122

3.9 based on 122 customer reviews

47
43
12
8
12
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 20/01/2018 by Fordster (USA)

I bought this in December and the sound is great is you crank it up . Need rear speakers to get the full surround sound . I hope they come up with a fix because the sound bar was not cheap and I would like to buy rear Sony speakers for it..

103

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

PLEASE PUSH A FIRMWARE UPDATE FOR REAR SPEAKERS

HT-ST5000 30/03/2018 by MJConte (USA)

I’ve read every single review on this page and 95 % of owners are begging, pleading for the same thing-REAR SPEAKER SUPPORT!!! Why aren’t you listening to your customers Sony? Giving us the same canned answer over and over “We’ll pass this along....we take your input seriously, etc., etc. is meaningless. Actions speak louder than words Sony. Push a firmware update and make this sound bar truly top of the line. Why wouldn’t you want to sell more surround speakers to pair with this sound bar?? Even if you don’t care about your customers, you have to care about revenue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

73

0

122 Customer Reviews

0

Great product loved it so much bought another

HT-ST5000 12/01/2019 by JagR61 (United Kingdom)

I liked it so much decided not to put speakers in the ceiling when re-doing house, purchased additional hi-res speakers and hid them behind curtain palmets in each room. wired through Ethernet and got electrician to add electrical socket behind curtain pelmets. Sounds great when grouping speakers using google products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

BEST Sound SYSTEM

HT-ST5000 04/01/2019 by Tonyz13 (Canada)

I was looking for a soundbar after buying my XBR65AF8. Keep in mind the TVs sounds amazing but I wanted a bit more. Long story after going out buying a couple of other brands (Bose Samsung)and seeing my TVs sounds better without anything. Then I bought this unit this week. WOW what difference. I cranked up Whitney Houston’s songs and walls and windows were shaking with bass and clear crisp voice and sounds. Nobody was home of course lol. Definitely if you can get past the price and you get every pennies worth. Sony hasn’t failed me yet (cross fingers). Thanks

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Simple

HT-ST5000 28/12/2018 by swatts1 (USA)

As stated in almost every review... needs the ability to support rear speakers ie. 9.1.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Much more than a soundbar!!!

HTST5000 26/12/2018 by Paulius2112 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unrivaled sound quality. Completely fills very large room with thunderous and excellent Quality Music, and makes a complete surround sound system without the use of a receiver. Many cutting-edge Edge Technologies and services built in.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

LOVE IT!! KILLER SOUNDS

HTST5000 22/12/2018 by Lockman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this system based on a recommendation from store employee. It has lived up to their recommendation

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It’s the real thing

HTST5000 22/12/2018 by Jamc04 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m very happy now l feel full of sound to enjoy the fine quality

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent sounding system

HTST5000 12/12/2018 by Steveb17 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This system goes in the elite category. Great 3D surround sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HTST5000 11/12/2018 by Smdame (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Didn’t,t think I would ever replace my Denon receiver and definitive technology pro cinema 600 speaker system both where pretty high end with great sound but wife got tired of wires and could not figure out how to use it. Listened to this sound bar at Best Buy was so impressed bought it on the spot movies sound amazing Dolby atoms works well bass is great not to boomy music is not quite as good but not bad. only negative is that you can’t connect to internet to use online music like receiver could only Bluetooth from phone or tablet

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very clean sounding

HTST5000 03/12/2018 by 555f (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wish there was an option for rear speakers You really need a good acoustical room to take full advantage of the sound bar With atmose.however a really awesome sounding sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Good staff!

HT-ST5000 02/12/2018 by Sailor77 (USA)

Excellent sound- high, mids and lows are reproduced properly. Was a slight issue of loosing conectivity between sub and bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Best Soundbar I have ever heard!

HTST5000 28/11/2018 by RoyMK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this soundbar for over a year now and I am still loving it as if I first bought it. Especially now with both firmware updates it has received. First firmware updated enabled Dolby Vision pass-through and other services, second firmware update enabled eARC and other features. This soundbar packs a punch with its top of the line sub-woofer and will literally shake up my entire studio. I love every second of it and dust it regularly, looks classy, works flawlessly. I have it connected to my macbook pro, and it enables LCM 7.1.2 which is another huge bonus. I am very proud of my purchase and you will be too!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

NEED REAR SPEAKERS

HT-ST5000 26/11/2018 by alynch30 (Canada)

NEED REAR SPEAKERS Please push firmware to allow to have rear channels and pair wireless speakers!! This bar is the flagship model of Sony and is really expensive. Clients deserve to be able to add rears! Comon Sony!!!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
27/11/2018

Hi alynch30,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Wow

HT-ST5000 26/11/2018 by Johnny A (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome sound! Earth shattering immersive when used with Ultra HD 4K TV & Blu-ray player

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very beautiful

HT-ST5000 24/11/2018 by Jamc04 (USA)

Hi need help I own one of those beautiful bar but the only problem is the cable is to short I own cable Sony witch supports 4K is usuable???

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Good, almost great.

HTST5000 18/11/2018 by A Duchek (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had the ht-st5000 for about 2 months now and am quite happy with it. Looks great and sounds good. Good because, with the option to add rear speakers would have made it great. I managed to get it on sale, $1400 can. Price is on the high side, as with most Sony products, but I keep buying them. That in it self tells me they good quality stuff. Always room for improvement though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loud - poor compatibility, Atmos,- no so good

HT-ST5000 18/11/2018 by PDString (USA)

Simulated surround very poor, Atmos - not so good, no options for wireless rear speakers. Poor compatibility with other Sony products( X900F 75- tv). HDMI -ARC specifically. No real sound separation from center channels

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Amazing quality of sound

HTST5000 17/11/2018 by MLM018 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this system that’s in a year ago and it has been nothing but

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

super sound clarity and dynamic!!!

HT-ST5000 16/11/2018 by GM MM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar system 3 weeks ago and i am very happy what a sound and i am a critical it replace a high end system but come near to high range monitor speakers the best buy this year.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Looks. Disappointing performance.

HTST5000 06/11/2018 by SonyLover110 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product sound was amazing the first two months of having it connected with my TV and BD Player until the subwoofer started to just cut off intermittently. There were random distorted series of low base sounds that were generated sometimes while in operation. All suggested troubleshooting on the site support to include updating and factory reset was performed. The problem was not resolved. Unfortunately, I am afraid that I cannot recommend this product to anyone right now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

1

0

0

Great SoundBar with Compromised Sound Effects

HT-ST5000 04/11/2018 by Ameer Sha (USA)

I brought HT-ST5000 last week after reviewing a lot in internet. I have to admit that the sound are great from soundbar and wireless subwoofer. And it works seamlessly with my Sony KD-75X9000E TV, no issues at all. But DTS-X and Atmos effects are not so impressive when compare with Samsung HW-N950 soundbar and even with HW-K950 soundbar. I believe that by adding wireless rear speakers will fill the gap and make it as the best soundbar in the market. Dear Sony Support Team, Can I add Sony SA-Z9R Wireless Rear Speaker with HT-ST5000? Pls confim ASAP before I purchase Thanks & Regards

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great sound quality

HT-ST5000 02/11/2018 by Justtayyab (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this sound bar for about a year. The sound quality is great. Did not support Dts to start with and had trouble displaying input when HDMI was in enhanced mode but that's been fixed with updates. Very modest atmos effects after a lot of tinkering. It would be a perfect sound bar if it had an option of having rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Best Sound Bar Available

HT-ST5000 31/10/2018 by Wilkens (USA)

The Sony HTST5000 is the best soundbar available on the market right now. I purchased the Sony HTST5000 after having owned several other high end soundbars from other reputable audio companies. I was looking for the best home theater I could achieve in a small space without the use of a traditional receiver with full surround hardwired. This led me to several companies that currently offer soundbars that connect to surround speakers through the use of various wireless systems. The most ubiquitous of these is Sonos. After extensive testing, I have concluded that Sonos is the only wireless home audio system that works, however, the sound quality of Sonos speakers is far inferior to the Sony HTST5000. Sonos is an app company, and they are great at making apps, having made the only wireless home audio app that actually works. However, they put their app to use in speakers that are ok, but not great. From a raw wattage standpoint, and audio quality for both music and movies, Sonos cannot make a set of speakers with the quality that Sony can. The other options available from more audio-focused companies such as Polk, Definitive Technology, and Denon, all include speaker sets of high quality, but which rely on Playfi or other similar wireless apps to connect surround speakers. These systems may test well in the confines of a CNET testing lab, but place them in a downtown condo or apartment complex with multiple wireless networks in a congested area and things deteriorate quickly. I went through 3 of other wireless systems all of which routinely failed to keep the surrounds connected to the bar reliably. This poses a big problem for the target market for soundbars, those living in smaller spaces without room for a full hard wired system. Because the only decent sounding wireless soundbar with surround options are only suitable for use in isolated areas without competing interference, this renders them worthless because those areas are likely to have space for a full hard wired system, which will always sound better anyway. This leaves soundbars that use simulated surround sound from a single bar to create dynamic effects. In this category you have Sony and Yamaha, primarily. I will leave out Samsung's competing soundbar because it relies on wireless for its surrounds, which also routinely drop off, and even with the surrounds, still sounds worse than the Sony HTST5000 because Samsung cannot seem to make quality speakers, even with the help of Harman Kardon. The Yamaha sound projectors are great but have one common element holding them back-- wattage. Yamaha makes precise sounding bars that use Atmos to great effect, but they have far fewer watts than the Sony HTST5000, and this is immediately noticeable in the audio quality. Because of the way speakers are made, size and wattage matter a lot. A good set of large speakers from 1990 can sound better than even the best small speakers from today. Technolgy can definitely improve audio accuracy, but the sound must be transmitted from a cone and electrical source at the end of the day, and here the beefy Sony HTST5000 with its substantial subwoofer and base radiator combined with higher wattage has the raw horsepower to best the Yamama offerings. Finally, the Sony HTST5000 does an excellent job of using Dolby Atmos to simulate surround sound. The technology really does work to envelope you in sound. It works even better in smaller spaces of the type soundbars are typically used. This and the ease of use of the Sony make it the best Soundbar money can buy right now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Huge disappointment!!!

HT-ST5000 27/10/2018 by Mcclure2531 (USA)

I spent the previous three days researching everything I could find about this product, before purchasing this sound bar today. I measured everything off from the ceiling height to the distace from the sound bar. I went through the setting and set everything up precisely. My end result was no better than the $200 sound bar from Wal-mart. The sub woofer at times sounds like the speaker is blown. The sounds from the sound bar are mediocre. The up fire drivers are a complete joke! This is by far not a 7.1.2 system!!! Please save your money, it is not worth it. I will be returing for a refund.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Great please add rear speakers!!!

HT-ST5000 19/10/2018 by TB50 (USA)

Love the sound bar have had for over a year now. So much fun for movies and music but really need option for rear speakers any time frame on this ?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

28

0

0

No substitute for dedicated speakers

HT-ST5000 18/10/2018 by Kudell (USA)

I purchased the HT-ST5000 to replace an aging 5.1 bose system. I purchased what I thought was the best money could buy, with the latest in Dolby Atmos surround. Could not be more disappointed a complete waste of money the old 5.1 Bose system sounds amazing in comparison. Interested no rear speaker capability but the latest sound bar has rear speaker as optional extra so I guess I am not the only one that knows there is no substitute for rear speakers!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

9

0

0

I've tried a few. This is a best

HT-ST5000 15/10/2018 by bpmajesty (USA)

Sony is back! I've owned a few cheap soundbars and surround sound systems. All I knew is that my next sound bar had to have Dolby Atmos support. I tried another brand that was a few hundred dollars cheaper and had fewer speakers. Then I tried this one. I fell in love. I liked it so much that I actually waited and saved more money to get it. I live in a house and this system has my entire house shaking. I love it. This sound bar+plus my Apple TV 4k+my LG Dolby Vision tv+a HDMI 2.2 high-quality cable (people often slack off on this key item)... I think I finally have the home entertainment system I've been waiting for. That's not to mention how well it plays music from my iPhone. My only con: Sony needs to update the software to support Airplay 2.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

good.......just good, not great

HT-ST5000 04/10/2018 by relliktra (USA)

Awsome speakers, I like them....... "LIKE" them not love them....... for the amount of money that I have paid for them I was shock to find out that there is NO expandability. REAR SPEAKERS.....PLEASE ADD THEM!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Needs better support

HT-ST5000 28/09/2018 by AlexTheDane (USA)

At time of writing, this product hasn't received a software update in almost a year. Unfortunately it looks like Sony has stopped supporting it, which is a real shame and something I didn't expect so soon with a product at this price. The design and sound is great, but unless you can find it at a super discounted price, I can't recommend buying it as it will be obsolete shortly, if no updates arrive. The lesson here is: don't buy premium products from Sony, they're not a premium manufacturer. List of things wanted in an update: * Option to rename inputs * Independent sound settings based on input (for instance, always use Movie preset for BluRay player) * Fix to Spotify Connect (if you launch it from a phone, the phone seems to be the "player" and streams the sound. If you start Spotify manually on the soundbar, the connection is better) * Automatically switch to correct input when device is turned on (this works for AppleTV but oddly not for SONY PS4 or SONY BluRay player) As for rear speakers, there are tons of options for soundbars that support rear speakers. If this is your wish, this soundbar definitely isn't for you.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

0

Wow very good sound

HTST5000 15/09/2018 by Buckeye1701 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

First set up was easy and done in a few minutes. The 4K pass works great. the Dolby Atmos sound is WOW great. At 50% level it will rock the whole house. The DTS TruSurround, Dolby Digital Plus and 3D surround mode also sound good. I also like the fact that it works with Google Home. Even music apps sound good. Very happy with purchase. I do have it hooked up to a Sony X900F & UBP-X700

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Ht 5000

HT-ST5000 11/09/2018 by Pete67 (USA)

I wish I could add tiny rear speakers. And at this price point why does it lack the calibration tool like Bose and Martin logins. Come on sony, great product but missing some important features. Add them and u have 5 star sound bar. Also I want to change audio setting with my sony x900f tv remote. Which is another thing that bothers me. I had lg oled and there sound bar. LG os is sweet, simple to use and not cluttered remote. U are Sony get in the game. Plus at this price, why are useing rf, it should be all blue tooth. I hate using 4 remotes.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

16

0

0

Fantastic surround sound that really works

HT-ST5000 30/08/2018 by f unk y (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this. Atmos does work even though a soundbar. Wouldn't have paid the full

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great movie sound, but concerns about lifespan

HT-ST5000 29/08/2018 by TMcArt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the soundbar 7 months ago from and after a bit of time figuring out the interface I had a smoothly functioning home entertainment setup with cinema quality sound all functioning from a single remote via ARC pass through. I am however concerned about the lifespan of the product, as after 7 months of perfect use, the main circuit board has failed outright and I have had to arrange a warranty repair that is expected to take 10-14 days. My main concern at this point, is the lack of option for an extended warranty having not purchased the sound bar directly from a Sony Centre.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great product. Needs rear speaker update.

HT-ST5000 23/08/2018 by PaulH50 (USA)

The HT-ST5000 provides exceptional sound and bass. As so many others have mentioned, there needs to be rear speaker support added for a truly immersive sound. Also, the up firing speaker are a bit underwhelming.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

33

0

0

Software support needs to be better

HT-ST5000 14/08/2018 by tommy333 (USA)

Design: Take off the speaker grill and it looks perfect and classy. It's huge, wide and has a strong presence. Nice addition to the living room. Sound: As a flagship soundbar, it sounds what it's supposed to sound and does it well. Great stereo performance. Bass is well controlled and powerful. Mid is clear. High is detailed. A pretty balanced frequency response. Good enough to avoid having to invest in dedicated stereo gear. Surround sounds ok. For a soundbar the soundstage is wide. Atmos yes the height effect is there but don't expect sound coming from above and behind. It's a soundbar ultimately so don't expect it to sound the same as a physical 5.1/ 7.1 system. Software: 1. DSP control/ Sound Field - The soundbar has a few DSP presets, e.g. 3D surround/ Movie/ Music. But there is no detailed explanation from either the manual or the onscreen menu on what exactly these modes do to the audio signal. Does 3D surround upmix everything to 7.1.2? How is it different from Movie mode? For music listening I want DSP to be off so the soundbar won't alter my stereo signal. Should I use Music mode? or just turn Sound Field off? There needs to be more guidance from Sony for us to get the sound in exactly the way we want it 2. DSD network playback - DSD is advertised as being supported by this soundbar. But it does not support network DSD playback using the soundbar's own menu system. Selecting HOME NETWORK as the input source on the soundbar, none of the DSD files in my DLNA server/ library are being displayed let alone being played. The only way to make it work is to install Sony's Music Center application on PC, import the DSD library there, select network audio output as the soundbar and control the playback on the PC. Works but not user friendly. 3. iOS/ Android Music Center app DLNA issues - Sony's Music Center app on iOS/ Android can act as a remote control of the soundbar to control playback of network files. It's great but only if it works. On multiple android/ iOS devices the app simply does not detect my DLNA server on my NAS, whereas the soundbar itself can happily see the DLNA server. Having to use the soundbar's remote and menu system to navigate my library is clunky and unresponsive. People with different Sony wireless speakers have the exact same issue with Sony's iOS/ android app as well, so please fix it. 4. Roon support - Hi-Res support is being advertised as a key feature of this soundbar. If so, please make this soundbar Roon ready. Right now Roon playback can be done via Chromecast but it is limited to 24bit/96khz and DSD has to be converted to PCM. Since this soundbar already supports Hi-Res network playback and Spotify Connect, adding Roon support should not be a tough task. Sony please update the firmware to make this happen. 5. Independent audio input control separated from TV's ARC audio - Right now if the TV is turned on while the soundbar is playing network files or Spotify, it will automatically switch to TV input and dump whatever it is playing before. Having the soundbar automatically switching to TV's audio is good, but please add a toggle in the firmware that allows us to disable the behaviour. Often people might want to watch TV without sound and listen to music at the same time. Right now we have to switch off the TV's ARC/ HDMI CEC feature to do this and once we're done turn it back on again. Not user friendly. TLDR: Stereo sounds great. Surround sounds good for a soundbar but don't expect physical 7.1 performance. Software wise quite a bit of issues to be fixed. All of them should be easy to fix so no reason not to. This soundbar was released in summer 2017 and the latest available firmware is from Nov 2017. Nothing was released nor improved for this product afterwards. This soundbar is 1 year into its life cycle and there is still 1 year ahead. For a flagship product people expect much better software support and user experience. So Sony please give us a better firmware.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

13

1

0

Great sounding soundbar

HT-ST5000 13/08/2018 by Sparks77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar to upgrade my 5.1 system to Dolby Atmos. Very pleased with powerful sound effects. Would have given 5 stars if it had rear speakers, that would make it perfect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Needs read speakers

HT-ST5000 11/08/2018 by Christopher1983 (USA)

I agree with the rest of your customers that this needs a software update to allow adding wireless surround sound speakers. I know this soundboard is meant to create surround sound by itself but it falls short and needs additional speakers. People that are willing to pay $1,400 for a high end sound bar would certainly pay for additional surround sound speakers if available. This is a winning scenario for Sony and a chance to increase revenue so please take it. This update needs to happen otherwise I may not purchase Sony products in the future as I nearly went with the Bose system instead as it had optional wireless surround speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

33

0

0

Great Product

HT-ST5000 10/08/2018 by Jdk01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after reading reviews and listening to some other disappointing lower priced Sony soundbar products. The overall sound quality is good. I bought it because I like Sony products and for compatibility with my Bravia TV and Blu-Ray player. The user interface can be improved. The synchronisation with other devices works, but can be slow. Switching between sources is clumsy. The remote is clumsy. But, overall I recommend and am pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Perfect complement to my Sony 75" 4K TV

HTST5000 26/07/2018 by MarioY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I finally have a sound system that complements my pride and joy, a 75" 4K HDTV. Big sound to match my big screen. Setup was easy since it's also a Sony. This is my first experience with the ATMOS technology. I still have a lot to experience with this thing but so far I'm very pleased with how it sounds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sound bar sound is great

HT-ST5000 14/07/2018 by Lmendes13 (USA)

This sound bar is great but theres a few problems first the volume it needs more volune watching a movie have to crank the volume at max to really here everything next the sub is so so it needs more punch to it i can barely feel the bass the samsung hw k950 subwoofer felt more alive bass sounded good and thats whas great about it when i had it and it also comes to it with the rear speakers but i returned it back because of the rear speakers having problems and for that case i come to the point that this sony sound bar needs rear spekers to get that full sorround sound please sony update to get rear speakers for this sound bar i well keep it for a while more but if theres no rear speakers i well gonna eventually return it back and get me another hometheater setup!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

needs a rear speakers

HT-ST5000 30/06/2018 by jars71 (USA)

SONY PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE provide an update to make rear speakers optional/a must. WE NEED THEM AND WILL PAY FOR THEM!!! again.... please please

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

58

0

0

ST5000

HT-ST5000 29/06/2018 by Atso (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this along with a Sony KD55AF8. The only complaint I have is that with the tv the stand and tv sit directly on to the flkoor tv stand and there is no room for the sound bar to be fitted in front. I have therefore had to position the osund bar on the first shelf under the tv which will take away some of the effect of the 2 top facing speakers. I hope I do not notice the difference. I think Sony has forgotten about this situation with their products design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Very underwhelming for a very expensive soundbar

HTST5000 29/06/2018 by SonyCody (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Soundbar seemed great until it started having distorted audio issues only 5 months after purchase. I've reproduced the same issue with multiple media types, optical audio, HDMI 2.0, and nothing changes the issue. It continues to happen intermittently where audio will lower, distort, and nothing i do makes it go away.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

very good but need rear speakers

HT-ST5000 28/06/2018 by brtkpr (USA)

A very good soundbar but definitely needed rear speakers like the old ht-ct790 and the newer ht-zf9. Come on Sony! It's a high end premium soundbar. But the sound is awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

35

0

0

Good soundbar

HT-ST5000 27/06/2018 by Flavius30 (USA)

Hello, i bought the sound bar a couple of days ago and paird it with the Sony ubp x-800 the problem is the player won't play dolby atmos or dts:x, do I need another piece of equipment to play atmos? I use the USB port paird with a HDD usb3

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Impressive Dolby Atmos & DTSX

HT-ST5000 05/06/2018 by poppy63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded to this soundbar from Sony 5.1 theatre system so I could experience Dolby Atmos with my new 4K Sony tv and 4K blu ray player. Sound has a real punch on Atmos and the immersive sound is quite impressive considering it's just the soundbar. Great that there was a software update for DTSX. Really disappointed I'm unable to listen to SACDs, which I could on my old theatre system, as no DSD through soundbar. Odd that my Sony UBP-X800 can play SACDs but Sony have decided the soundbar shouldn't. I noticed the cheaper Sony HT-ZF9 will support SACDs, how about a Sony software SCAD upgrade for those have the more expensive HT-ST5000?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Brilliant for Serious Classical Music Lovers

HT-ST5000 05/06/2018 by MAC62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product was easy to set up and connectivity availability good. Able to connect other products; TV and Tuner (not Sony), and Sony Blu-Ray player with ease. Sound from DAB+ tuner sounds excellent even though reduced from 7.1 to 5.1 channels. Streaming from Chromecast and Spotify very easy to set up. Gave the sound bar a real test from the outset, playing Mahler's 2nd Symphony, which it coped with superbly, both instrumentally and vocally. Sounding like you were there in the concert hall. Expensive, but worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Brilliant but needs rear speaker support

HT-ST5000 16/05/2018 by Aaron L (USA)

I bought this sound bar after a lot of online reading. Ultimately it seemed to be the best sound bar but with one drawback, no rear speakers. The sound is amazing, detailed, weighted, tight on the bass and lovely design. But... SONY PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE provide an update to make rear speakers optional/a must. WE NEED THEM AND WILL PAY FOR THEM!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

57

0

0

HT-ST5000

HTST5000 16/05/2018 by Factory Trained (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I saw this while visiting my favorite store. It is an upgrade from my SA-ST-9, it was easier to install and audio is much clearer. I like the up firing end speakers. I wish it would Bluetooth connect to the ZR-5 and ZR-7. I was originally told it would.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

wow what a amazing soundbar

HT-ST5000 16/05/2018 by bobbya (USA)

i rcommend this product every one dolby atoms sounds like cinama

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Low volume

HT-ST5000 12/05/2018 by Na12345678 (USA)

Atmos is worthless when sony's services/apps don't support them. All the right features but volume is really low when audio is coming from TV. Audio volume is fine when output is from a cable source. Voice is hard to hear even with "clear audio+" Interface is lacking and is inconsistent with other sony products. Same with the remote. System should display a small popup when sub-woofer disconnects.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

2

0

Good Sound

HT-ST5000 03/05/2018 by Manny29 (USA)

I bought this soundbar last year, happy with the sound; but doesn’t give you that surround sound experience that you’re probably looking for base on price. Sony bring a compatible rear speakers for that immerse true surround experience with Dolby Atmos.

22

0

0

I love it

HT-ST5000 30/04/2018 by Burn (USA)

Great sound bar. Whenever we show it to guests, they just can't stop listening to it. personally, I find that not having rear speakers very disappointing. I noticed other reviewers feel that this sound bar would be the greatest on the market if it had rear speakers. Hint Hint...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

26

0

0

Clear Sound

HT-ST5000 27/04/2018 by Bobbyb68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great product. The sound is very clear from speech to individual orchestra instruments. When you turn the TV on or off the sound bar also is turned on or off. It would be very useful if it would switch to Bluetooth when it detects a linked item (when the TV is off) and then switch off when the linked item is off or not playing music etc. It would also be useful to switch between different inputs more easily. I keep going past Bluetooth because I can’t tell whether it will move with one click or two! You have to be a contortionist to get the leads in the back. In my case I had to hold the bar then try and line up the hdmi lead the right way round all very fiddly. With hindsight I should have put all the leads in first with the sound bar on the floor, then lifted it up and connect to the other units!! A good job I didn’t want them wall mounted.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Fantastic

HT-ST5000 25/04/2018 by lunarben (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although quite expensive, this is a fantastic sound bar. I have it hooked up to my 65" LG OLEDB7 and it's a match made in heaven. Superb sound and it looks great too. Once again, Sony does not disappoint.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sounds great when it works!

HT-ST5000 25/04/2018 by Flooglebinder (USA)

Sounds amazing when I first connected and set it up. But soon the subwoofer starting making a cracking sound during normal bass notes. Tried every combo of settings and still comes and goes. The sub also cuts out and loses connection. It’s 6ft from the base so that’s not the issue. Could use some rear speakers to complete the atmos. Loved the multiple input options and setup was super simple. Hoping for an update and rear speaker option.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

rear speakers firmware UPDT is required

HT-ST5000 18/04/2018 by annu28 (USA)

i recently bought this product..and i am satisfied with the bass...and with its 4k high resolution sound..but it need rear speakers firmware update to bring atmospheric effect more lucid...adding rear speakers will take this product at the TOP among all its competitor..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

69

0

0

Love this sound system!

HTST5000 15/04/2018 by Junito (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the Atmos soundbar made by LG and it does not compare to the HT-ST5000. The sound quality inmerses you into the movie, I can't even believe it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Insanely good!

HT-ST5000 13/04/2018 by Juancorleone (USA)

I love this setup almost more than my wife (just kidding honey)! Seriously though, transparent, powerful, beautiful sound that I’ve come to expect from Sony. This and the sub it pairs with freakin’ deliver! The ATMOS and DTS:X are sick! I’ve got my Xfinity 4K cable box, Apple TV 4K and UPB-X800 Disc Player into HDMI 1,2 and 3 and ARC output into my A1E OLED so the sound bar is the hub of all devices and does a great job managing them. Download an album in DSD high res format, pop it on a USB stick, insert into the ST-5000 side USB port and prepare to have your mind blown.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superior Sound quality - still no rear-speaker fix

HT-ST5000 12/04/2018 by Miagi27 (USA)

I just love the sound quality.. I came from a very expensive 7.1 setup (+20000$) and although NOT as good, I am very indpressed by the sound quality in both movies and more surpriceingly Music.. it still strikes me as a physical impossibility, that such a “small” formfactor system can deliver so much sound and spaceiness.. but I would really like for Sony to add support for rear speakers.. as the digital witchcraft can only work its magic it the space between you an the speaker... NOT behind you - rear speaker support would make it a league of ita own - a true 5 Star product! -

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

44

0

0

Needs rear speaker SONY

HT-ST5000 08/04/2018 by Tajee (USA)

Great sound bar. SONY you need to listen and let us add rear speakers. I think the new 2018 LG SK10Y is the new sound bar to beat. Until you give us an option to add rear speakers you are in 2nd place.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

59

0

0

PLEASE PUSH A FIRMWARE UPDATE FOR REAR SPEAKERS

HT-ST5000 30/03/2018 by MJConte (USA)

I’ve read every single review on this page and 95 % of owners are begging, pleading for the same thing-REAR SPEAKER SUPPORT!!! Why aren’t you listening to your customers Sony? Giving us the same canned answer over and over “We’ll pass this along....we take your input seriously, etc., etc. is meaningless. Actions speak louder than words Sony. Push a firmware update and make this sound bar truly top of the line. Why wouldn’t you want to sell more surround speakers to pair with this sound bar?? Even if you don’t care about your customers, you have to care about revenue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

73

0

0

Please Read Before you Purchase

HT-ST5000 23/03/2018 by Tach (USA)

There are several key items you should know: 1. As you may know, there is no room adjustment with mic input etc. You need to adjust and take a guess... 2. The onscreen Video that displays information on options and menus does not work at 4k! Infact, it only works at a paltry 800x600... ummm to add even more insult, the built-in display doesnt even show any helpful info on what sound encoding the unit is processing either, so if you purchase this “high-end” unit as a “top of the line” sony sound-bar, you will be frustrated and blind to what the heck is going on if you try to use it with 4k dolby vision... good luck troubleshooting any issues or even confirming your setup. 3. I bought 2 units, 1 of them died right after 90 days, so cant return to store, and when I called Sony tech support, they tell me thier systems are having a problem so they cant do anything and will call me back, of course no call back... argh

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

PLEASE LET ME ADD REAR SPEAKER!!!!!

HTST5000 15/03/2018 by Evilcat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The high res sound and the powerful bass is just too good to compare to other similar price range product. I will give it 5 stars if you guys update the firmware to enable wireless surround sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

86

0

0

BAD BAD BAD

HT-ST5000 13/03/2018 by npasquale (USA)

Buy this sound bar with a tv XBR, after a couple of hours of use when I change channels in my hotwire box the image is gone and only the sound remains, and several times called and I do not answer the technical service , sincerely disillusioned with this team, and I'm a fan of this brand, do not buy it

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Great, but...

HT-ST5000 09/03/2018 by achilles71 (USA)

Great product but needs dedicated rear surround speakers..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

73

0

0

Add rear speakers please!

HTST5000 08/03/2018 by Countryfolk (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I agree with others....great soundbar...great sub woofer....handles movies great....handles music much better than the NT5 (we returned it for the st-5000) but it would be nice to have the option of rear speakers. We got tired of all the speaker wire strung about so switched to this soundbar. If you offer rear speakers capabilty in a future update let me know!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Sony HTS5000

HTST5000 07/03/2018 by Concrete (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of the best electronic purchases I have made. I have a Bose 8 speaker in my home theater room and wanted a sound system for my guest room where I did not have a lot of space. I researched the HTS5000 over Two months before I finally purchased it . I am more than satisfied with this system. Extremely powerful and would recommend to anyone looking for a sound bar, please keep in mind that this system is MORE than a sound bar. Moving forward, I will not buy another Bose system again. Thank you Sony!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great product

HT-ST5000 05/03/2018 by Musicfadist (USA)

I am having first hnd experience from using my friends product who bought recently

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound, but NEEDS wireless surround w/(ZR5)

HT-ST5000 26/02/2018 by QUEZZYMOTO (Canada)

Seriously... update the firmware Sony. Your new product has this, can you please add the software update to allow us (if we want the option to) use our ZR5 as wireless surround.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2018

Hi QUEZZYMOTO,


Rest assured that your feedback will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department. We place a very high value on feedback from our customers because it allows us to continue to improve.


Regards,
Zac

0

Love it and its not fully installed

HTST5000 25/02/2018 by Jajarita (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony Sound Bar is connected to the Samsung 52" tv, and my Spectrum Cable box, My Sony DVD player, My Apple TV, and my Iphone for music (bluetooth). I have not done the customized room setup because I intend to rearrange my family room for better viewing. I have a hearing problem for voice. But since this can be adjusted for voice it is a really welcomed feature. It comes up when I turn on the cable box, so I am not dealing with multiple remotes. To use the other devices I press home on its remote and its press the side arrow to get to what ever device I want to see or hear. The ease of use is remarkable. Expensive? No, it is exactly what I wanted in an electronic device. It does what I expected. The Photos shows how the music on the Iphone displays on the TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Stellar sound but...

HT-ST5000 25/02/2018 by Dashatx (USA)

Replaced my traditional surround sound set up with this system and pleasently surprised by the quality of sound. I bought Sony wireless surround speakers and just learned their not compatible with this sound bar....why not?! I sure hope they add this feature otherwise I’m not sure it’s the right setup if looking for true surround sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

48

0