45

3.9 based on 45 customer reviews

24
7
4
4
6
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good system but remote control Concerns

HTX9000F 23/09/2018 by jghsony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just hooked this up with my 900F Sony 4K TV using HDMI/ARC connection. I also have my 900F hooked to my Cable Box via TVs HDMI1 port. For some reason a number of actions using the SB remote dont work, i.e. Display, changing the Pic mode to Cinema, etc., dont work. I realize some capabilities of the SB are not available w/o having a 4K input stream but not sure why some basic remote commands dont work or you see ALL the indicator lights flash. Cannot always see the indicator lights on top - would have preferred the lights to show partly down on the front/top of the SB.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Annoying sound delay

HTX9000F 10/12/2018 by Pitts1e (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This setup causes an annoying sound delay and you are unable to adjust it out. Good sound and bass out of speakers but frustrating when the words don’t match people speaking.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

45 Customer Reviews

0

Great Product ...

HTX9000F 27/08/2019 by Larry B (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We are very happy with the sound bar. I really like the base .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Immersive sound!

HT-X9000F 08/08/2019 by KaiserJeff1986 (USA)

I must say that I am enjoying the very immersive sound that this sound bar is producing. I bought it on sale from Amazon and never doubted that decision. It has mostly all the Dolby and DTS sound codecs and Sony's own vertical sound engine and s-force pro is quite amazing. It's not going to bounce sounds at walls or ceilings but it uses digital sound processing which is convincing to my ears. It's just what I needed and the good thing is also less wires in my living room. I only have a thing to say is more HDMI inputs would be great but I'm happy with the sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great update

HT-X9000F 27/07/2019 by Yunrok (USA)

I bought this about a 3 weeks ago after doing the update too use the arc as a Dolby Atmos is great. The sound is amazing and rich. I think people are missing to keep up with firmware upgrade it works.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Whole Apartment is Dancing

HTX9000F 17/07/2019  (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worth of Money..killed it..this is what i was looking for since long time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compatibility Issues with my OLED LG B8

HT-X9000F 13/07/2019 by Mandals (USA)

Soundbar sound profiles like "Cinema" don't work. Entering modes other than "News" produces muffled sound. I don't want to watch movies on the "News" mode.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

6

1

0

Great Soundbar!

HT-X9000F 10/07/2019 by Cast2Brian (USA)

Was looking all over for a new soundbar. Previously had a 5.1 vizio soundbar (VIZIO - SmartCast™ 38" 5.1-Channel Soundbar System with Subwoofer - Black) I liked the way the vizio sounded it was perfectly fine for me. I needed something simple not super crazy. I bought the soundbar to watch movies and play games. The reason i got a new soundbar was because i needed more HDMI inputs a pass through. My number one request is a 4K HDR pass through. I've seen the adapters and HDMI Hubs but trust me these do not pass full 4K HDR or dolby vision. The only solution was getting a soundbar that does that same. The reason why i went Sony is because i bought a Sony 930E 65in TV. We all know how great Sony works with one another so i decided to stick with Sony. I have had pretty good luck with them. I was nervous in the beginning not having dedicated back speakers. I'm used to the Vizio's 2 back Satellite speakers. Long story short. This is a great soundbar! I am literally in Awe of this soundbar. Playing a video game like God of War brings the game to life. Every sound and explosion just shakes the entire house. Amazing Sub and sound quality is superb. The HDMI pass through works great! I can control the soundbar and have a 4K UHD player connected. Both can be chosen and the soundbar, UHD player and TV can all be controlled through one remote! AMAZING how Sony works together. I would highly recommend this soundbar. The 2 back speakers of the Vizio did not matter when compared to this Sony soundbars vertical surround sound. Don't hesitate to get this soundbar you will not be disappointed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Difficult Product Manual

HTX9000F 09/07/2019 by RAC004 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sound Bar works great with the DVD player but I have not been able to get the sound to sync with the TV or the PS4. Still waiting on the store to help troubleshoot the issue. The manual is simply horrible!!! It is poorly written and very unclear to aid in issues like this. The only reason I am giving it a fair is that it works with the DVD player.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Great sound, but does not sync with my Sony TV

HTX9000F 29/06/2019 by Trisha VA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this sound bar to use with Sony TV XBR55X800E 4K HDR. The sound is very good, but the timing of the sound does not sync with my TV. I had purchased tech support from the retailer, but they were not able to fix it either.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great sound

HTX9000F 28/04/2019 by Gbandy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is fabulous and being able to adjust the sub woofer makes it even better

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sounbar

HT-X9000F 14/04/2019 by MariusB (USA)

I bought this soundbar, about 6 months, and i can say its the best for this price. Very important for the best sound is the source and the distance that you can set up from menu. Set up the distance until you heard the best Dolby Atmos. Goodluck. Sorry for my english, is not my mother language.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great sound but technical issues and overpriced!

HT-X9000F 11/04/2019 by AceHigh03 (Canada)

I bought this soundbar to complement my new Sony 900f TV...The pros: design is great, the set up is quick and it sounds good! The cons: overpriced, the various modes cannot be seen on-screen when you run internal tv apps so you fly blind, the remote feels cheap, it's confusing on how you actually set up the soundbar to get ATMOS, particularly when you use the internal app of the Tv such as Netflix, and all that is displayed for an ATMOS title is Dolby Vision...the instructions are not clear. If you really want surround sound, do not buy this soundbar as you cannot add rear speakers...I knew this going in and I did not have the space for anything else. Overall it is an overpriced, average soundbar!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
12/04/2019

Hi AceHigh03,

We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Earl
Sony Social Support

0

lip sync

HT-X9000F 06/04/2019 by KWW444 (USA)

Terrible!!! I spent $500 for this and the speakers and the TV lip sync don’t match with the people speaking. If I could return it I would!!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Disappointed

HTX9000F 24/03/2019 by Kgfloyd789 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased my sound bar 3 months ago and it’s already not working. I am not getting any sound in spite of troubleshooting efforts. I’m disappointed because this was my first sound bar.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Sounds great

HTX9000F 18/03/2019 by Ringbutt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very happy with my new Sony soundbar. Very good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Horrible Bass

HT-X9000F 16/03/2019 by GHellarich (USA)

For as expensive this is, and having it be a “4K” soundbar, it should have amazing bass. You don’t even get an option to try and turn it up at all, which merely adds to the disappointment. A soundbar with a name brand coating this much shouldn’t sound like an off brand $50 soundbar.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Terrible, sounds fade in & out and at times must

HTX9000F 25/02/2019 by mdt29 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had Geek Squad install both TV & sound bar. Volume fades in & out. Some streaming must increase volume. Video & audio not always synced

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great sound!!!!

HTX9000F 10/02/2019 by Anthonys72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm so happy that I purchased this product the sound is incredible!!! And it was so easy to set up I used the bluetooth feature so i dont even have any wires...the vertical sound feature is outstanding!!!! Would recommend it to everyone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice Sound

HTX9000F 24/01/2019 by AKWindrider (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

While the sound is good, it was not easy to set up. Really confusing as to whether it actually went through the process or not and I have all Sony products attached. The wireless base is nice as I don't have a bunch of wires to contend with and it gives an excellent base.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great soundbar

HTX9000F 20/01/2019 by Chrispy123 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and compact. I needed a small sound bar and this is perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Enhanced Sound

HTX9000F 31/12/2018 by MBabb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound bar brings out all the back ground sounds I normall don't hear on the TV speakers. The Sub woofer is great that it adds to the harder sounds on different movies.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Surprising sound and volume

HTX9000F 22/12/2018 by DrOue (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this at a Best Buy customer appreciation day

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

NOT THRILLED

HTX9000F 20/12/2018 by trooper joe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

$400 IS A LOT TO PAY FOR AVERAGE SOUND OUT OF A SOUND BAR AND SW.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Sound delay is Unacceptable

HT-X9000F 19/12/2018 by AJAZBob (USA)

The sound it produces is quite good; maybe audiophiles wouldn’t be satisfied but I am. The problem, though, is the delay between the picture on the TV and the sound from the sound bar. I have tried many things to fix the problem but nothing has worked. I am considering returning it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Annoying sound delay

HTX9000F 10/12/2018 by Pitts1e (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This setup causes an annoying sound delay and you are unable to adjust it out. Good sound and bass out of speakers but frustrating when the words don’t match people speaking.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

This soundbar sounds AMAZING!

HTX9000F 09/12/2018 by Fergie Ferg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this today from my local Best Buy and the set up was super easy. Plug in everything and then turn it on. I played Star Wars Rogue One and it sounds AMAZING! So much better than the samsung KW950 and it was more than half the price! It also fit perfectly in front of my TV stand.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great sound

HTX9000F 02/12/2018 by marvin65 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

great sound things don't seem to stay in sink all the time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

SOUNDBAR W/BLUETOOTH

HTX9000F 27/11/2018 by FredAngela (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I don't like that it doesn't show the volume level of the product on the TV. Do you leave the sound up on the TV and on the Soundbar???

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Not compatible with my 55x930E

HT-X9000F 27/11/2018 by Diaa02013 (USA)

It's not showing Atmos logo on the Native Netflix app on 2017 bBravia models even high end models it's working only with 2018 Bravia And the sound volume if I set volume more than 35 like 40 or 45 or 50 max I will hear static sound or buzzing sound Hope you Sony take care of this problem at least make update to be compatible with 55x930E

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Great Sound

HTX9000F 21/11/2018 by Hudson1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This makes watching Movies exceptionally great. The sound is like being in a movie theatre. You experience the feeling without leaving your own home.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Excellent Value for Sony Bravia Owners

HTX9000F 21/10/2018 by Flyfishing (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a 4G Bravia purchased in 2015 in a 16/20 room, so I did not need a larger and more expensive unit. I thought about Sonos options, but opted for the Sony because of it's excellent sound, seamless integration with the TV, and Bluetooth connectivity which allows playing anything from my phone or laptop. I already have a B&O system in the house, including in this room, but B&O does not make a comparable product. Very happy with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good system but remote control Concerns

HTX9000F 23/09/2018 by jghsony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just hooked this up with my 900F Sony 4K TV using HDMI/ARC connection. I also have my 900F hooked to my Cable Box via TVs HDMI1 port. For some reason a number of actions using the SB remote dont work, i.e. Display, changing the Pic mode to Cinema, etc., dont work. I realize some capabilities of the SB are not available w/o having a 4K input stream but not sure why some basic remote commands dont work or you see ALL the indicator lights flash. Cannot always see the indicator lights on top - would have preferred the lights to show partly down on the front/top of the SB.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

A+

HTX9000F 12/09/2018 by Kosar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This compliments my 65 inch 850 f. Both are great. Can’t beat Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

not worth 600 dollars

HTX9000F 10/09/2018 by kosar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to go with my new x850 65 inch tv.no matter what sound funtion button is pressed the sound is the same.a good 300 dollar soundbar but not a 600 dollar one.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Not for me

HTX9000F 28/08/2018 by Jammerjim5 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this about 2 months ago. Very disappointed. Base level is very weak. Voice is terrible.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

Exellent product

HT-X9000F 05/08/2018 by Mirko007 (USA)

I bought this about a 10 days ago evrything is great expect movies from HDD have low dialouge but too loud efects and anything csnt fix this maybe some update...Please consider this

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

8

0

Great sound

HTX9000F 30/07/2018 by Papa Bear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Sony Soundbar has great sound. Furthermore, when listening to a British show, I can understand what the actors are saying. Before, I had to increase the volume so much in order to understand the actors that my wife complained about the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Good features.

HT-X9000F 20/06/2018 by Glen08 (USA)

Although I am somewhat satisfied with the purchase of this sound bar, I’m disappointed with the constant readjustment of the tv sound lags behind the image. Additionally, the sound from my tv (Sony Bravia XBR55A1E) occasionally skips. The owners manual recommended fix does not work to fix the problem. But overall this is a good but not great premium sound bar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

Ht-X900f

HTX9000F 11/06/2018 by Dman53 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the sound of this product easy setup and easy to use good sound from music and movies

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Works great

HTX9000F 07/06/2018 by WeemoVT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for HDMI ARC to work with new Sony TV. Most important to me was to have one remote at my chair... Was able to program DirecTV remote to work TV, Sound bar and TV Input through the HDMI ARC port connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Aesome sound Quality!

HTX9000F 04/06/2018 by Teach6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have had this over a month. Never thought a soundbar would make that big of a difference!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sounds Amazing

HTX9000F 04/06/2018 by Brett_s (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this almost a month ago to upgrade from a HT-CT260 and wow does this sound great!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

GREAT SOUND

HTX9000F 18/05/2018 by RESHMA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THIS IS THE BEST SOUND I EVER HAD. LOVE IT. THE SOUND FLOW IS FROM TOP LIKE SURROUND SOUND

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

SurroundSound. Sweet!

HTX9000F 01/05/2018 by Western (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For some time, I was thinking about upgrading my Sony 60 inch TV with a soundbar. Enter, the Sony HT-X9000F. Overall impression: AWESOME. This soundbar was a snap to hook-up. Super easy installation and set up instructions. Comprehensive owners manual and a start up guide written in plain English, that will get you up and running in a few short minutes. If your smart TV has an HDMI ARC input jack your all set. No other cables are needed. If you set does not have this jack, you will need to purchase an Optical Digital Cable in order to utilize this product. Once connected you just fire up the TV and it works. The paring (connection) to the Subwoofer was automatic. NICE! Sound quality you may ask. Fasten your seat belts, as you will experience some sweet sounding surroundsound,. Sound immerses you from every direction. The soundbar has several sound mode settings for your listening pleasure, such as cinema, music, game, news, sports, and of course the standard setting. The sound is clean and crisp. You will have fun trying each setting and you will be able to quickly decide on your favorite one. I purposely did not bore you with specifications of the soundbar, as I believe that once you hear and immerse yourself with the awesome sound of the Sony soundbar you'll be hooked. This product is definitely on my highly recommended list. Amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

9

0

Best bang for the buck

HT-X9000F 25/04/2018 by Krishna A (USA)

Before ordering this product, I was little sceptical initially about the quality of it as the price was less. But after using this for more than a week, I realized that the product sounds premium for the price. Sound quality is good and perfect match for a TV. It sounded much better than my Bose 5.1 home theater in certain areas.As usual best quality by SONY.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

HT-X9000F Sounds Great...Not Playing Well With TV

HTX9000F 24/04/2018 by SouthernProducer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony Sound Bar system a week ago and it sounds great. I have it connected through my Sony XBR-49X900E television and the setup went well without any glitches. The remote on the sound bar functions as expected, however, when pressing some buttons, the mode selected does appear on the TV screen as promised in the operating manual. This leaves the operator "flying blind" as to which mode the sound bar is active. I have found this issue with "Voice", "Night" and "Display" modes for example. I did note that some mode selections do activate the lights directly on the sound bar is what appears to be a sequence of "flashes" which probably indicate the change in modes...these are not documented by Sony. I hope this review is helpful and in spite of the issues I've noted, I would recommend this sound bar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

6