6

1.7 based on 6 customer reviews

1
0
0
0
5
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

excellent boat speakers

XSMP1621 27/03/2012 by UncleRico (USA)

I installed these speakers in my 2004 bayliner 210 classic today, along with a new sony head unit. The system sounds incredible, even though it's only a 2 speaker system right now! The speakers sound crystal clear even at high volume. I have always had good luck with Sony anything, and usually am disappointed when I try a different brand.

23

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Doesn't last

XS-MP1621 08/08/2017 by Sparky1996 (USA)

I have had these for just over two years, bought and installed in my camper. Understand the camper is only used a couple months out of the year on weekends and occasional weeky.... I just noticed that the cones are curling up, and separating from the surrounds. I have always purchased Sony products, but these are a huge disappointment in quality, hardly used, never abused, and already broken. A definite quality issue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

6 Customer Reviews

0

Poor Quality - Life Span 12-18 months only

XS-MP1621 31/12/2017  (USA)

I never write reviews however think that Sony needs some honest feedback. Sorry Sony..... You need to step up your game. Installed 4 in a world cat 33TE To replace existing. One working out of four after 18 months. Just logged online to buy 4 more to prevent drilling new holes for alternative model and saw it seems to be a common problem. Looks like I have to drill new holes for alternative brand.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

not marine grade

XS-MP1621 06/12/2017 by shconte (USA)

I purchased these speaker, 4 of them, Sept. 2015. I thought the radio was going bad because they were so new. It was the total failure to the speakers. The delaminated and deteriorated. I'm wondering if Sony changed the materials or corrected the problem. I do not like drilling more holes to change brands.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

More of Pain than a Pleasure

XS-MP1621 24/08/2017 by Ed B (USA)

These speakers rot out within two years when expsoed to a salt water enviorment.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Doesn't last

XS-MP1621 08/08/2017 by Sparky1996 (USA)

I have had these for just over two years, bought and installed in my camper. Understand the camper is only used a couple months out of the year on weekends and occasional weeky.... I just noticed that the cones are curling up, and separating from the surrounds. I have always purchased Sony products, but these are a huge disappointment in quality, hardly used, never abused, and already broken. A definite quality issue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Contact Problems - Customer Support NOT helpful

XSMP1621 07/08/2015 by LovMusic (USA)

These speakers were purchased for a boat, a boat the is only used during the summer months in the North. The original set of speakers sounded great until they started cutting out. Connectors checked, everything good there, the actual contact on the speaker itself was the problem. With a slight touch the speaker would come back on. Sony was willing to replace with refurbished set being that it was out of warranty. Remind you being used on a boat, not used everyday or in the off months. The new set worked a couple time and the same problem again. Called Sony customer service advises to speak with online chat, online chat only apologizes for having issues and refers you to customer support. Second call to customer support, rep basically said "it's your decision not to use the product" during the warranty period! Would have loved some assistance, not apologies with no help. Definitely will not purchase from Sony again!

4

6

0

excellent boat speakers

XSMP1621 27/03/2012 by UncleRico (USA)

I installed these speakers in my 2004 bayliner 210 classic today, along with a new sony head unit. The system sounds incredible, even though it's only a 2 speaker system right now! The speakers sound crystal clear even at high volume. I have always had good luck with Sony anything, and usually am disappointed when I try a different brand.

23

0