130

3.6 based on 130 customer reviews

46
35
17
11
21
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great budget soundbar

HT-CT290 20/07/2017 by ipharris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great price. Easy to set up, interacts with my Sony TV & blu-ray flawlessly. Also easy connection with my Sony z & other non Sony products I own. Fantastic budget soundbar, go buy one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Out of sync

HT-CT290 30/10/2018 by Soaringman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago, together with a new Sony 65” TV. Both give a lovely picture and sound, however I am very frustrated, because even though I have connected the products as shown in the instructions, after a while the sound goes out of sync with the picture, and can only be rectified by switching the tv and soundbar one-off and on again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

173 Customer Reviews

0

It's alright

HT-CT290 13/01/2019 by Spencer123456789 (Canada)

Bought quite a few months ago. Sound quality is good, stays clear even on max volume. I find the subwoofer to be very weak, which disappoints me the most. I wish I could turn the volume and the sub woofer level a bit higher.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2019

Hello Spencer123456789, we're sorry to hear that. You may try to adjust the subwoofer's volume using the supplied remote control. For reference, please check the links provided below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4688/46882521M.pdf, see pages 9 and 23.
Regards, _Bob

0

Fantastic

HT-CT290 13/01/2019 by Darrian (United Kingdom)

Really quick and easy setup, sound is clear and crisp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So easy to set up

HT-CT291 11/01/2019 by powerful (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just plug the power lead in and follow the set up guide. No issues and great sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound bar

HT-CT290 09/01/2019 by Taysen87 (Canada)

Bought this 1 month ago and I’m just rocking it:). Great entry sound bar for a room

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HTCT290 06/01/2019 by Jack crabs (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was looking at many sound bars and liked this one . Easy set up and Bluetooth works great. More than enough volume for my needs. Crisp sound from bar and subwoofer has good bass sound. Nice remote, one of the main reasons for choosing this model besides the sound is the material has no cloth on it , we have cats , they can’t use it as a scratch board .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy setup. Good sound.

HT-CT290 05/01/2019 by Robjp (Canada)

Easy setup. Love the fact that the unit turns on and off, with the TV, using HDMI (ARC) and that the Sub is wireless. It can be placed anywhere in the room. Sound is pretty darn good. It really elevates the tv listening experience. Really good bang for the buck.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Looks good but sub will not work

HT-CT290 31/12/2018 by DrDRT (Canada)

Bouger it a year jack and subwoofer stopped working.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony Social Support
04/01/2019

Hi DrDRT,

We regret to hear about what happened. for repair options, you may visit the link below:

https://ca.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US

0

good clear sound bar

HT-CT290 31/12/2018 by twizzle2 (United Kingdom)

i purchased this sound bar with subwoofer yesterday and all appearsd to work well. So far I am very satisfied

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Affordable and Good Sound

HT-CT290 29/12/2018 by M Grasso (USA)

Bought this as an after Christmas present for my new smart TV. The subwoofer appears to be very very very low bass and sound. As if it’s hardly connected with the volume on highs if could be better with a subwoofer that put out a little more sound and bass.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

SONY HT-CT290 (Entry Level Sound bar)

htct290-b 29/12/2018 by UnrulyMike (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a gift for my dad for Christmas to fix the terrible sound of our 55" Sony Android TV. The SONY HT-CT290 is a great entry level sound bar system if your looking to amplify your TV's sound with good bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

NOT HAPPY

HT-CT290 27/12/2018 by Ssmajlesi (Canada)

Every time I turn the tv on I have something with this soundbar. Most of the time the TV won't turn off sound and I hear echos as a result of sound coming from both the tv and the soundbar. My TV is sony too and everytime I turn it on I have to go to the tv settings and set it to external speakers. Plus Subwoofer is weak.

0

1

0

Good soundbar but for limited time

HT-CT290 27/12/2018 by BermanO (USA)

It’s just spoiled after less then a year of use. The HDMI connection for TV input not response and syncing with Sony “smart” tv or even with other tv. I wander how it could happen for big company like Sony??? So disappointed ☹️

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Low bugdet - reasonable quality

HT-CT290 25/12/2018 by Dyos (USA)

Clear high peaking sounds, nice design, low price but weak subwoofer and big lie over WAT's. They wright in specification book soundbar power 100 W and subwoofer 100 w so tell me where is that 300 W what they write everywhere about this product? My 10 years old Logitech complete 80 W has more power and smoother low frequencies than this 300 W. Disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

poor options and connection problems

HT-CT290 23/12/2018 by teamBlake (USA)

The soundbar will not stay connected to the subwoofer, there is no option to be able to sync the sound with the tv, so you see people talking on the screen and then you hear the voices from the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good product

HT-CT290 23/12/2018 by AnnieM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this soundbar several months ago with a speaker that can be connected in another part of the house and that gives us surround sound. Works well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound but clumsy setup

HT-CT290 21/12/2018 by Shipponsteve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks good, sounds good, but the set-up leaves a lot to be desired. And why do I have to keep re-setting it?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Good sound

HTCT290 19/12/2018 by enios (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needs midrange sound, could use a fuller more realistic natural sound .

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

New speaker system

HT-CT290 18/12/2018 by Cornwall1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Whilst buying a new TV we wanted to ensure we had a good sound system to compliment it and this system has certainly hit the mark so far in providing the sound we enjoy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Woofer stopped working

HT-CT290 17/12/2018 by fyrfytr44 (Canada)

Purchased this model in late, 2017, which sounded decent for the price. However, just 14 months later the woofer light would not come on and stopped working completely much like other reviewers reported.

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
18/12/2018

Hi fyrfytr44,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with your Subwoofer. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-ct290/articles/00025423

0

Poor Sound

HT-CT290 17/12/2018 by jim6370 (USA)

The sound from the subwoofer is impossible to hear or feel. The TV speakers are better. It should be labeled " It Sounds Like A Cheap Transistor Radio"

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Simply sounds better

HT-CT290 12/12/2018 by Musi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound bar improves the experience of virtually every programme, films are so much better and musi is enhanced greatly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A must for any current TV

HT-CT290 12/12/2018 by Fazerroy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

With out this sound bar, voices, music and background noises are really poor on most of the current crop of TV’s. Using the sound bar gives you vocal clarity, sonic highs plus great bass response.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Subwoofer failed in less than a year

HTCT290 07/12/2018 by Omarbu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was really happy with this sound bar even though the subwoofer is not really powerful; but in less than a year the subwoofer stop working completely, it didn’t even turn on. The sound bar is now being service, let’s hope it last more than a year once is repaired.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to set up

htct290-b 04/12/2018 by Dana1932 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought at Best But today. Took only 10 minutes to set up. Great sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Subwoofer not working

HT-CT290 04/12/2018 by cahudd (USA)

We purchased these items in June 2017 and just recently we noticed the green light wasn't lighting up anymore; so we thought maybe the plug outlet was not working so we moved the device to another outlet thinking that was the problem. Unfortunately, the plug outlet was not the problem it was the subwoofer. The soundbar works perfectly fine but for some reason the subwoofer just stopped working. After reading many of the reviews regarding the subwoofer it was apparent we have a problem and unfortunate we can not buy just the subwoofer separately without purchasing the soundbar again, which we do not need.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Very welcome freebie

HT-CT290 01/12/2018 by MP23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Came free with my Sony Bravia purchased through John Lewis. We’ve not used a sound bar before so noticed a massive difference with and without the device. Has different modes for when you’re watching a film or tv and again there’s a noticeable difference that adds positively to the viewing experience. Reason I’m not giving 5 stars is because sometimes it doesn’t immediately connect with tv or it switches off if tv is paused or doesn’t sync perfectly with picture & I have to switch both devices off & on again

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Won't turn on

HT-CT290 30/11/2018 by Ashvillejess (USA)

I bought this sound bar 8/1/2018. It just won't turn on as of 11/24/2018. Will never buy another Sony.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

One month and it won’t turn on

htct290-b 28/11/2018 by Kongdon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a CT290 sound bar 8/23 and it quit 9/22. I get that it is a lower end product but it should last a little longer. Won’t be buying another Sony sound bar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Subwoofer stopped working after 6 months

HT-CT290 27/11/2018 by veer253 (USA)

Initially the soundbar was great but the sub woofer stopped working. followed instruction in the manual to pair the subwoofer and it did not help.

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Nice sound but the functions are terrible

htct290-b 12/11/2018 by Terry67 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just purchased this soundbar and has been a headache. Remote and manual buttons stop working and lose all functions after 20 minutes of use. Unplugging it and re-plugging it works again but after 20 minutes all functions stop working again. Spent lots of time with customer service, unable to resolve the issue. Taking it back to Best Buy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

Amazing sound quality and accessability

HT-CT290 09/11/2018 by LurzLionheart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product gives out a solid sound quality that has enhanced my experience of watching movies at home and listening to my music, whilst around the house. The fact that it has minimal wires makes it REALLY simple to set up and have around the room (my sub woofer is hidden behind the door but it still gives a great bassy sound that fills the room). Linking this device to smart phones and tablets is easy, either with the WiFi or Bluetooth connection. I was sceptical about getting a new soundbar system but glad I have as it is a lot smaller and better than my previous Pioneer home theatre system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

HT-CT290 06/11/2018 by Gilly1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this believing it would improve the sound of voices (news etc.)but hardly noticed the difference. More annoyingly is that over a period of time a 'tinnyness' has developed as if the speakers are vibrating and distorting the sound on relatively low setting. An engineer will now be attending my home to examine, arranged by John Lewis who are brilliant and get my 5 stars for customer service.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

2

0

Doesn’t last.

HTCT290 05/11/2018 by reyrey559 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this sound bar last November didn’t make a year old and the subwoofer had a issue wouldn’t turn on sent it out for repair through warranty still haven’t got it back. I’m not happy, I thought Sony was the way to go with good products but I guess I’ll be looking at other brands that will last I don’t recommend this product other people had the same issue. DONT BUY.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

The subwoofer just works for one year...

HT-CT290 03/11/2018 by Renxiang (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product one year ago. But now the subwoofer is not working. I haven't got time to go the fix. It was disappointing. Because it last just for one year. The speak is still ok. Hope you see my review and can arrange for fix!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Fits in with tv stand and does not stand out.

HT-CT290 02/11/2018 by Teflon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had it for three weeks and it is performing very well with good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Soundbar that fully compliments my Sony TV

HT-CT290 01/11/2018 by bulko (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this unit for over 2 weeks & it is extremely versatile with great sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Out of sync

HT-CT290 30/10/2018 by Soaringman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago, together with a new Sony 65” TV. Both give a lovely picture and sound, however I am very frustrated, because even though I have connected the products as shown in the instructions, after a while the sound goes out of sync with the picture, and can only be rectified by switching the tv and soundbar one-off and on again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Rubbish!

HT-CT290 29/10/2018 by Geoffds (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently along with a new 55" Sony TV and the two things just do not sync, Sony don't give a toss and neither to CurrysPC World

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Not satisfied

HT-CT290 28/10/2018 by George 33 (USA)

I don't know what is going on but when this sound bar is conected with my samsung tv, after when i shut down the tv after a couple of hours is starting on without any reason When the sound bar is not conected with tv, everything is ok.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great soundbar.

HT-CT290 26/10/2018 by JCC_Somerset (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great integration with TV. Does too big or brash so it does not become the focus of the room.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lip synch

HT-CT290 25/10/2018 by Lisa90 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lip synch is a massive issue. After numerous phone calls I was told" you will just have to get used to it" team know how at Currys where really unhelpful. The sound bar was a complete waste of money

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Good but not great sound

HT-CT290 22/10/2018 by Bennyboy1974 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this to go with my Sony 4K TV and PS4 Pro and the set up was nice and easy, however, first imprressions of the sound, whilst good was not great with not much in the way of bass through whilst watching the TV. I upgraded my HDMI cable to a more expensive 18Gps 4k cable and the results were much better. The bass came alive much more and the sound whilst playing the PS4 Pro and watching Blu Ray movies was really good. Never going to be as good as a full home theatre system but perfect for a gaming-set up. The wireless sub woofer is a great addition and have found that I get the best bass from it when it is away from the TV and behind where I am sitting, also gives the sound more depth.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sony 55in 4k

HT-CT290 20/10/2018 by tommy 57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with tv lots of features that i have not explored yet picture quality is excellent setting up tv for first time was easy highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Garbage

htct290-b 13/10/2018 by Mikit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sub stopped working 1 month out of warranty waste of 300.00

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Stopped working short of 1 year

HTCT290 12/10/2018 by Sizz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It worked well until it wouldn't power up after 10 minutes. It's currently on it's way to you for repair.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Worked great...for awhile.

htct290-b 11/10/2018 by whatsarunway4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This soundbar was easy to set up and worked flawlessly...right up to the point where it stopped working altogether. With no clear reason, one day the soundbar just refused to power on. Nothing I tried would bring it back. The subwoofer would come on waiting for the soundbar, but no luck. Now I'm in the process of trying to get it replaced because its still under the 12 month warranty. How dissapointing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Goes out of sync with TV

HT-CT291 01/10/2018 by Notnat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this and a sony bravia TV and can not, despite searching internet and sony site, get them to stay in sync. Sound lags the picture. Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

I expected better

HT-CT290 12/09/2018 by Lasher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this to go with my Sony Bravia 49” ultra HD TV as it is a slimline soundbar and fits in front of the TV without obstructing the TV’s remote control point. It was easy to install and it does provide great sound, complimenting the TV very well. I connect the units via an HDMI ARC connection HOWEVER, I have 2 issues with the soundbar, Firstly, I tend to watch most of my digital TV through a SKy Q satellite receiver and the sound often drops out of sync. The Sky box does have a facility to correct sound/vision sync issues when connecting via HDMI ARC but, even when I have corrected the error, it will often appear again a few minutes later. For instance, when watching BBC news, we found that the newsreader was out of sync whilst the field reports were in sync. We switch channels and it sometimes is in sync and sometimes out. We use digital services such as Prime and Netflix and sometimes they are in sync and other times not. Similarly, sometimes even watching a Movie on my Sony Blu-Ray player will have some scenes in and out of sync. IT REALLY SHOULD NOT BE THIS DIFFICULT!! My other issue is that, when watching an action movie (Avengers) the other night, I found myself having to keep changing the volume as the dialogue was too quiet and then the action scenes were too loud. This may be a settings issue which I will peresevere with. Overall, I would give this 3 out of 5. It does produce good sound but I would not expect to have these issues when pairing it with other Sony devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Simple to use but broken within 14 months

HT-CT290 04/09/2018 by Glynn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I we have enjoyed using the sound bar but the main unit refuses to switch on after only 14 months of hardly any use. Guarantee is only for 12 months so not really worth the money

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing

HT-CT290 03/09/2018 by Brucelee32 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best in its class and price range , i will be buying more Sony products as time goes by.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great TV Soundbar

HT-CT290 10/08/2018 by Bronnti (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with sound and is very stylish, easy to fit up

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awful

HT-CT290 08/08/2018 by Madis (USA)

Sound was very poor, even my 6 year old 30 euro 2.1 computer speakers make better sound. Bass was not noticable even at high volumes. Returned and bought samsung soundbar at same price range. Happy

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good sound

HT-CT290 31/07/2018 by D292 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product about 2 weeks again and so far have been pretty happy with it. Took a while to get everything set up properly but now its all done its a great addititon

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Amazing sound quality

HT-CT290 28/07/2018 by Chopkins (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We are by no means experts on sound, so this review is purely for the amateur... I wanted a sound bar, my partner said it wont make much difference as TVs have good sound quality these days! Talked him in to it and we are both very impressed, we love the features to be able to go to cinema mode or voice mode depending on what we are watching. The bar automatically links as soon as you switch on the TV - love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good sound.

HT-CT290 26/07/2018 by Tony1300 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

With my Sony TV, I needed to use both an HDMI cable (not supplied) and the optical cable supplied to get A/V sync. The sound bar turns on and off with the TV remote.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Subwoofer stopped working after one month

HTCT290 25/07/2018 by Gillmacke (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago to replace a Klipsch R4-B soundbar. The sound is nowhere near as good as the Klipsch, but the user interface is better. Also, the sub just stopped working after one month for no reason.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect Sound Output

HTCT290 24/07/2018 by Lukew81 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just purchased a Sony wireless/Bluetooth soundbar with subwoofer, and it is AMAZING! The setup was the easiest I think I have ever done for any sound system. The quality of the sound output is outstanding! I live in an apartment with a wall mounted flat screen, and the sound fills the entire apartment, while looking great, mounted below my television.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1