26

4.1 based on 26 customer reviews

16
4
1
3
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Better 4K projector at this price? Didn’t think so

VPL-VW295ES 13/04/2019 by Zeus007 (USA)

This projector is great at this price point! Much better than eshift 4K. So the blacks aren’t black enough...spend an extra $10,000 and you’ll have your blacks the way you want them. So it’s not bright enough.... then buy an Epson and sacrifice picture quality! But if you are looking for true 4K at a price that is affordable, this is your guy. Period! Love my projector and would only upgrade to another one by Sony if I wanted better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony vs Epson

VPL-VW295ES 20/11/2020 by Zeucci (USA)

I wanted to upgrade from Epson to Sony. I honest didn't notice any quality difference except the Epson was brother and lasted 3 years on a bulb. Im now facing $500 to replace Sony bulb after only 8 months! Did I mention that the Epson lamp was also $150 cheaper? Sad! I'm a huge Sony fan. I have bought several of there products for years now.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

26 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing native 4K projector

VPLVW295ES 03/01/2021 by Avin M (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Crisp and amazing picture, blown always with clarity and the depth of colors.. extremely happy with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony vs Epson

VPL-VW295ES 20/11/2020 by Zeucci (USA)

I wanted to upgrade from Epson to Sony. I honest didn't notice any quality difference except the Epson was brother and lasted 3 years on a bulb. Im now facing $500 to replace Sony bulb after only 8 months! Did I mention that the Epson lamp was also $150 cheaper? Sad! I'm a huge Sony fan. I have bought several of there products for years now.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great, theater level quality projector.

VPLVW295ES 12/07/2020 by snjvgupta (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

loved this projector. Easy to set up and great picture quality no doubts. I have installed it in a dark room so really awesome quality. I removed 1 star because of no 8 point image adjustment. If you are able to put this projector straight then its all good. It took me some time but was able to make the pic straight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Awesome

VPLVW295ES 26/06/2020 by MrHollywood (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second Sony projector. The first one worked excellently, but I wanted 4K UHD. Bought this sight unseen because of COVID-19. The specs say the projector puts out 1500 lumens (the brightest 1500 lumens you could imagine). The picture quality and clarity is unbelievable on a 12-foot screen. My screen is white, and I can see it in bright sunlight perfectly. I love this projector!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Unreliable but good picture

VPL-VW295ES 19/05/2020 by DrSMEBraces (USA)

I bought this approximately 2 1/2 months ago. I use it heavily it has about 700 hrs on the bulb. After a couple of hours use it turns off completely including the fan. If I turn it back on it works fine sometimes for an hour sometimes a few minutes. If I let it sit it works again for a few hours. I have had other projectors in the same placement and never had this problem. Good picture does not play all 3D sources. Unreliable. Wish it had a sleep timer to turn it off.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Great Projector, Highly recommend!

VPLVW295ES 23/04/2020 by KAS20 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this projector a little over a year ago and it's really been great. I will say some have mentioned black levels and that is the only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars. I think it does have a lot to do with the price point. No one would buy the next step up if it had perfect blacks! With that being said I have really enjoyed this projector. I enjoyed the Super Bowl this year in stunning (albeit up-converted) 4K and it looked amazing on this projector. I feel like I maybe bought this projector a little early as 4K content is still scarce. I highly recommend getting a screen to take advantage of the performance of this projector. I went with a SI Slate 1.2. It really makes the image pop!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great picture

VPLVW295ES 21/04/2020 by KMcneil (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the picture quality. The image is so sharp and clear you feel like you can walk into it. The only drawback is no zoom lens memory. I have to manually adjust the zoom each I switch between PS4 and my Sony UHD1000 player. A real pain in the butt

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Awesome

VPL-VW295ES 16/04/2020 by Bud h (USA)

Love it Beautiful rich and full body It like silk and fire combination that begs to touch it. Makes you desire it every min of every second of every sec of each day of your life......

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great but it had a technical issue

VPLVW295ES 11/03/2020 by Vgrase95 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The HDMI 1 input went out with no warning or to my knowledge that there was an

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Simply Amazing!

VPL-VW295ES 16/02/2020 by Kman1 (USA)

I bought this projector from an authorized Sony installer. The colors are vivid and 4K is simply amazing. The blacks, while not as prominent as on JVC projectors, are still clear even in a room with ambient light. The vivid colors won over getting perfection with black. As my professional installer said, “ most of the movies and tv series are shot with Sony 4K cameras, so why would you not use a Sony 4K projector for that intended cinematic experience?”. I have a SI Black Diamond Zero Edge screen and this combination enhances the color vividness and the HDR impact (viewing Netflix, Disney plus HDR content truly are amazing experiences). Though pricey, I still believe it is worth every penny in the long run. There is no comparison with cheaper options like Optoma, LG etc. I have been using the projector for past seven months and have no issue with fan noise. I have received consistent rave reviews from friends and family, few of whom have a home theater setup. They say that this simply raised the bar for HT viewing for them. Highly recommend this projector!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

5

0

Loud fan and internal rattle. No Support to fix.

VPL-VW295ES 07/02/2020 by NetEagle (USA)

I bought this projector a few months ago and the fan noise is much louder than the Panasonic projector (that was brighter) it replaces. Beyond that, there is a flap inside the projector that rattles and is driving me crazy. Sent it to Sony to be repaired and was told it is working properly as designed. $5k for a rattling projector. I have boycotted Sony for years because of poor reliability on their electronic. I broke my rule and now shame on me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Very happy

VPLVW295ES 29/12/2019 by Priyan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing picture quality. Real 4k for $4,500. Very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

20 year old upgrade was flawless

VPLVW295ES 26/11/2019 by The Myth (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My theater room is 19 years old and time to replace my old Sony VPL-W400Q projector with this beauty. Used the existing Sony ceiling mount, connected the cables and turned it on. It took me 10 minutes to flip the picture, resize to the screen and focus. The hardest part was to replace the standard to HDMI cables. Picture is nice, bright and even quality across the screen. DVD and TV HDMI picture great and what a difference from standard resolution. I do need a new screen (in progress) but the picture still looks great. My last projector lasted over ten years and this one should too.. Thank you

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Very happy with my VPL 295ES purchase

VPLVW295ES 25/11/2019 by Roundy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased this Sony VPL 295ES to replace an old Sony VPL HW15 projector. The detail and the color are amazing especially with 4K HDR content and the picture is clear, bright and jitter free. I often watch movies thinking to myself wow that looks good! I am using a 100” elite screen and I sit 10 feet away. Changing the color settings is very simple and you’ll find yourself doing that for different movies or content such as Netflix to your liking. I know people complain about the blacks on this projector not being dark enough, but to me they are great. As for the 3D, it’s just ok for me. I have a 2016 65” LG OLED TV and its just too hard to beat. The 3D Glasses darken the image and the picture loses a lot of it’s vibrancy. Maybe purchase the VPL 695ES instead for a higher contrast ratio and more lumens if 3D is very important to you. I also felt that fast action scenes were hard to watch in 3D, like it didn’t keep up.(maybe my output device, or we sit too close?) I must disclose I have not calibrated the projector so maybe it would be better in 3D if I did. The Sony 295 was very easy to setup and get started, there is also an info screen that lets you know the picture resolution and color output. You should also consider purchasing a fiber optic HDMI cable, believe the hype, I compared it to my other HDMI cable and it definitely made a difference in picture quality and color, even my wife noticed! The projector in my opinion is also very quite. You will not hear it while watching a show unless it’s a very quite scene, mine is mounted literally right above and behind our heads. I am very happy with my purchase, no regrets except I wish I was able to afford the 695ES. :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

crystal clear picture

VPLVW295ES 12/09/2019 by CarlGable (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have two of these but different models and in my opinion this one works the best and the features are great I love this projector it is awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Excellent picture

VPLVW295ES 06/08/2019 by MikeC 2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this projector just in time to stream a long awaited movie in 4K. I’ve been thinking of upgrading my Sony 1080P projector the 65ES I bought a couple of years ago. I was a little hesitant about spending this much on a true 4K projector and I am glad that I was talked out of purchasing one of the pixel shifting projectors that are so popular. I read all of the reviews that talked about the lower brightness rating and decided to go for a demo and see for myself. I was really surprised at the difference a true 4K projector makes. Of coarse this projector is not the brightest on the market but if you have a room that you can control the light then you will not be disappointed! 4K discs look outstanding! You won’t be able to much difference in 4K streaming either. I have a Sony 4K OLED and I am seeing new details on movies I have rewatched on the projector. The only draw back is that your room needs to be dark to truly get the most out of this projector. Highly recommended unless money is no object then I suggest the 695es or higher.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Clear picture

VPLVW295ES 02/08/2019 by Naters (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very impressed with the clarity of this unit. Colors and saturation spot on. It is bright as well even though only 1500 lumens 4K is incredible and standard 1080p is close to an led. Very natural colors and no one beats Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Better 4K projector at this price? Didn’t think so

VPL-VW295ES 13/04/2019 by Zeus007 (USA)

This projector is great at this price point! Much better than eshift 4K. So the blacks aren’t black enough...spend an extra $10,000 and you’ll have your blacks the way you want them. So it’s not bright enough.... then buy an Epson and sacrifice picture quality! But if you are looking for true 4K at a price that is affordable, this is your guy. Period! Love my projector and would only upgrade to another one by Sony if I wanted better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Incredible projector with true 4k

VPLVW295ES 19/03/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Finally updated to a 4k projector and went with the VPLVW295es. What an incredible image. The 4k is incredible, the blacks are crisp and the picture is movie theater quality. I am very pleased with my purchase and love this projector. My previous projector was a Sony VPLVW70. It was a hard decision to upgrade from my previous projector since It gave me over 8 years of beautify pictures with no issues except for a bulb replacement. When it comes to projectors, I will always stick with Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

SONY VPL VW260E

VPL-VW295ES 12/03/2019 by sun09 (USA)

I bought Sony VPL SW 260E on July 2018 . After few days I noticed, two scratch mark inside the lens . Dealer checked and replaced but open tha pack There is some kind of dust inside the gril . So replaced another one and opened at Dealer shop one fan has noise and dust inside and not properly fitted back cover . We checked total 5 projectors every projector has issues . I took photos of all serial numbers and projectors ( here add pic of first land last projector . If Sony want I can submit al serial no and photos ) purchased from Perth Western Australia . My question: I love pic quality of Sony 4K so from where I can buy Sony good quality projectors? Or Sony manufacturing projectors in low quality to reduce price ? Waiting for a reply from Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

20

0

Great picture quality

VPL-VW295ES 29/01/2019 by DP Raju (USA)

Picture quality just out of the box great, very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Somewhat disappointing

VPL-VW295ES 23/12/2018 by greyhoundbrain (USA)

We upgraded from a very unreliable JVC projector (replaced twice for critical issues) to this projector. The picture is fine, but the blacks and the brightness level are definitely a disappointment. For a native 4K projector, the brightness and the blacks should definitely be better. It would nice if you offered a higher output lamp for this projector to improve picture quality. Sony projectors are supposed to be reliable, but we wish that picture quality was also a priority for Sony.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

12

12

0

Money well spent

VPL-VW295ES 29/11/2018 by A Moore (USA)

I’m really enjoying this native 4K projector, it produces really clear and vibrant images, best bang for the buck for people who are looking for a native 4K unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Very impressive!

VPL-VW295ES 29/11/2018 by Mikey56 (USA)

I have had mine for about a week now. I think this projector is worth every penny plus more. The accuracy of the colors and the richness are amazing right out of the box. This projector is far and away better than my old one ( albeit showing it's age ) technology matches on! Now on the negative side, it's very demanding of the cables used to hook it up. I needed a 30 footer and tried several brands of rated cables before finding a set that worked. Purchase the very best and you will be rewarded. In summary, you will be extremely pleased the minute you fire it up for the first time! I am a happy customer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Terrible blacks

VPL-VW295ES 23/11/2018 by Kraig (USA)

As far as resolution goes the 295 es is great, contrast as well as blacks are terrible, I upgraded from an epson 5030ub but other than resolution this projector feels like a downgrade. Colors do not pop at all overall picture seems dim and the blacks are just pathetic. I would not recommend, will be trying jvc soon as I’ve read their contrast and black levels are far superior to Sony. Also runs loud imo.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

15

18

0

Great color, brightness, contrast and resolution.

VPL-VW295ES 06/11/2018 by Ancient Geek (USA)

I purchased this last week and installed it a few days ago. I replaced a 2007 VLPVW50 with this projector. I had previously replaced my HD receiver with a 4K receiver, so all I had to do was replace the projector and set it up. Setup was straight forward. The hardest part was reading the menus upside down while I looked for the setting to flip the image horizontally and vertically. The image is nicely improved in all respects over my prior projector. Amazingly, now that we have some 4K flat panel TVs, the HD image on our VW50 was looking a bit inferior...not any more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2