Article ID : SX520102 / Last Modified : 11/23/2021

Will I lose my data when I perform a software update?

    IMPORTANT: This article applies only to specific products and/or operating systems. Check Applicable Products and Categories for details.

    In the majority of cases, a software update doesn't remove any personal data from your Xperia® device.

    We do recommend, however, that you frequently back up photos, videos, and other personal content to a non-internal memory, such as an online backup option which saves your data to the cloud. Follow the steps below to back up your data:

    • Android™ 10 or 11

      • SettingsSystemBackup.
    • Android 9

      • SettingsSystemAdvancedBackup.
    • Android 8.x

      • SettingsSystemBackup.
    • Lower Android OS versions

      • SettingsBackup & reset.