but shame this is not possible with some of teh features, if you want to use them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Career Changer

ILCE-7RM2 01/10/2017 by Neilisin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after being 10 months without a larger format camera. Since getting it I'm changing the hobby to a more professional occupation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

phenominal piece of kit

ILCE-7RM2 24/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago from my local camera shop after siginifcant research. I already owned the a7ii so the plan was for this body to become the back up and the a7rii to become my main work camera. I easily configured the camera to my needs as I was used to the menu systems on the a7ii and rx1rii. The camera produces amazing images especially when combined with the G master range of lenses. I shoot everything but enjoy landscapes more than anything and the RAW files that this camera produces is phenomenal. Due to the high megapixel count, I am able to easily stitch panoramas together or crop huge images to highlight key areas of landscape without any loss of clarity or sharpness. I have no issue with the battery life, it is to be expected in a mirrorless camera so I use a battery grip and have a few spare batteries. The build of the camera us good, I haven't tested out the weather sealing yet so I can't comment as only having it for a couple of weeks. The feel of the camera in the hand is good and solid, I don't need the battery grip to increase the stability. I would like to have a bit more time to get used to the camera before writing a more detailed review but I am really happy I have bought this system and really look forward to putting it through its paces in the next few months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beautiful Camera, Amazingly Detailed Photos

ILCE-7RM2 23/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera back in April 2017 with the new Sony FE 85mm 1.8 Lens and that is definitely the first thing that made me fall in love with this camera. The colours are fantastic, the resolution is like nothing I have ever seen before and the build quality is a huge improvement from my old Canom which now really does feel like a toy compared to my A7Rii. The huge focus area is something that I never thought I would need, but I now find myself using it every day. This camera works very well in the dark (authough that crown is taken by the a7Sii) and I have got many great shots. I then decided to invest some real money into my camera and purchased the Beautiful Sony Zeiss 35mm 1.4 T* Distagon, which is my current lens as of two weeks ago. And wow. I know this is more of a review for the lenses but the amazing detail that this sensor collects is outstanding. In my opinion, the A7Rii is by far the best Photography Mirrorless Camera on the market for High resolution shots. (Untill the A7Riii comes out that is) I didn't give this a 5 Star rating however because no product comes without its fault. And to some people it could make or break the decision to buy this camera. The decision to not include 2 SD slots or even UHS-II support or USB3 is a bad choice in my opinion. If there is one thing all Photographers want, it is security... To know that even if their main card fails, there would be a second back up mirroring the main. And that is a big deal breaker for people. The only other thing I have found to be not so good with the camera is the sometimes severe rolling shutter recording video with this camera. It's not the biggest off out for me as I won't be using video alot but to most it would. And for that I recommend instead getting the a7Sii. Overall, this camera has been a true amazement. The quality is fantastic, the pictures are always sharp, the auto focus is lightning fast and the features like the NFC and remote controlling is amazing. If you want to delve deeper into the world of Photography with a professional camera, you have completed the sesrch. Look no further than the A7Rii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera for performance and usability

ILCE-7RM2 07/09/2017 by revdavephotography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this two weeks ago. Easy to get to grips after the A7R. But so much better handling, shutter and ease of use. Very excited by getting 42MP sharp images at 1/15sec HANDHELD! Fast autofocus especially when use with Eye AF for people shots. Fits well in the hand and the shutter button falls under the finger more naturally. Weather sealing stood up to an early morning shoot in thick mist. Overall, couldn't be happier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Heavyweight camera that doesn't break my arm

ILCE-7RM2 31/08/2017 by Holly Pips Mum (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was and still am a happy Nikon D810 user, but also a middle aged female with an illness that effects my muscles and strength. I wanted a camera system that matches the quality of what I am used too, but that is easier to carry around and use. I also use manual lenses and when I heard about the focus peaking feature I was very interested and not disappointed. I also like the camera stabilization feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony A7RII

ILCE-7RM2 28/08/2017 by Libra G (USA)

This is excellent features world class Camera Body

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 7Rii

Body Only 23/08/2017 by Monav (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently upgraded to Alpha 7R ii from Pentax K5 II, i was amazed at overall performance of this camera. Great picture quality even in low light, how well the camera body fits in your hand, battery life could be better, still lot to learn what this camera can do. Pricey, but not disappointed with the purchase. Lens: Sony FE 2.8/24-70 GM and amazing lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent

ILCE-7RM2 15/08/2017 by linval (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lightweight and a joy to use, excellent image quality, not tested the low light capabilities yet but so far I am enjoying the experience of the a7rii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The perfect stills camera!

Body Only 08/08/2017 by Clouder (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I mainly take landscape photos and this camera delivers and then some! The only thing I would like to see is a better touch screen and a flip out screen with enough brightness to see in daylight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0