98

3.8 based on 98 customer reviews

34
37
11
7
9
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 20/01/2018 by Fordster (USA)

I bought this in December and the sound is great is you crank it up . Need rear speakers to get the full surround sound . I hope they come up with a fix because the sound bar was not cheap and I would like to buy rear Sony speakers for it..

100

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

PLEASE PUSH A FIRMWARE UPDATE FOR REAR SPEAKERS

HT-ST5000 30/03/2018 by MJConte (USA)

I’ve read every single review on this page and 95 % of owners are begging, pleading for the same thing-REAR SPEAKER SUPPORT!!! Why aren’t you listening to your customers Sony? Giving us the same canned answer over and over “We’ll pass this along....we take your input seriously, etc., etc. is meaningless. Actions speak louder than words Sony. Push a firmware update and make this sound bar truly top of the line. Why wouldn’t you want to sell more surround speakers to pair with this sound bar?? Even if you don’t care about your customers, you have to care about revenue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

64

0

98 Customer Reviews

0

I've tried a few. This is a best

HT-ST5000 15/10/2018 by bpmajesty (USA)

Sony is back! I've owned a few cheap soundbars and surround sound systems. All I knew is that my next sound bar had to have Dolby Atmos support. I tried another brand that was a few hundred dollars cheaper and had fewer speakers. Then I tried this one. I fell in love. I liked it so much that I actually waited and saved more money to get it. I live in a house and this system has my entire house shaking. I love it. This sound bar+plus my Apple TV 4k+my LG Dolby Vision tv+a HDMI 2.2 high-quality cable (people often slack off on this key item)... I think I finally have the home entertainment system I've been waiting for. That's not to mention how well it plays music from my iPhone. My only con: Sony needs to update the software to support Airplay 2.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

good.......just good, not great

HT-ST5000 04/10/2018 by relliktra (USA)

Awsome speakers, I like them....... "LIKE" them not love them....... for the amount of money that I have paid for them I was shock to find out that there is NO expandability. REAR SPEAKERS.....PLEASE ADD THEM!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Mine Stopped Working Months After Purchase

HT-ST5000 02/10/2018 by FrankF (USA)

I purchased a 75" XBR75X900E series Sony TV ($3,000) and a HTST5000 Sony Sound Bar ($1,500) in September 2017. A few months after installing, the HDMI ports of the TV started to fail, one-by-one. Sony sent an in-home repair person, who replaced the motherboard of the TV. I had to pay the repair person to help me remove the TV from the wall. After replacing the TV motherboard, the sound bar stopped working. With the help of Sony technical assistance we were able to get the sound bar working again that night. However, several weeks later the sound bar stopped working again. Multiple calls to Sony tech support would fix the problem, but then several days later the sound bar stopped working again. Now Sony wants me to ship the sound bar to their repair depot. To do that I have to pay someone to remove the TV from the wall mounting so the sound bar electrical cord (which is hard-wired to the sound bar) can be removed from behind the wall. Then, when the repaired sound bar is back, I will again have to pay someone to remove the TV and re-wire the sound bar electrical. Given the multiple issues with the equipment so shortly after purchase, and the fact that I am not sure it is the sound bar (and not the TV) that is malfunctioning, I requested that Sony send an in-home repair person to diagnose the problem. They refused. I escalated my request to Sony customer service and they too refused to deviate from their policy that all sound bars be shipped in for repair. They suggested they were actually doing me a favor since the one-year warranty has just run out, even though I reported the sound bar problem weeks before. My previous TV and sound bar are Samsung. I have owned that equipment for six years and have never had a problem. I made a mistake in choosing Sony this time around.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Needs better support

HT-ST5000 28/09/2018 by AlexTheDane (USA)

At time of writing, this product hasn't received a software update in almost a year. Unfortunately it looks like Sony has stopped supporting it, which is a real shame and something I didn't expect so soon with a product at this price. The design and sound is great, but unless you can find it at a super discounted price, I can't recommend buying it as it will be obsolete shortly, if no updates arrive. The lesson here is: don't buy premium products from Sony, they're not a premium manufacturer. List of things wanted in an update: * Option to rename inputs * Independent sound settings based on input (for instance, always use Movie preset for BluRay player) * Fix to Spotify Connect (if you launch it from a phone, the phone seems to be the "player" and streams the sound. If you start Spotify manually on the soundbar, the connection is better) * Automatically switch to correct input when device is turned on (this works for AppleTV but oddly not for SONY PS4 or SONY BluRay player) As for rear speakers, there are tons of options for soundbars that support rear speakers. If this is your wish, this soundbar definitely isn't for you.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Wow very good sound

HTST5000 15/09/2018 by Buckeye1701 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

First set up was easy and done in a few minutes. The 4K pass works great. the Dolby Atmos sound is WOW great. At 50% level it will rock the whole house. The DTS TruSurround, Dolby Digital Plus and 3D surround mode also sound good. I also like the fact that it works with Google Home. Even music apps sound good. Very happy with purchase. I do have it hooked up to a Sony X900F & UBP-X700

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Ht 5000

HT-ST5000 11/09/2018 by Pete67 (USA)

I wish I could add tiny rear speakers. And at this price point why does it lack the calibration tool like Bose and Martin logins. Come on sony, great product but missing some important features. Add them and u have 5 star sound bar. Also I want to change audio setting with my sony x900f tv remote. Which is another thing that bothers me. I had lg oled and there sound bar. LG os is sweet, simple to use and not cluttered remote. U are Sony get in the game. Plus at this price, why are useing rf, it should be all blue tooth. I hate using 4 remotes.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Fantastic surround sound that really works

HT-ST5000 30/08/2018 by f unk y (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this. Atmos does work even though a soundbar. Wouldn't have paid the full

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great movie sound, but concerns about lifespan

HT-ST5000 29/08/2018 by TMcArt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the soundbar 7 months ago from and after a bit of time figuring out the interface I had a smoothly functioning home entertainment setup with cinema quality sound all functioning from a single remote via ARC pass through. I am however concerned about the lifespan of the product, as after 7 months of perfect use, the main circuit board has failed outright and I have had to arrange a warranty repair that is expected to take 10-14 days. My main concern at this point, is the lack of option for an extended warranty having not purchased the sound bar directly from a Sony Centre.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great product. Needs rear speaker update.

HT-ST5000 23/08/2018 by PaulH50 (USA)

The HT-ST5000 provides exceptional sound and bass. As so many others have mentioned, there needs to be rear speaker support added for a truly immersive sound. Also, the up firing speaker are a bit underwhelming.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

0

0

Software support needs to be better

HT-ST5000 14/08/2018 by tommy333 (USA)

Design: Take off the speaker grill and it looks perfect and classy. It's huge, wide and has a strong presence. Nice addition to the living room. Sound: As a flagship soundbar, it sounds what it's supposed to sound and does it well. Great stereo performance. Bass is well controlled and powerful. Mid is clear. High is detailed. A pretty balanced frequency response. Good enough to avoid having to invest in dedicated stereo gear. Surround sounds ok. For a soundbar the soundstage is wide. Atmos yes the height effect is there but don't expect sound coming from above and behind. It's a soundbar ultimately so don't expect it to sound the same as a physical 5.1/ 7.1 system. Software: 1. DSP control/ Sound Field - The soundbar has a few DSP presets, e.g. 3D surround/ Movie/ Music. But there is no detailed explanation from either the manual or the onscreen menu on what exactly these modes do to the audio signal. Does 3D surround upmix everything to 7.1.2? How is it different from Movie mode? For music listening I want DSP to be off so the soundbar won't alter my stereo signal. Should I use Music mode? or just turn Sound Field off? There needs to be more guidance from Sony for us to get the sound in exactly the way we want it 2. DSD network playback - DSD is advertised as being supported by this soundbar. But it does not support network DSD playback using the soundbar's own menu system. Selecting HOME NETWORK as the input source on the soundbar, none of the DSD files in my DLNA server/ library are being displayed let alone being played. The only way to make it work is to install Sony's Music Center application on PC, import the DSD library there, select network audio output as the soundbar and control the playback on the PC. Works but not user friendly. 3. iOS/ Android Music Center app DLNA issues - Sony's Music Center app on iOS/ Android can act as a remote control of the soundbar to control playback of network files. It's great but only if it works. On multiple android/ iOS devices the app simply does not detect my DLNA server on my NAS, whereas the soundbar itself can happily see the DLNA server. Having to use the soundbar's remote and menu system to navigate my library is clunky and unresponsive. People with different Sony wireless speakers have the exact same issue with Sony's iOS/ android app as well, so please fix it. 4. Roon support - Hi-Res support is being advertised as a key feature of this soundbar. If so, please make this soundbar Roon ready. Right now Roon playback can be done via Chromecast but it is limited to 24bit/96khz and DSD has to be converted to PCM. Since this soundbar already supports Hi-Res network playback and Spotify Connect, adding Roon support should not be a tough task. Sony please update the firmware to make this happen. 5. Independent audio input control separated from TV's ARC audio - Right now if the TV is turned on while the soundbar is playing network files or Spotify, it will automatically switch to TV input and dump whatever it is playing before. Having the soundbar automatically switching to TV's audio is good, but please add a toggle in the firmware that allows us to disable the behaviour. Often people might want to watch TV without sound and listen to music at the same time. Right now we have to switch off the TV's ARC/ HDMI CEC feature to do this and once we're done turn it back on again. Not user friendly. TLDR: Stereo sounds great. Surround sounds good for a soundbar but don't expect physical 7.1 performance. Software wise quite a bit of issues to be fixed. All of them should be easy to fix so no reason not to. This soundbar was released in summer 2017 and the latest available firmware is from Nov 2017. Nothing was released nor improved for this product afterwards. This soundbar is 1 year into its life cycle and there is still 1 year ahead. For a flagship product people expect much better software support and user experience. So Sony please give us a better firmware.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

10

1

0

Great sounding soundbar

HT-ST5000 13/08/2018 by Sparks77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar to upgrade my 5.1 system to Dolby Atmos. Very pleased with powerful sound effects. Would have given 5 stars if it had rear speakers, that would make it perfect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Needs read speakers

HT-ST5000 11/08/2018 by Christopher1983 (USA)

I agree with the rest of your customers that this needs a software update to allow adding wireless surround sound speakers. I know this soundboard is meant to create surround sound by itself but it falls short and needs additional speakers. People that are willing to pay $1,400 for a high end sound bar would certainly pay for additional surround sound speakers if available. This is a winning scenario for Sony and a chance to increase revenue so please take it. This update needs to happen otherwise I may not purchase Sony products in the future as I nearly went with the Bose system instead as it had optional wireless surround speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

0

Great Product

HT-ST5000 10/08/2018 by Jdk01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after reading reviews and listening to some other disappointing lower priced Sony soundbar products. The overall sound quality is good. I bought it because I like Sony products and for compatibility with my Bravia TV and Blu-Ray player. The user interface can be improved. The synchronisation with other devices works, but can be slow. Switching between sources is clumsy. The remote is clumsy. But, overall I recommend and am pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Perfect complement to my Sony 75" 4K TV

HTST5000 26/07/2018 by MarioY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I finally have a sound system that complements my pride and joy, a 75" 4K HDTV. Big sound to match my big screen. Setup was easy since it's also a Sony. This is my first experience with the ATMOS technology. I still have a lot to experience with this thing but so far I'm very pleased with how it sounds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sound bar sound is great

HT-ST5000 14/07/2018 by Lmendes13 (USA)

This sound bar is great but theres a few problems first the volume it needs more volune watching a movie have to crank the volume at max to really here everything next the sub is so so it needs more punch to it i can barely feel the bass the samsung hw k950 subwoofer felt more alive bass sounded good and thats whas great about it when i had it and it also comes to it with the rear speakers but i returned it back because of the rear speakers having problems and for that case i come to the point that this sony sound bar needs rear spekers to get that full sorround sound please sony update to get rear speakers for this sound bar i well keep it for a while more but if theres no rear speakers i well gonna eventually return it back and get me another hometheater setup!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

needs a rear speakers

HT-ST5000 30/06/2018 by jars71 (USA)

SONY PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE provide an update to make rear speakers optional/a must. WE NEED THEM AND WILL PAY FOR THEM!!! again.... please please

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

46

0

0

ST5000

HT-ST5000 29/06/2018 by Atso (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this along with a Sony KD55AF8. The only complaint I have is that with the tv the stand and tv sit directly on to the flkoor tv stand and there is no room for the sound bar to be fitted in front. I have therefore had to position the osund bar on the first shelf under the tv which will take away some of the effect of the 2 top facing speakers. I hope I do not notice the difference. I think Sony has forgotten about this situation with their products design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Very underwhelming for a very expensive soundbar

HTST5000 29/06/2018 by SonyCody (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Soundbar seemed great until it started having distorted audio issues only 5 months after purchase. I've reproduced the same issue with multiple media types, optical audio, HDMI 2.0, and nothing changes the issue. It continues to happen intermittently where audio will lower, distort, and nothing i do makes it go away.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

very good but need rear speakers

HT-ST5000 28/06/2018 by brtkpr (USA)

A very good soundbar but definitely needed rear speakers like the old ht-ct790 and the newer ht-zf9. Come on Sony! It's a high end premium soundbar. But the sound is awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

26

0

0

Good soundbar

HT-ST5000 27/06/2018 by Flavius30 (USA)

Hello, i bought the sound bar a couple of days ago and paird it with the Sony ubp x-800 the problem is the player won't play dolby atmos or dts:x, do I need another piece of equipment to play atmos? I use the USB port paird with a HDD usb3

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Impressive Dolby Atmos & DTSX

HT-ST5000 05/06/2018 by poppy63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded to this soundbar from Sony 5.1 theatre system so I could experience Dolby Atmos with my new 4K Sony tv and 4K blu ray player. Sound has a real punch on Atmos and the immersive sound is quite impressive considering it's just the soundbar. Great that there was a software update for DTSX. Really disappointed I'm unable to listen to SACDs, which I could on my old theatre system, as no DSD through soundbar. Odd that my Sony UBP-X800 can play SACDs but Sony have decided the soundbar shouldn't. I noticed the cheaper Sony HT-ZF9 will support SACDs, how about a Sony software SCAD upgrade for those have the more expensive HT-ST5000?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Brilliant for Serious Classical Music Lovers

HT-ST5000 05/06/2018 by MAC62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product was easy to set up and connectivity availability good. Able to connect other products; TV and Tuner (not Sony), and Sony Blu-Ray player with ease. Sound from DAB+ tuner sounds excellent even though reduced from 7.1 to 5.1 channels. Streaming from Chromecast and Spotify very easy to set up. Gave the sound bar a real test from the outset, playing Mahler's 2nd Symphony, which it coped with superbly, both instrumentally and vocally. Sounding like you were there in the concert hall. Expensive, but worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant but needs rear speaker support

HT-ST5000 16/05/2018 by Aaron L (USA)

I bought this sound bar after a lot of online reading. Ultimately it seemed to be the best sound bar but with one drawback, no rear speakers. The sound is amazing, detailed, weighted, tight on the bass and lovely design. But... SONY PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE provide an update to make rear speakers optional/a must. WE NEED THEM AND WILL PAY FOR THEM!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

48

0

0

HT-ST5000

HTST5000 16/05/2018 by Factory Trained (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I saw this while visiting my favorite store. It is an upgrade from my SA-ST-9, it was easier to install and audio is much clearer. I like the up firing end speakers. I wish it would Bluetooth connect to the ZR-5 and ZR-7. I was originally told it would.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

wow what a amazing soundbar

HT-ST5000 16/05/2018 by bobbya (USA)

i rcommend this product every one dolby atoms sounds like cinama

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Low volume

HT-ST5000 12/05/2018 by Na12345678 (USA)

Atmos is worthless when sony's services/apps don't support them. All the right features but volume is really low when audio is coming from TV. Audio volume is fine when output is from a cable source. Voice is hard to hear even with "clear audio+" Interface is lacking and is inconsistent with other sony products. Same with the remote. System should display a small popup when sub-woofer disconnects.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

2

0

Good Sound

HT-ST5000 03/05/2018 by Manny29 (USA)

I bought this soundbar last year, happy with the sound; but doesn’t give you that surround sound experience that you’re probably looking for base on price. Sony bring a compatible rear speakers for that immerse true surround experience with Dolby Atmos.

21

0

0

I love it

HT-ST5000 30/04/2018 by Burn (USA)

Great sound bar. Whenever we show it to guests, they just can't stop listening to it. personally, I find that not having rear speakers very disappointing. I noticed other reviewers feel that this sound bar would be the greatest on the market if it had rear speakers. Hint Hint...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

0

0

Clear Sound

HT-ST5000 27/04/2018 by Bobbyb68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great product. The sound is very clear from speech to individual orchestra instruments. When you turn the TV on or off the sound bar also is turned on or off. It would be very useful if it would switch to Bluetooth when it detects a linked item (when the TV is off) and then switch off when the linked item is off or not playing music etc. It would also be useful to switch between different inputs more easily. I keep going past Bluetooth because I can’t tell whether it will move with one click or two! You have to be a contortionist to get the leads in the back. In my case I had to hold the bar then try and line up the hdmi lead the right way round all very fiddly. With hindsight I should have put all the leads in first with the sound bar on the floor, then lifted it up and connect to the other units!! A good job I didn’t want them wall mounted.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Fantastic

HT-ST5000 25/04/2018 by lunarben (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although quite expensive, this is a fantastic sound bar. I have it hooked up to my 65" LG OLEDB7 and it's a match made in heaven. Superb sound and it looks great too. Once again, Sony does not disappoint.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sounds great when it works!

HT-ST5000 25/04/2018 by Flooglebinder (USA)

Sounds amazing when I first connected and set it up. But soon the subwoofer starting making a cracking sound during normal bass notes. Tried every combo of settings and still comes and goes. The sub also cuts out and loses connection. It’s 6ft from the base so that’s not the issue. Could use some rear speakers to complete the atmos. Loved the multiple input options and setup was super simple. Hoping for an update and rear speaker option.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

rear speakers firmware UPDT is required

HT-ST5000 18/04/2018 by annu28 (USA)

i recently bought this product..and i am satisfied with the bass...and with its 4k high resolution sound..but it need rear speakers firmware update to bring atmospheric effect more lucid...adding rear speakers will take this product at the TOP among all its competitor..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

62

0

0

Love this sound system!

HTST5000 15/04/2018 by Junito (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the Atmos soundbar made by LG and it does not compare to the HT-ST5000. The sound quality inmerses you into the movie, I can't even believe it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Insanely good!

HT-ST5000 13/04/2018 by Juancorleone (USA)

I love this setup almost more than my wife (just kidding honey)! Seriously though, transparent, powerful, beautiful sound that I’ve come to expect from Sony. This and the sub it pairs with freakin’ deliver! The ATMOS and DTS:X are sick! I’ve got my Xfinity 4K cable box, Apple TV 4K and UPB-X800 Disc Player into HDMI 1,2 and 3 and ARC output into my A1E OLED so the sound bar is the hub of all devices and does a great job managing them. Download an album in DSD high res format, pop it on a USB stick, insert into the ST-5000 side USB port and prepare to have your mind blown.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superior Sound quality - still no rear-speaker fix

HT-ST5000 12/04/2018 by Miagi27 (USA)

I just love the sound quality.. I came from a very expensive 7.1 setup (+20000$) and although NOT as good, I am very indpressed by the sound quality in both movies and more surpriceingly Music.. it still strikes me as a physical impossibility, that such a “small” formfactor system can deliver so much sound and spaceiness.. but I would really like for Sony to add support for rear speakers.. as the digital witchcraft can only work its magic it the space between you an the speaker... NOT behind you - rear speaker support would make it a league of ita own - a true 5 Star product! -

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

38

0

0

Needs rear speaker SONY

HT-ST5000 08/04/2018 by Tajee (USA)

Great sound bar. SONY you need to listen and let us add rear speakers. I think the new 2018 LG SK10Y is the new sound bar to beat. Until you give us an option to add rear speakers you are in 2nd place.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

52

0

0

PLEASE PUSH A FIRMWARE UPDATE FOR REAR SPEAKERS

HT-ST5000 30/03/2018 by MJConte (USA)

I’ve read every single review on this page and 95 % of owners are begging, pleading for the same thing-REAR SPEAKER SUPPORT!!! Why aren’t you listening to your customers Sony? Giving us the same canned answer over and over “We’ll pass this along....we take your input seriously, etc., etc. is meaningless. Actions speak louder than words Sony. Push a firmware update and make this sound bar truly top of the line. Why wouldn’t you want to sell more surround speakers to pair with this sound bar?? Even if you don’t care about your customers, you have to care about revenue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

64

0

0

Please Read Before you Purchase

HT-ST5000 23/03/2018 by Tach (USA)

There are several key items you should know: 1. As you may know, there is no room adjustment with mic input etc. You need to adjust and take a guess... 2. The onscreen Video that displays information on options and menus does not work at 4k! Infact, it only works at a paltry 800x600... ummm to add even more insult, the built-in display doesnt even show any helpful info on what sound encoding the unit is processing either, so if you purchase this “high-end” unit as a “top of the line” sony sound-bar, you will be frustrated and blind to what the heck is going on if you try to use it with 4k dolby vision... good luck troubleshooting any issues or even confirming your setup. 3. I bought 2 units, 1 of them died right after 90 days, so cant return to store, and when I called Sony tech support, they tell me thier systems are having a problem so they cant do anything and will call me back, of course no call back... argh

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

PLEASE LET ME ADD REAR SPEAKER!!!!!

HTST5000 15/03/2018 by Evilcat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The high res sound and the powerful bass is just too good to compare to other similar price range product. I will give it 5 stars if you guys update the firmware to enable wireless surround sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

78

0

0

BAD BAD BAD

HT-ST5000 13/03/2018 by npasquale (USA)

Buy this sound bar with a tv XBR, after a couple of hours of use when I change channels in my hotwire box the image is gone and only the sound remains, and several times called and I do not answer the technical service , sincerely disillusioned with this team, and I'm a fan of this brand, do not buy it

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Great, but...

HT-ST5000 09/03/2018 by achilles71 (USA)

Great product but needs dedicated rear surround speakers..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

68

0

0

Add rear speakers please!

HTST5000 08/03/2018 by Countryfolk (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I agree with others....great soundbar...great sub woofer....handles movies great....handles music much better than the NT5 (we returned it for the st-5000) but it would be nice to have the option of rear speakers. We got tired of all the speaker wire strung about so switched to this soundbar. If you offer rear speakers capabilty in a future update let me know!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Sony HTS5000

HTST5000 07/03/2018 by Concrete (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of the best electronic purchases I have made. I have a Bose 8 speaker in my home theater room and wanted a sound system for my guest room where I did not have a lot of space. I researched the HTS5000 over Two months before I finally purchased it . I am more than satisfied with this system. Extremely powerful and would recommend to anyone looking for a sound bar, please keep in mind that this system is MORE than a sound bar. Moving forward, I will not buy another Bose system again. Thank you Sony!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great product

HT-ST5000 05/03/2018 by Musicfadist (USA)

I am having first hnd experience from using my friends product who bought recently

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound, but NEEDS wireless surround w/(ZR5)

HT-ST5000 26/02/2018 by QUEZZYMOTO (Canada)

Seriously... update the firmware Sony. Your new product has this, can you please add the software update to allow us (if we want the option to) use our ZR5 as wireless surround.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2018

Hi QUEZZYMOTO,


Rest assured that your feedback will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department. We place a very high value on feedback from our customers because it allows us to continue to improve.


Regards,
Zac

0

Love it and its not fully installed

HTST5000 25/02/2018 by Jajarita (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony Sound Bar is connected to the Samsung 52" tv, and my Spectrum Cable box, My Sony DVD player, My Apple TV, and my Iphone for music (bluetooth). I have not done the customized room setup because I intend to rearrange my family room for better viewing. I have a hearing problem for voice. But since this can be adjusted for voice it is a really welcomed feature. It comes up when I turn on the cable box, so I am not dealing with multiple remotes. To use the other devices I press home on its remote and its press the side arrow to get to what ever device I want to see or hear. The ease of use is remarkable. Expensive? No, it is exactly what I wanted in an electronic device. It does what I expected. The Photos shows how the music on the Iphone displays on the TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Stellar sound but...

HT-ST5000 25/02/2018 by Dashatx (USA)

Replaced my traditional surround sound set up with this system and pleasently surprised by the quality of sound. I bought Sony wireless surround speakers and just learned their not compatible with this sound bar....why not?! I sure hope they add this feature otherwise I’m not sure it’s the right setup if looking for true surround sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

46

0

0

Poorly designed very disappointed

HT-ST5000 23/02/2018 by skitzrv (USA)

I have been a huge Sony fan for most of my life but this product is really quite a mess. From random switching back to the home page, failure to recognize the default HDMI connection (booting to the home page), poor sound quality (you will not experience ATMOS). Its just a bad design!!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

0

Mr

HTST5000 21/02/2018 by FA123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needs Rear Speakers add a firmware you will sell more speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

74

0

0

AMAZING SOUND BAR

HTST5000 14/02/2018 by jeff132 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced a surround sound system with this sound bar and believe me we are missing nothing. Tremendous sound and based coming from all over the room. I wanted to get rid of some speakers and this did the trick. I would recommend this bar to anyone. On action movies it will blow you out of the room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My opinion

HT-ST5000 11/02/2018 by good choice (USA)

It exceeded my expectations. Normal TV watching is great, CD's are great and Blu Ray movies will blow you out of the room. It has punch, clarity sharpness and shakes your chair. It's is difficult to evaluate Dolby Atmos, since there are few on the market yet. It may be a bit too much for an apartment. It is a soundbar and not surround sound, but its a good one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I want to give it 5

HT-ST5000 06/02/2018 by Johnniemoney (USA)

The update a while ago finally brought in dts then I discovered the Dolby neural x option. Whoa ok. That just woke up this box. I still contend you need rear speakers but you bought yourself some time. One thing that does get frustrating is learning all these little goodies to get all of the hdr atmos etc out of your system. I run a computer Dept and I can only imagine how many systems are running at default settings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

57

0

0

Great Sound but has a mind of its own....

HTST5000 05/02/2018 by oldtimercurt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Yes, I have violated review guideline about focusing only on the product but it is impossible to do so. I would give the soundbar 5 stars if it operated stand-alone. However, it is only one component in a system and therein lies the problem. The soundbar is connected to LG OLED TV, Panasonic Blu-ray, Roku Streaming Stick+, Cable box, XM receiver; all to be controlled(?) by Harmony Remote. Unfortunately, "advances" in HDMI/CEC result in a system whose components seem to fight for control. LG and Sony instructions basically say if you have issues turn off CEC in other devices. Unfortunately, that also results in giving up some system capability that you paid for. After extensive research and phone coordination with manufacturers I still have not attained single button selection of activities. The single biggest issue centers on being able to program selection of the analog input of the soundbar. As I understand it, CEC is part of the HDMI "bus". I'm not sure how the 2-wire analog signal is integrated with the HDMI to be able to contend for attention when I want it to be the active input. I can, after seeing the system bring up my XM radio which I chose, switch to streaming stick, then to TV with no audio but the soundbar menu displayed. I then push buttons on the Harmony remote, spin around 3 times and stomp my right foot. I have my XM music and all is well. THERE'S GOT TO BE A BETTER WAY!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

superb sound

HT-ST5000 05/02/2018 by Victor71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product two weeks ago, very happy with the sound with Blu-Ray and 4k discs, music even better,plenty of volume and with good separation and a nice even bass with good volume control. Setting up was another matter as no matter how I tried I could get no sound from the television through the arc hdmi cable and after much swapping of cables I had to connect with the optical cable now everything is fine.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

Speaker already breaking down

HT-ST5000 03/02/2018 by willv3 (USA)

Bought the speaker less than a year ago, began to slowly develop a buzzing sound as if it were *slightly* blown out, specifically with the center speaker(s). Never turned up the volume high. Now buzzing is horrible and speaker is unlistenable, sounds completely blown.

3

0

0

Needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 20/01/2018 by Fordster (USA)

I bought this in December and the sound is great is you crank it up . Need rear speakers to get the full surround sound . I hope they come up with a fix because the sound bar was not cheap and I would like to buy rear Sony speakers for it..

100

0

0

Top quality sound

HT-ST5000 12/01/2018 by Virgo the great (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up out of the box good intuitive home screen and it sounds great. A really top quality soundbar and sub worth the money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Rear speakers are so badly needed but sony

HT-ST5000 11/01/2018 by marcNY (USA)

doesn't care. this little thing would have been amazingly unstoppable but lack of rear is preventing it from getting full atmos sound. but it is featured packed though. ATMOS and DTS:X but if you expect to get atmos sound from this then you'd be wasting your money. I love the way it sounds though playing music sounds amazing and watching movies is just amazing but movies play with no effects at all. i changed setting from clearAudio+ to 3d surround, nothing. Played around with the level settings, looked online for tips, nope. also there's a funny cracking sound coming from the speaker or the sub. replacing the soundbar will not fix the issue, it's a sony issue. so beware, don't expect anything like a movie theater from this. this doesn't sound anything better than the other less expensive sound bar out there unless SONY decides to give us rear speakers they announced new soundbar today at ces2018 with wireless soundbar why can't this expensive one be compatible with them? is beyond me .

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

86

4

0

Great soundbar except

HT-ST5000 10/01/2018 by om55 (USA)

I am very happy with soundbar. The only flaw would be to have rear speakers for a total surround experience. Please make this available.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

89

0

0

Great product HT-Z9F availability to HT-ST5000?

HT-ST5000 09/01/2018 by Seablade (USA)

I got my HT-ST5000 as a Christmas gift and I am very pleased with the product! I just saw the CES 2018 Sony press conference (08JAN18)and I have a question! Sony can provide a firmware upgrade to my Sony H5-ST5000 to use the newest Wireless Rear Speaker for HT-Z9F? If you do, Sony will sell a lot of those 2018 sound bars rear speaker model HT-Z9F!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

65

0

0

Good Dolby atmos sound

HT-ST5000 02/01/2018 by Dolby atmos lover (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this item for a fortnight and for the most part a positive purchase. Would like the option of mini speakers to give a more surround sound Behind you. The sound quality is still very good though with plenty of bass. Good product but very expensive. I would like to see on the soundbar when the sound is producing Dolby Atmos as well.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

40

2

0

Worth it !

HT-ST5000 01/01/2018 by Lucas696 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought a Sony A1 Tv with this sound bar sounds fantastic and have it set up for tv movies and pc with customisation sound presets that can be saved. It was that impressive when i tested with dolby atmos files and 4k blu rays compared to the tv speakers itself which was not bad either, other family members went and brought the same setup too. Used bluetooth to connect bose wireless headphones no trouble at all and use it to play hi-res music from Sony xperia z2 and it sounds great. I also use a 2006 Sony NW-A1200 walkman which i could connect via aux jack nice to see i can connect older hardware to it. Granted a bit pricey but as I don't change this equipment very often it was well worth the investment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No Rear Speakers

HT-ST5000 31/12/2017 by SonyJPN (USA)

I dont really hear sound from behind me. It needs a true surround speakers.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

78

1

0

HDMI nightmare

HT-ST5000 28/12/2017 by skier888 (Canada)

Good luck getting this to work properly Set it up with sony 4k tv, cable box, apple 4k and universal remote - it couldn’t ever find right hdmi - sound was lagged - sub woofer way too strong Returned it 2 days later

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/12/2017

Hi skier888, we regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations and It is unfortunate that the sound bar had to be returned. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.
Thanks! _Bob

0

Don’t support surround speakers

HT-ST5000 25/12/2017 by Jono73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good quality soundbar however not brilliant with surround sound either atmos, if you could add speakers like the zr5 and have them added with surround sound/atmos effect (on par with the Samsung hk950 I believe it will be out standing until then I wouldn’t recommend it

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

98

4

0

Please add 2 real satellite speakers

HT-ST5000 25/12/2017 by BiggesttBoss (USA)

I recently purchased this soundbar at the advice of a best buy pro who said even without the real speakers, which i currently have for a different unit, it would still make the same sounds as rear speakers would. I purchased the sony dolby atmos 7.1.2 and i absolutely love it except 2 things. 1. I wish it had bass and treble setting on home screen and i dont exactly understand the db setting or what that means for the speakers? 2. Most importantly of all is that i will have to return this unit because it doesnt support real satellite speakers which i currently have on a different model and makes the true full immersion. Can you guys patch this unit to except rear speakers ecen if you had to have the option of turning off 2 speakers on the soundbar to have 2 real sat speakers! Please respond. Thanks

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

71

1

0

Underwhelmed

HT-ST5000 22/12/2017 by Buchi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Certainly no bells and whistles to find. The wireless sub woofer kept disconnecting every few minutes. The sound overall was average.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Exceptional

HT-ST5000 21/12/2017 by qntt (USA)

Great sound quality, fantastic features and great build quality. A bit pricey but worth it. Those who say voices are recessed should consider that some tracks are just badly mastered and some artists just don't have talent LOL. Listen to some Queen or some other oldies and you will see there is no problem with voices. Actually voices sound amazing. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

As expected from Sony another Great Product

HTST5000 20/12/2017 by Mike Sz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the for a short time have not had the time to test all features. Not quite getting the surround type sound out of it but it could be some adjustment i am missing. Other than that great sound.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it but!

HT-ST5000 20/12/2017 by Bigjohn11 (USA)

I’ve had it for about four months. Only two real complaints. I wish there was a per input volume adjustment. For example I keep my fios at about 80% volume. Blu-ray at 40. Second. This bar while awesome. Would be amazing with rear channels. By the way Sony. Kudos on the quality of the build.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29

0

0

Great sound but concern over connectivity with sub

HT-ST5000 14/12/2017 by golfer00 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have owned this Dolby Atmos soundbar for 3 weeks and am generally very pleased with it apart from one issue. Initially I heard intermittent stuttering and popping from the subwoofer. I checked the Sony Support site and found that this problem was listed along with an advised fix which involved a reset. I carried out the reset and so far there has been no recurrence but I am obviously concerned that this might happen again as it clearly has with other customers. This is very disappointing given the very high price of the unit and the exceptional reviews it has received. So far with everything working as it should the sound quality is excellent for TV, movies and music via bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0