Article ID : SX520102 / Last Modified : 11/27/2019

Will I lose my data when I perform a software update?

    Check_Product

    Information / Solution

    In the majority of cases, a software update doesn't remove any personal data from your Xperia® device.

    We do recommend, however, that you back up photos, videos, and other personal content to a non-internal memory, such as an online backup option which saves your data to the cloud. Follow the steps below to back up your data:

    • Android™ 9:
      • SettingsSystemAdvanced Backup
    • Android 8.x:
      • SettingsSystemBackup
    • Lower Android OS versions:
      • SettingsBackup & reset