76

4.5 based on 76 customer reviews

55
12
4
2
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Wanted

ILCE-7RM4 29/05/2020 by Geoff101 (United Kingdom)

Raw uncompredssed is huge. Raw compressed is lossy!! For God's sake provide lossless compression as many people have requested. Most cameras of this and lesser spec offer focus stacking. When are you going to catch up?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good Camera...but need option for lower resolution

ILCE-7RM4 07/11/2020 by avng (USA)

While 61MP is a high resolution, it slows down the entire photography workflow from taking photos to editing.  It would be great if this camera allowed options to take full frame raw files at a lower resolution.  Please consider changing software or other things such that the camera can take full frame raw file at a lower resolution.  This would be a great feature and boost more sale if Sony can do it.  Other competitors can do it, no reason why Sony can’t.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

76 Customer Reviews

0

ideal work machine

ILCE-7RM4 09/11/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i have had it for two weeks and am happy. also works as a family camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good Camera...but need option for lower resolution

ILCE-7RM4 07/11/2020 by avng (USA)

While 61MP is a high resolution, it slows down the entire photography workflow from taking photos to editing.  It would be great if this camera allowed options to take full frame raw files at a lower resolution.  Please consider changing software or other things such that the camera can take full frame raw file at a lower resolution.  This would be a great feature and boost more sale if Sony can do it.  Other competitors can do it, no reason why Sony can’t.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Best camera I have ever owned

ILCE-7RM4 23/10/2020 by GMW50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera for 9 months and I am delighted with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

R=Resolution

ILCE-7RM4 23/10/2020 by Markn9115 (USA)

The first time is held the new grip, I smiled. It felt as though the camera was shaking my hand. It felt as though, from that day on, this camera and I had made a pact to create some mind-blowing and work. Sounds silly, right. Who has an actual relationship with their gear? I never had. After a year, the camera feels as if it is an extension of my arm. Once all of my customers menus were dialed in, it became a part of me. I know this sounds ridiculous. But I feel quite confident no other camera is configured quite like mine is. It is customized to my style of stills and video. knowing I have this flexibility is extremely liberating. As I grow as a photographer, I find néw and exciting ways to properly customize my camera. Do I feel as if I am the best photographer? Of course not. But this tool has definitely “upped” my skills to a level I hadn’t though possible. The resolution is just a bonus, but blows my mind when I capture a little something special which can be recompose in post. As if I were so good I captured the exposure intentionally...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

good but with flaws

ILCE-7RM4 07/10/2020 by geoff102 (United Kingdom)

SENSOR IS A DUST MAGNET!! Urgently need option to close shutter on power down as introduced in latest firmware for A9ii. No lossless compression despite being asked for multiple times. No focus stacking. Looses bluetooth connection to phone on power save when location sharing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

GAME CHANGER!

ILCE-7RM4 03/10/2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this in March, so I've been using this for personal work and three international jobs now, The camera is awesome! The Image quality is incredible, its fast reliable and just lovely to shoot on, images are great out of camera and great to work with in post.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 26/09/2020 by Trev12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great view finder ,fantastic picture quality easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Thee best stills, landscape camera of 2019-2020

ILCE-7RM4 18/09/2020 by Chris the Photographer (USA)

So, honestly so much is good with this camera I'll make it quick. This is literally the best stills, protrait, landscape camera there is on market in 2019-2020 and probably will be for 2021. This is comfortable in hand, it takes sharp images, definitely geared for the stills person but I've gotten some great moving sports shots, great 4k video, and everything else. Like you could not go wrong. Heck, 5 years from now this camera will still be a serious contender. All a camera is a tool and you make it work. This "tool" in particular though will really help you do your craft. When shooting with it the camera just works with me becoming an extension of my visual art, when I'm doing protraits, landscapes, photo journalism it disappears and becomes part of me. The only cons are the touchscreen is only useful for selecting focus points. If it worked for menus it would be a huge improvement! The other the other downside is the menus. Which really aren't too bad especially after you get the hang of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

One word: unbelievable

ILCE-7RM4 02/09/2020 by IcyMile (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Swapped over after 20 years of Canon, and completely blown away with the quality, lightness, and performance of the Mk 4. It wasn’t love at first sight, but have now learnt the menus and how to set up the camera The resolution and image quality is impressive, and at 10 fps, + the lightness of the body and G Master lenses means it’s easier to lug about, and great results. Very happy with this equipment, not cheap, but for me a massive step to improving useability and love of photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Does most things .. 'ok'

ILCE-7RM4 09/08/2020 by JimmyOs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Two main problems. Focus 'hits' aren't great, giving about a 90% 'in-focus result. This is unlike the A73 which is up to about 99% (same mix of native prime lenses tried). Secondly, the write buffer is awful.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Ziggysmalls Photography

ILCE-7RM4 06/08/2020 by Ziggysmalls (United Kingdom)

Excellent no complaints very worth while purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

1

0

the A7r3 was great: this is even better

ILCE-7RM4 04/08/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only just bought it so too soon to have many results, but it's beautifully compact, the 60 megapixels feature is remarkable, I already have great lenses from my old A7r3. What else could I want?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Just great!

ILCE-7RM4 31/07/2020 by TibAndy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Early days yet, I only had it for 2 weeks. But certain things stand out immediately apart from the mind-blowing 61 Mpx detail. Ergonomics: A7 which finally feels right in the hand from the moment you pick it up. New buttons and their locations - fall naturally under you fingers, the joystick particularly useful. Huge amount of customisation incl. 'My Menu', where you can keep the most used menu options for quick retrieval. The viewfinder: you forget it is electronic - looks very natural, without any graininess and even its standard frame rate gives a smooth viewing experience. Huge dynamic range. Manual focusing, is finally possible (even pleasurable) with great precision even with the old lenses (via adaptor). I didn't need 61 Mpx, but thought it worthy upgrading from A7RII for many of these features. But 61 MPx is great: much better images even if you only output them at 1920x1200 or similar. But you might need a new computer if you mainly shoot RAWs - the 60 MB files are quite demanding. All in all I'm in love with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Love my new camera

ILCE-7RM4 30/07/2020 by Boban1963 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After two weeks I can see clear advantages of M4 over my previous A7RM3. Ergonomics much better. Autofocus is so much better and faster. My only problem is that old Lightroom version is not recognising AW format. Need to move to Capture One. Also need to learn to handle large RAW files. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Still in love with the Sony a7R IV...

ILCE7RM4/B 29/07/2020 by efactor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The a7R IV has become my go to camera for travel. In the past I've traveled with full frame DSLRs and even medium format digital cameras for their file quality. Now there is no comparison. The Sony a7R IV gives me that file quality, in a small package that can take the rigors of travel photography. Combine that with the wide variety of Sony lenses that take up very little room and traveling a breeze. Now I have room for a snack or even a jacket in the camera bag...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Superb camera

ILCE-7RM4 20/07/2020 by Peppercrew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already owned the A7 RII and whilst it is still going strong I wanted first a second camera body, a quicker write rate and great number of frames per second. I now have two excellent cameras that photograph anything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Fabulous. The ultimate all rounder.

ILCE-7RM4 17/07/2020 by Dbraz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very high quality images and superb focus tracking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Amazing Camera

ILCE-7RM4 09/07/2020  (USA)

Great photos, great features. My only issue is that the menu is still subpar. Also I wish we could use the touchscreen zero navigate the menu, zoom into photos and other things.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best hybrid camera out there!

ILCE-7RM4 07/06/2020 by Jackster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had mine for about a month, and I’m blown away. I used to have a Nikon DSLR and compared to that it is night and day. The resolution, colour and other features you get with this camera are next level compared with the Nikon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Phenomenal Camera

ILCE-7RM4 31/05/2020 by Blenn72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this thing! It's my second camera, and although I started off on a very basic Canon, I decided the time to play with the grown ups, was here. So I bought one of the best reviewed camera's, to date. I was not dissapointed! The learning curve, obviously, is steep. But I have a simple methodly. If my pictures are not great then it cannot be the equipment. Therefore I can grow onto what the this thing can do. But my first few pics I took, was mind blowing in difference to what I had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Wanted

ILCE-7RM4 29/05/2020 by Geoff101 (United Kingdom)

Raw uncompredssed is huge. Raw compressed is lossy!! For God's sake provide lossless compression as many people have requested. Most cameras of this and lesser spec offer focus stacking. When are you going to catch up?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Wonderful camera

ILCE-7RM4 18/05/2020 by Harribobs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this camera for a month now, using it a lot for a book of photos ”Springtime in lock-down”. I had the original 7R a long time ago but this is in a different class. Its resolution and the 3D quality of the images it produces with my Zeiss lenses are awesome and the AF and eye-AF systems impressive. In use it is much like my 7III, which I am used to and can customise to my preferences using the control buttons and very versatile function menu button.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely camera but a few extras still needed

ILCE-7RM4 16/05/2020 by Motor Show Photography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I don't have a problem with the fact you cam assign many options to buttons what I have the problem with is the overall lack of available buttons on the camera as a whole. When compared to the nikon D850 I have come from there is a dedicated iso on top that can be used on the fly and also 3 buttons on the front around the lens you can assign. Also when I use this in the dark nothing lights up like on many other brands. Quite disappointed as these are really important features to be in a camera of this excellent quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A technically advanced camera

ILCE-7RM4 08/05/2020 by Billy D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has taken my photography to a new levey

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive photo quality

ILCE-7RM4 02/05/2020 by borolr (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera when it was released and after using it for a long time I can confirm that the features of this camera are really impressive. This is my power horse that never fails when focusing. Having 61MP is a bonus, you can crop the picture at any size and still have a great size. I really recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Excellent camera

ILCE-7RM4 02/05/2020 by RossPics (United Kingdom)

I replaced my A7RIII with the A7RIV and although I have only been using the A7RIV for a few days, I have been so far impressed by the results. The difference between the two cameras is not huge but there are some small features that for my purpose was worth swapping the A7RII with the A7RIV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pixel shift rocks for studio work!

ILCE-7RM4 28/04/2020 by Pavlov (USA)

I bought this camera for scanning my artwork and I am so glad I did. Previously, I used my Nikon D810 and had to stitch multiple shots to get the resolution needed for printing. Now one properly done pixel shift image will do it. It’s great camera for travel and landscape photography accompanied with the Sony 24-105 f4 lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic camera

ILCE-7RM4 23/04/2020 by qntt2002 (USA)

Sony! You made a phenomenal camera. Great in every way! Please fix the wifi connectivity issues. They are atrocious! Transferring images from my camera to the PC is an never ending nightmare and the Imaging Edge software is absolutely unbelievably bad. I tried to photograph some birds on a tripod near a feeder using the app on the phone as a remote trigger. The lag and the lack of control is horrible. Unusable! Please! Please! Please! Don't let down this camera with software that is not bad but just garbage. How are you capable to make a camera that is close to perfection bun at the same time have the worst companion software on the market is beyond me. Play Memories was bad but at least was usable. I hope you will correct this. Thank you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent specs, beyond just the sensor.

ILCE7RM4/B 19/04/2020 by ISHOOTLITTLECAMERAS (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

A myriad of features come together to make this the best device for image quality, while simultaneously easing the task of creating a great photography. Exposure metering with face priority, in challenging lighting conditions, combine with excellent pro-level auto-focus, so the photographer can concentrate on elements like composition, posing, creative style, etc. Some of my favourite features are found in the customization features, speed, and no-fuss performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A chonky camera that make all-day-carry a chore.

ILCE7RM4/B 17/04/2020 by HSolo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing Camera with a few critical flaws -- I love this camera but I wish it was more ergonomic and lighter! I gave up my Canon DSLR to take advantage of the lighter mirror-less platform. I've owned the A7R, A7R (III), and currently own the A7R (IV). Although the Mark (IV) has far greater features (most of which I rarely use) than the Mark (I), I really miss the smaller dimensions and lighter weight for daily (street) shooting. I wouldn't think twice about picking up my A7R (Mk.I) when I'd head out of the house -- it was so light I barely noticed the weight at the end of a long day on the street. Not so with the A7R (IV) -- I hate having to convince myself to carry a camera with me! On the topic of ergonomics, the camera just feels very awkward in my hand. The buttons and knobs on the back need to be placed in positions that would be intuitive and effortless for the thumb to locate during shooting. Sony should also consider having a dial that would rotate vertically (as opposed to horizontally) on the back of the camera to suit the ease of thumb articulation. I can't help but feel the designers compromised far too much on ergonomics for sake of style. Finally, get used to having to clean the sensor -- often! I'm not sure why, but the camera attracts dust on the sensor. To be fair, all three of my A7Rs have had this weakness I just purchased a sensor cleaning kit online and use it every 2 weeks or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

0

Spectacular camera in all ways!

ILCE7RM4/B 09/04/2020 by Chemman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been totally happy with the Mark 4 in every way!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Kit

ILCE-7RM4 05/04/2020 by Dr Tickle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was recommended to this camera by a number of colleagues after years of shooting with Canon. The 61mp this camera has on offer is a game changer and I am very pleased with the results when using Canon lenses via an adaptor. Next step is a native Sony lens when CV 19 allows. Menus are less intuitive than I'm used to, but I seem to have been able to set the camera up in the same way as my Canons. True to say, there have been some real head scratching moments over menu settings and struggled to find the answer at times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 23/03/2020 by Hunter7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago brilliant in every way apart from the menu the menu needs sorting out its way to hard to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Amazing camera, world beater

ILCE-7RM4 19/03/2020 by Keva (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent camera, changed my photographic life. Recommend to everyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Great images but very buggy software

ILCE7RM4/B 18/03/2020 by Street photographer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great images and video so far. But the biggest problem is the flimsy OS. Whenever I use the product with the imaging edge app it constantly fails to connect. What’s worse is that this app seems to be damaging the firmware. For example my start stop trigger stopped working after using the application. And I had to load an older “cam set” which got it working again. So the firmware seems to be very flakey. Menus are improved but at the cost of stability. I would wait to buy until these bugs are worked out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Great image quality with good performance

ILCE-7RM4 10/03/2020 by snerkler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall I am very happy with this camera, image quality is excellent as you would expect. Ergonomics are vastly improved over earlier models and I can finally fit my fingers comfortably between the grip and lens. Feature set is impressive and I really like the customisation. Eye-AF is insanely good. The only cons are that AF accuracy in AF-C burst mode is not as accurate as other models when subjects are moving towards you (such as a running dog), and not all functions are assignable to the Fn buttons or Fn menu, the biggest omission for me being the AF with shutter option which is useful to toggle BBF. Another thing that could be improved is that not all settings are stored in the user memory (memory recall), for example you can't store AF with shutter off so that that particular setting sets to BBF.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Short of AMAZING!

ILCE7RM4/B 09/03/2020 by SamS1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this Camera since September 2019 and have put to some good use since. I'm a landscapes and travel photographer and have paired this camera with the Sony 16-35mm f2.8 GM and the 24mm f1.4 GM. The camera performed beautifully and with many more refinements that it's predecessor. All from minor ergonomics changes to buttons placement to overall performance with its fantastic autofocus; this camera is certainly a game changer. My only gripes with this camera, hence, being a bit short from "5 Stars" are some improvements that Sony should make before the competitors catch up with their systems such as, better menu system, replacing the current "atrocious and clunky App", improve the touch screen capabilities to current industry standards (take a lesson from FUJIFILM), offer smaller uncompressed RAW files and revise the shutter speed to allow longer than 30 seconds instead of always having to go to "Bulb" (like up to 10minutes options will be great); this is just to mention few!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

Brilliantly Versatile

ILCE-7RM4 08/03/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is versatile and packed full with latest tech and features. The 61MP allow you to shoot incredibly sharp pictures as well as able to crop to your hearts desire while still being able to use images for professional use. On top of this, the APSC-mode and the ClearZoom functions allow you to get an even better reach for those times where you feel your focal length isn’t enough without having to sacrifice too much on image quality. The IBIS is good but compared to other camera manufactures could be better. The 10FPS both mechanical and electronically is also incredibly useful whilst shooting fast moving subjects, especially sports and wildlife photography. Also, due to the maturity of the Sony mirrorless line-up the lens selection is excellent from both a first party as well as third party perspective. Overall this is an excellent piece of versatile kit which has everything for every occasion and more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Excellent High Resolution Camera

ILCE-7RM4 28/02/2020 by Peter2204 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Terrific camera in almost every respect, it would have been perfect if you could use Animal Eye with tracking

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Almost there

ILCE-7RM4 20/02/2020 by DSNOIR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item 4 months ago, the image quality is no better than the riii, with noise and focusing being an issue. The rear screen is as ever a disappointment, other manufacturers make far better use of it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

1

0

Advanced

ILCE-7RM4 13/02/2020 by T Money (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great piece of equipment. My online content is going to the next level. Really looking forward to this new adventure...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Very poor in low light

ILCE-7RM4 09/02/2020 by MikkiY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros - superb detail in a studio or good light. Better ergonomics than the Riii. Cons - atrocious noise even at very low ISO. This is probably a side effect of the huge number of pixels but it is unacceptable in a high end camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

1

0

Impressive!!

ILCE7RM4/B 24/01/2020 by BigBrownBear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded form the sony a6000 and wow!, big difference in a good way!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Loving It

ILCE7RM4/B 21/01/2020 by RichTimm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been on the edge of moving from Canon to Sony for quite some time. Not an easy move for me. I have been a Canon shooter since the 300D. I had a lot of Canon L Glass as well as 3 cameras. 2-5D Mk IIIs and 1-7D Mk II. After following Gavin Hardcastle and Nick Page on YouTube for almost a year I felt more at ease making the switch. I am so glad I did. I am just loving this camera. It has a few things I really need to get used to but I am very thrilled with the images I am getting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Noisy

ILCE-7RM4 12/01/2020 by Jtucker57 (USA)

I bought mine right as it arrived on the market and I wish I would have waited. The noise level seems to be worse on my previous cabers.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

A stunning piece of hardware...fantastic!

ILCE7RM4/B 06/01/2020 by LGabrielPhoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a professional photographer, I can appreciate the amazing IQ and features that this camera offers. 61MP is enough to print VERY large and crop at will. Then you have the Pixel Shift which is amazing for product photography as well. Really, aside from a possible 36MP version of the A9, this camera is at the top of my favorites list!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Suspect & inconsistent focusing

ILCE-7RM4 27/12/2019 by Rip2ley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had this for about 5 weeks having moved up from the A6500, first impressions, I was blown away, loved the bigger body, the deeper grip, the amazing EVF, the 61 mega pixels full frame, the 26 mega pixels in crop mode, the gorgeous colours. Prior to purchasing I'd read forums and reviews so I knew what I was getting, I expected more visible noise & I expected the focusing to be several milliseconds slower than the A9 but I didn't expect the focus to be quite as suspect and inconsistent as it is. I'm not sure if the firmware update has affected it, it sure seems to have become worse following the install but sometimes the camera just won't focus on the subject at all, I'm pressing the back button focus & nothing happens regardless of the focus area in use, I have to move the camera away from the subject, quickly focus on something else then back to the subject, missing the shot. I've also noticed that it doesn't track well, especially on small birds and the focus point tends to jump around, you can point it at the birds head & it will jump off onto the branch, if the bird moves off, it doesn't go with it. (I have the focus setting at 1 locked on) My most recent use of the camera was in woods in the Cairngorms, I had locked the ISO not to go about 4000, it was fairly dark and overcast so every shot was taken at ISO4000, could it be the dark conditions are affecting the camera? I wouldn't have thought so given Sony's rating of it. Now having said that, before the firmware update was released I photographed red kites and I was thrilled by the amount of keepers I got, way more than I did with the A6500, the example attached was shot using the 100-400 at ISO 4000 and it's sharp. I've read that having 61MP will show up any flaws in technique, you need to up your shutter speed to compensate but using it in the Cairngorms I was getting inconsistent results at 1/1000, not many were critically sharp while some were, example 2, but I really struggled to get anything small, the focus system simply didn't seem fast enough to lock on before the bird was off. So in summary, am I happy with my purchase, not really, would I recommend it? Possibly for landscape works or where something is static but not at this time for wildlife or nature. I'll keep testing and if the focus still provides inconsistent results then I'll sell it and get the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

23

6

0

Best camera I've ever owned!

ILCE7RM4/B 19/12/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Switched from Canon 5D MK II and 6D MK II. Absolutely incredible. Resolution and detail is beyond what I could've ever imagined.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

What a difference...

ILCE7RM4/B 18/12/2019 by mr_photograff (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the product, and couldn't be happier with the quality and perfection of Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but not perfect

ILCE-7RM4 18/12/2019 by Booo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Traded in a Nikon z7 for this for the auto focus which is fantastic but colour and noise at hi iso not up to Nikon standards

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

16

32

0

Beautiful Camera

ILCE-7RM4 18/12/2019 by MALKI (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looking forward to using this new Camera next year when time allows

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

7

16

0

Amazing

ILCE-7RM4 16/12/2019 by Ron19578 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love everything about the camera and the focus system for Birds in flight. It's another world makes photography fun again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

11

0

Best Pro Device

ILCE7RM4/B 15/12/2019 by hargou23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so happy with the handling and the performance it will be my camera fir next couple of years MP , power , handling , speed all in one package Try it , you will love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Absolutely the best camera I have ever owned

ILCE-7RM4 14/12/2019 by chumph (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is without a doubt the best camera I have ever owned. The detail in the images form the headlining 60MB sensor is astonishing, while the autofocus modes are varied and very quick and accurate. The amount of customisation available is staggering, and it will take time to find all the available options and set the camera up in the best way for you; but make no mistake: this is currently the best landscape camera that money can buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

10

0

Great improvments. Buttons and dials much better.

ILCE-7RM4 04/12/2019 by auchlunies (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned for 1 month. used for wildlife photography. Excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

19

0

For those who want the biggest

ILCE-7RM4 03/12/2019 by jackie27maybe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

61Mp is a thing, and this camera manages it very well. Slightly noisy if you pixel peep, but the focusing and the image quality is immense. The menu system sucks, and Sony need to address that sometime. Overall very happy with camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

5

0

BUILD QUALITY

ILCE7RM4/B 03/12/2019 by WAGWAN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

AWSOME BUILD. FEELS AND LOOKS VERY SOLID. I LOVE MY NEW SONY A7RIV. THANKS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Beautiful in every way

ILCE-7RM4 02/12/2019 by Zed007 (United Kingdom)

I bought it today and I can not compare it to any camera I have used before

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

8

0

Superb definition from cropped images.

ILCE-7RM4 26/11/2019 by eddiejpeg (United Kingdom)

I love macro photography and the superb crop factor of the camera gives me extra magnification without loss of detail.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Let me down on a 3 week tour

ILCE-7RM4 25/11/2019 by Pwruss (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic camera in terms of features and performance but seems to have caused my 24-70GM lens to fail. If so want Sony to help. In any case, such an expensive pro lens should never fail for light amature use and it has not been abused in any way.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

8

0

Fingers crossed

ILCE-7RM4 24/11/2019 by Delboy23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a supplement to the A9 for the extra megapixels

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

7

0

This camera and the 200-600 are a great birding pa

ILCE7RM4/B 22/11/2019 by gjprice55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought an A7r4 and this lens a month ago, waited until yesterday for the lens, as it is quite popular. and there is a waiting list. This is my first Sony full frame, and I have spent the interval learning the system and setting the camera up. (I also got a Zeiss Batis 18mm, amazing lens) First impressions: I would not classify this kit as lightweight, but it is substantially lighter than anything else similar capability. Image quality is simply awesome, in FF or crop mode. I suspect most birders will use the crop mode more than the FF mode, particularly for small and/or distant birds.The lens becomes a 300-900 in APS-C mode (Called super 35mm here). First order of business is to assign this to a custom button. Cropability of the images is also eye-popping. Resolution is reach, and this oozes resolution. Image stabilization is amazing, I can't hold this rig all that steady, and yet it is tack sharp at relatively low shutter speeds. I haven't started playing with the three modes on the lens yet. So far I am using silent shooting for everything but BIF. Works great, but there is a risk of shutter roll with the tracking focus, hence regular shuttering for BIF. I am using hi-speed shooting mode (10fps, but am thinking about slowing it down except for BIF.) Auto Focus is also highly capable. As a start, I am using DMF with center mode for perched birds, or birds in clutter (often the same). Also have a set up with C-AF and Expand Flex spot. For BIF I am using C-AF with wide focus area, so far in limited action grabs right onto the bird Rear focus button is your friend; use it, and disable the shutter release focus. I also have an Olympus ee-1 red-dot sight for BIF, where has this been all my life?? Makes tracking BIF so much easier. (Note to Sony, build something like this into the view screen, make it assignable to a custom button, or just make it standard above 200-300 mm or so.) As for the infamous menu system, it is really a reflection of the extremely customizable nature of the camera. You aren't really going to use most of it, but you need to know what it all does. It is fairly easy to assign the settings you actually need in the field to the custom buttons, dials, fn menu and the "my menu" slot in the top menu row. I also recommend backing settings up to both the in-camera card(s) and to another (old) card that you carry in your bag. And copy them to your computer as well. And as you set the camera up, keep a chart on what you did, and keep that on your phone. (Note to Sony: you should have an option in the camera to offload something like this as a PDF) (Additional note to Sony: you should provide an option to make ANY setting a favorite from the setting itself. The process of going to the "my menu" section and using an add function is not only cumbersome, but impeded by the fact that the add function uses a different numbering system than the actual menu tree). Couple of random notes about the lens: The tripod foot is not Arca-compatible, you might want to get a third-party one. Look for one that will allow it to mount to the tripod without removing any carrying strap attachment. (Note to Sony: ????!!?). I got a set of camo lens-coats, the lens is pretty white to point at birds. Also, you should buy some lens caps with built in leashes. You can attach the leash to the tag on the lens coat section that covers the hood, using a couple of small cable ties. (be sure that said tag points toward the ground with when locked into place). The leash will reach the lens with the hood in either position, and keeps the cap always at hand. Couple of random notes about the camera. The FF files are very large, a reason to use the crop mode if you are going to crop the photos at least the much anyway. I am recording compressed RAW plus JPEG, given the size of the RAW files, having the JPEGS speeds up workflow considerably. Best advice seems to be that unimpressed RAW is only better for night shooting and astrophotography. Setting can be put into one of the easy to reach places if you want to switch it, for birding it seems superfluous. High capacity UHS-2 cards are NOT an option, unless you like watching your buffer write. The ergonomics of the camera are really excellent (I am average size, wear a mens large glove). It feels great in the hand, and the buttons are well-placed and easy to ID by touch. So, basically happy with it so far, will post some more when I have used it awhile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Very disapointed it it.

ILCE-7RM4 21/11/2019  (USA)

- Does not focus properly in Low light (I'm not talking about focusing in dark night scenarios). I'm talking about focusing in well lit conditions where A7III and D810 has no issues. - Sony claims has made improvements with the grip. Well, not unless you buy the Battery grip for this camera. It's still very front heavy (when having a 24-70mm or 85mm Gmaster on it). It'll be great to have a deeper grip. - 10 FPS is great but only if the focus can keep up with it. Experimented with different Fucus techniques (AF-C, AF-A, etc), for some reason even when the focus is locked on the eye or simply an object that doesn't move, You'll still have only 2 of the 10 pics locked. - Finally, THIS IS NOT A CAMERA FOR EVENT PHOTOGRAPHERS. I'm a part time Wedding, Event photographer. Since mirrorless cameras don't have a way of using the AF beam coming from Speedlights (that works perfect in DSLRs) these cameras would not event be useful for events. Only 25-30% of my images could be useful since on the rest the focus is way off. For instance, it takes a D810 a couple of miliseconds to lock the focus, where an a7rIV will still be hunting. So what is the use of this camera on low lit events, I can't turn on an LED to ruin the vibe on the dance floor only because I want to take a picture, Or ruin a moment when I want to take a candid shot.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

8

0

This camera is way too hyped. I'm returning it.

ILCE-7RM4 20/11/2019  (USA)

Before I give my review about this camera, I have to mention that I'm a Sony A7III owner, and also a D810 owner. I use the Nikon D810 as my event photocamera and the A7III for Movies and Photos as well. Now, since I invested into Sony lenses and felt like it's time to upgrade to the A7RIV, I did the move. But since I got it, only 2 days past and here are the main issues with it: - Does not focus properly in Low light (I'm not talking about focusing in dark night scenarios). I'm talking about focusing in well lit conditions where A7III and D810 has no issues. - Sony claims has made improvements with the grip. Well, not unless you buy the Battery grip for this camera. It's still very front heavy (when having a 24-70mm or 85mm Gmaster on it). It'll be great to have a deeper grip. - 10 FPS is great but only if the focus can keep up with it. Experimented with different Fucus techniques (AF-C, AF-A, etc), for some reason even when the focus is locked on the eye or simply an object that doesn't move, You'll still have only 2 of the 10 pics locked. - Finally, THIS IS NOT A CAMERA FOR EVENT PHOTOGRAPHERS. I'm a part time Wedding, Event photographer. Since mirrorless cameras don't have a way of using the AF beam coming from Speedlights (that works perfect in DSLRs) these cameras would not event be useful for events. Only 25-30% of my images could be useful since on the rest the focus is way off. For instance, it takes a D810 a couple of miliseconds to lock the focus, where an a7rIV will still be hunting. So what is the use of this camera on low lit events, I can't turn on an LED to ruin the vibe on the dance floor only because I want to take a picture, Or ruin a moment when I want to take a candid shot. What a disappointment, Sony. What a loss.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

7

0

Sony does it again.

ILCE-7RM4 19/11/2019 by jloz (USA)

When I purchased the A7RM3, I told thought it would be my camera for at least 5 years. Then came along the A7RM4 and I could not contain myself. This camera exceeds my expectations. The grip is so much better. The resolution is fantastic. I love that I can crop like crazy and APS-C mode is still in the 26 MP resolution. It's like having two cameras in one. Pair this camera with the 135 GM lens (or any GM lens) and have an oxygen tank ready, because the IQ will take your breath away!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It's like cheating

ILCE-7RM4 05/11/2019 by GMphoto65 (United Kingdom)

After 15 years with Canon i jumped to Sony , I'm a unit photographer on TV sets . To say that Sony is ahead of the game is like saying a Ferrari is ahead of a Go-Kart . Yes the Menu's take a little getting used to but once you are there are no issues . The quality is astounding , i can't believe 61 million pixels works so well in low light .... this is by a distance the best full frame camera around ..... the surprise bonus tis the APS mode , would never ever had considered it but it packs 26 million pixels and i use it all time for theatre stuff ...... i'm not sure Canon and Nikon will last if they don't up their game

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

9

0

I totally love this camera

ILCE7RM4/B 21/10/2019 by Alpha_Seanbo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I own an A7r and A7s. Finally decided to upgrade my A7r for the A7r IV. It is such an improvement! Auto focus is amazing, and the ability to crop in on 61 megapixels is truly mindblowing. Yes it's pricey, but I am so glad I went for the upgrade. Totally awesome camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

I am a Nikon user, but now I have my sony a7riv

ILCE-7RM4 17/10/2019 by Dhyogophoto (USA)

From Nikon to sony... I had my Nikon D5 and also Has my Z7! But got my A7RIV today! and sony is one 1 step up than the other Brands! SO excited to make my portfolio with sony cameras! Yeah I will sell my NIKON Gears and stay with SONY!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Great upgrade from my A7Riii

ILCE-7RM4 08/10/2019 by Pasbags (United Kingdom)

Well worth the upgrade from my A7Riii for the auto-focus alone...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

8

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 03/10/2019 by Andy 61 (United Kingdom)

I've only had it since Saturday but what a fantastic camera easy to set up and use great quality pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Best sony camera

ILCE7RM4/B 28/09/2019 by jas photo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had 6 sony cameras. Each one keeps getting better than the last. I have no idea how they can improve on this camera. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Mind Blowing Camera! Massive Leap In Technology!

ILCE-7RM4 20/09/2019 by SnowKat (USA)

THE A7RIV LIVES UP TO THE HYPE! This camera is incredible and doesn’t disappoint. I have the A7RII, A7III & the A7RIII; all amazing cameras. And I wondered like maybe some of you do— Is the A7RIV really going to be so much better than the prior versions to warrant buying it? YES! The 61MP resolution is mind blowing! The Eye AF/Animal Eye AF is so fast and accurate. The camera’s speed is really amazing, no buffering delays (thus far in testing) like the A7RII. It does action really well especially given that it’s not designed specifically for action. The new redesigned build is awesome. Dual memory cards. The camera is truly amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1