117

4.6 based on 117 customer reviews

83
23
6
3
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Game Changing Dynamic Range And Resolution

ILCE7RM3 18/12/2017 by dcstep (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm reviewing the a7R III from the perspective of a bird and wildlife shooter. I do lots of shooting of moving animals at predawn and after sunset, so dynamic range is a huge plus. Since I'm shooting feathers and fur, resolution is a high priority. Historically, to get more resolution, you traded off dynamic range. I had a camera with 50+mp resolution from another manufacturer, which was great, in great light, but very noise as things darkened. I have no such issue with this Sony. My first Sony was the wonderful a9. I happy to report that almost all of the stunning autofocus capability carries over to the a7R III. Using Sony's G Master lenses, like the FE 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 GM OSS, it's like cheating. You set AF to "Lock-On" and it'll track a fast bird all over the viewfinder. Shooting sunrises and sunsets with the stunning FE 24-70mm f/2.8 GM, at low ISOs, like ISO 50 and 100, the dynamic range is luxurious. I can expose for the highlights, with total confidence that I can pull up shadows, without generating a ton of noise, or losing subtle variations. In full, bright sunlight, I can shoot a black-billed magpie at ISO 800 and get subtle details in the blackest blacks and not blow out the beautiful whites and blues of the bird. This is game changing. Because of rolling shutter distortion of fast moving subjects, I have to use the mechanical shutter, particularly for birds in flight. The shutter gives a full 10-frames per second and is quieter than my prior brand. The 500,000 click predicted shutter life is comforting. Shutter blackout is a minor annoyance. My a9, with 20-fps and silent shooting spoiled me a bit, but the a7R III beats my prior brand, that had slower fps and far less resolution and dynamic range. My biggest nit is that I wish that they'd move the lens release to the left side of the lens, where it belongs. On the right side, my fingers are busy gripping, with big lenses attached, which leads to me occasionally releasing the lens. A lens hasn't fallen off yet, thank goodness, but the give up is that the lens suddenly won't focus. With my other brand, I used only their very best lenses. As I add to my Sony lens arsenal I'm finding that every lens is superior in image quality, slightly lighter and slightly smaller. That's huge for someone routinely carrying two bodies and five lenses, including a 500/f4. Oh, BTW, at the top of my wish list from Sony is a 600/f4 G Master. I know that they've got a 400/f2.8 coming out, but that's a sports lens, not a wildlife and bird lens. Patiently waiting... BTW, I can use my other brand's lenses, using an adapter, but I much prefer Sony's native lenses. My Sony lens kit includes the following: FE 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 GM OSS, FE 24-70mm f/2.8 GM, FE 12-24mm f/4 G and the FE 1.4x and 2.0x teleconverters. To sum up, the Sony a7R III has a world class autofocus system, almost as good as the a9, class leading dynamic range and high resolution. It's a complete camera, that can shoot just about anything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good Camera but overpriced

ILCE-7RM3 03/11/2018 by Sam Simon (USA)

Good camera but overpriced. Sony has to adjust cameras and lenses prices so more people can afford to buy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

118 Customer Reviews

0

Great features in a compact design!

ILCE-7RM3 15/12/2018 by Captian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera as an upgrade to my a77 with the intention of being able to use existing lenses with an LA-EA3 adaptor. I am able to use my 70-400 lens but its a bit slower on the mirrorless camera but at least its useable. Overall the camera is great plenty of customisable buttons, fast focus ect a great product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Quite a powerful tool for an advanced shooter

ILCE-7RM3 13/12/2018 by Nick76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After some thinking I part-ex my Canon 5D Mk 3 with Sony A7R3 and am thrilled by the potential it offers for better imaging. The In Body Image Stabilisation, eye-focus and being able to shoot 10fps was the major attraction. Being able to customise various buttons is a great feature of this camera. I am also a pro photographer and video shooter and the picture profiles this camera offers allow me a lot of room for creativity in the post. The camera also offers slow motion and time lapse facility, though HFR is limited to 100fps in the PAL region. The LCD is bright and the menu allows you to increase the brightness should you be working in sunny conditions. EVF is brilliant as it hardly shows any lag as you pan the camera. Rolling shutter can be an issue but not so much if you use it in Super 35mm mode. The perfect camera hasn't been made yet! So, in the meantime we live with those limitations. All in all, I'm enjoying using it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great images. Poor Sensor protection

ILCE-7RM3 04/12/2018 by fdr650 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera produces great images but needs constant image cleaning. It would not take much, a firmware update to make the mechanical shutter close when the camera is switched off or a lens removed to prevent dust on the sensor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Incredible Images~

ILCE7RM3 29/11/2018 by Wizman440 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I sold all of my Canon gear to purchase an A9 and an A7R3, and I have never looked back. This camera replaced my Canon 5Dsr and is better adapted to use on the street and at events. I am a full time photographer and will buy another A7R3 in the near future. I highly recommend Sony Pro Support if you qualify, the service is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-7RM3 29/11/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought this camera and have used it for some portrait shoots and coupled with pro lenses the quality is astonishing. However I wish Sony cams would work tethered with Lightroom. I had to spend another £180 to purchase Capture One. Not so happy about that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Light and versatile

ILCE-7RM3 12/11/2018 by somerset_russ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Switching from Nikon (after 50 years) to Sony was scary, but once you get used to the camera and the menus it's quite pleasing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Huge sensor and amazing eye autofocus

ILCE-7RM3 05/11/2018 by Hialmar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just love it! Use it for landscape, street portrait, wedding. Resolution and dynamic range is amazing. Using it with 2470 GM lens. Love eye AF function nailing focus every time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera, top of the market

ILCE-7RM3 04/11/2018 by thatmarcusguy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is simply superb, the image quality and features are unrivalled in its class. The plethora of features means that this camera is suitable for any kind of photographer, whether it's landscape, portrait, street, travel, etc. Sometimes you forget just how light this camera is, this much quality should not be able to fit in this size of a camera. The only issue I've had so far is the time necessary to get yourself used to all the different settings, though this is a small price to pay for the options available

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good Camera but overpriced

ILCE-7RM3 03/11/2018 by Sam Simon (USA)

Good camera but overpriced. Sony has to adjust cameras and lenses prices so more people can afford to buy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Bought the camera in the summer

ILCE-7RM3 14/10/2018 by Lee1966 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy I bought this camera for holiday travels this summer . Excellent and easy to carry around

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Finally, a camera that feels like the future

ILCE-7RM3 04/10/2018 by AsafSagi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera after being a loyal Nikon user for 9 years. I wanted a camera that'll allow me to transfer photos to my phone for easy sharing, and I got that and a whole lot more. There are a few missing features, some connectivity problems, and the PlayMemories app isn't so great. Other than that, the camera's fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

The Stuff of Legend

ILCE-7RM3 04/10/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from the A7rii to the A7riii and I couldn't be happier. Fantastic performance, supreme image quality and great user experience. The battery is amazing and sensor is simply the stuff of legend.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

The best!

ILCE-7RM3 01/10/2018 by JosienVG (United Kingdom)

It is an amazing product, the best in photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A real top-end Camera.

ILCE-7RM3 30/09/2018 by BRTPX (United Kingdom)

I still have not got around to trying and testing all the features that this camera comes loaded with, but it sure is a definite improvement over the previous version especially in regard of battery and focusing. The A7Rii was good, but this one is right up there at the top. Sony seems to listen to us.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best mirrorless on the market

ILCE-7RM3 12/09/2018 by Rossi123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the A7S for some 5 years, and I have been very happy with the camera and will continue to use it, however I wanted to get the A7RIII because of the autofocus and higher resolution. The built in stabilisation was also something I wanted, not to mention the other extra features that are nice to have such as the GPS linking to the mobile phone Overall I am very pleased with the camera, especially considering that the compertion have nothing that is of an equivalent spec.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excelent image quality but missing some features

ILCE-7RM3 12/09/2018 by EwaIn (USA)

I love this camera - excellent image quality, a lot of buttons that can be customized, fairly small body especially when compared to my previous DSLR. Also, the battery lasts longer than in the specification (great!). I would agree with all the good reviews written here. However there are things that I do not like about this camera: - missing option to shot photos in intervals (Sony, could you add this into the new firmware?) - the PlayMemories App does work with the camera but there is no possibility to set the focus by taping the smartphone screen (what a flaw!), no possibility to setup the shooting in intervals... (Sony, could you expand the PlayMemories App features?) Overall - I love this camera and I hope Sony will take some steps in order to make the customers happier as I am not the only one who complains about the above disadvantages.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So pleased that I switched systems

ILCE-7RM3 09/09/2018 by Dylthedog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm a life-long photographer and had an extensive DSLR system from another manufacturer - I recently traded it all in and bought an A7R3 and a few Sony lenses and couldn't be happier! It really is a step-change in many ways: the compact size compared to a pro DSLR, incredible capabilities such as EyeAF (to name just one) and, I'm very pleased to say, the overall image quality. The Sony 24-105 G OSS lens I used it with on a recent holiday is a revelation! The sharpness, colour and overall image quality is outstanding compared to what I had. It took a little time to set the camera up as I like it (there is plenty to customise), but any modern high-end camera of this type will be similar. Now I've got it how I like it, I'm finding the camera 'just gets out of the way' and lets me get on with taking photos. It is worth noting that I'm experienced with cameras of this type, upgraders or those new to high-end interchangeable lens cameras will have a lot to learn about and should think about getting some advice early on. If you're worrying about switching from a DSLR, don't! I've not missed the optical finder at all, and a digital one brings other benefits beyond size, such as manual focusing which is fantastic if you have some none-AF lenses. AF in general is excellent, though I'm not a sports photographer, so I've not tried tracking beyond ordinary people movement - where EyeAF really makes a huge difference. The only criticisms I have are minor - the control wheels could protrude a little more and the touch screen would be better if it also worked the menu system, instead of just photo operations. This doesn't affect my view of the overall package though, which I'm enjoying very much and is providing such a great end result. I wholeheartedly recommend it; it's easily a 5* camera in my opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fine camera that needs to go on a diet.

ILCE-7RM3 07/09/2018 by Homi55 (USA)

This is my second Sony Camera. My first was the A7R -- a fine camera with a few (forgivable) flaws. I like both cameras however Sony has to pay more attention to the ergonomics of their camera systems. The A7R3 feels much heavy and clunkier than the older one which was lighter and clunky. I do appreciate all the features that come with this camera but this one comes with far too much heft -- literally! Whereas I can forgive some of these issues since the MAIN reason I switched to the A7R series from my former Canon DSLR was the weight of DSLR systems. On vacation, It just got cumbersome carrying a heavy system around all day. Mirrorless offered a great solution without compromising on quality -- at least that was the hope. Sadly, Sony seems to be mired in trying to "check all the boxes" of features and has lost sight of what makes a really good camera. Simplicity. Light-weight. Ergonomic. Affordable. Hopefully Sony improves the design or, regrettably, this may be my last Sony camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

4

0

Move over DSLR

ILCE-7RM3 25/08/2018 by Graham K (United Kingdom)

I've sold all of my pro Nikon gear to move to the Sony A7RIII. So far I can't fault it great build quality and amazing image quality. If I was to be really picky the feel of the SD slot 'door' lets the rest of the camera down. And the camera only seems to operate with a card in slot 1, 1&2 and not just slot 2. Maybe I've missed something in a menu. Anyway thats not a reason no to love this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

α7R III Wonderful image quality

ILCE-7RM3 23/08/2018 by 58steve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've made the move from Canon so at the moment I'm using the Sigma mc-11 lens converter. The Canon lens' auto focus works well with this, but not as fast as with Sony glass. The image quality is superb and the eye focus feature is unbelievably accurate. You may read that Sony's menu system is awkward; it is, but it is only a case of adapting to something new. Once you're used to it and know where everything is it is fine. A couple (4 actually) of minor niggles. 1. Sony don't embed the camera serial number in the exif of their images. I didn't realise this until I owned it. Surely this would be easy to do. Sony - Please put this right! 2. The apps that run so well on the cheaper cameras aren't available! Why on earth not? On my α6300 they are available and preform really well! 3. The flash hot shoe contacts look remarkably flimsy. It's something I use a lot so time will tell. 4. The articulating screen only hinges on 1 plane - but I did know about this and it is 1 more than the 5ds I moved from.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

so much lighter and excellent pictures

ILCE-7RM3 21/08/2018  (United Kingdom)

i am still trying the camera and i will add at latter

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A7R III is a great 42 megapixel mirrorless

ILCE-7RM3 17/08/2018 by vg257 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 3 weeks ago and am happy with the image quality and ease of use. The long battery life, dual card slots are great improvements. I would like to see 2 UHS II slots instead of one and the touch screen to be extended to the menu system.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

When Only the Best Will Do

ILCE-7RM3 16/08/2018 by Christoph65 (USA)

I finally upgraded my a7 (the original FF) and have been amazed at the attention to detail Sony has given this flagship high-resolution model. Sony has certainly listened to its clients, something the other major camera makers have not done. This is such a versatile camera. I have enjoyed the incredible detail in my landscape images as well as the portrait shots I have taken. The clean images are simply amazing. The extras such as the face recognition with face-priority have made group shots and weddings a breeze. The new advanced battery life is such a huge addition. I got used to carrying the extra batteries with my past camera and keep thinking I will need it here but have not had that happen. Sony has put a lot of effort into improving the ISO. I can now shoot at 3,200 and not notice the difference. My prints are so clean and sharp. For anyone considering getting into the Sony FF mirrorless world, I think you will be amazed. The ever-growing line up of the G-Master glass is by far the best lenses available. The 16-35 GM wide zoom is the sharpest lens I have ever used and is a perfect addition for landscape and wide portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic mirrorless camera all round.

ILCE-7RM3 14/08/2018  (United Kingdom)

Great image quality and auto-focus system along with ground breaking electronic view-finder technology.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

all in one camera

ILCE-7RM3 08/08/2018 by ahmed1999 (USA)

it's amazing camara all in one perfect in all condition

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simply awesome

ILCE-7RM3 17/07/2018 by Lee62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What an amazing camera! Exceeds all my expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good all round performer

ILCE-7RM3 09/07/2018 by Brandy66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In the time that I have had the camera I can find no fault with anything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Trying to change habits of a lifetime

ILCE-7RM3 09/07/2018 by Andygeol (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Feels solid in the hand, multiple focus and metering modes. Overly complex menu. Lacks ability for in camera multiple exposure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Could do easily have been 5 stars

ILCE-7RM3 07/07/2018 by Ossie_Whitlock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned the camera for 2 weeks. I am familiar with Sony mirror less cameras has I also have an A6000. If this camera had a more functional touch screen and better environmental sealing and had kept the play memories app none of which would have been difficult to implement this would be a 5 star review.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

FANTASTIC METERING FACIAL/EYE RECOGNITION

ILCE-7RM3 03/07/2018 by JASPERIMAGE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 1 week ago and absolutely delighted of the quality of captures via its facial recognition and tracking etc. Plus able to shoot 10fps at 42mgpx is abolutely fantastic tool when needs must.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Cameras for People Pictures and other things

ILCE-7RM3 02/07/2018 by Richard027 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera at Easter this year and used as my main one since then. I also have a Nikon D850 and a fuji XPro2. I love the electronic finder on the Fuji and got tired of waiting for Nikon to do a decent camera with and EVF so I went and got the Sony. It's great camera, the picture quality is great the the EVF is even better than the Fuji one. The auto focus for people is brilliant even better than Nikon's but it's not as good when I photograph our dogs. For most other things the autofocus is equally good. I am very pleased I bought this and it is now my main camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing data capture

ILCE-7RM3 01/07/2018 by Lexartiste (USA)

The quality of the data capture and over sll stability of the camera make it feel like part of you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

ILCE-7RM3 13/06/2018 by Shashi Reddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic camera with all the great featured but lacking the time lapse option with such a huge price mark...bit dissapoints me...however the camera has got stunning other featured and image quality is simply brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Eye focus great performance

ILCE-7RM3 08/06/2018 by fixitfit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Eye focus great performance. Very good focusing system. Was a Nikon guy but I'm selling all my gear for Sony gear now.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Time to try a Sony

ILCE-7RM3 30/05/2018 by Hens789 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been watching the development of Sony imaging products with great interest over the last few years having previously been a Nikon user, and most recently a Canon user, and have been waiting for the right time to try one of the bodies. Along with their amazing sensor technologies, I have been most impressed by some of the autofocus features (eye autofocus) as well as their determination to innovate and resolve previous issues flagged up by market feedback. I gather on the previous models, battery life was cited as a weakness, and now with this version, the mkIII A7R, this has been greatly improved. But the most compelling reason for trying it now has been the ability to use an adapter and the ability to continue using the Canon and Sigma lenses I have bought over recent years which I would be loathe to trade in. And I am pleased to say that with the Sigma MC-11 adapter, although there are some features my lenses will not fulfil, they are still proving extremely effective. The electronic viewfinder makes manual focus really simple with focus peaking, and it means that even in bright conditions one can still review shots easily. No camera (or product) is ever going to be 100% perfect, but I am certainly very pleased with my experience of the A7R III so far. Well done Sony. Keep up the good work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

***Lovely stills camera with a major draw back***

ILCE-7RM3 29/05/2018 by TrueWonderPeter (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I make documentaries for the BBC and C4 in the UK and already own a F55 video camera. However, I need a small rig for production stills, more intimate, low key video work and as a B Roll solution. For a camera that costs so much, the A7Riii’s lack of 422 10 bit internal recording is a MAJOR flaw. It means this camera is completely unsuitable for broadcast production. I will be selling mine as soon as I can find another small camera with the requisite colour phase and codecs. If Panasonic can do it (GH5) Sony can. Come on Sony, get it right with the A7Siii.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

11

0

Great Camera with fantastic image quality

ILCE-7RM3 24/05/2018 by py4876 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What can I say? This camera is fast, the image quality is excellent and the auto focus works great even with my a-mount lens Sony 70-400mm F4-5.6 G SSM II (with Sony LA-EA3 Adapter). I´m completely satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

One of the best investments i've done.

ILCE-7RM3 16/05/2018 by SamsonMathews (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a wedding photographer, and i've found this camera to be one of the best in the market to own it. Features are brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A really worthwhile upgrade

ILCE-7RM3 13/05/2018 by Macpants (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the a7R3 to replace my a7R2 as I suspect many have done. My main reason for doing so are practical more so than any issues with the 2. I have an a9 also and a shared battery/charger is convenient when you’re in a hurry. The slightly revised button layout is much better and the twin card slots is also welcome. Are the pictures any better? Not really but the way you go about getting them is much slicker.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Much brighter viewfinder and toggle focus..

ILCE-7RM3 13/05/2018 by Mal360 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had the camera a short while and have so far only taken some 50 frames, mostly of my apple trees in my back garden. Using the SEL90M28G macro lens in conjunction with this camera body makes getting that image easier...

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb.

ILCE-7RM3 10/05/2018 by Mdh1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this having read several extremely positive magazine reviews. Previously I’d been using canon DSLR’s and had been reasonably happy with them. I shoot at an accomplished semi pro level and would strongly recommend this to anyone seeking a camera with top class spec and ability. Very impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

5* Stars NOT enough ‼️

ILCE-7RM3 08/05/2018 by BaldyMarius (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this A7Riii on the recommendation of a bloke I sat with at NEC camera show. Hadn’t heard of Jason Lanier, but his reasons for switching to Mirrorless cameras were persuasive and I hadn’t realised that while Sony had continued with progressing the Cybershot that I owned in 2003 when I then went to Canon for interchangeable lenses and higher MPixels. I had a succession of High end Canons, bought good glass, but in a conversation over a table I was prepared to return 2 x CanonD5 Mk4’s for a mirrorless Sony. I was so impressed I bought a second 3 weeks later and am recycling my EOS 1 Ds3’s and will get some Sony glass, as well as the Sigme MC-11 to use my Canon glass until I’ve migrated everything I want to.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Wow

ILCE-7RM3 08/05/2018 by Dymo (United Kingdom)

I bought after owning Sony DSLR from 2009 I love this camera, haven’t discovered all the features of this camera yet but the autofocus is amazing also love the auto focus on the eye the best thing. Because it is 42 megapixels when you have up loaded your photo you can really zoom in or zoom out until you get the perfect picture currently using ZEISS 24-70mm. The negative about the camera, it’s a lot of money and menu could still be better and the LCD srceen on the back needs updating. Apart from all that Sony has made a incredible Camera and I love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not As Good As Expected

ILCE-7RM3 07/05/2018 by dave1955 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For many years I have been using DSLR cameras and thought I would change over to mirrorless. The A7R III is lighter in weight which is one thing I was looking for but overall I feel the build quality is not what I am used to it does not have that professional body feel to the controls. I also feel the auto focus is not as good as what I had with my DSLR,s. The most important requirement is picture quality and again I don’t feel it is as good as what I have previously had from DSLR,s

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

As good as it gets

ILCE-7RM3 03/05/2018 by keith64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Switched from Canon 5D MkIII to the Sony Alpha7R MkIII as a result of many magazine reviews and also because body plus three f4 zoom lenses are considerably smaller and lighter than the f2.8s I was using. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product!

ILCE7RM3/B 02/05/2018 by Jackie Pan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first Sony camera, and i can't believe it, overall the image quality is much better than I expected. I was Canon user before with 5D3 which is also one good product. Now I will shoot more with Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

2 generations on = massive leap forward

ILCE-7RM3 01/05/2018 by Rowsoni (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgrading from A7R to A7R iii, I’m taking photographs effortlessly that previously would have been impossible. IBIS, low-light capability, eye-AF, faster AF, bigger battery are each a game-changer for me. To have them all together ... wow!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good

ILCE-7RM3 28/04/2018 by Ones (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product happy to be able to operate in commercials environment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A fantastic camera

ILCE-7RM3 27/04/2018 by Durham George (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this gem of a camera about a month ago and never regretted it. It replaces a 7RII, which was a great in its own right, but the 7RIII seems so much better. Screen, EFV and image stabilisation seem to work..... well better. The fact that the auto EVF/Screen switching is off when the screen is pulled out is just a bit great thinking. Then of course there is the battery life, excellent is the only way to put it compared to the 7RII. The menu seems so much better, but then it may be because I'm used to it. Excellent burst shooting and two card slots for those paranoid about a card failure. Just a great camera with fantastic image quality that has to be seen to be believed. Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Another outstanding camera

ILCE-7RM3 27/04/2018 by Roger Putnam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I exchanged my A7RII for an A7RIII a week ago and have already experienced the step forward that the new purchase has delivered. I was in York yesterday and visited the Jorvik Centre for the first time. The amazing quality of the hand held shots I took on the move in very low light have impressed my friends who use Leicas and other top end cameras.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Best Value 4 Money FullFrame MILC

ILCE-7RM3 26/04/2018 by Dr_Xaos (United Kingdom)

I replaced my α7R Mk I, which I have had 4 about 5 Happy years (11545 PiCount) and when bought & up 2 when the α7R Mk III arrived, was the Best Value 4 Money FullFrame MILC on the market. Mk III is a very worthy successor to Mk I; I only wish SONY would have added a microFlash.... P'Grapher enthusiast with more than 40years XPerience and a large & diverge collection of cameras from AGFAs to Canon & NIKONs to SONYs & LEICAs to mention but a few makes. Dr. Xaos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Produces lovely portraits

ILCE-7RM3 26/04/2018 by Cropper 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not yet had opportunity to use on landscapes or wildlife but very pleased with results so far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High quality technology

ILCE-7RM3 23/04/2018 by Tommy10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this and am delighted with its versatility and quality. Image quality is outstanding. There is a steep learning curve - beyond auto!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The camera the Sony a7r ii should have been

ILCE-7RM3 18/04/2018 by Podge4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have found no irritations in performance as yet and for landscape and buildings the 42mpix are excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

ILCE-7RM3 18/04/2018 by Jogodedentro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Moved from a canon 5d3 no regrets about buying this A7R3. There are trade offs however the Sony build quality although solid and light is probably not as robust as the canon, and the large f1.4 sigma art primes plus adapter I had are were just too heavy and unbalanced on the sony body, so I have sold these to buy smaller and lighter sony FE mount glass. Limited native lens choice remains an issue with Sony, and prime Sony glass is on the expensive side, before I sold them my sigma EF mount glass worked very well with the MC-11 adapter, so there are plenty of options with adapted glass if the Sony lens offerings don't appeal or are too expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible Camera

ILCE-7RM3 16/04/2018 by FrankThatSonyGuy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this a few days and I am learning the menus etc, but the camera is incredible and the focusing system is better than any other camera I've ever used and I've used a lot of SLR's. It is easy to handle and carry and I will never go back to DSLR's again. The EVF makes exposure a doddle it makes life so much easier, I used to think easy doesn't make me a good Photographer, however I've since learnt I've nothing to prove I know how to handle and use a camera so why make life harder when I can just concentrate on producing great images, after all the process doesn't end when you push the button, you still have to edit to a professional level to produce a great image, the Sony Mirrorless just makes that process a little less painful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Phenomenal Upgrade to my Sony A7R!

ILCE-7RM3 12/04/2018 by MarkyM38 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had my A7R for 4 years. Been all over the world with it. More than happy. Did not upgrade when the A7R2 came out although very tempted. When I saw the feature set for the A7R3, and in particular the PDAF points and general speed for this 42+ MP monster, I knew now was the time to upgrade. A phenomenal camera. Now it has the speed as well as top drawer quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Upgrade to an already excellent camera

ILCE-7RM3 11/04/2018 by Leedstim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wasn't sure what could be improved on the A7Rii apart from the battery. However, Sony have managed to make a number of significant improvements and I love this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Access to Photography

ILCE-7RM3 11/04/2018 by D4vehug (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this camera. I've been pursuing photography full time for the last 6 years since a motorbike accident left me with no left arm & spinal injuries. This is the best camera for my situation I have come across, & I immediately bought one for the following reasons: Eye focus - wow, no more fumbling about trying to move the focus point The essentials (SS, Ap & ISO) can be accessed with the right hand, without having to lower the camera, as well as back button focus & eye focus The camera body is light enough so I can easily use it Works with existing Elinchrom studio lights including HSS (with Skyport HS) 48mp So far I haven't missed the Nikon D4S or the 810 one bit. If you haven't used this Sony model do yourself a favour & try it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not a huge upgrade

ILCE-7RM3 08/04/2018 by Mehmet23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the Sony A7RII and I hated the focusing and battery on the A7RII. The new A7RIII has a better focusing, much better battery and 2 card slots but you can write faster only on the slot one. Tell me Sony whyyyyy. Also why dis you use the same sensor from the Sony A7RII. On the next model I expect a better sensor wirh more megapixel, a much faster focusing system and both card slots to write fast. These are the downside of the camera. Other than these issues I love the A7RIII. If you’re not shooting sports and tou don’t mind changing the batteries often then buy the older A7RII and save yourself £1500 because they’re the same camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing camera body

ILCE7RM3/B 07/04/2018 by Linkmodo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I made the switch from full Nikon DSLR ecosystem, only a week since I received the camera, I'm already in love with the Sony A7R III. The resolution is mind-blowing. The Eye AF is super useful. I love the in camera stabilization. The menu system definitely improved compared to the last generation (I used to own a Sony A6300) There are enough customizable buttons for me to put all the necessary settings at a push of a button. The weight difference compared to a traditional DSLR (at least 0.5lb) body is huge for me, now it puts quite less strain on my shoulder than when I'm holding my DSLR gears. The battery life is excellent, not at DSLR levels but should last almost a day of shooting on just one charge. The only downside right now of the Sony mirrorless ecosystem is that lens options are a bit less sophisticated than the Nikon and Canon counterpart. But that will change very soon with Sigma releasing dedicated fast prime and zoom lenses for the Sony FE mount. You'll also have the option to use Canon lens with a MC-11 converter and retain most AF functions. Another slight disadvantage is that sensor is very prone to dust since there is no mirror in front of it to protect it, so always keep the sensor facing down when changing lenses. Overall, very happy with the purchase. I also pre-ordered a A7 III and I think that camera will be a great companion to my A7R III.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Canon beater

ILCE-7RM3 05/04/2018 by pjayuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using Canon cameras for the past 40 years+ the Sony a7RIII is so far the best camera I have had. Easy to use, great image quality, silent shutter, great battery life, can use my existing Canon lens's until there is a better range of Sony/ Sony fit lens's. Love the electronic viewfinder (great low latency). Menu system could be better organised, but that's a matter of getting used to it. Overall so far a great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great effort, but need to polish some corners

ILCE7RM3/B 04/04/2018 by MJT2018 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony A7RIII is a big heavy camera in a VERY small package. This is my first Sony camera after having owned SLR's and DSLR's so I have a very strong bais for Mirror systems vs Mirrorless. I really like the image quality and the high ISO quality is truly class-leading. I really like the option of using all my old rangefinder and manual focus lenses and can build a system based on the best lens in class, not just brand specific. More than that, being able to see in real time EXACTLY whet the final image is going to look like allow you to get the look you want using special lenses. This is truly liberating. Silent shooting and 10 frames per second are definitely performance enhancements compared to the previous generation of cameras of any brand, and make this camera hugely versatile in terms of shooting situations you'll be comfortable covering. However the ergonomics of this camera are a little disappointing. I have barely space to fit my fingers between grip and lens mount. The buttons are spread around the body whilly nilly and although they are customisable, there are quite a few limits as to what you can have do for you. Image review is not intuitive and uses 3 different locations for essential commands (view, magnify and delete). While the camera allows 3rd party lenses by way of it's short flange distance, there are very few aids for manual focus lenses such as a database of lenses - at least manual input of your lenses (as Nikon does) would be appreciated! Another area I'm disappointed in is the complete lack of weather sealing on the bottom of the camea and the battery department. For a third generation product this is pretty big fail, especially considering as all buttons and dials are well sealed. So why not the bottom? And this is more relevant than you think! I'm not talking about taking your camea into a snowstorm and hoping it will survive.. I'm talking about your 3 year old knocking over a glass of milk on the table and there goes your camera! Image size formats available are limited, with the RAW option being full-size with no option for 5:4, 1.2 crop etc. This makes file sizes unnecessarily large. Timelapse options available with previous model A7RII are sadly not present on the current one, necessitating the purchase of an external intervalometre whereas competitors have it built in. Admittedly the movie modes allow slow frame rates and do give some time-lapes usability. One feature in common with other manufacturers is that ISO values below 50ASA are not available. For a camera with such a versatile feature set this is a pity. If you didn't understand why it's not imporant, then this may be too much camera for you, but if you do, you'll know how difficult it is shooting with a Noctilux f0.95 lens or any other large aperture lens wide open in full sunlight. So in conclusion I have to say that the battery performance, image quality (both through the viewfinder and final image), silent shooting with high frame-rates and effectively open mount make this a camera concept that will win over many photographers. No camera is perfect and this Sony has quite a few unpolished edges (literally) but it is a very powerful camera packed into a compact size. I just hope that Sony can take my critiques to heart and make their product better than when they released it, via Firmare updates.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM3 29/03/2018 by GeorgieB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the camera just over 1 week now great camera let down by its poor touch screen. Hence only 4 stars

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7r3 New buy

ILCE-7RM3 19/03/2018 by Davel424 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having just received this new camera n upgrade from a7r2 it's got some nice new features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Disappointed in Sony but not the Cam

ILCE-7RM3 14/03/2018 by genofrost (USA)

Sony made a quote and quote "basic camera model" the A7III for way less with better capabilities than the A7RIII which is a professional camera. How? Why? I bought my A7RIII when it came out on preorder and love the camera but if its the megapixel that makes it more expensive then obviously people are going to buy the lesser priced one which offers more. You're telling me i bought a camera and the only difference is the megapixel and you make the A7III with far more specs and capabilities than the A7RIII. That's not right! Better eye auto focus, better low light capabilities, better video, more focus points, it borrows the performance from the A9 and you call it the basic model. So what do you call the A7RIII? I'm very disappointed! It's like I've wasted my money buying a superior product to be inferior to a lesser product much advanced. The A7R series was always a step or 2 above the A7 series now it's the total opposite. I believe Sony owes all A7RIII owners an explanation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

4

0

WOW!!

ILCE-7RM3 06/03/2018 by Digital Shooter (USA)

I was a Nikon Shooter for the past 25+ years, and just recently switched over to Sony a7R lll Feb. 2018. I was tired of waiting for Nikon to do something professional with a mirrorless camera. Lets just say I am very happy I went with the Sony. I have the A7 lll on order and will be switched over to all Sony in the very short future. I have nothing bad to say about Nikon they have been great to me over the years... I feel its just time for a change.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Changed from Canon to Sony

ILCE-7RM3 03/03/2018 by 749sduke (United Kingdom)

Changed from Canon 5diii to Sony A7riii and have no regrets what so ever. Only thing is Sony know how to charge even more than Canon!! As far as the camera is concerned I absolutely love using it. Most people's complaint is the menu system, it is very comprehensive but once you've used it for a while it is not an issue, can't really say I've had any problems getting used to it. Apart from that, ease of use, battery life, build quality, image quality and also the smaller size have all inspired me to use it more and more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A Genuine Beast

ILCE-7RM3 01/03/2018 by TheImpressedGuy (USA)

Having owned the forgiving a7rii, I was so excited to get my hands on the new a7riii. I placed an order an hour after preorders were available. I knew it would be better. I had no idea how much better. Every aspect of this camera is designed around user input. From the long lasting battery to the eye-auto focus. Everything is simply better. Low light, touch screen, image stabilization, the list goes on and on. I simply cannot say enough about how versatile this camera has evolved. I’ll include a few images to give you an idea of when I was just shooting from the hip. My files are too large to upload to this page. Having extremely high resolution full-frame images does Have it’s drawbacks ;)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Excellent

ILCE-7RM3 01/03/2018 by CCodder (USA)

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A camera that does it all without compromise!

ILCE-7RM3 26/02/2018 by jsteele95 (USA)

As someone who has gotten into photography over the last five years, this camera hits so many marks that you feel confident you will get a good shot no matter what the subject. The myriad of features is not for the beginner or someone who doesn’t want to put in the time to get to know the camera’s full potential. For those of us that want to have all the tools readily assessable, a little bit of effort in getting to know the A7R3 goes a long way. Sony does need to work on the touch screen implementation as this is the only aspect that truly lags the competition. This would make navigating a comprehensive menu system much more bearable and intuitive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

GREAT FLEXIBILITY

ILCE-7RM3 24/02/2018 by Davy7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since I have owned Sony mirrorless before I find the menu system no problem but still long winded. However the use of memory buttons everywhere ensures that I don't have to refer to the menu system any deeper than the function button. This camera combined with the 100-400mm GM gives fantastic image quality and I can make 100% crops with loss of quality. AF responsiveness is very fast to capture birds in flight or when they fly from branch to branch. Also the longer lasting battery is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0