31

4.2 based on 31 customer reviews

15
13
0
1
2
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

31 Customer Reviews

0

Your Personal Soundbar at Your Service

SRS-WS1 TW8 25/06/2020 by chrisdinky (USA)

There are numerous personal audio products available and having used the Sony SRS-WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker, I can definitely say it is a rather unique product. Think of it as your personal soundbar. It's not quite a traditional headset as you 'wear' the speaker system around your shoulder. The sound quality is pretty good though not great compared to a good quality over-the-ear headphone set. However, what you give up in sound quality, you make up in being able to still be aware of your surroundings and interact with others while wearing your Sony speaker. There is a vibration setting that allows you to feel the sound similar to when you hear a subwoofer thump...pretty cool. Ironically, the biggest benefit thus far is using the speaker in while in bed. My schedule requires me to get up much earlier in the morning, and so my wife uses the speaker system with the TV audio muted. She is able to listen to the TV while I can go to sleep without the sound disturbing me! Set-up is relatively straightforward. There is a transmitter that you hook up to your TV via the supplied optical cable or an audio cable. The signal is transmitted via RF wireless signal so there is no lag in the audio. The TV audio and your speaker audio can transmit audio simultaneously. You can also hook up your speaker to your phone or tablet provided they have an audio jack. Overall, I like the Sony Wearable Speaker. I would recommend it based on your needs. If you're a hi-fidelity audiophile looking for top-notch sound quality, this is probably not for you. If you're looking for a way to listen to your audio while being able to interact with your surroundings, this may just do the trick.

0

0

0

Great for gamers

SRS-WS1 TW8 25/06/2020 by glscott (USA)

This speaker is great for gamers! The sound is high quality and doesn't require the tv volume to be turned up so loud. Even if you don't play video games, it's great for being able to hear the tv anywhere in your home. You don't have to miss a thing to go get a drink. It is a little heavier then expected but not uncomfortable. There are volume controls on the unit which makes it very easy to adjust volume. I used the speaker both alone in living room and when other family members were present. Everyone was amazed and how clear and loud the speaker can go. The vibration control on the speaker is amazing. You honestly feel immersed into your game with this feature. I am very impressed with how much base this unit has. I am very happy I purchased this speaker and I would recommend this speaker for everyone.

0

0

0

Excellent for gaming!

SRS-WS1 TW8 25/06/2020 by veropitre34 (USA)

The WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker is easy to install and makes gaming a more personalized experience! Between the vibration and the sound, games seem more intense, especially if playing shooter games! My stepdaughter also enjoyed the sound when she or I was using it while the other person was next to it. The setup and the controls are very simple! It has the volume buttons, on/off button and the vibration button. You don’t need to take off the speaker in order to work with the buttons. The buttons are easy to identify just by touching them. The battery life is amazing! It works for quite a couple of hours before hearing the low battery. Compared to other devices, it is very good for a personalized gaming experience.

0

0

0

I can't hear you

SRS-WS1 TW8 25/06/2020 by Meischet (USA)

The Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker is a great idea and concept. With a few updates it has super potential. I will start with the connectivity. With Bluetooth being standard on most platforms it seems Sony missed their mark with RFID. With optical being my preferred method of output on most of my TVs, I found I had to get up and unplug and plug back in the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker from my soundbar which makes the sound for other viewers go through the TV and therefore losing the ability of surround sound. Also having to change the TV sound mode to PCM was also frustrating. If you have a hearing issue or constant noise around you, Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker is perfect for that. It sounds like the TV/radio/game is turned up to 11. I found myself having to adjust the volume on the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker down. Once a nice volume was attained, I was able to enjoy myself while others around me carried on conversations and such. The vibration on the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker through me for a loop. I thought it was going to be immersive (4D-ish) but instead Sony is using it to immolate bass and the feel you will get if you have a big sub-woofer. Cool idea! I did not have any problems connecting the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker to my TVs or stereo. Since there is no 3.5mm jack on my phones and no optic connections, I was not able to test the sound or use with my cell phones. The distance of the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker is awesome. I was able to get up and go use the facilities about 40 feet from the RFID puck and I was able to tool around in the kitchen (30ft from the RFID puck.) Charging was no problem and I found my specific pair of Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker to hold about an 8-hour charge when only using a few hours at a time. I do not see where there could be a way to change the battery once it has depleted life and needs changed. That might be something for Sony to investigate and include on the next iteration. Falling asleep with the Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker on is as one would expect. They are big, and you will notice them while sleeping. They are a tad on the heavy side, and they bugged me after a long period of use. But nothing one could not get used to. All in all, I give these a 4-star rating simply because Sony chose RFID over Bluetooth, they could have better sound (surround or Dolby) and they could be lighter.

0

0

0

Great sound quality

SRS-WS1 TW8 25/06/2020 by HolgersenFamily (USA)

If you're looking for a great way to enjoy uninterrupted sound, this speaker is the way. I have kids who can drown out sound when I'm trying to listen to something. This wearable speaker brings the sound right to me, so I don't miss anything. The speakers seem to be well made, with quality materials. They were easy to charge and set up. All the necessary charging equipment was included in the box. I didn't need to buy anything extra to use these. I have them plugged into my smart TV. The buttons are straightforward and simple to use. The sound quality on these are amazing! Watching a television show, it feels like you're right in the same room as the action. For even richer, more immersive sound, use them for listening to music. You can actually feel the beats in the song. It's intense. If I can make a recommendation to really hear and feel the potential of these speakers, listen to the song Weightless by Marconi Union. It is an amazing experience. My only displeasures is that the speaker is a little uncomfortable to wear for an extended amount of time and that it does not have Bluetooth capability. The lack of Bluetooth, I think, is the biggest downfall. It would have made it available to enjoy it in many other uses. All in all, I like the wearable speakers.

0

0

0

Late night tv watching

SRS-WS1 19/06/2020 by Csilas (USA)

I am a night owl. Most everyone else in my home go to bed at a typical bed time. My husband gets up super early for work so I don't watch TV in bed, much. This device has made my late night TV watching so much more enjoyable! I usually have to keep the TV at a low volume to prevent waking everyone and that makes it hard to actually enjoy what I am watching. This device has changed that completely! I am able to watch and enjoy my shows, late at night, wearing these speakers and actually hear it loud and clear. The best part is I dont have to worry about waking anyone! I am considering getting a set for my Dad, who is hard of hearing. I think this would make his TV watching much more enjoyable. I like that the buttons on the speakers are slightly raised so I can feel the plus or minus symbol. If I need to adjust the volume, I can I that without having to remove them. I place it on the charger after each use but, so far, I have used it for 2-3 hours each day without it showing any signs of low battery. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to it not being bluetooth capable. I would love to use these for music on my smartphone. Otherwise it is an outstanding product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great audio and useful product

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by BrainApps (USA)

Opening up the Sony SRS-WS1 speaker, you can instantly tell it was a quality speaker. It looked great. Picking up the speaker, they were heavier than I had imagined… they felt solid and nicely built. They also had a slight springiness to them so they could be slightly pulled apart to wrap around bigger heads/necks, like mine. Underneath, there was a good assortment of cables and an instruction booklet. No cable for the new USB-c style jacks on the new phones. You will need an adapter to use them on these devices. FIRST IMPRESSION. I hooked everything up as fast as I could and wrapped them around my head and started a movie. The vibration for the bass sounds caught my attention first and the surround sound was very impressive. I was hearing a definite front/rear and right/left audio which sounded amazing. The vibration had 3 settings and I liked the mid setting best. I felt immersed in the movie. Removing the speakers and walking a few feet away, you can tell these are not a private listening device like earphones… I could hear the audio quite well from 10-12 feet away. PROS. The speakers were built nicely and they felt good around my neck and weren’t too heavy. The sound was amazing and they immersed me in the movie. They connected well to the audio source and never lost connection. I had my whole family try them and they all agreed they sounded nice. They fit, comfortably, a 6-year-old child also. Music was tested and it sounded great too. CONS. The fabric used on the inside of the speaker rubbed against the scruff of my stubble and I was afraid it may start to wear out the fabric from moving my head around too often. The charging stand charges with the speakers laid flat… so it takes a bunch of desk space. I wish they hung down, or on the wall even. The biggest con, in my opinion, they aren’t Bluetooth, so you have to either move the audio sender device from source to source or plug the dedicated audio cable directly into the speakers. Overall, I liked these speakers a lot and I have used them for many hours so far. They definitely are great for movies, if you are alone, or hard of hearing. Currently loving these speakers but would love a Bluetooth version a lot more! I use them daily while working and listen to music along with the email alerts, etc. from the computer. Email alerts never sounded so good.

0

0

0

A True Game (And Movie) Changer!

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by MandaJo1981 (USA)

Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker This lightweight speaker (11.82 oz) is beyond amazing! You can hear your surroundings while you wear it, but you also can turn up the volume of the television, game system, or other devices, without bothering those around you. You can even connect 2 devices at once if you want. To really add to the immersive quality, this wearable speaker from Sony has a vibration control. This means you really feel like you are part of the movie you are watching or the game you are playing. I must admit, I wore it while watching a scary movie, and was nearly scared to death more than once. However, the best thing about this wearable speaker for me, is that I can watch tv without disturbing others in the household. Not only do I have trouble hearing, but I also work the night shift. That means I am often awake while others are asleep, and I like to watch movies when I am off work. Everyone knows that movies just aren’t the same at a low volume. And I have a beautiful 4K TV to watch on, so I don’t want to be limited to my phone or computer to watch movies just because others are asleep. This has solved my issue. So even if someone has a migraine, or is sound asleep, I can still enjoy my movie without bothering them. An added benefit is that I can walk around the house while wearing them and still hear the TV as clear as day. Truthfully, I am a constant multitasker. I rarely sit down and just watch TV. That means I may be up cooking or doing laundry while watching a show. The great thing is that the sound comes with me. I no longer have to ask my family what was just said on the TV or have to rewind the show or miss out on something important. I can even go out on my deck to grill and I can STILL hear with my Sony Immersive Wearable Speaker clear as day! This is truly a game-changer for me! changer for me!

0

0

0

Works good for what it was made for

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by robert271 (USA)

I use these headphones on a daily basis for about 2 weeks now. Right off the start I will say Sony did a good job with designing the packaging and the headphones look like a cool piece. I listed below what I feel are the pros and cons. Some of the pros I like: The headphones are easy to set up and easy to use. They provide a clear sound and it is nice to hear all the miscellaneous type of noises like footsteps and rain! They are great for people like me who have a harder time hearing. If you want to get quality sound and keep the tv volume low/off so you don’t disturb others then these headphones are for you. My wife says she can’t hear it that much and likes the fact she can sleep besides me without the tv being so loud. The vibrating is a neat feature and makes the viewing more dimensional. Not only do these headphones work well for movies but work pretty good with tv network shows and music stations. They have good battery life to them so I don’t feel like I constantly have to recharge them. Some of the cons I like: The headphones do not have Bluetooth. These would be 10x better if I could connect them to my phone without wires. They would be much more versatile. Unfortunately, they do not have a mic so I unable to answer phone calls and I can not talk to others while gaming. They are a bulky and large to store. I think if they folded this would help take up less storage space. They get to be heavy and become uncomfortable after wearing them for a whole movie. The price seems high for a TV type ONLY speaker product.

0

0

0

Life Changing

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by christopher135 (USA)

Let me just start by saying this speaker is awesome. I started experiencing hearing loss about 10 years ago but didn't really notice it until my wife and kids would get up during the middle of a movie and go in another room to watch it. Finally I asked why they didn't want to stay in the room and watch a movie with me that they told me that I have it up so loud that it hurt their ears with my wife commenting that she couldn't even pay attention to the movie or Television we were watching. This speaker from Sony has really changed our life. Installation and set-up was very simple by just following the easy to read and very comprehensive instructions that are provided with the Speaker. The Power button and volume controls are very inconspicuous but also easy to locate when reaching or feeling for them which in my opinion allows for a very sleek looking device.Since receiving it a few days ago we have been able to have Family Movie Night twice and they actually are willing to stay in the Living Room while I watch Television. I recommend purchasing this item for you or the person that you care about if you have ever experienced the same as my family and I. This will change your life for sure. Thank you Sony for creating this item.

0

0

0

Late night tv watching

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by Csilas20 (USA)

I am a night owl. Most everyone else in my home go to bed at a typical bed time. My husband gets up super early for work so I don't watch TV in bed, much. This device has made my late night TV watching so much more enjoyable! I usually have to keep the TV at a low volume to prevent waking everyone and that makes it hard to actually enjoy what I am watching. This device has changed that completely! I am able to watch and enjoy my shows, late at night, wearing these speakers and actually hear it loud and clear. The best part is I dont have to worry about waking anyone! I am considering getting a set for my Dad, who is hard of hearing. I think this would make his TV watching much more enjoyable. I like that the buttons on the speakers are slightly raised so I can feel the plus or minus symbol. If I need to adjust the volume, I can I that without having to remove them. I place it on the charger after each use but, so far, I have used it for 2-3 hours each day without it showing any signs of low battery. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to it not being bluetooth capable. I would love to use these for music on my smartphone. Otherwise it is an outstanding product!

0

0

0

Amazing sound

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by Cheyenne72 (USA)

We can't say enough about these amazing Sony Immersive Wearable Speakers. The sound is incredible and it's a theater experience in your with the added vibration. You can adjust the volume without taking them off because the controls are big & easy to feel, even in the dark. It's easy to connect and comes with a variety of cable's to use. What blows us away is how you can still be interacting with everyone and hear the tv!! These have excellent battery life. How awesome is that!! These are very comfortable to wear for long periods of time. I've used them with my TV & my tablet to listen to music. You need to buy these.

0

0

0

An interesting product that enhances gaming

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by metalmancpa1 (USA)

I was lucky enough to receive the Sony SRS-WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker to play with and test. I immediately was excited for a specific purpose (will explain later - and see the picture). I am an audiophile junkie, and have more headphones and buds than I care to admit. I had missed out on a Sony buds campaign, so this made me feel a tad better getting picked. ***** In the box: SRS-WS1 unit, charger base, audio transmitter, (2) AC adapters and micro USB cables, (1) digital optical cable, (1) audio cable, (1) dedicated audio cable. ***** Immediate weakness/wish: You must use the cabled transmitter in order to receive audio. No bluetooth or any wireless stand-alone connectivity. Bluetooth would be nice. ***** Test #1: I plugged the transmitter into my cellphones headphone jack, amazing that I still have one, in order to stream some metal music to check out pure audio. The sound does not rival cans or buds, and truthfully not that close. When I turned up the vibration level (which effects bass) from weak, to middle, to strong, the sound definitely got better. I found the vibrations down the front of my shoulders and around the neck to be interesting. For me though, in listening just to music, I didn't feel this offered that much. My buds sound much better and offer more audible bass. ***** Test #2 (the reason I really wanted to try these): In the picture I am wearing an Oculus CV-1. When playing games like Beat Saber, in truth the headset on the CV-1 doesn't sound that bad. When I purchased the WS-1's, I honestly didn't know if I could stream CV-1 and SRS-WS1 at the same time. Luckily my Alienware Aurora R6 has a digital/optical output. I set the CV-1 to be able to hear audio from CV-1 and PC, and set the PC to optical output. Then I played Beat Saber again, and WOW. The combination of the decent CV-1 sound along with the additional audio and vibrations took the gaming experience up several notches. Synced to the bass of the games, the vibrations fit perfectly to the feel. ***** Final thoughts: For pure audio there are better choices. For movies, if you lack a good system these add an interesting punch. For gaming, love them. *****

0

0

0

Life Changing For Me

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by Pamiamfree (USA)

Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker is an amazing concept! I've had a hearing loss since childhood. It's not bad enough to warrant a hearing aid, but it does interfere with my day to day life at times. I have a partial tone loss, meaning I miss certain levels of sound. I have a few reality type TV shows that I enjoy watching from time to time. Those shows, I've noticed, I have to either turn my TV up to very high level, which is unfair to others in the household, or as I usually do, I just miss parts of what is being said, or key background sounds. Until NOW. First of all, these are surprisingly comfortable to wear. They rest comfortably around my neck, or you can place them nearby on a side table. They have a raised volume control, that allows me to easily raise or lower the volume as needed. They also have a very cool vibration feature that immerses me into the action. They are fun to wear while gaming too. I can feel the vibration, but it's not overwhelming or annoying, it just adds to the excitement. I was impressed as I unboxed these stylish speakers. The first thing I did was to charge them on the included charging base as the detailed instructions mentioned. Next, I read the instructions and connected the receiver. I discovered that the TV in my living room could not connect to them unless I disabled the built-in TV speakers, which would make other people unable to watch TV along with me. At first, I was disappointed. Then I realized that I like to watch most of those shows in bed at night any way, and decided to try that TV and it worked immediately! And it worked GREAT! For me, it was like really hearing TV sounds for the first time! I could hear everything I had been missing, and others got to hear all along. I felt jubilant.. That's the only word that comes close to expressing the emotion that I felt. The Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker does not interfere at all with my hubby's listening pleasure. Since it doesn't cover my ears, I didn't lose the ability to also hear normal sounds and talking around me and carry on normal conversations with my surroundings. As I previously mentioned, the speaker itself is lightweight at approx. 11.82 oz. It's an easy and convenient wireless connection to your (compatible) TV. Also, you can connect two devices simultaneously. It comes with hard wires to also directly connect to my laptop and tablet, and... Wait, there's more.. It connects to my cellphone!! Now I can finally hear those social media videos!

0

0

0

Sleek, Futuristic, and Great Bass

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by saumyag81 (USA)

The Sony WS1 headphones are all about quality, form, and function. The deign of the speakers is very intuitive - they dont block your ears and have a comfortable fit without being obtrusive. The mesh cover on the speakers feels really nice and the bass control button is something I never realized I was missing from other speakers until I had used it myself. I really like that I can chose to use the speakers with my TV as well as directly though my phone using the different cables that were provided. I have never ran out of juice, but thats because after a few hours of use - when Im done watching TV, I just put it back on the dock - which recharges it. The audio can be turned up loud enough that it won't bother most people around you while giving you a premium audio experience. On the plus side, the speaker is also the perfect size for my dog! She absolutely loves the speakers too! I have no hesitation recommending this product to anyone looking for quality, innovative, and comfortable speakers!!

0

0

0

Great if you have issues hearing the tv

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by bnb2005 (USA)

As I get older, I cannot always hear everything on the tv. Sometimes, I have to put the closed caption on just to know what is being said. These headphones have helped me with these issues! The sound comes in crystal clear. I like that they are not covering my ear because I can still hear other things going on in the room. The control buttons are easy to push. I can walk into another room with the headphones on and still clearly hear everything. Charging is very simple. Setting up the transmitter to the tv was a little confusing. It would have been nicer and easier if these had blue tooth connectivity. Other than that, they are a big help hearing the tv without have to blast the volume.

0

0

0

Amazing Wearable Speaker

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by PsalmO (USA)

I so love my Sony WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker! It is so easy to set up, amazing battery life and amazing sound quality. What I really love about it though is that it makes listening to any audio piece enjoyable. I dont have to blast whatever device I'm listening from anymore. With WS1, I can hear and feeeeel the sound so well without being the annoying person who can't hear well so she turns up the volume to the max. It really is a big help for me to enjoy listening to music, watching movies and gaming. At first i thought there was something wrong with the connectivity but i learned that if the audio source is on the minimal level, it tends to disconnect. i turned my audio source just a couple of level and then just adjust the WS1 volume accordingly and everything worked out well.. I also enjoy nonstop, no lag audio even when when I am far from the transmitter. Did i mention i love my #SonyAudio? If there's one thing that I can add to it though is for the next versions to also have bluetooth connectivity and possibly syncing controls as well to allow us to pause whatever we're listening to without having to reach for the audio source ^_^

0

0

0

Great for hard of hearing

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by Ashley637 (USA)

I received my Sony immersable wearable speaker and immediately had to test it. The unboxing is very easy and there is no hard plastic to cut. The set up was also surprisingly easy too. The instructions were easy and concise to follow. Only a few steps to set up, charge your speaker and be ready to rock! I have a mother who is hard of hearing and I thought these would be great for her. You can wear them without having something in your ear to further block your hearing when someone walks in your room and wants to talk. No need to take out headphones! They are loud enough to hear the tv and it doesn't bother anyone in my house. The clarity on the immersive wearable speaker is awesome! I have had no issues what so ever. I have personally hated headphones. The ear buds never stay in my ear and they get uncomfortable, and regular over the ear headphones start to make my ears hurt from wearing them too long. These are going to make a great alternative to those. Personally I think the weight is fine. You don't want something too lightweight so they feel flimsy, these feel great! I have watched regular TV, movies and have a great experience so far.

0

0

0

Unique audio!

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by luvmylife12 (USA)

I have owned quite a few audio devices. They range from headphones to ear buds and everything in between. Some are wired and some wireless, however nothing is like the WS1. The Sony WS1 is a unique over the shoulder immersive headset. Out of the box the Sony WS1 is very easy to set up. The raised buttons for volume make it easy to find your perfect level for listening. I am even able to leave the room and walk to my daughters room about 15 ft away and still hear my favorite show. There is no feedback or interference which is fantastic! The headset is a little on the heavier side for a headset but it isn’t uncomfortable. The sound is clear and definitely makes watching tv shows and movies quite enjoyable. The sound vibrations make you feel like your in a theatre when watching movies. I love being able to hear what I’m watching over my kids the dogs and the air blowing. Overall the Sony WS1 is a nice device! My only con is the lack of Bluetooth connectivity.

0

0

0

Innovative Immersive Wearable Speaker

SRS-WS1 TW8 17/06/2020 by Sealhealer (USA)

I have now used the Sony Speaker on several occasions. After setting up the equipment which was very simple and charging overnight, I rented a movie and proceeded to turn the speaker on. The volume controls are on one side using a + or - sign for up and down . It’s unfortunate that there is no way to tell how much you have gone up on the volume or down . I find it difficult to adjust unless I remove the speaker from my neck, press a button and then put the speaker back on to see if I have it right. Other than that, I really like that I can more clearly hear the sound from whatever I’m watching. The really neat part is that I hear so many background sounds, like little birds chirping or a dog barking which I’m sure I missed before using these. Also, it’s fun to feel the vibrations from the music or loud sounds from the movie, in which there were a lot of explosions. I learned quickly to turn the TV down, as there is a distinct echo if it is still up too loud. I do not like the way the speaker sits on my collar bone . It is uncomfortable, so I put some padding under each side and it was better. I think this product works better with a movie than regular network shows, but all in all I like the simplicity of its use, the ability to adjust the vibration button so the intensity can be magnified for really scary movies, and how easy the recharging cradle is to use. I now look forward to watching my favorite shows and being able to hear more clearly without having to strain.

0

0

0

Futuristic Sony Wearable Speakers

SRS-WS1 TW8 09/06/2020 by pochuram1 (USA)

If you have young kids who play video games, then Sony’s wearable SRS-WS1 speakers are for you. As a parent you always worry about kids wearing headphones and in the long run possibly causing damage to their ear drums. Then on the other side when you inform the kids to not wear headphone then the TV sound is quite loud and disrupting. Sony has come up with an excellent solution to this issue. These are speakers that you wear around your neck. Comfort level – it is light enough with a lot of padding to rest on the neck without causing any discomfort. Sound level- the speakers on these Sony are amazing. The person wearing can turn up or down by pressing on the elevated volume buttons. These Sony speakers also have three vibration settings (low, medium, and high). The kids really enjoyed this vibration options when playing their video games. I also had the opportunity to test these while watching some action movies. I can tell you the sound is crisp and clear and when there are explosions you can feel the rumble all due to the vibration settings offered on this headset. Another feature of these Sony speakers is that the bass level is outstanding. Setup- This was a little challenging as this Sony headset is not Bluetooth compatible. You can either use connect using optical or 3.5mm input to the TV. In our household we connected using the optical connection. Once it is connected to the base of the adapter you simply press the button to pair with the headset- Simple!!! Overall a solid speaker by Sony which is conveniently configured to rest on your neck – parent approved !!!

0

0

0

Good Sound and Not Heavy

SRSWS1 04/06/2020 by jomuzz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very impressed with the Sony SRS-WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker. The sound is very good and the speaker is very lightweight, I hardly feel it on my shoulders. The system is easy to set up and once I figured out how to connect the Transmitter Digital Optical Audio to my TV, mostly where the port was located and that the Digital Optical Cable did actually fit into that tiny port, I was set to listen to my shows! The directions are easy to follow and everything you need to set up the system is included. I love that I can listen to my shows without bothering anyone else or having to turn up the volume so loud that everyone complains that it is too loud. I can actually hear what is being said on the show! I like that I do not have to put anything in my ears to hear my music or my shows. I have had earphones that leave my ears sore and I am always fiddling with them to get good sound quality. Not what I am experiencing with the Sony SRS-WS1 Immersive Wearable Speaker, it fits nicely on my neck and with just a push of a button I can increase or decrease the volume, I can even hear that background music or sounds that normally I would not hear with just the volume alone on the TV. They are a bit pricey, but if you can't hear your programs or music and your family gets upset with you for cranking up the volume, I personally feel that these speakers are a great investment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A step in the right direction

SRS-WS1 TW8 03/06/2020 by RoadRashTX (USA)

These speakers are not bad but they are not great. I get where Sony is trying to go with these but these really seem like a beta product. The sound quality is not bad but it is not great. There is quite a bit of bass but the mids and highs are not really there. Do not expect these to give you a private listening experience. They can be heard just like any other external speaker but others in the room. I would love to see the next generation of this device. I think it has potential. My biggest issues with the product are: 1. The size and weight. They are not light and they take up a lot of space wherever you plan to charge them. It would be great if they were foldable. 2. There is a lack of connectivity options that exist is almost every other speaker/headphones - Bluetooth. These really seem to be meant for use on a TV but I also wanted to try them with my laptop. It is cumbersome to have to plug in a device to my laptop when my laptop has bluetooth. 3. No mic - If they also added a mic, these would be great for zoom, gaming, etc. I think this is a good idea and I cannot wait until I see the next version.

0

0

0

Buyers remorse

SRS-WS1 22/04/2020 by DisappointedBuyer (USA)

I ordered this product thinking i had finally found a solution to having to use headphones for a rich audio experience.. For the most part it does everything it describes, it just doesn't do it well, which is a disappointment all things considered. If you have a thick neck or shoulders this won't feel comfortable, it's certainly a one size fits most experience, since it does not allow you to expand the neck base. The audio quality is surprisingly bad, it certainly feels strong when your wearing them, but if you turn off the vibration (AKA the Bass), expect to get a drive through order experience. The audio sounds airy, empty. At Max Vibrations (AKA BASS) It gets the job done... You hear everything, but it sounds like someone took a drive through menu speaker and decided to give it a bass boost and somehow all together missed their mark. Considering the expected quality level of Sony speakers I'm actually really sadden by this. Although my biggest complaint is the fact that you are unable to pair the speakers to your phone. It only likes to pair to the dock. Why on earth would this not have bluetooth? Which leads me to my next point of dissatisfaction. You have a dock, and a charging station, 2 separate things that need to be plugged in, and vampire energy when your not using them. Why are they separate? Placing the headphones on the charging dock is a little tricky, you have to make sure you hear the sound and the light is on, or else they will not charge. Not a major complaint per se, but given the list of grievances... I got these thinking they were a cool concept, and that i finally found something i could use when i didn't want to put on my headphones. In that regard they are. They are an cool concept, and something i can use when i don't want to use my headphones, but for the price and the sound quality of a PS4 controller, I am left with nothing but buyers remorse. The tragic thing, at least for me, is that they still fulfill the need i got them for, so

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

3

0

Better than my reSound hearing aid steamer.

SRS-WS1 17/04/2020 by hal9 (USA)

Installation was straight forward and easy. Only problem was I already had a device connected to the optical cable outlet on the TV (a Bose sound bar). So i had to disconnect the soundbar and use the built-in TV speakers. Only slight negative with some TV shows I have adjust the sound frequently.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great for TV

SRS-WS1 17/04/2020 by Maui Jeff (USA)

I have trouble hearing voice dialog on the TV so had to have the volume up too high in order to hear. These speakers solved the problem completely. Not only can I hear dialog but I'm hearing sound details that I've never heard before. I couldn't be happier. The vibration on my shoulder is a little strange but you can adjust the degree of vibration and I find the middle setting is good for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Better than I thought

SRS-WS1 03/04/2020 by Quay Hu (USA)

These wearable speakers have been quite an enjoyable experience. Playing COD with these on is life-changing to say the least. Every time I get hit I feel it. It's surprising how much bass comes out of these speakers. In the box comes with all the cables you need. 2 plugs for the chargers, audio cable, 2 usb cables and audio cable that connect your phone to the speaker. Listening to music on these speakers sounds great as well. The highs, mids and lows are just enough and not too overbearing. I also took a phone call while listening to music and it sounded great. The caller had no issues hearing me and said I sounded clear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great for hard of hearing

SRS-WS1 11/03/2020 by Jackson45 (USA)

I bought this speaker and have been very happy with it. I like my tv much louder than my wife and have tried several different items to regulate the volume in the room. This product has been the first one that has actually worked. Definitely a solid buy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Bad sound quality

SRS-WS1 06/02/2020 by Tim90210 (USA)

Brilliant design but not for an audiophile. The look and feel are cool, but the sound quality after a burn in is pretty poor, like headphones cranked to distortion levels. I tried to mess with codecs but the speakers are a let down. It make be good for my 71 year old father to watch TV. It might excel at that.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

10

0

Garbage

SRS-WS1 03/02/2020  (USA)

Just got this as a gift and it has ruined my life. Waste of money, cheap Chinese made piece of trash. I wouldn’t give this to my worst enemy

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

50

0

Works well.

SRS-WS1 21/11/2019 by MigNYC (USA)

Had it for a year n the states. Bought this in Ginza. Great sound. Better than competition. No issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

40