297

3.1 based on 297 customer reviews

101
36
31
40
89
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

my Sony

152 cm (60") 26/12/2019 by Petite25 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am extremely happy with the picture, sound, and features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Buyer Beware

X690E Series 29/11/2017 by Twri035 (USA)

Bought 1 week ago without reading previous reviews. I would highly recommend reading reviews before moving forward with this purchase. 1) Netflix and youtube apps randomly appear and reappear. If you feel like watching TV and the apps don't show up, you're out of luck. I'm on V4.051 (the most updated firmware version) and apps show up maybe %50 of the time. 2) Sometimes functions like volume will stop working all together. So, when you do finally get a chance to watch something you might still be out of luck because the volume get stuck a high level and wont respond to either the remote or the built in audio buttons !! Picture is great, but the product is next useless considering a TV is something you should just turn on and enjoy.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

14

0

297 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Dark screen

X690E Series 19/09/2020 by Ms4759 (USA)

We purchased our 75in and after a year and a half the screen is so dark (and a blue tint) that it almost hurts our eyes to watch. We have tried resetting, changing the settings, any and everything you could try we've tried it. How can you pay this much for a television, by a supposedly good brand name , only to have it almost unwatchable within 2 years???

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Tv when it worked but taking the L

X690E Series 17/09/2020 by NotliketheSonyiusedtoknow (USA)

I’ve had this tv for almost 3 years, I barely used it up till just last year. It’s now having the same problem everyone else has been getting. We all bought a lemon just got to face the facts and take the L.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Dying after less than 3 yrs

X690E Series 10/09/2020 by troyd75826 (USA)

Bought 70" in 11/2017.First TV of any kind to fail in less than 3 yrs. I still have a picture but the colors are very blue tinted and this cannot be resolved until the repair person shows up to evaluate the TV. I know $300 TV's are disposable, and I expect that from a no-name brand. But I bought this because it was a Sony. I am so very disappointed in this purchase. Reading these reviews, this is not an isolated incident. This will greatly affect my future Sony purchases.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Not that great

177 cm (70”) 10/09/2020 by cscokd11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Out of the four different smart tvs ive had i was most excited to own this Sony and its hands down the worst of the four tv's i have. Hard to navigate the user interface and smart is an over statement

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

DO NOT BUY!

X690E Series 11/08/2020 by Mark A Militzer (USA)

DO NOT BUY! I wish I would've listened to the advice I read in other reviews. We had our TV for less than 2 years and the main power supply went out. Its $500 to fix, so not worth it. Apparently this is a common problem, and Sony will not stand behind their product unless you purchase a 3rd party maintenance plan. You can get the same quality for less with other manufacturers. Buyer beware.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

0

Died after 2 years - support won’t try to help

152 cm (60") 10/08/2020 by Eric2020 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 2 years ago. Just died now and support would not help. Would never buy a Sony tv again

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Good features. Broke in just 2 years

152 cm (60") 29/07/2020 by Janice25 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 years ago and last night it started not turning on. It is flashing red light twice Did some troubleshooting accdg to the manual. Chatted customer support and did another troubleshooting process and even factory reset. At the end of the chat, it is recommended for repair service. I am very disappointed this happened. The TV is not that old and it wasn't cheap just not to be working in just 2 years. Last April i returned the Sony radio boom box in Amazon because it doesn't turn on and it wasn't even 6 months since I bought it. I didn'tget help with this one either because they said I had to return it to the third seller where I bought it. Whats going on Sony? I am very disappointed and frustrated right now.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Very disappointed

X690E Series 19/07/2020  (USA)

It’s the first tv I ever bought. Bought the tv because SONY has better picture and also thought I’m going to use it for at least 10 years, so paying more money for a quality product is acceptable. The first 2 years I was very satisfied. And then the red light blink. Follow all the instruction and google everywhere, try all the techniques, and it still doesn’t work. I hope the reply won’t just copy and paste the instruction like we all don’t know how to use google. Now I’m just very very disappointed with SONY. Feel worse when I see so many similar cases like me. Using the tv for less than 3 years and it won’t work. I don’t think I’ll ever trust SONY again unless the customer service can do something to turn it around. Also, if they keep selling product like this, their TV department will eventually be like their Smart phone department. Because now more and more people are experiencing the same thing. I was really shocked to see so many people suffer the same problem like me.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

apparently problems with the display

X690E Series 13/07/2020  (USA)

apparently problems with the display, a couple of days ago my screen as such the display began to look half a bit darker than the other half, my warranty has expired since this item was bought in December 2017, until now it had been working Well, now I do not know if it is a theme of the display or some other part of the screen, they could guide me to know what the problem is (attached image), also if they have an approximate cost of repair, I am in the city of Mexico and I make the comment on the USA page because the service in Mexico (Mexico City) is horrible, and they do not give you a first approach, you can help me. in the city of Mexico to which branch or local can I go. Thanks.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Disappointed to say the least

X690E Series 05/07/2020 by Babyhuey (Canada)

Picture and audio are good, however the screen will lock up and not permit the remote control to work, leaving you to preform a hard power reset. Only a few Apps to choose from and no way to add new ones like CuriosityStream. Comes with a Linux operating system.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2020

Hi Babyhuey, While we're glad to hear you like the picture and sound quality of your TV, we regret that you're having a remote control issues with it. Please follow the troubleshooting steps on the link below to resolve the issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs/kd-50x690e/articles/00006827

Unfortunately, you cannot add additional apps on this TV. You can only add apps on our Android TV™ models. However, the availability of apps can change.

Your unit comes with a 1-year limited manufacturer's warranty. Should you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Lasted just 18 months

X690E Series 19/06/2020 by Don Mac (USA)

This tv lasted for 18 months and then died. Cost 350-400 to fix and no guarantee that it will last any longer.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Problem connecting to the Apps.

X690E Series 10/06/2020 by Cashmoney (USA)

Internet problems release a firmware update. Also Add disneyplus to the update. This tv is only 18 months old.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

6

1

0

Doesn't last two years

X690E Series 28/05/2020 by CarlaSouthBay (USA)

The apps and internet connection on this TV are glitchy. Mine broke just under two years of purchasing. Sony has no answers on how to fix the problem with local and internet access on this tv. I paid almost $800 in 2018.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Just take in consideration: main board is $450

X690E Series 26/05/2020 by Chichomm89 (USA)

It won’t last three years, UI is pretty glitchy and slow, after Two years of being hanged on my wall main board broke, it’s $450 to replace it, I paid $699 for this tv two years ago, just find a better tv to spend your money on

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Never buying a Sony TV Again!

X690E Series 25/05/2020 by GeorgeBF (USA)

I've had this tv for only 2 1/2 years and now when I turn the TV on the green light appears followed by 6 red blinking lights. I unplugged the tv and restarted as instructions state and the problem persists. I will need to repair it or get new tv. I don't recommend purchase. My first Sony product purchased and it lasted less than 3 years!  This is unacceptable, and I'm not the only one who is having this exact issue with this TV.  To see so many people with this issue here on Sony's website and all over the Internet, I question why doesn't Sony address the issue and take care of their customers instead of posting a link to the troubleshooting page and stating, if that doesn't work you will need to pay for a repair?  When consumers spend over $1k on a TV, and several have the same issue, this should be addressed and made right by the manufacturer.  I've had an Insignia TV that I purchased for $150 ten years ago, and it still works, this TV lasted less than 3 years?!  UNACCEPTABLE!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

Never buying a Sony product again.

X690E Series 14/05/2020 by ctjlm1088 (USA)

We bought the tv in 2018, so it's not even 2 years old. We received the blinking "red death" light & it won't even factory reset. We're better off buying a cheap brand from somewhere else. I've never had a tv last only 2 years. Very disappointed with Sony's product.

1

2

0

The audio is low

177 cm (70”) 07/05/2020 by Luzm1980 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bough this product about 2 years ago the audio is poor very low

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Junk Tv

X690E Series 06/05/2020 by hockeyman (Canada)

bought 13 months ago now black screen worst made tv on the plant 1200$ for a paper weight

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/05/2020

Hi hockeyman, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. If your TV has no picture, you may follow this link to better isolate and fix the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs/kd-50x690e/articles/00153674

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Faded colour blotches after a year of use

X690E Series 04/05/2020 by Broker678 (Canada)

Bought this tv with great anticipation for being 4K and LED and a Sony. However, within a year of use the screen shows several large blotches where colours appear faded to yellowish or brownish time. Did not expect this from a Sony product. Disappointed.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/05/2020

Hi Broker678, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. You may try performing a power reset by unplugging your TV for 60 seconds to isolate the issue. Please follow this link to better resolve the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs/kd-50x690e/articles/00032635

SONY provides a 1-year limited warranty for this unit. If you are unable to resolve the issue, then the unit needs service. Please check this link for your repair options: https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US

~Earl

0

Not happy

X690E Series 28/04/2020 by Jgyear (USA)

I purchased this tv a couple years ago and just after warranty was expired spots appeared over the screen. Yesterday the tv just powered off and now won’t turn on. The red light is flashing 6 times. I’m not happy with this tv at all. It was expensive and I don’t think I’ll ever buy Sony again. There’s plenty of reviews on the internet of the same problems with Sony tv’s and it’s time to recall them. It cost just as much to fix as buying a new tv.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Worked well - for just over a year.

X690E Series 21/04/2020 by jackie1980 (USA)

Purchased in Nov. 2017. Great picture. Around the end of 2018 it started having problems, especially with its apps. Netflix would regularly freeze up the TV until we unplugged it. Other apps would do the same. The TV began to have regular internet connection issues, disconnecting multiple times a day (we have super fast internet and no problems with any other devices). Sometimes all the apps would disappear and we'd have to go through an elaborate reset process. Finally, just about 2.5 years after purchase, it has completely shut down and will not turn on. The red light will blink 6 times, then nothing.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Intermittent internet TV connection

152 cm (60") 11/04/2020 by Basak (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a horrible product. Netflix, YouTube , or any kind of internet TV frequently hangs. We need to re-establish connection to continue watching the shows. In one single movie, we need to do this procedure at least 7-8 times on an average . We reached to Sony several times for help, they could not fix it. Simply horrible product .

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Excellent picture quality!

177 cm (70”) 09/04/2020 by Fan of Sony Products (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony continues to make a quality product. I continue to be a big fan.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Pretty good TV

152 cm (60") 03/04/2020 by ridgerunner777 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture and I've had no problems with it. The controls are a bit cumbersome and the smart TV features are not that good. I ended up using Roku for that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Problems.

X690E Series 03/04/2020 by Majojo (USA)

I have had this tv for only 1 1/2 years and having tble. When I turn on the green light appears then I have 6 red blinking lights. I unplugged the tv and restarted as instructions state, and it started to work. After a week, the same problem occurred. The problem continues. I will need to repair it or get new tv. I don't recommend purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

5

2

0

Good picture.cannot get additional apps

X690E Series 30/03/2020 by Uklerr (Canada)

Tv is about a year old. Great picture. Unable to install Disney plus app. I Am not a tech guy and everything I read gets very confusing. Contacted Sony support by email a week ago. I have not received a response.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/03/2020

Hi Uklerr, We appreciate your feedback about your TV. Unfortunately, the Disney+ app can only be used with Android TV models. -Sam

0

Doesn’t last

X690E Series 27/03/2020 by Kyle92 (USA)

Only had this tv about a year and a half... stopped working earlier this week randomly. Huge vertical lines appear on the screen and it makes the tv unusable. Will not be purchasing another Sony product. Ive had many other more reputable brands that last longer this junk. Of course it’s outside of Sony’s 1 year and warranty so I’m out of luck...

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

great picture when working

X690E Series 25/03/2020 by Doctor 69 (USA)

Bought 2 years ago and have had 9 service calls. Now has blining red light that can't be figured out

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Remote control not working

152 cm (60") 24/03/2020 by Kim H (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My remote control not working when I turn YouTube can’t move anything so what can I do with this?

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

High Quality 4K TV

152 cm (60") 24/03/2020 by ROVHER (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

That's a great TV for the purpose. I've used in my son's bedroom. Recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great 70” TV BUT I Can’t ADD DISNEY+ APP “SAD”

X690E Series 19/03/2020 by BossBabyGirlC (USA)

I bought this Huge Sony T.V. Online & was a little worried but very content with it’s performance. Recently (March 2020) Coronavirus came & my 5yr Old is out of school & I wanted to order DISNEY+ to help pass the time & NO way to add. Very limited App Accessibility for Smart Features & this is saddening to me, as I’ve only had the T.V. Not too long..

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great picture for the price. BUT...

152 cm (60") 28/02/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve always been a Sony TV fan and the picture on this TV, especially at this price point can’t be beat. However, after a year of use, just as the warranty has expired, the power supply has started to have issues. Makes it hard to watch TV if you can’t get it to turn on

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

After 10 years I realized Sony ripped me off

X690E Series 23/02/2020 by JamesArmy (USA)

I have a Sony Bravia plasma that the model says is a 52 inch. Well I measured it today because I'm looking to finally get a new one and it is a 45 inch tv. I feel dumb as I never measured it until now. I payed for a 52 inch and got a 45 inch. After 10 years I'm sure there's nothing I can do about but to switch to a different brand.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Broke in about a year and a half

X690E Series 16/02/2020 by Smn123 (Canada)

6 blinking red lights, so a complicated LED or board issue. Still have a 7 year old sharp going and this broke..... not impressed at all. I had always found Sony to be a high end / high quality item but I see those days are gone

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
19/02/2020

Hello Smn123,

We regret to hear about this experience. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac

0

Great TV

152 cm (60") 08/02/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy having SONY all time, recommended to my friends

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great features and sound

X690E Series 07/02/2020 by Rich29 (Canada)

My tv has a green line on left side from top to bottom don’t know how this happened is it fixable? Can anyone help please ?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/02/2020

Hi Rich29,

We are sorry to hear what happened. Please refer to this link below on how to resolve your issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/televisions-projectors-lcd-tvs-android-/xbr-85x850g/articles/00109671

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 

Sincerely,
David

0

Worst TV

X690E Series 23/01/2020 by Leo984 (USA)

I bought KD-60X690E 09/05/17. Now it’s 01/22/20, and it’s not working. Almost 2 and a half years and it’s junk. Before that my Sony lasted for 5 years. Before that it’s 10 years. Sony’s quality is downhill will buy other brand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Its bad Choice

152 cm (60") 05/01/2020 by Ravi123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this TV on Nov 2017 and it never updated software and even tried to Update software with Pendrive, external devices are not recognized(called customer care they said your warranty is over you need technician and escalated to manager and they siad will send person but no response after that) and finally today TV is not working(Red light blinking 6 times). Also steaming works very slow when you using youtube.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

This TV's garbage

X690E Series 04/01/2020 by Ted1300 (USA)

I have two Sony Bravia TV and the power panel went out on both about at about 2.5 years. Stay away from these products.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Won’t last

152 cm (60") 01/01/2020 by Ml767 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This tv is only two years old and is already having issues. The screen is constantly glitching and is now pretty much unwatchable

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/01/2020

Hi, Ml767!

I'm sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience. Let's try to isolate the issue by following the troubleshooting steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00032635

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Don't waste your money

152 cm (60") 30/12/2019 by Anderton (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Stopped working within a year. Called about the warranty and was told I need to reset it. Worked for a week after that and now won't turn on at all. Not worth the money.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

my Sony

152 cm (60") 26/12/2019 by Petite25 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am extremely happy with the picture, sound, and features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Dead After a Year and seven months!

X690E Series 21/12/2019 by James346 (USA)

I bought this TV on May 2018 and now on December 20,2019 right before my vacation start,this thing starts giving me THE BLINKING RED LIGHT OF DEATH.First the PS3s with Yellow Light Of Death,PS4s Blue Light Of Death,now TV's have it too.Why is this keep happing to me,must be a sign to STOP purchasing Sony products?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Slow processor freezes up

177 cm (70”) 08/12/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Slow processor freezes up, I would recommend the android version

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great audio

177 cm (70”) 06/12/2019 by Remotely (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome different modes remote many functions one of a kind

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Don’t ever purchase this!

152 cm (60") 02/12/2019 by MFitz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This television was purchased on 10/7/17 so it’s just over 2 years old. It won’t turn on. You can hear it clicking but then the red light just flashes and the TV screen is black. $900 and it works for two years ? Awful!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Great tv until it stopped working

152 cm (60") 20/11/2019 by Sunshinek731 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got the tv as a gift and now less than a week later the tv won’t turn on.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Don’t know about this

152 cm (60") 19/11/2019 by Craignation (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My tv just blew out what to do for some unknown reason

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Dead after 1 year

X690E Series 27/10/2019 by MrJoke (USA)

I bought this in 2018 for $1000+ dollars Now Wont Turn On.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Worst mistake

X690E Series 26/10/2019 by Keith411 (USA)

I bought this TV on DEC of 2017. 6 months later video board goes out geek squad came out and fixed that. Now it's OCT of 2019 and I'm waiting for geek squad to come out and replace the video card once again. I'm glad I paid extra for extended warranty. The TV is 70 inches and it is hanging on the wall,which makes everything a pain and inconvenience to deal with. I have never had an issue with any other TV I've bought before. From the reviews there seem to be alot of issues with a TV that cost 1200 plus dollars. Sony should looks at all the issues from this overweight anchor that they are selling, or maybe best buy should stop selling Sony stuff.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Good TV with 4K and HDR but poorly made

X690E Series 14/10/2019 by Scooter B (USA)

KD-50X690E - is a good TV when it comes to specs but the KD-50X690E is made with poor quality in mind ( see pics) the TV literally started to come apart just under a year after being purchased from Bestbuy with a geek squad warranty that by the way doesn’t cover the TV hardware and Sony’s customer chose not to assist me in a replacement.. so I essentially purchased a working tv that is a manufactured defect and The joke is on me... what a consumer loss of lost

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Cheap poor quality

152 cm (60") 11/10/2019 by Quanasha (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this tv for almost 2 years and it’s been nothing but a disappointment. First lines appeared, then it started to freeze and now it won’t even turn on. The tv has never been dropped or banged so I don’t understand why I’m having this issue with a relatively new tv. The tv will not factory reset or power on. When powered on with remote power indicator turns green for few seconds then continually blinks red 2x. Tv is unresponsive when using buttons on tv to turn on or factory reset. I don’t have $800 to dish out every 2 years because your products don’t last. My mom has had the same vizio and samsung tv for over 10 years and they work fine. I’m at a lost for words over this situation because I’ve never experienced anything like this before. This was my first tv purchase and now I’m afraid to waste money on another since I’ve learned that so many people experience this same issue. I work hard for my money and expect to buy things that will last. Paying for repairs for a 2year old tv is ridiculous I’m simply not doing it. How can we not see this endless cycle of buying nonsense that doesn’t last???? This is insane

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

1

0

Dead TV in months.

X690E Series 30/09/2019 by TheViewer (USA)

I bought the KD60X690E for my living room. My family used it often, but we all have tvs in our rooms which we use more commonly. Somehow this brand new TV that we "OFTEN" used not always managed to die in less than a year. A waste of a purchase and a waste of a 5 year warranty I could have just paid for the 2 year warranty instead. Also, there's no point in saying how good it was since it dies on you, but I will just in case you need it for a few days. The picture quality was what you paid for, sound was below average I definitely recommend buying something louder for it, apps were minimal and boring, 4k features were hard to find so be prepared to search for a video on YouTube, and there were few online features so I can't really say how good it was online.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Horrible

X690E Series 29/09/2019 by Franc70 (Canada)

One of the worst tv I have ever bought in my life, network always dropping having to unplug the tv all the time

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/09/2019

Hi, Franc70!

We're sorry to hear that this TV failed to meet your expectation. In this case, please follow the troubleshooting steps from this link: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00015293

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

0

Probably the worst purchase I have ever made!

152 cm (60") 22/09/2019 by Nick1985 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The tv is about a year old and already the main board is broken. From the first day of purchase the tv would freeze and shut off. Now it won’t turn on and the LED blinks red.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

0

Disposable TV

X690E Series 06/09/2019 by FJA01 (USA)

Bought this TV at the end of October 2017. Just before the Labor Day weekend of 2019, the TV went dead. Did a diagnostics test with Sony over the phone and no much was accomplished. Was told to a Sony Authorized Repair Station in Melbourne or Jacksonville Florida. About 200 miles north of Miami. The warranty had expired. One year warranty. I have been a Sony man for 40 years. Had a Sony Tube TV that lasted my over 25 years. Apparently now Sony makes disposable TV's at a Sony price. Every Audio / Video device in my house has always been Sony. Have to change my buying habits. Find Audio/Video Equipment that is disposable at disposable prices and not at Sony prices.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Limited features but great picture!

X690E Series 25/08/2019 by Airdog99 (USA)

I purchased this 50" X690e for the bedroom in December of 2017. The featured software and apps are limited on this TV but it does have the major content providers (Amazon Prime, Hulu, Netflix, YouTube, etc). This will be more than enough for most people. While the picture on this model isn't quite as good as the ($4700) 75" XBR-75X940e that I have in the living room it does have a really nice picture. The $475 price of this X690e was nearly 1/10th of what I paid for the X940e... So does that make it the X940e 10 times better than the X690e? Probably not, but it does make this TV a great value. I've always been impressed with Sony and this TV just adds to that reputation. Highly recommended if your looking for a solid TV for a great price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

White Line across screen

X690E Series 22/08/2019 by Hildee (USA)

Always purchased Sony for their quality...new TV has a while line across the screen...Fail to replace...D

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Worst tv ever

177 cm (70”) 18/08/2019 by Drewski34 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv a couple months ago and it’s been an On going frustration with the WiFi, audio, and screen. I will never buy a Sony tv or product again.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Huge white spots

177 cm (70”) 18/07/2019 by Kawwieman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had my 70’’ tv for just about a year and started noticing huge white spots in the corners. Called Sony and sent them pictures and they said that’s within spec for there products. $1,200 down the drain. Will never buy a Sony product ever again

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

1

0

Great features

152 cm (60") 17/07/2019 by Smeep (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a month ago I am very happy with that thxx

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Pass on this one

X690E Series 26/06/2019 by petevon (USA)

This tv never worked right. Often apps would freeze and the tv would have to be unplugged. It will not update the firmware via wifi or ethernet. I had to use a usb. After the update I have had audio problems. Audio would go away on the home theater unit. Had to toggle audio setting to get it back everytime watching Netflix or Prime. Switched to a sony home theater and now the audio cuts out often only while streaming. Spent hours on the phone with tech support and no solution was found. This replaced an older Sony flat screen that worked great for over 10 years. I doubt that my next tv will be a sony.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

No good

X690E Series 23/06/2019 by Macadan (USA)

I had this TV and I thought the brand name I can trust.But it disappointed me when it went bad in a less than a year..and a tec came to fix it last year July now June this year no show no sound...did not even last a year after the repairs...dont buy this junk

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

I can cannot download any apps

X690E Series 04/06/2019 by Mikeusa (USA)

Not happy can t find google store to download apps

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Garbage

152 cm (60") 01/06/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

App selection is garbage. Sometimes the TV Turns off while watching netflix

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

0

Very bad experience with this sort tv.

152 cm (60") 24/05/2019 by Very bad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its not updated automatically and not support 5G., prime video and some other aps. Very slow and pics quality is makes me upset. Sony makes me disappointed.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

This Sony 690E hdrhdtv4K tv freezes up on youtube

X690E Series 12/05/2019 by Frustrated with Sony tv (USA)

690E HDR 4K HDTV freezes constantly watching YouTube

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Horrible device & no customer support from Sony

X690E Series 11/05/2019 by HananS (USA)

Horrible device - as all app like netflix, youtube disappeared, no connection to WIFI & USB. Called Sony to fix and they did not support or guide at all, saying warranty expired now. Sheer wastage of time & money. Won't ever go to buy sony tv or any other device from sony. worst device & customer service. I wish I can rate -ve or at least zero.

1

1

0

Disappointment

X690E Series 11/05/2019 by Dimu (USA)

Me and my friend bought this Tv on black Friday 2017. It was all good for 3 months until my friend started having issues with his. It stopped connecting to the Wifi, The main board was replaced by Sony as it was under warranty. 13 months after that my Tv won't even switch on. I will have to replace both supply board and main board that would cost $800. Such a great disappointment. I'm a big fan of Sony, but this model is junk.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Nothing But Problems!

X690E Series 09/05/2019 by AAAB (USA)

Purchased this TV Black Friday 2017. The first six months were fine but then the problems started. The TV was having issues connecting to the internet. Many times trying to connect to Netflix, an error message would appear stating that there were connection issues. Every other device in my house, including an LG TV, had no problem. I would have to unplug it from the wall almost everyday to get it to reboot.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Worst service

177 cm (70”) 07/05/2019 by Tex0913 (USA)

I bought a 70 inch Bravia six months ago black spots on it Sony will not help me with warranty at all

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

The best Tv I’ve ever owned. Highly recommend

177 cm (70”) 02/05/2019 by Travis61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great features and pic quality 4K looks awesome. Don’t hesitate buy Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0