Article ID : 00203901 / Last Modified : 11/07/2018

Use Memory and Memory Recall on a Camera

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

IMPORTANT: This article applies only to specific products and/or operating systems. Check the Applicable Products and Categories section of this article before starting these steps.

Use Memory and Memory Recall to save and load your frequently used settings on your camera.

What Settings Can You Save?

  • Shooting Mode
  • Aperture and/or shutter speed
  • Settings in theCamera Icon tab
    • You may not be able to save some settings depending on the selected mode.

Save Your Settings to Memory

  1. On your camera, select a shooting mode such as M, S, A, P, Auto, SCN, S&Q, Panorama (Panorama), or Movie(Movie).s
  2. Set up your camera with the settings you want to save.
  3. Press the MENU button.
  4. On the Camera Icontab, select Memory.
  5. Press the left and right buttons to select your save location.
    • 1, 2, or 3 for your camera's internal memory.
    • M1, M2, M3, or M4 for the memory card.
  6. Press the center button.

Recall Your Saved Settings

Follow the steps depending on the location where you saved your settings:

  • 1, 2, or 3
    1. Turn the mode dial to either MR, 1, 2, or 3.

    2. Press the center button.
  • M1, M2, M3, or M4
    1. Turn the mode dial to either MR, 1, 2, or 3.
    2. Press the left or right buttons to highlight your saved location.

    3. Press the center button.

Other Information

  • You can select Memory Recall or Recall from the menu to switch between settings in the memory card and the mode dial.
    • Memory Recall or Recall is only active (not grayed out) if the mode dial is on MR, 1, 2, or 3.
  • If you select Memory Recall or Recall, you can inspect the saved settings. To see all the settings, press the down button.

  • Saved settings remain in memory even after you perform Camera Settings Reset.
  • Selecting Initialize deletes settings in 1, 2, and 3.
  • Formatting the memory card deletes settings in M1, M2, M3, and M4. You won't access the saved settings if you remove or replace the memory card.