CENTRE SPEAKER

Product Reviews

$199.99

28

4.7 based on 28 customer reviews

25
1
0
1
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

28 Customer Reviews

0

Superb sound

SSCS8 09/07/2021 by AwesomeMan222 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought to replace the cheap center stock speaker that came w the Sony surround sound receiver set. The sound is like in a move theater.. and the dialogue is super clear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2021

Hi AwesomeMan222, Thank you for purchasing our 2-way 3-driver Center Channel Speaker. You’ve purchased a speaker versatile enough to deliver an unprecedented and real audio experience, with a soundstage so expansive you can feel the energy and passion of the original performance. Prepare to hear vocals come alive with our wide dispersion Super tweeter! Thanks so much for your purchase! Thank you for choosing Sony. Erin

0

Great speaker

SSCS8 25/04/2021 by Nmnative1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced old tower speakers, very happy with the sound frpm this center speaker, and gained space in the living room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/04/2021

Hi Nmnative1, we're glad you like the sound quality of our product. You’ve purchased a speaker versatile enough to deliver an unprecedented and real audio experience, with a soundstage so expansive you can feel the energy and passion of the original performance. Prepare to hear vocals come alive with our wide dispersion Super tweeter! Thanks so much for your purchase! ~Earl

0

Great Sound

SSCS8 11/04/2021 by Matt4931 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a complete surround system in my home, only thing was missing was a powerful good sounding center speaker. I bought this Sony Center Speaker to match all of my other Sony speaker and I couldn't be happier about the sound of it. It's powerful independence ohm and the clarity sound it crystal. Very powerful too. Great product! The price was good to.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/04/2021

Hi Matt4931, we're glad that you are happy with the sound quality of our product. You’ve purchased a speaker versatile enough to deliver an unprecedented and real audio experience, with a soundstage so expansive you can feel the energy and passion of the original performance. Prepare to hear vocals come alive with our wide dispersion Super tweeter! Thanks so much for your purchase! ~Earl

0

Complete Satisfaction

SSCS8 15/01/2021 by Chef Ralph (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Complete Satisfaction with the sound quality and workmanship of the SS-CS8. A great match with the home theater setup that I have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/01/2021

Hi Chef Ralph, We are glad you are satisfied with your Sony speaker and thank you for purchasing our 2-way 3-driver Center Channel Speaker. You’ve purchased a speaker versatile enough to deliver an unprecedented and real audio experience, with a soundstage so expansive you can feel the energy and passion of the original performance. Prepare to hear vocals come alive with our wide dispersion Super tweeter! Enjoy! -Vincent

0

Looks Mean

SSCS8 25/10/2020 by Bridge55 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

System sounds great and Sony needs to get reward for great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/10/2020

Hi Bridge55,

Thank you so much for the 5-stars review! We really appreciate you are happy and satisfied with the great sound quality of your new 2-way 3-driver Center Channel Speaker. You’ve purchased a speaker versatile enough to deliver an unprecedented and real audio experience, with a soundstage so expansive you can feel the energy and passion of the original performance. Prepare to hear vocals come alive with our wide dispersion Super tweeter!

Thanks so much for your purchase and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Great quality loud crisp sounding center speaker!

SSCS8 28/08/2020 by Jimmy2300 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality loud crisp sounding center speaker for a budget price. I definately recommended this product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/08/2020

Hi Jimmy2300!

Thank you so much for the cool feedback! We're really glad to hear you're happy and satisfied with the amazing sound quality of your new 2-way 3-driver Center Channel Speaker. You’ve purchased a speaker versatile enough to deliver an unprecedented and real audio experience, with a soundstage so expansive you can feel the energy and passion of the original performance. Prepare to hear vocals come alive with our wide dispersion Super tweeter!

Thank you so much for the 5-stars review and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Great sound!!

SSCS8 23/08/2020 by svweber (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This speaker has a great sound and offers excellent blending with the other components in my system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2020

Hi svweber,

Thank you for purchasing our 2-way 3-driver Center Channel Speaker. You’ve purchased a speaker versatile enough to deliver an unprecedented and real audio experience, with a soundstage so expansive you can feel the energy and passion of the original performance. Prepare to hear vocals come alive with our wide dispersion Super tweeter! Thanks so much for your purchase and have a nice day!

Regards,
David

0

Excellent value for the money!

SSCS8 22/04/2020 by michael_uu (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as part of my home theatre upgrade process (the end goal is 7.2.4, I'm about ¾ the way there), and even just paired with my SSCS-3's as fronts, these speakers are loud, crisp and clean. Movies and music sound wonderful with these speakers. I'm hearing sounds in movies I've never heard before. highly highly recommend this and all the core series speakers (SSCS3, SSCS5, SSCS8 and the sub). You're not going to find a better value for your money. Seriously, they sound SO GOOD in my condo.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/04/2020

Hi michael_uu, we're glad you like our product. We hope you like the 2-way, 3-speaker bass-reflex system. It also has wide dispersion Super Tweeters for lifelike high-end. I'm sure the stylish wooden finish looks aesthetic at your condo. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Why no cable? How can I connect it to my computer?

SS-CS8 18/11/2019  (USA)

Why no cable? How can I connect it to my computer?

0

17

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2019

Hello, Nathan!

We regret to hear you were not satisfied with our product. We will surely take note of your feedback to improve our products and services.


To hear sound from your computer, you need first to connect the center speaker (ss-cs8) to an A/V receiver or amplifier and connect the audio system to your computer. For more information, please visit https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4533/45336590M.pdf

For speaker wires information, please visit https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/speakers-home-speakers/ss-cs8/articles/00007161.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Sleek look

SSCS8 15/09/2019 by Caddimack (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I great center speaker! Only wish I bought it sooner. Bought it to replace my smaller Sony center speaker. Great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2019

Hi, Caddimack!

Thank you for the positive feedback. Enjoy your speaker!

Regards,
David

0

Great vocal sound

SSCS8 22/07/2019 by nic51 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Updated my older Sony 5.1 surround center speaker with this one. Couldn't be happier with the sound quality!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Center Speaker

SSCS8 31/05/2019 by Catawissa Kid (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it over a month ago but just got it hooked up recently. Great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great center channel sound for my home theater

SSCS8 23/04/2019 by TmS57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this to replace a small 13 yr old sony speaker I was using and the differance is amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Crisp sound

SSCS8 26/02/2019 by Sonny 61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My original center Sony speaker was small. Up graded all sony speakers and a Sony 7.1 HD reciever. Kept missing some dialog. Now can hear dialog and everything else. Not the best speaker, for the money above average and blends in with rest of Sony speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great feautures

SSCS8 15/12/2018 by petefrjersey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound from the speaker would highly recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect with two SSCS5's, SACS9, and STR-ZA3000ES

SS-CS8 01/08/2018 by Jonathan56 (USA)

I purchased the SSCS8 center speaker after giving the so-called "phantom center" (omission of actual center speaker) the good old college try for a few weeks. The SSCS5's and SACS9 already sounded absolutely glorious with my STR-ZA3000ES with both music and movies. I can now attest that the SSCS8 is a must for home theater movies, as it adds a great deal of body, weight, clarity, depth, and a spatial dimension to movies on DVD and BluRay in a home theater with left and right front speakers, subwoofer, etc. Our movies went from already sounding really great to sounding simply incredible and with stunning realism. I would confidently stack our Sony 3.1 arrangement up in a proper blind test against the top end Marantz, Denon, Pioneer, and Onkyo with $1,000 speakers any day. Yes, I have listened to all of them carefully with great higher-end speakers. I trust my good old musician's ears when it comes to the stunning sound and realism these Sony speakers and my ES receiver deliver from dead silence to soft whispers to delicate drops of rain to suddenly explosive and roaring full-tilt symphonic glory or battlefield mayhem. The clarity and dynamics are top tier. Sound in movies and music moves you emotionally. In music, each instrument sounds exactly as it should, practically placing you right there in the concert venue. I am very picky about that. In movies, the sound is so real that you hear and feel as though you are in the room, on the subway, in the plane, etc. You will jump and be startled by sudden noises in the movies. Today, my wife was totally fooled, and thought something just fell in the next room, then slowly realized it was the movie. The SSCS8 definitely does add a great deal of noticeable quality to home theater movies, and I highly recommend it as a center speaker, especially when matched with the other superb Sony Core Series speakers, as we have done. All of them are simply outstanding - hands down, and blend perfectly. Just my honest account of what I am so very happy to enjoy hearing. Cheers!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Great Sound

SSCS8 09/07/2018 by LuAndBeth (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old center speaker from JBL started clucking, so I got one from Sony. Better quality, better sound. I am very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

It's a Sony!

SSCS8 28/03/2018 by BIgMike90 (USA)

ust hooked it up to my 8 year old LG Home Theater system ( Haven't bought my new Sony receiver yet) and it still sounds fantastic! I just popped on the first Underworld movie and it was so loud and clear I could hear every one of Selene's footsteps and every drop of rain with absolutely zero distortion. The build quality is very impressive as well this thing is super heavy and huge compared to my old LG center channel which was made of plastic and feels cheap and small in comparison (The Sony is made of a sturdy wood). Very impressed with this Center Channel speaker for the price, I felt like I stole this lol. Can't wait until I get the towers tomorrow to try them suckers out if this is any indication of what to expect quality wise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Value at a great price!

SSCS8 05/03/2018 by Rick01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous A/V Receiver (bought in 2000) did not have a Center Speaker option. My newly purchased STRDH770 does and so I selected this one. It is more than enough sound for me!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Sound

SSCS8 28/11/2017 by zMiNdHaCkEr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very impressed with the way it sounds . Bought Black Friday weekend and happy I purchased .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sounds Good!

SS-CS8 27/10/2017 by 6cozumel (USA)

I bought this and the SA-CS9 subwoofer to compliment my venerable Boston Acoustic Lynnfield Series speaker system featuring VR-30 towers in the viewing room. They are powered by a Sony STR-DN1050 7.2 Channel Hi-Res 4K AV receiver while DVDs, Wi-Fi streaming and USB media are handled by a Sony BDP-S6500 Blu-Ray disc player with 4K upscaling quality. With this center speaker, voices are crystal clear with depth and all around great dynamic range. Both movies and music sound great. I purchased the Sony SS-CS8 center channel to see what difference it would make when listening to softer voices and whispers and it's a huge improvement! This center speaker really helps us hear dialogue without having to turn the volume up and down throughout the movie. I am very happy with the SS-CS8. It's very clear and sounds surprisingly good on its own. Dialogue in TV shows and movies sounds great, and by the way it handles music concerts very well too. This entire enhancement has been a nice compliment to the Sony XBR-55X850B 55-inch 4K Ultra HD Smart LED TV. This SS-CS8 speaker is a great product by Sony! Highly recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Amazing Life Like Sound!

SSCS8 01/05/2015 by simplyteeb024 (USA)

Have been so tired of the tiny center speakers most systems have, and bought this one hoping for more robust, deep vocals & talk channel sound. I love this speaker. Brings everything to life. Sounds real, not tinny.

14

2

0

SSCS8 14/04/2015 by jarhead3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

8

52

Response From SonySupport
16/04/2015

Hi jarhead3, I'm really glad to hear that you are already having a good time with your Sony Speaker. You put smile on a lot of faces around here with your kind words about our product. Thank you very much! Dave

0

Excellent

SSCS8 26/01/2015 by Edge (USA)

I have been in and own a recording studio and around excellence in music with very high end audio. Sony has done it's home work. Buy this! you will not be disappointed. the entire complete system of speakers and 4k Ultra HD TV simply rocks.

19

2

0

Top of the line performence

SSCS8 14/01/2015 by soundcaptain (USA)

this speaker is amazing sounds great huge improvement in voices

15

2

0

Great sound and Great design

SSCS8 10/12/2014 by Kstephenson93 (USA)

After doing countless research to find the perfect center channel speaker for my home theatre set-up, I decided to go with the Sony SSCS8 center channel speaker. At a great price, I was weary of the quality... However I was surprised. This beautifully designed speaker packs a punch with great clarity, which is needed being the most important speaker to any theatre system.

16

0

0

Love it! Big improvement

SSCS8 30/11/2014 by NwRocknRick (USA)

Made a big improvement to my Home theater set up. Next I'm adding some Sony towers for the fronts.

11

0

0

Great product

SSCS8 26/09/2014 by retiredman (USA)

All my speakers are Sony, main back including the receiver (DA1800ES). The center speaker, was all that was missing. Excellent sound system.

14

0