86

4.5 based on 86 customer reviews

62
15
4
3
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Game Changing Dynamic Range And Resolution

ILCE7RM3 18/12/2017 by dcstep (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm reviewing the a7R III from the perspective of a bird and wildlife shooter. I do lots of shooting of moving animals at predawn and after sunset, so dynamic range is a huge plus. Since I'm shooting feathers and fur, resolution is a high priority. Historically, to get more resolution, you traded off dynamic range. I had a camera with 50+mp resolution from another manufacturer, which was great, in great light, but very noise as things darkened. I have no such issue with this Sony. My first Sony was the wonderful a9. I happy to report that almost all of the stunning autofocus capability carries over to the a7R III. Using Sony's G Master lenses, like the FE 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 GM OSS, it's like cheating. You set AF to "Lock-On" and it'll track a fast bird all over the viewfinder. Shooting sunrises and sunsets with the stunning FE 24-70mm f/2.8 GM, at low ISOs, like ISO 50 and 100, the dynamic range is luxurious. I can expose for the highlights, with total confidence that I can pull up shadows, without generating a ton of noise, or losing subtle variations. In full, bright sunlight, I can shoot a black-billed magpie at ISO 800 and get subtle details in the blackest blacks and not blow out the beautiful whites and blues of the bird. This is game changing. Because of rolling shutter distortion of fast moving subjects, I have to use the mechanical shutter, particularly for birds in flight. The shutter gives a full 10-frames per second and is quieter than my prior brand. The 500,000 click predicted shutter life is comforting. Shutter blackout is a minor annoyance. My a9, with 20-fps and silent shooting spoiled me a bit, but the a7R III beats my prior brand, that had slower fps and far less resolution and dynamic range. My biggest nit is that I wish that they'd move the lens release to the left side of the lens, where it belongs. On the right side, my fingers are busy gripping, with big lenses attached, which leads to me occasionally releasing the lens. A lens hasn't fallen off yet, thank goodness, but the give up is that the lens suddenly won't focus. With my other brand, I used only their very best lenses. As I add to my Sony lens arsenal I'm finding that every lens is superior in image quality, slightly lighter and slightly smaller. That's huge for someone routinely carrying two bodies and five lenses, including a 500/f4. Oh, BTW, at the top of my wish list from Sony is a 600/f4 G Master. I know that they've got a 400/f2.8 coming out, but that's a sports lens, not a wildlife and bird lens. Patiently waiting... BTW, I can use my other brand's lenses, using an adapter, but I much prefer Sony's native lenses. My Sony lens kit includes the following: FE 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 GM OSS, FE 24-70mm f/2.8 GM, FE 12-24mm f/4 G and the FE 1.4x and 2.0x teleconverters. To sum up, the Sony a7R III has a world class autofocus system, almost as good as the a9, class leading dynamic range and high resolution. It's a complete camera, that can shoot just about anything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great effort, but need to polish some corners

ILCE7RM3/B 04/04/2018 by MJT2018 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony A7RIII is a big heavy camera in a VERY small package. This is my first Sony camera after having owned SLR's and DSLR's so I have a very strong bais for Mirror systems vs Mirrorless. I really like the image quality and the high ISO quality is truly class-leading. I really like the option of using all my old rangefinder and manual focus lenses and can build a system based on the best lens in class, not just brand specific. More than that, being able to see in real time EXACTLY whet the final image is going to look like allow you to get the look you want using special lenses. This is truly liberating. Silent shooting and 10 frames per second are definitely performance enhancements compared to the previous generation of cameras of any brand, and make this camera hugely versatile in terms of shooting situations you'll be comfortable covering. However the ergonomics of this camera are a little disappointing. I have barely space to fit my fingers between grip and lens mount. The buttons are spread around the body whilly nilly and although they are customisable, there are quite a few limits as to what you can have do for you. Image review is not intuitive and uses 3 different locations for essential commands (view, magnify and delete). While the camera allows 3rd party lenses by way of it's short flange distance, there are very few aids for manual focus lenses such as a database of lenses - at least manual input of your lenses (as Nikon does) would be appreciated! Another area I'm disappointed in is the complete lack of weather sealing on the bottom of the camea and the battery department. For a third generation product this is pretty big fail, especially considering as all buttons and dials are well sealed. So why not the bottom? And this is more relevant than you think! I'm not talking about taking your camea into a snowstorm and hoping it will survive.. I'm talking about your 3 year old knocking over a glass of milk on the table and there goes your camera! Image size formats available are limited, with the RAW option being full-size with no option for 5:4, 1.2 crop etc. This makes file sizes unnecessarily large. Timelapse options available with previous model A7RII are sadly not present on the current one, necessitating the purchase of an external intervalometre whereas competitors have it built in. Admittedly the movie modes allow slow frame rates and do give some time-lapes usability. One feature in common with other manufacturers is that ISO values below 50ASA are not available. For a camera with such a versatile feature set this is a pity. If you didn't understand why it's not imporant, then this may be too much camera for you, but if you do, you'll know how difficult it is shooting with a Noctilux f0.95 lens or any other large aperture lens wide open in full sunlight. So in conclusion I have to say that the battery performance, image quality (both through the viewfinder and final image), silent shooting with high frame-rates and effectively open mount make this a camera concept that will win over many photographers. No camera is perfect and this Sony has quite a few unpolished edges (literally) but it is a very powerful camera packed into a compact size. I just hope that Sony can take my critiques to heart and make their product better than when they released it, via Firmare updates.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

86 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic Camera

ILCE-7RM3 13/06/2018 by Shashi Reddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic camera with all the great featured but lacking the time lapse option with such a huge price mark...bit dissapoints me...however the camera has got stunning other featured and image quality is simply brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Eye focus great performance

ILCE-7RM3 08/06/2018 by fixitfit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Eye focus great performance. Very good focusing system. Was a Nikon guy but I'm selling all my gear for Sony gear now.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Time to try a Sony

ILCE-7RM3 30/05/2018 by Hens789 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been watching the development of Sony imaging products with great interest over the last few years having previously been a Nikon user, and most recently a Canon user, and have been waiting for the right time to try one of the bodies. Along with their amazing sensor technologies, I have been most impressed by some of the autofocus features (eye autofocus) as well as their determination to innovate and resolve previous issues flagged up by market feedback. I gather on the previous models, battery life was cited as a weakness, and now with this version, the mkIII A7R, this has been greatly improved. But the most compelling reason for trying it now has been the ability to use an adapter and the ability to continue using the Canon and Sigma lenses I have bought over recent years which I would be loathe to trade in. And I am pleased to say that with the Sigma MC-11 adapter, although there are some features my lenses will not fulfil, they are still proving extremely effective. The electronic viewfinder makes manual focus really simple with focus peaking, and it means that even in bright conditions one can still review shots easily. No camera (or product) is ever going to be 100% perfect, but I am certainly very pleased with my experience of the A7R III so far. Well done Sony. Keep up the good work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

***Lovely stills camera with a major draw back***

ILCE-7RM3 29/05/2018 by TrueWonderPeter (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I make documentaries for the BBC and C4 in the UK and already own a F55 video camera. However, I need a small rig for production stills, more intimate, low key video work and as a B Roll solution. For a camera that costs so much, the A7Riii’s lack of 422 10 bit internal recording is a MAJOR flaw. It means this camera is completely unsuitable for broadcast production. I will be selling mine as soon as I can find another small camera with the requisite colour phase and codecs. If Panasonic can do it (GH5) Sony can. Come on Sony, get it right with the A7Siii.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Great Camera with fantastic image quality

ILCE-7RM3 24/05/2018 by py4876 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What can I say? This camera is fast, the image quality is excellent and the auto focus works great even with my a-mount lens Sony 70-400mm F4-5.6 G SSM II (with Sony LA-EA3 Adapter). I´m completely satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

One of the best investments i've done.

ILCE-7RM3 16/05/2018 by SamsonMathews (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a wedding photographer, and i've found this camera to be one of the best in the market to own it. Features are brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A really worthwhile upgrade

ILCE-7RM3 13/05/2018 by Macpants (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the a7R3 to replace my a7R2 as I suspect many have done. My main reason for doing so are practical more so than any issues with the 2. I have an a9 also and a shared battery/charger is convenient when you’re in a hurry. The slightly revised button layout is much better and the twin card slots is also welcome. Are the pictures any better? Not really but the way you go about getting them is much slicker.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Much brighter viewfinder and toggle focus..

ILCE-7RM3 13/05/2018 by Mal360 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had the camera a short while and have so far only taken some 50 frames, mostly of my apple trees in my back garden. Using the SEL90M28G macro lens in conjunction with this camera body makes getting that image easier...

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb.

ILCE-7RM3 10/05/2018 by Mdh1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this having read several extremely positive magazine reviews. Previously I’d been using canon DSLR’s and had been reasonably happy with them. I shoot at an accomplished semi pro level and would strongly recommend this to anyone seeking a camera with top class spec and ability. Very impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

5* Stars NOT enough ‼️

ILCE-7RM3 08/05/2018 by BaldyMarius (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this A7Riii on the recommendation of a bloke I sat with at NEC camera show. Hadn’t heard of Jason Lanier, but his reasons for switching to Mirrorless cameras were persuasive and I hadn’t realised that while Sony had continued with progressing the Cybershot that I owned in 2003 when I then went to Canon for interchangeable lenses and higher MPixels. I had a succession of High end Canons, bought good glass, but in a conversation over a table I was prepared to return 2 x CanonD5 Mk4’s for a mirrorless Sony. I was so impressed I bought a second 3 weeks later and am recycling my EOS 1 Ds3’s and will get some Sony glass, as well as the Sigme MC-11 to use my Canon glass until I’ve migrated everything I want to.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Wow

ILCE-7RM3 08/05/2018 by Dymo (United Kingdom)

I bought after owning Sony DSLR from 2009 I love this camera, haven’t discovered all the features of this camera yet but the autofocus is amazing also love the auto focus on the eye the best thing. Because it is 42 megapixels when you have up loaded your photo you can really zoom in or zoom out until you get the perfect picture currently using ZEISS 24-70mm. The negative about the camera, it’s a lot of money and menu could still be better and the LCD srceen on the back needs updating. Apart from all that Sony has made a incredible Camera and I love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not As Good As Expected

ILCE-7RM3 07/05/2018 by dave1955 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For many years I have been using DSLR cameras and thought I would change over to mirrorless. The A7R III is lighter in weight which is one thing I was looking for but overall I feel the build quality is not what I am used to it does not have that professional body feel to the controls. I also feel the auto focus is not as good as what I had with my DSLR,s. The most important requirement is picture quality and again I don’t feel it is as good as what I have previously had from DSLR,s

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

As good as it gets

ILCE-7RM3 03/05/2018 by keith64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Switched from Canon 5D MkIII to the Sony Alpha7R MkIII as a result of many magazine reviews and also because body plus three f4 zoom lenses are considerably smaller and lighter than the f2.8s I was using. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product!

ILCE7RM3/B 02/05/2018 by Jackie Pan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first Sony camera, and i can't believe it, overall the image quality is much better than I expected. I was Canon user before with 5D3 which is also one good product. Now I will shoot more with Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

2 generations on = massive leap forward

ILCE-7RM3 01/05/2018 by Rowsoni (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgrading from A7R to A7R iii, I’m taking photographs effortlessly that previously would have been impossible. IBIS, low-light capability, eye-AF, faster AF, bigger battery are each a game-changer for me. To have them all together ... wow!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good

ILCE-7RM3 28/04/2018 by Ones (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product happy to be able to operate in commercials environment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A fantastic camera

ILCE-7RM3 27/04/2018 by Durham George (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this gem of a camera about a month ago and never regretted it. It replaces a 7RII, which was a great in its own right, but the 7RIII seems so much better. Screen, EFV and image stabilisation seem to work..... well better. The fact that the auto EVF/Screen switching is off when the screen is pulled out is just a bit great thinking. Then of course there is the battery life, excellent is the only way to put it compared to the 7RII. The menu seems so much better, but then it may be because I'm used to it. Excellent burst shooting and two card slots for those paranoid about a card failure. Just a great camera with fantastic image quality that has to be seen to be believed. Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Another outstanding camera

ILCE-7RM3 27/04/2018 by Roger Putnam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I exchanged my A7RII for an A7RIII a week ago and have already experienced the step forward that the new purchase has delivered. I was in York yesterday and visited the Jorvik Centre for the first time. The amazing quality of the hand held shots I took on the move in very low light have impressed my friends who use Leicas and other top end cameras.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Best Value 4 Money FullFrame MILC

ILCE-7RM3 26/04/2018 by Dr_Xaos (United Kingdom)

I replaced my α7R Mk I, which I have had 4 about 5 Happy years (11545 PiCount) and when bought & up 2 when the α7R Mk III arrived, was the Best Value 4 Money FullFrame MILC on the market. Mk III is a very worthy successor to Mk I; I only wish SONY would have added a microFlash.... P'Grapher enthusiast with more than 40years XPerience and a large & diverge collection of cameras from AGFAs to Canon & NIKONs to SONYs & LEICAs to mention but a few makes. Dr. Xaos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Produces lovely portraits

ILCE-7RM3 26/04/2018 by Cropper 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not yet had opportunity to use on landscapes or wildlife but very pleased with results so far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High quality technology

ILCE-7RM3 23/04/2018 by Tommy10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this and am delighted with its versatility and quality. Image quality is outstanding. There is a steep learning curve - beyond auto!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The camera the Sony a7r ii should have been

ILCE-7RM3 18/04/2018 by Podge4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have found no irritations in performance as yet and for landscape and buildings the 42mpix are excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

ILCE-7RM3 18/04/2018 by Jogodedentro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Moved from a canon 5d3 no regrets about buying this A7R3. There are trade offs however the Sony build quality although solid and light is probably not as robust as the canon, and the large f1.4 sigma art primes plus adapter I had are were just too heavy and unbalanced on the sony body, so I have sold these to buy smaller and lighter sony FE mount glass. Limited native lens choice remains an issue with Sony, and prime Sony glass is on the expensive side, before I sold them my sigma EF mount glass worked very well with the MC-11 adapter, so there are plenty of options with adapted glass if the Sony lens offerings don't appeal or are too expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible Camera

ILCE-7RM3 16/04/2018 by FrankThatSonyGuy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this a few days and I am learning the menus etc, but the camera is incredible and the focusing system is better than any other camera I've ever used and I've used a lot of SLR's. It is easy to handle and carry and I will never go back to DSLR's again. The EVF makes exposure a doddle it makes life so much easier, I used to think easy doesn't make me a good Photographer, however I've since learnt I've nothing to prove I know how to handle and use a camera so why make life harder when I can just concentrate on producing great images, after all the process doesn't end when you push the button, you still have to edit to a professional level to produce a great image, the Sony Mirrorless just makes that process a little less painful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Phenomenal Upgrade to my Sony A7R!

ILCE-7RM3 12/04/2018 by MarkyM38 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had my A7R for 4 years. Been all over the world with it. More than happy. Did not upgrade when the A7R2 came out although very tempted. When I saw the feature set for the A7R3, and in particular the PDAF points and general speed for this 42+ MP monster, I knew now was the time to upgrade. A phenomenal camera. Now it has the speed as well as top drawer quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Upgrade to an already excellent camera

ILCE-7RM3 11/04/2018 by Leedstim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wasn't sure what could be improved on the A7Rii apart from the battery. However, Sony have managed to make a number of significant improvements and I love this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Access to Photography

ILCE-7RM3 11/04/2018 by D4vehug (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this camera. I've been pursuing photography full time for the last 6 years since a motorbike accident left me with no left arm & spinal injuries. This is the best camera for my situation I have come across, & I immediately bought one for the following reasons: Eye focus - wow, no more fumbling about trying to move the focus point The essentials (SS, Ap & ISO) can be accessed with the right hand, without having to lower the camera, as well as back button focus & eye focus The camera body is light enough so I can easily use it Works with existing Elinchrom studio lights including HSS (with Skyport HS) 48mp So far I haven't missed the Nikon D4S or the 810 one bit. If you haven't used this Sony model do yourself a favour & try it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not a huge upgrade

ILCE-7RM3 08/04/2018 by Mehmet23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the Sony A7RII and I hated the focusing and battery on the A7RII. The new A7RIII has a better focusing, much better battery and 2 card slots but you can write faster only on the slot one. Tell me Sony whyyyyy. Also why dis you use the same sensor from the Sony A7RII. On the next model I expect a better sensor wirh more megapixel, a much faster focusing system and both card slots to write fast. These are the downside of the camera. Other than these issues I love the A7RIII. If you’re not shooting sports and tou don’t mind changing the batteries often then buy the older A7RII and save yourself £1500 because they’re the same camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing camera body

ILCE7RM3/B 07/04/2018 by Linkmodo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I made the switch from full Nikon DSLR ecosystem, only a week since I received the camera, I'm already in love with the Sony A7R III. The resolution is mind-blowing. The Eye AF is super useful. I love the in camera stabilization. The menu system definitely improved compared to the last generation (I used to own a Sony A6300) There are enough customizable buttons for me to put all the necessary settings at a push of a button. The weight difference compared to a traditional DSLR (at least 0.5lb) body is huge for me, now it puts quite less strain on my shoulder than when I'm holding my DSLR gears. The battery life is excellent, not at DSLR levels but should last almost a day of shooting on just one charge. The only downside right now of the Sony mirrorless ecosystem is that lens options are a bit less sophisticated than the Nikon and Canon counterpart. But that will change very soon with Sigma releasing dedicated fast prime and zoom lenses for the Sony FE mount. You'll also have the option to use Canon lens with a MC-11 converter and retain most AF functions. Another slight disadvantage is that sensor is very prone to dust since there is no mirror in front of it to protect it, so always keep the sensor facing down when changing lenses. Overall, very happy with the purchase. I also pre-ordered a A7 III and I think that camera will be a great companion to my A7R III.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Canon beater

ILCE-7RM3 05/04/2018 by pjayuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using Canon cameras for the past 40 years+ the Sony a7RIII is so far the best camera I have had. Easy to use, great image quality, silent shutter, great battery life, can use my existing Canon lens's until there is a better range of Sony/ Sony fit lens's. Love the electronic viewfinder (great low latency). Menu system could be better organised, but that's a matter of getting used to it. Overall so far a great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great effort, but need to polish some corners

ILCE7RM3/B 04/04/2018 by MJT2018 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony A7RIII is a big heavy camera in a VERY small package. This is my first Sony camera after having owned SLR's and DSLR's so I have a very strong bais for Mirror systems vs Mirrorless. I really like the image quality and the high ISO quality is truly class-leading. I really like the option of using all my old rangefinder and manual focus lenses and can build a system based on the best lens in class, not just brand specific. More than that, being able to see in real time EXACTLY whet the final image is going to look like allow you to get the look you want using special lenses. This is truly liberating. Silent shooting and 10 frames per second are definitely performance enhancements compared to the previous generation of cameras of any brand, and make this camera hugely versatile in terms of shooting situations you'll be comfortable covering. However the ergonomics of this camera are a little disappointing. I have barely space to fit my fingers between grip and lens mount. The buttons are spread around the body whilly nilly and although they are customisable, there are quite a few limits as to what you can have do for you. Image review is not intuitive and uses 3 different locations for essential commands (view, magnify and delete). While the camera allows 3rd party lenses by way of it's short flange distance, there are very few aids for manual focus lenses such as a database of lenses - at least manual input of your lenses (as Nikon does) would be appreciated! Another area I'm disappointed in is the complete lack of weather sealing on the bottom of the camea and the battery department. For a third generation product this is pretty big fail, especially considering as all buttons and dials are well sealed. So why not the bottom? And this is more relevant than you think! I'm not talking about taking your camea into a snowstorm and hoping it will survive.. I'm talking about your 3 year old knocking over a glass of milk on the table and there goes your camera! Image size formats available are limited, with the RAW option being full-size with no option for 5:4, 1.2 crop etc. This makes file sizes unnecessarily large. Timelapse options available with previous model A7RII are sadly not present on the current one, necessitating the purchase of an external intervalometre whereas competitors have it built in. Admittedly the movie modes allow slow frame rates and do give some time-lapes usability. One feature in common with other manufacturers is that ISO values below 50ASA are not available. For a camera with such a versatile feature set this is a pity. If you didn't understand why it's not imporant, then this may be too much camera for you, but if you do, you'll know how difficult it is shooting with a Noctilux f0.95 lens or any other large aperture lens wide open in full sunlight. So in conclusion I have to say that the battery performance, image quality (both through the viewfinder and final image), silent shooting with high frame-rates and effectively open mount make this a camera concept that will win over many photographers. No camera is perfect and this Sony has quite a few unpolished edges (literally) but it is a very powerful camera packed into a compact size. I just hope that Sony can take my critiques to heart and make their product better than when they released it, via Firmare updates.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM3 29/03/2018 by GeorgieB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the camera just over 1 week now great camera let down by its poor touch screen. Hence only 4 stars

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7r3 New buy

ILCE-7RM3 19/03/2018 by Davel424 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having just received this new camera n upgrade from a7r2 it's got some nice new features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Disappointed in Sony but not the Cam

ILCE-7RM3 14/03/2018 by genofrost (USA)

Sony made a quote and quote "basic camera model" the A7III for way less with better capabilities than the A7RIII which is a professional camera. How? Why? I bought my A7RIII when it came out on preorder and love the camera but if its the megapixel that makes it more expensive then obviously people are going to buy the lesser priced one which offers more. You're telling me i bought a camera and the only difference is the megapixel and you make the A7III with far more specs and capabilities than the A7RIII. That's not right! Better eye auto focus, better low light capabilities, better video, more focus points, it borrows the performance from the A9 and you call it the basic model. So what do you call the A7RIII? I'm very disappointed! It's like I've wasted my money buying a superior product to be inferior to a lesser product much advanced. The A7R series was always a step or 2 above the A7 series now it's the total opposite. I believe Sony owes all A7RIII owners an explanation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

4

0

WOW!!

ILCE-7RM3 06/03/2018 by Digital Shooter (USA)

I was a Nikon Shooter for the past 25+ years, and just recently switched over to Sony a7R lll Feb. 2018. I was tired of waiting for Nikon to do something professional with a mirrorless camera. Lets just say I am very happy I went with the Sony. I have the A7 lll on order and will be switched over to all Sony in the very short future. I have nothing bad to say about Nikon they have been great to me over the years... I feel its just time for a change.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Changed from Canon to Sony

ILCE-7RM3 03/03/2018 by 749sduke (United Kingdom)

Changed from Canon 5diii to Sony A7riii and have no regrets what so ever. Only thing is Sony know how to charge even more than Canon!! As far as the camera is concerned I absolutely love using it. Most people's complaint is the menu system, it is very comprehensive but once you've used it for a while it is not an issue, can't really say I've had any problems getting used to it. Apart from that, ease of use, battery life, build quality, image quality and also the smaller size have all inspired me to use it more and more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A Genuine Beast

ILCE-7RM3 01/03/2018 by TheImpressedGuy (USA)

Having owned the forgiving a7rii, I was so excited to get my hands on the new a7riii. I placed an order an hour after preorders were available. I knew it would be better. I had no idea how much better. Every aspect of this camera is designed around user input. From the long lasting battery to the eye-auto focus. Everything is simply better. Low light, touch screen, image stabilization, the list goes on and on. I simply cannot say enough about how versatile this camera has evolved. I’ll include a few images to give you an idea of when I was just shooting from the hip. My files are too large to upload to this page. Having extremely high resolution full-frame images does Have it’s drawbacks ;)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent

ILCE-7RM3 01/03/2018 by CCodder (USA)

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A camera that does it all without compromise!

ILCE-7RM3 26/02/2018 by jsteele95 (USA)

As someone who has gotten into photography over the last five years, this camera hits so many marks that you feel confident you will get a good shot no matter what the subject. The myriad of features is not for the beginner or someone who doesn’t want to put in the time to get to know the camera’s full potential. For those of us that want to have all the tools readily assessable, a little bit of effort in getting to know the A7R3 goes a long way. Sony does need to work on the touch screen implementation as this is the only aspect that truly lags the competition. This would make navigating a comprehensive menu system much more bearable and intuitive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

GREAT FLEXIBILITY

ILCE-7RM3 24/02/2018 by Davy7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since I have owned Sony mirrorless before I find the menu system no problem but still long winded. However the use of memory buttons everywhere ensures that I don't have to refer to the menu system any deeper than the function button. This camera combined with the 100-400mm GM gives fantastic image quality and I can make 100% crops with loss of quality. AF responsiveness is very fast to capture birds in flight or when they fly from branch to branch. Also the longer lasting battery is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Amazing

ILCE-7RM3 22/02/2018 by MLF1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second Sony A7 range camera. Having been impressed by my A7 I upgraded to an A7riii very recently. I was traditionally a Nikon user but am no longer due to the ease, features and picture quality of the Sony A7riii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

The "all you need" camera!

ILCE-7RM3 12/02/2018 by uglypie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect fit in your hand. The usability of all the features makes you feel like a pro from the very first picture you take -- makes you wanna brag! The price is right for what you get -- and what you do get -- is the BEST!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

GREAT CAMERA BUT POOR USER INSTRUCTIONS

ILCE-7RM3 05/02/2018 by Yelmotob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Myprevius camera was the A7Rii variant so this was an upgrade. The camera is fine but there a re quite a few different handling characteristics with the Riii which are not explained in the user instructions and it takes a lot of time to research the new applications. A simple explanation about the new features included in the box would have been a great help

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Excellent all around camera

ILCE-7RM3 27/01/2018 by Dinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent all around camera Does all I want to and more The only thing that is lacking is the ability to download and purchase apps which this camera will not allow you to do like the time-lapse app

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

My Favorite Camera

ILCE-7RM3 19/01/2018 by macky93 (USA)

I purchased a A7RII back in early 2017 after switching from Canon,it had been my favorite camera from that point on. I shot in all sorts of conditions and really beat it up. It did have its drawbacks that everyone is aware of like the battery and not having a dual SD card slot. What had me jump to this was having the dual SD card slots added and most of all the battery has been doubled. I missed the joystick from my 5D IV and i was so happy when they added that. Being familiar with the other model and knowing how great it was I was confident that I was going to be just as happy with this. Sony has been pushing the bar each and every time they come out with a new product. Can't wait to put this camera through the ringer! Love it!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Most all rounded camera as of date Jan 2018!!!

ILCE-7RM3 16/01/2018 by Shubha (USA)

Camera is very easy and fantastic to work with whether it's still or video. Only drawback so far is in camera Time Lapse recorded, which all the cameras in this segment has.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

So glad I upgraded

ILCE-7RM3 15/01/2018 by Ianbremner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

upgraded my A7r2 this month and am slowly getting to grips with the new menus with so much more options. Stills and video seem to be much sharper and the upgraded autofocus is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Considered the A9 but chose the A7Riii

ILCE-7RM3 11/01/2018 by VicTim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Diverse interests from airshows to inside churches

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Impressed!!

ILCE-7RM3 10/01/2018 by acwongphoto (USA)

I held off switching from Nikon to Sony because of the issues of the Sony A7R II with battery and performance. Once i got my hands on it to try it out at a local camera store, I was very impressed with Sony addressing the issues that users and professionals had and fixing it (battery, improved AF, and Eye AF). The size and weight fits my hands perfectly. I decided to switch over to Sony A7R III from Nikon D810. I haven't looked back since.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

α7R to α7R III major progress in functionality

ILCE-7RM3 10/01/2018 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having lived with a couple of α7R cameras for several years I have always been impressed with its performance and usability. Now having purchased its successor the α7R III I can confirm the significant progress Sony have made with this generation. It is an outstanding camera. 1. an EVF was always the progress the industry needed the new α7R III is outstanding. 2. The improvements to the lens mounting scheme i.e. now all metal e-maount as opposed to the original plastic and much tighter tolerances are all much more satisfactory. 3. The "MyMenu" allows quick access tot he features I use all the time so no longer need to stumble through the huge menu to access items while working. 4. The noise performance improvements over the original α7R are another significant improvement, though I feel the IQ from the α7R is still outstanding with well lit subjects. 5. The AF and shooting speed is simply icing the cake but make sure you have a lens system that can keep up. Non native lens or even older Minolta lens do not perform well enough to match the cameras ability. Just bite the bullet and acquire some of the best lens products I have ever used. But do your research carefully there are some outstanding performers in the range the 85mm f1.8 Sony is a steal against the Sony Zeiss 85mm f1.4. Check out the DXO mark results before you buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Tremendous capability

ILCE-7RM3 08/01/2018 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing image quality, vast range of features, solid build quality. Not yet had opportunity to explore many of the features but impressed nevertheless.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Vast Improvement

ILCE7RM3 05/01/2018 by emem (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the mark III for about a month. It is a huge improvement on the mark II but the menus still need further work

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Best image quality & overall capability available.

ILCE7RM3 03/01/2018 by AZfotopro (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

During my 66 years of making fine art images my overriding objective has been to accurately capture the beauty of Nature during special moments in a way that someone looking at my images could experience the same feelings that I had when I made the exposures. For me, the Sony A7riii produces unsurpassed image quality, and a sense of realism never before achieved. Sony A7riii images exhibit greater clarity and color accuracy in comparison to the output from other cameras. Haven't had a chance to shoot landscapes and wildlife scenes yet. Can't wait.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

4

0

ONE OF THE BEST!!!

ILCE-7RM3 03/01/2018 by Mystro (USA)

I have the A9 & the A7r3. At the end of the day for me, this camera is the best all around camera i've ever had. I'f you're looking for a professional camera that can do pretty much it all then this is your camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Canon Lifetime User switched to Sony

ILCE7RM3 31/12/2017 by Zaelok (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been a lifetime canon user for 15yrs and have most of the best lenses from canon as well as a lot of the full frame bodies. I had a hard time debating whether I should get a a7rm2 or a Canon 5DsR, I chose latter one due to some of the negative feedback of overheating and battery issues for the a7rm3's predecessor. I'm so glad that sony made the positive changes and all my major concerns were addressed in a7rm3. While the CMOS censor is no different from a7rm2 which is disappointing, I'm super impressed by the focus speed and the easiness of transferring pics to cell phone. Another difference is the grip size, sony grip size is much smaller than canon's so it might feel a bit loose initially.There's still a long way to go for my new sony a7rm3 but I'm confident that I'll be continuously impressed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

One word fantastic

ILCE-7RM3 31/12/2017 by Alexlronard (USA)

The camera is a paradise the work with.. for photography and video it is Number one !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Finally a camera that can do it all!

ILCE7RM3 30/12/2017 by Sc645 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

The improvements in battery, speed and responsiveness make this a camera at home with sports or landscapes!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Like merging several top notch primes in one lens

ILCE-7RM3 29/12/2017 by badouedgar (USA)

A couple of weeks ago, I sold my Zeiss Loxia 35 f2.0 and bought the 16-35 GM because I occasionally found myself in situations wishing for a wider option than what my trusted Loxia 35 provided. I considered adding the Batis 18 or Loxia 21 but after a ton of research I realized the 16-35 GM can replace them all. Yes, it is bigger and heavier than the prime but my reason for taking up photography as a hobby was about the art of imaging. This modern zoom affords me the freedom and flexibility to continue developing my own signature style while matching the quality of top notch wide primes. When i migrated to Sony a couple of years ago, I really fell for the nostalgia of the small prime lens with Manual focus...the thinking was that it forces one to become more aware of the moment, a better photographer...take a few steps backwards or forward to frame your shot, etc. I used to hear the same type of arguments in the 90's about driving stick shift cars when automatics were becoming prevalent. Just like a well built modern car has gear box to allow manual or automatic driving .... my GM has an excellent manual AF system. And if I want to walk around town with a small set up, I have the excellent 55FE.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Why is there no comprehensive manual?

ILCE7RM3 29/12/2017 by drbruce2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting for this camera for several years, sand I ordered it as soon as it was available to order.The camera is wonderful, and the Sony zoom 70-300 lens I bought for it is super. BUT I have devoured the manual and the help manual, and they suck big time. Setting up the camera is a nightmare, as the documentation is severely lacking.Cripplingly so. There is a multitude of adjustments and modes that are not mentioned even in passing. Many people have paid a considerable amount of money to possess the best, and if they are like me, in the dark, for all of the possibilities available. I am about to retire, and bought the camera for my travels. What gives?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

3

0

Excellent

ILCE7RM3 27/12/2017 by ADK Bob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this Camera, a Big Improvement. This is now a Pro Level Camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

User unfriendly, OK camera, Overprice lenses

ILCE-7RM3 24/12/2017 by JC MIA (USA)

The so-called touch screen they advertise so much is a joke. It is not a fully functional touch screen. Very user unfriendly, it takes many steps and a lot of time to set up or change anything. It is not weather sealed and can get water damaged easily. It has a small footprint but not good for travel since it lacks GPS. All Sony lenses are much more expensive than Canon or Nikon lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

63

0

Absolutely amazing

ILCE7RM3 23/12/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is absolutely amazing, I have been so incredibly pleased with this purchase. Buy this camera, you won’t regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

In my opinion, the best Camera on the market.

ILCE7RM3 23/12/2017 by Vanderwar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply amazed by the capabilities of this camera. The A7Riii Proves that speed, resolution, Autofocus, portability, and ergonomics can all co-exist. This camera truly rivals any DSLR on the market, and does just about everything I could ever ask from a Camera. Autofocus tracking and accuracy is simply unbelievable, low light performance is out of this world for a High resolution Sensor, unreal dynamic range, great color science, buttery smooth video with MUCH less rolling shutter than previous generations, making it up to par with any of the competition in its class, and in some cases exceeding them. The video features packed into this small, well built body on top of the doubled speed of the burst rate for stills, image quality, and autofocus performance vs. the A7R-ii make it a worthy upgrade in my opinion, however, It's also deffinetly worth looking into if you have been wanting to dive into the mirrorless world but were worried about things like autofocus, which is INCREDIBLE even in low light, DUAL memory card slots, Buffer, or battery life (lasts all day and then some, even when shooting still and video) , which are ALL as good as or better than most DSLR's on the market to date in this new generation of the A7R3. This was the camera that finally convinced me to switch, sell off most of my Canon gear, and enjoy the benefits of a beautiful EVF, focus peaking, zebras, and the super 35 (aps-c) mode that makes it much like having 2 camera bodies in one smaller than most with less than half of the features. Silent shooting is also incredible for wildlife shooting, and the pixel shift mode bumps up the detail and improved color science even MORE, creating vivid, extremely detailed landscapes or architecture shots. Overall the speed, detail, AF, and overall handling of this camera are simply incredible, and I am more than happy with my decision to swap systems as a working photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Massive jump from canon 6D.

ILCE-7RM3 23/12/2017 by KPJ1999 (USA)

Just got the camera a few hours ago. Smaller with abundant features. Love the eye AF using metagenics on canon glass. Pictures are sharp and colors as natural as I would like. Wills urea reduce my need to photoshop

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

absolute choice for enthusiasts

ILCE-7RM3 21/12/2017 by SutloreK (USA)

It fits well on my hand, better ergonomics than my old A6300 for sure. The image quality seems to be OK in terms of noise but the depth of field is enormously different from the APS-C sensor. That is really the thing that I expect from moving to full frame and it does not disappoint me. However, it is a little bit too heavy even with a small lens like SEL35/2.8 that I need to get used to it as quick as possible.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Photographer of wedding

ILCE-7RM3 19/12/2017 by Khkh (USA)

Excellent in places with very low light and Extremely high shutter speed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Game Changing Dynamic Range And Resolution

ILCE7RM3 18/12/2017 by dcstep (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm reviewing the a7R III from the perspective of a bird and wildlife shooter. I do lots of shooting of moving animals at predawn and after sunset, so dynamic range is a huge plus. Since I'm shooting feathers and fur, resolution is a high priority. Historically, to get more resolution, you traded off dynamic range. I had a camera with 50+mp resolution from another manufacturer, which was great, in great light, but very noise as things darkened. I have no such issue with this Sony. My first Sony was the wonderful a9. I happy to report that almost all of the stunning autofocus capability carries over to the a7R III. Using Sony's G Master lenses, like the FE 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 GM OSS, it's like cheating. You set AF to "Lock-On" and it'll track a fast bird all over the viewfinder. Shooting sunrises and sunsets with the stunning FE 24-70mm f/2.8 GM, at low ISOs, like ISO 50 and 100, the dynamic range is luxurious. I can expose for the highlights, with total confidence that I can pull up shadows, without generating a ton of noise, or losing subtle variations. In full, bright sunlight, I can shoot a black-billed magpie at ISO 800 and get subtle details in the blackest blacks and not blow out the beautiful whites and blues of the bird. This is game changing. Because of rolling shutter distortion of fast moving subjects, I have to use the mechanical shutter, particularly for birds in flight. The shutter gives a full 10-frames per second and is quieter than my prior brand. The 500,000 click predicted shutter life is comforting. Shutter blackout is a minor annoyance. My a9, with 20-fps and silent shooting spoiled me a bit, but the a7R III beats my prior brand, that had slower fps and far less resolution and dynamic range. My biggest nit is that I wish that they'd move the lens release to the left side of the lens, where it belongs. On the right side, my fingers are busy gripping, with big lenses attached, which leads to me occasionally releasing the lens. A lens hasn't fallen off yet, thank goodness, but the give up is that the lens suddenly won't focus. With my other brand, I used only their very best lenses. As I add to my Sony lens arsenal I'm finding that every lens is superior in image quality, slightly lighter and slightly smaller. That's huge for someone routinely carrying two bodies and five lenses, including a 500/f4. Oh, BTW, at the top of my wish list from Sony is a 600/f4 G Master. I know that they've got a 400/f2.8 coming out, but that's a sports lens, not a wildlife and bird lens. Patiently waiting... BTW, I can use my other brand's lenses, using an adapter, but I much prefer Sony's native lenses. My Sony lens kit includes the following: FE 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 GM OSS, FE 24-70mm f/2.8 GM, FE 12-24mm f/4 G and the FE 1.4x and 2.0x teleconverters. To sum up, the Sony a7R III has a world class autofocus system, almost as good as the a9, class leading dynamic range and high resolution. It's a complete camera, that can shoot just about anything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

0

0

Wow

ILCE7RM3 17/12/2017 by compounddavid (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

All in with the E mount system and this is the one! I have the 6500, 6300, 7ii, Rx10m3. toss them all away this is by far the best. (save the 6500 for a backup)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Game Changer

ILCE-7RM3 17/12/2017 by jMad (USA)

My upgrade was from the a7ii, so this camera is a huge leap forward. focusing is sooo much better and faster. I had no idea how much the extra megapixels would help iq, but it's huge. the colors also seem to print better/truer. touch focus is awesome when you're trying to pick someone out of a crowd. low-light performance and dynamic range are both phenomenal. this camera lets me shoot with absolute confidence. I'm attaching a photo from a graduation today. while I did have to recover the shadows in Lightroom, it's really impressive how much detail was available throughout the entire range while shooting with natural light only, no reflectors and no HDR. Lens and settings - Sony FE 24-70 2.8 GM @ 35mm, 1/100, f4, ISO80

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Switched from Canon...

ILCE7RM3 12/12/2017 by anialichrjoy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was really thrilled when this camera was announced. I needed something between A9 and A7RII. This camera, finally made my decision easy to switch from Canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

SONY α7R III Full Frame Mirrorless Camera Review

ILCE-7RM3 12/12/2017  (USA)

See my review on Film & Digital Times Functions well and well thought out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

enhanced on all grounds over A7R2

ILCE-7RM3 12/12/2017  (USA)

I use multiple camera systems and over the years SONY has steadily becomes more use than the rest and the key reason has been steadily improvements in capturing and image quality. I have started my interchangeable SONY from NEX 5/7 and then original A7, A7R, then A7R2, added the A9 then now updated my A7R2 to A7R3 - a camera puts itself on the top tier on almost all measurements. SONY's menu system may seemed complicated to new users or users who did not really use the camera on frequent base, however, coming over from the earlier models I think once can gets familiar with the menu and customization system, the camera is extremely intuitive to use and very efficient in switching to match different shooting scenarios (still pictures as I primary do), the A9 is particularly good because it added the extra selecting dial, but A7R3 is now matured and basically has the exact layout of the A9 so shooting the tow cameras side by side will not cause any confusion - which is different from the case such for example Nikon's D5/D850 that the camera is different in size and way the control layout is organized. I believed the direction of where SONY is moving to will start to influence the rest of camera industrial - with standardize camera body and exact same operation layout making uses of varies camera models easy and efficient. Good job done!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4