86

3.9 based on 86 customer reviews

42
15
14
9
6
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

86 Customer Reviews

0

Good design and sound quality

300W 19/05/2018 by stephen7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The design and the sound quality are much better than my previous sound bar, and it fits my surrounding and Song TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat and compact with good sound

HT-CT390 03/05/2018 by Stevie78 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really nice product - very easy set up and pleased with the results for a reasonably priced and compact system. This replaced a 5.1 system with separate amp, and the low profile design really suits the room. I would have liked to connect to my Sony Bravia TV via HDMI, but the TV is lacking sockets, so am using the optical link - but working fine. Overall, happy with purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Critical positioning

HT-CT390 17/04/2018 by JohnGK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For new Sony Bravia 43ins including metal stand mounted on same platform as sound bar. Sound bar has to slope 45 deg otherwise sensor for TV remote is obscured. Also no fixings to install on same platform but are to install sound bar on wall.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the sound! Great bass!

HT-CT390 15/04/2018 by Magana19 (USA)

Bought this last year on special! No regrets!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Don't buy it - Save your money

HT-CT390 08/03/2018 by Recess905 (Canada)

Google "ct390 subwoofer not working" there is a thread on Sony's forum. Many complaints and no resolution. My sub stopped working after about 9 months.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/03/2018

Hi Recess905,


We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your product details and contact information and let us see how we can be of assistance.

Regards, 
Zac

0

Design flaw

HT-CT390 01/03/2018 by Mosbr (United Kingdom)

Bought this to go with oils new Sony Bravia 43inch tv. The illustration showed the sound bar either wall mounted or in front of the tv which was on it stand. However the sound bar block is the remote sensor on the tv when placed in front of the tv. The sound bar itself is great. Would have scored 4 stars apart from this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

no control over treble

HT-CT390 23/02/2018 by lenny69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

sounds good for music but tinny on everything else, you can control the bass but not the treble and it tends to sound tinny on tv programs, connecting via hdmi arc the volume is a lot lower than optical and no way is it 300 watts, overall a good looking soundbar and well made but seeing as its from sony am dissapointed with the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Piece of Kit

HT-CT390 19/02/2018 by MacaCivico (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so Happy with the sound quality that I sold my Hi Fi equipment which I was using for TV sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My first soundbar

HT-CT390 10/02/2018 by JKJEK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first soundbar so difficult to compare to others but it certainly vastly improves the sound to that put out by the TV speakers. The sub-woofer is not noticable, at all, when watching live TV but comes into it's own when watching BluRay disc's from my connected BluRay player. It is very sleek design and sits well on the same shelf under the TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor sound bar

HT-CT390 08/02/2018 by Robert 29 (United Kingdom)

I bought this sound bar hoping for an enhanced sound experience but was left less than impressed with it's performance.Tried it in different settings but still unimpressed with it so much so that I returned it .

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A Great Soundbar!

300W 07/02/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recieved this Soundbar as a CHristmas gift and am reall enjoying the opportunity to get the speaker wires our of my family room. The quality of the sound is very rich. I also enjoyed the ease and simplicity of installation/set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality sound

HT-CT390 07/02/2018 by Mikei (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in the hope to hear speech clearer, only fault I have got is tha the height causes me to have to raise my tv controls higher as the sound bar slightly obstructs the remote receiver. This stopped me awarding 5 stars as I have a Sony tv and thought this problem would not account with having both Sony appliances.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Christmas gift

300W 02/02/2018 by Peace123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was excited to get the sound system but the volume isn't good. The sound is nice but you have to turn the volume on highest level . I have my tv on 15 since I added the sound bar & the subwoofer I play it on 30.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed

300W 31/01/2018 by GB 84 (USA)

I have owned this unit for a month. Poor sound quality, poor design. Sub woofer stopped working after 2 weeks.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great design and audio

HT-CT390 26/01/2018  (USA)

I choose this soundbar for the design, and the audio in my livingroom was a surprise, wa great and inmerse us in the movies. The subwoofer is great too. I have a cuestion, Is better a HDMI ARC conection o opticval conection? I have both option in my tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better sound from tv

HT-CT390 26/01/2018 by Dave F (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used the sound bar on different settings and found that the quality of sound when watching a film is terrible not clear sounds hollow and echoes

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sounds great when it works

HT-CT390 23/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds great when it works :-( The soundbar is connected via HDMI / ARC to a Sony Bravia 55" TV, but loses its connectivity constantly. Using Bravia Sync makes no difference

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony 2.1 soundbar

300W 09/01/2018 by ringleider (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased over a month ago, open box excellent condition! sound is great amd I don't even have to turn it up very loud. very easy set up for a non tech person. use in master bedroom. Sony outdid themselves again!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product and awesome value!

300W 26/12/2017 by helcat5 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a wonderful product for the value. I didn't expect much, but was totally blown away by the sound quality and ease of installation. I'm very satisfied!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good besides connectivity problems with the Sub

300W 18/12/2017 by JBJD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When the soundbar and subwoofer work, the sound is excellent. However, I purchased this unit a month ago and I already have issues with the subwoofer connecting to the soundbar. I have followed all of the troubleshooting instructions in the manual and the subwoofer will still not pair with the soundbar. Very disappointed that a problem like this happened so quickly. After the problem happened and I tried fixing the issue I did a little research and it appears that this is a common problem with this unit. Either there was a large batch that somehow made it through quality control, or there is a serious issue with this unit as a whole. Buyer beware.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent sound,brilliant connection features

HT-CT390 10/12/2017 by LEEEEE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Value for money,sounds fantastic,bring a rich sound for such a compact unit,looks are very deceiving.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT390 06/12/2017 by John the fat one (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound compliments my Sony tv like the fact that it helps the hard of hearing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's a Sony

300W 03/12/2017 by Valker (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have other Sony products and this soundbar fit with my Bravia TV with little to no problems syncing them together, easy and perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Generally good

300W 30/11/2017 by Jas7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The volume on movies (via Apple TV -> iTunes, Netflix) is surprisingly low, but volume on music (via Apple TV iTune) is really great. I don’t know why that is and I’m thinking of sending it back.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Won't connect

HT-CT390 23/11/2017 by Trollyboy (USA)

When i bought it. It didn't work. I send it 2 times for a repare and now. It's agan broken. It won't connect with the subwoofer

0

0

0

Excellent sound

HT-CT390 29/10/2017 by Subs and Per (Canada)

I use this in my bedroom just to listen to music and Yhis is the best money I’ve bet spent, had zero problems. Great buy totally recommend this. Great job Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup with great sound

HT-CT390 20/10/2017 by Linx1 (United Kingdom)

Purchased along with new Sony smart TV. Sound is excellent and because of its low profile sits beautifully below the screen. The wireless sub gives added oomph to movies. An all round great performer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent

HT-CT390 18/10/2017 by Derk 1 (United Kingdom)

Great improvement over TV speakers, more depth and clarity with the ability to adjust the clarity of the spoken word

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great item.

HT-CT390 12/10/2017 by ozzie 7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a great product and the sound is very good i would recommend it,

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Works good.

300W 05/10/2017 by Thysad (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice addition to the living room. But in the typical Sony mentality they feel that if you want a Sony product you are going to pay a premium price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/10/2017

Hi Thysad, we're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day! Regards, ^Ron

0

Great Features

HT-CT390 28/09/2017 by Brother Louie (USA)

I am completely satisfied with the performance of my sound bar. A great value for such a reasonable price . I would strongly recommend it.

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Beware of DTS-HD/TrueHD Audio Support

HT-CT390 18/08/2017 by bk117a4 (USA)

I bought this Soundbar, believing it supported both formats, because the photo under the "Get connected" section erroneously displays the DTS-HD and TrueHD audio format logos, but in reality, the Soundbar only supports Dolby Digital and DTS, which is DVD quality sound support, not Blu-ray. I was unable to return the Soundbar, because the seller won't take responsibility for Sony advertising error. I reported the advertising error to technical support 2 days ago, but the old picture is still on the website.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Inconsistent

300W 09/07/2017 by ctw35 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Audio started to stutter recently and bt doesn't pair always

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Features!!

300W 25/06/2017 by MJBand2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace an LG sound bar. The sound is excellent and being and Bluetooth ability is fantastic. Setting up access to soundbar through a cell phone app is also fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Necessity with the TV

HT-CT390 09/05/2017 by s955 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this in conjunction with a Sony TV as the TV speakers are not up to scratch, great product, but one complaint, if you are going to put your tv on the wall good idea to put it above the tv as there is no facility to feed the wires behind the speaker. Making it difficult to fit cleanly against the wall.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT390 01/05/2017 by Jon1972 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks back when I was replacing everything in my living room , I am impressed with the sound quality and the bass is great , really brings films to life, very happy with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sounds great

300W 29/04/2017 by Eddie3472 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after exchanging a LG soundbar that had the sound cut out every few minutes. Since I am limited, fits in a large upright cabinet, with space this fits great with a TV riser and the subwoofer compliments the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sound quality

HT-CT390 16/04/2017 by Susaan51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As someone who wears hearing aids and as difficulty with sound when watching TV I purchased my first sound bar. This product although not entirely perfect has helped my enjoyment of viewing TV and hearing speech much better. I would recommend

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great depth

HT-CT390 14/04/2017 by Moomin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased so far - great tone & depth Looks good with Sony tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Soundbar Review

300W 28/03/2017 by UNDN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comes with a remote control for standard volume and SW volume giving a numeric setting level for ease of comparison. Automatically shuts down after a time when not in use. Excellent volume range and base depth. Very realistic sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Soundbar!!

300W 24/03/2017 by Kfire (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best soundbar I ever purchased. So easy to setup and enjoy. Awesome sound! Good soundbar for the money!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy set up

300W 13/03/2017 by Dhyana (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound for our small room; easy setup and sync with TV; wireless sub woofer is so much better as it can be placed anywhere...Good investment!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty good sound

HT-CT390 08/03/2017 by richard703 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good warm sound, good with film effects, wireless sub woofer can be a bit temperamental

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Disapointed

300W 05/03/2017 by Anil1964 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought in nov 2016 worked until last week but now sub woofer efficiency went down to 50% earlier there was green light on woofer but now remains orange it looks working but like earlier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Sound Bar volume and quality of sound

HT-CT390 03/03/2017 by Nicknames used up (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delivered and set up last week in December since when I have struggled with it. No sound below 20. got a "solution" from my retailer which cost me a cable to connect ear phone connection on TV to sound bar. Did not work. Sound from TV speaker much louder. Wish we had the Panasoniv back!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Not loud enough

300W 13/02/2017 by Bubbanorth (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound bar and sub sound great and are easy to set up just wish it went louder.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great HDTV!!

300W 11/02/2017 by Ron13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV about 3 wks ago and it has the best picture. I would reccomend to everyone. Only downside is the speakers are basic. I bought a Sony soundbar and this really mad a difference.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great; Good Sound and Easy peasy!

HT-CT390 08/02/2017 by Morganholidayman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this with a new Sony smart TV. We had a Panasonic Home Theatre system with DVD recorder which all worked well but a pain to use for TV only and no Blue Tooth. We wanted more music in room and with Spotify I can blue tooth to the Sony Soundbar no problem. Its great! Much better sound when linked to TV as well. I would have liked the Sony 5.1 system with more speakers but the 2.1 cannot connect to wireless rear speakers so I can't; the 5.1 Soundbar was too large to fit on TV stand but the 2.1 is nice and compact. Overall its a Great piece of kit!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

0

1

0

Good value

HT-CT390 31/01/2017 by Gazboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quite a good sound, sub woofer can be a bit woolly at times but overall sound is ok. Various sound effects i.e. Movie, Sport etc don't seem to make a lot of difference if any. Main problem is connecting to Sony TV through the HDMI audi return outlet so that the TV controls the soundbar, this is very hit and miss, sometimes it works, but mostly not, so an Optical lead is required.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Disapointing Integration with Bravia TV

300W 30/01/2017 by Roy1990 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was unable to get the soundbar synced to a Sony BRAVIA TV as it simply does not work via the HDMI cable -- I would have chosen another sound bar had I known

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

not as good as I expected

HT-CT390 26/01/2017 by mitch72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it was an insurance replacement for a sound bar which was damaged by a water leak and is not as good as the previous one.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Not for open room. Disappointing

300W 24/01/2017 by will1546 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This unit was easy to install but does not sync with my new Sony TV. Why not? The bass is weak! It seems like it is hardly on even though it is on the highest setting. If you have a large open room I don"t think you will like this system.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good bass and overall sound quality

HT-CT390 23/01/2017 by Geoffn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really impressed with product,would recommend and purchase other Sony products

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

HT-CT390 21/01/2017 by Bertie101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this bundled with a Sony Bravia TV. Compliments it brilliantly. Easy straightforward set up. Sound excellent. Ability to place wireless sub woofer out of sight in room makes my wife happy! Connected easily to Bluetooth device.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Phenomenal

HT-CT390 18/01/2017 by Spherical critter (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was apprehensive about this, I always thought full surround was the way to go, but the sound d from this is just fantastic, absolutely amazing. Sony make amazing products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

When it works a great product

HT-CT390 14/01/2017 by Maddi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great system when it works bought with a Sony 4K tv. However the sound bar stops working every few days and the only way to reboot it is to factory reset the tv. I have spoken to Sony helpline and this is the solution they have come up with. I'm debating whether to return the item which is a shame because i always buy Sony and this is the first problem I have had

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great quality

HT-CT390 13/01/2017 by jon73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

my son got it for my birthday to go with my new sony tv the sound is excellent with a good quality base speaker.because they are both sony they work with the tv remote

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CT390 Soundbar review

HT-CT390 06/01/2017 by PaulSonyReviews (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this soundbar as a package with a Sony 4k 43in 8099 TV. Generally pleased and I will keep it but have the following comments. 1) Clearer but not much better than Sony TV speakers at lower volumes becasue the TV speakers are already pretty good - deep base effect really for higher volumes; 2) TV remote controls soundbar also but will not always wake soundbar when in sleep mode so need to touch front panel; 3) NFC connection only works with Android devices (not IPhone or Windows Phone) - but manual Bluetooth works with all.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent for the price

300W 06/01/2017 by Shprgi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up and the quality of sound is just as good. Very pleased with purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0