IMPORTANT: This article applies only to specific products and/or operating systems. Check Applicable Products and Categories for details.
WARNING! Performing a forced factory reset will remove all customer settings in the TV including apps, channels, and wireless network settings. For XBR X950G/X850G/A9F/Z9F/A9G/Z9G, this will also erase Demo data for retail from the internal storage and the Demo Mode settings will no longer be available.
Before you start
- If you can access the TV menu, perform a factory data reset instead.
- This procedure may require two people.
- You can only perform a forced factory reset on Android TV™ models with Android™ 6.0 Marshmallow.
- The location of the buttons will vary depending on the TV model.
Perform Forced Factory Data Reset
Follow these steps to perform a forced factory reset if, when facing the back of your TV, the buttons are on the left.
- Unplug the AC power cord.
- Simultaneously press and hold down the Power and volume Down (-) buttons, and then (while holding the buttons down) plug the AC power cord back in. Continue to hold the buttons down until the green LED light appears.
- It will take approximately 10 - 30 seconds for the LED light to turn green.
- Release the buttons after the green LED light appears.
- If the white LED light doesn't turn green within 30 seconds, start from Step 1 again.
- Wait a few minutes for the reset process to take place. The TV will reboot (turn on and off) two times.
- If the TV doesn't turn back ON automatically, press the Power button to turn it back ON.
- Two Welcome screens will appear on the TV.
- Don't set up the first Welcome screen. The TV will auto factory data reset within one minute of the first Welcome screen.
- When the second Welcome screen appears, perform the setup.
- If the Welcome setup screen doesn't appear, unplug the AC power cord and then plug it back in.
If the forced factory reset didn't resolve the issue, perform the reset again.
After you perform the steps above, your TV may recover some application's data if you log in your Google™ account during initial setup. This will automatically sync your app's information. Follow the steps below to check if your apps are synced with your account: