1234

4.2 based on 1,234 customer reviews

744
260
105
43
82
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Well Worth Waiting For!

KD-43XG8396 15/04/2019 by Friscokid (United Kingdom)

I received my Sony KD43XG8396BU a few days ago having placed a pre-order last month, and I have to say that I couldn't be more pleased with its performance. I previously had two consecutive 2018 model KD43XF8796BU TVs and both were faulty - i.e. not many days after setting both of them up they lost their ability to log on to the internet due to exactly the same fault - and so I couldn't access any of the Smart features. The first of them also even developed a tiny hole in the screen within a month! I was aware that the KD43XG8396BU is essentially the 2019 version of the KD43XF8796BU and given my experience with the previous sets, frankly I wasn't expecting the picture quality or the Smart functionality of this year's TV to be all that much better than last year's - even though it costs a good £350 more. How wrong I was!... First of all the Smart features work perfectly on my new KD43XG8396BU - which is a big relief, but the picture quality is also noticeably improved now that (according to a chap at Sony that I 'chat'ted to online recently), the processor has been 'Tweaked'. I had no idea what the word 'Tweaked' meant in this particular context but I have to say that the image is noticeably sharper, the contrast is stronger and the colours, although they aren't at all garish, are definitely deeper and seem to 'Pop' a bit more on the KD43XG8396BU. It's hard to find the right word to describe how exactly the colours on the KD43XG8396BU are better, but they definitely are! So; after having no end of trouble with the two previous KD43XF8796BU TVs, my faith in Sony TVs is how completely restored. The bottom line is that if you have limited space and you're looking for a really good quality 43" 4K Ultra HD TV, you probably won't do better than the KD43XG8396BU. BUY WITH CONFIDENCE!!

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

34

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Stopped working On 4 Occasions!

KD-55XG8796 07/03/2020 by castel1966 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Four times , Netflix and Youtube have just stopped working and each time we have had to ring Sony and spend ages on the telephone. For a brand new television this is appalling! I really wish I had not bought it now.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

1,232 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Fantastic TV

KD-43XG8305 29/09/2020 by Pop100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant looking TV, even when switched off ! Picture quality is superb, it is full of very useful apps and is easy to operate. I am really glad that I chose Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent TV and Affordable

KD-49XG8396 29/09/2020 by Gav66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great 4K TV with Smart TV functions so you have immediate access to YouTube, Netflix and most catch up TV services as well as being able to load (and side load) Android apps to enhance the use of your TV. Picture quality is superb and great for sport, documentaries as well as gaming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All sorted!

KD-43XG8396 29/09/2020 by Eloe (United Kingdom)

I recently wrote a fairly bad review for my new TV. However, yesterday I got in touch with Sony by phone (through Curry's) and spoke to a specialist. He was absolutely amazing and guided me through each step of putting things write. Now my TV is working well and I can begin to enjoy it. So thank you Sony, I should have phoned before. I am now re-reviewing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture and easy to use

KD-85XG8596 27/09/2020 by MaicoMan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a bit of fiddling with the settings I am really pleased with the picture quality and ease of use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice tv

KD-55XG8796 27/09/2020 by Winxy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good features and easy setup only issue I have is the power lead is short and could do with being another foot longer I only say this as I have it hung on the wall.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Well performing tv

KD-55XG8505 27/09/2020 by Jlew81 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's been a while since I've bought my last TV and the difference in performance is amazing. Picture quality is excellent and it is packed with features. Slight critique due to lack of Now TV app which I can't find anywhere to download and sound sometimes goes off (I'm using an home cinema system) and I need to change speaker to TV and back to home cinema. A bit annoying. Other than that , all good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to operate

KD-65XG8505 27/09/2020 by Vanraj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this in Jan and very happy with it. Good quality picture, sound even perfect with Sony sound bar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good tv but..

KD-49XG8396 20/09/2020 by BazylZiom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The tv in general is nice, good picture, easy to use. 2 things which i dont like is tapping noise when tv is off, happening couple of times at 1 night. Sony says its normal.. ok... And another one is wifi issue, every so often i have to make a tv reset to be able to turn wifi on..

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not good

KD-55XG8796 18/09/2020 by Customer 101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thought the picture was great until after 3 months the television has stopped working what's more it's taking 3 weeks for sony to come and sort it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Absolutely love this tv.

KD-65XG8796 17/09/2020 by Fuzzle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this tv a few weeks ago and am so impressed.. it is an edge lit unit but don’t let that put you off it performs way better than a lot of direct lit units from other brands.. crisp images brilliant for gaming. Sony’s image processing is truly remarkable. Has 4 hdmi ports, is super responsive and it has AIRPLAY!!! I have it connected to a Dolby atmos soundbar, but the tv itself has really good sound.. If my soundbar didn’t have virtual surround I honestly wouldn’t bother with a soundbar.. I also have a Sony smart tv from 2016 which by today’s standards is still better than some units that are on the market today, however my new tv is worlds apart. It is brilliant to see how much Sony has further improved a product which was already really good, the user interface has been changed but is still clean and does not have all the awful bloatware that is found on other android TVs. I did my research prior to buying this unit and with my budget in mind there were some TVs that ‘seemed’ like they had better specs, however this definitely performs a lot better than whatever else was out there. Truly happy with this unit!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good TV

85" class (84.6" diag) 16/09/2020 by Smart Arun (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this a month ago and excellent picture quality and decent picture size for big living room. Never miss the theatre setup with best audio equipped

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Let down by support

KD-49XG8396 15/09/2020 by Jacob733 (United Kingdom)

Bought Bravia KD-49XG8305 because it had a 5 year warranty, tried to register it and it wouldn't accept the model number! Called Sony, worse than useless. I want Sony to confirm my 5 year warranty, it was bought from Appliances direct in UK

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Amazing product

KD-75XG8796 13/09/2020 by Didocas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great tv, bright screen, huge resolution and android tv is truly a must.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best TV I’ve ever owned, excellent picture quality

85" class (84.6" diag) 09/09/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV not only has amazing picture quality but loaded with interactive features and can get LOUD thanks to a built-in sound bar. If you’re a football fan you’ll be blown away by watching the HD games on this TV. Huge TV and makes quite the impression on visitors. Only buying Sony TVs from now on, also PS5 is expected to work with this Bravia brand a certain way, so another huge reason to get one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not so good

85" class (84.6" diag) 08/09/2020 by Junga147 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

In the process of returning this tv for a laundry list of issues.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Picture and sound are fantastic

KD-65XG8505 07/09/2020 by Flo6474 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought TV 3 weeks ago for our Fire Station. Picture and sound are fantastic

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Annoying internet problem

KD-65XG8505 05/09/2020 by billiym (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very irritating ,I keep getting the on screen message " your television is disconnected from the internet " soon followed by another message " your television is now connected to the internet". None of my other devices disconnect and reconnect. I tried resetting to factory settings and reinstalling but still get the same message ,

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good Product with minor production quality issues

KD-43XG8305 04/09/2020 by Gzkbbq (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The TV is excellent but silly faults slowed down installation during lockdown. The Vesa plate mount is only fitted with two bolts one of which had been fitted with an out of tolerance torque gun. The vesa bolts are of suspect quality and only designed for use with your thin metal wall mount. Page 3 of your joke of a user guide needs to be in bold print on this issue if you want to use a professional stand. Your UK help desk could not even visualise what a professional stand is even though you must use them in your HQ training rooms. Why you do not make hdmi ports all 4k compliant is beyond comprehension. There are silly bugs in the android software which need fixing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very nice tv great so far

KD-49XG8396 03/09/2020 by dalefrith (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this tv about 3 months ago i have to say i do like this picture it clear sound is good well worth the money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

It's got 800 Hz Motion Picture on the screen

KD-55XG8505 01/09/2020 by M Tay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had 2 yes ago, Sony model no XG70. Now got new Sony model no XG85, this one got very good 4 speak sound in Sony Bravia XG8505.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

brilliant !!!

KD-49XG8396 31/08/2020 by 54Pauly (United Kingdom)

Bought it 1 week ago and very pleased with it !! its replaced a Sony TV that ive had for 15 years & its still going strong

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Poor customer support

KD-49XG8396 30/08/2020 by Rob 88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV and was pleased with my purchase.However when I had a problem I have found customer service unable to help.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great TV!!

KD-49XG8396 30/08/2020 by Jan53Honiton (United Kingdom)

I bought this TV to replace a 14 year old Sony Bravia which has been a good friend,reliable and never let us down. Really pleased to have found a Sony Bravia again in a larger format! Easy to use,great definition and sound good without soundbar etc.. Will definately use Woolacotts in Plymouth again but hopefully not for 10 plus years!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Worth the price!

KD-43XG8396 30/08/2020 by Matty13 (United Kingdom)

Hard to initially set up but once you get going it’s incredible, hard to complain about.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Poor instructions - no FreeSat - limited Freeview

KD-43XG8305 29/08/2020 by Vintage Wireless (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am reasonably happy but have a few niggles: There is no printed manual - you are expected to get on screen help and watch videos which is very inconvenient. FreeSat is not supported. Freeview is not supported if you want to use the satellite tuner. You can set up free to view terrestrial channels and free to view satellite channels but cannot get the FreeSat and Freeview functionality. Cannot see why this is not incorporated in the firmware. Sony should issue a firmware update to sort this out. Sound quality is reasonable but better if I use my HiFi system. Picture quality is good on bright scenes but not so good on dark scenes. I see reflections on the screen. Picture definition is excellent.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Love the wide range of options and picture quality

KD-43XG8305 28/08/2020 by Jakwel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really enjoying this model with the wide range of options, FREEVIEW, FREESAT and INTERNET.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent picture quality

KD-49XG8396 28/08/2020 by totty1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used the tv for 2 weeks and think it is excellent value for money and great for sport and sci fi with the 1000 motionflow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

brand new sony xg85 tv led 4k ultra hd

KD-85XG8596 27/08/2020 by dad 1 (United Kingdom)

faulty from new with half the menu [sound mode and picture mode] missing

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

A great TV

KD-55XG8505 27/08/2020 by Jerin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's been 3 weeks of using this television and I am very much happy about it. Excellent picture quality, user friendliness of android TV and good sound makes it a great product. I have come across many reviews complaining about its sound quality, but personally I am happy and satisfied with its sound. Only negative I could find is that I experience a small static charge on the aluminum frame whenever I touch it (ofcourse, when it is plugged in to the mains). However, it is very mild and not troubling in any way. The customer support confirmed that this is normal with most of the sony TV's. So I am not much worried.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

KD55”

KD-55XG8796 27/08/2020 by ChrisL9873371 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This will be the 2nd Sony Bravia I’ve had in 2 years. Unfortunately the last one only came with 12 month warranty. You would think I would have gone with a different brand after my last failed TV with Sony, but here I am again putting my faith in Sony. I do like Sony as a brand and the picture quality is superb. however this time I’ve got the 55” with a 5 year warranty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Delighted

KD-65XG8505 26/08/2020 by Pension collector (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago, set up was easy to follow. Many features, which we are still learning about. Very versatile. So pleased with purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Clear and sharp picture

KD-75XG8796 26/08/2020 by Majid123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it 3 weeks ago and very happy and sharp picture almost easy to operate

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Instructions poor

KD-43XG8396 25/08/2020 by Gordi44 (United Kingdom)

The instruction manual supplied did not actually cover my model number and was very difficult to follow. No cable supplied to allow connection to my set top box so need to work with 2 remotes which is annoying and inconvenient.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Replacement for a 30+ year old Bang & Olufsen TV

KD-43XG8396 24/08/2020 by 21st Century at last (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Whilst sound quality is poor without an additional sound bar (a generic problem because of the size of Flat Screen TVs) I am very pleased with the entire set-up. Menu structure is a little unintuitive, but usable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic

KD-65XG8505 23/08/2020 by icStatic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Spent a long time deciding on a TV before finally deciding to go with this one. Almost every aspect of it is fantastic, although I've hit a few annoyances with the software. Not sure if this is Sony's fault or the Google integration though. The most annoying one is when you use the Google assistant to control the TV sometimes it will mute the TV afterwards, which is infuriating if you're trying to do something with a screaming child in your arms. Might as well just use the remote.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor picture and no way to block YouTube

XBR X850G Series 22/08/2020 by Alan_P (USA)

I decided to try Sony after my Samsung failed after 3 years. The picture is very bright, but there is a glow around bright areas. I learned afterward this TV has really poor contrast. I found the Android TV overly complicated, but I have an Android phone so I found I was able to disable or remove apps with a little work. I have small kids and I don't want them on YouTube, so I disabled the built-in YouTube app. However, I discovered that an Android TV update pushes advertisements to the home screen, including YouTube, with a button to install. No acceptable if you can't control the apps (and content) on the TV available to your kids!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Good but ITV Hub doesn't work with satellite

KD-49XG8396 22/08/2020 by Brighouse (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good picture and sound but complicated to set up. Google setup apps didn't work. ITV Hub cannot be setup without a digital terrestrial aerial and I only have satellite so this service is unavailable, very poor arrangement!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Value mid-range TV

KD-55XG8505 22/08/2020 by Reedy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this TV approximately 3 weeks ago and have been really impressed. Originally, I had reservations because it was an Edge Lit TV rather than Full Array Back Lit or OLED but you need to spend a lot more for as Full Array or OLED. The picture quality is really clear to watch, plugging in a good Ethernet cable to stream movies directly make a big difference to the picture quality, similarly if you're using a BT/Sky box. Very easy to set up and impressed at how vivid the colour is.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed

KD-55XG8796 21/08/2020 by Tommo28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this telly InJanuary which was recommended by a curry’s salesperson , broke in august with no picture only sound . They sent a repair man who said it needed a new part . Pay all that money for a telly should not go wrong in 8 month , now have no telly for e few week until parts come so it can be repaired, SHOCKING

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Wouldn’t Buy Sony Again

KD-55XG8796 21/08/2020 by N4ts (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always been a Sony enthusiast but I have to say no longer! I bought the TV got it home and one of the feet was damaged so had to wait on new one. Then set the TV up and very disappointing, Picture quality for Sony is poor, it glitches a lot and sound is terrible! Bought an LG for my bedroom, cheaper than the Sony and it’s superior in comparison.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality

KD-55XG8796 20/08/2020 by PJB63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV about a month ago and couldn’t be more pleased with it, the picture quality is amazing & as it’s a 55 inch I was worried it would be overwhelming but it’s like being in the cinema in my living room. Haven’t worked out all the gadgetry yet but I’m not much of a tekkie.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tricky Set Up

KD-49XG8396 20/08/2020 by suttonc3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Initial set up proved tricky. Initially wouldn’t connect to the internet via my Wi-fi network. Had yo google to find out that it was due to the correct time not being set on the TV. Picture quality is great, but the built in speakers are awful. Bought this TV at the same time I was upgrading my home cinema from Panasonic to Sonos. I had a week’s wait for my new system to arrive. I couldn’t have put up with the in built speakers long term. It was so tinny that it hurt my ears! Hoping this lasts longer than my last two Samsung TVs, which both broke within 4 years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

terrible light bleed and blooming, tosh

KD-65XG8796 19/08/2020 by NDO50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

worst Sony TV i have tried. i sold half my bluray collection based on this televisions upscaling capability, when watching widescreen ( letterbox) blurays, the edge lit led blooms and turns the black bars brown, dim lit move scenes have terrible picture quality. I returned mine and spent the extra 1k to get an OLED Sony 65 4k which is the best TV i have tried, a keeper. totally different quality, no blooming, amazing up scaling and detailed contrast and colour scale. get an OLED! if you watch movies.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Power Issues

KD-55XG8796 19/08/2020 by Matsz19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this TV a few months a developed power issue where it wouldn't switch on. Then it started working and then developed the same problem again. So i think this might become a common fault.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Picture

KD-85XG8596 19/08/2020 by Bigsteve76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great picture and the sound is quite good even at a low level u can still hear the programme or movie you are watching

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing picture great size easy to set up

KD-55XG8796 18/08/2020 by Luke88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with my purchase great all round tv perfect for gaming love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Picture

KD-43XG8396 18/08/2020 by Bobs60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unfortunately the first TV delivered was faulty, however this was quickly exchanged and we are delighted with the new one. Having previously purchased Sony TV's we were not disappointed with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Horrible for streaming and permanent ads on the ma

XBR X850G Series 18/08/2020 by Sonytvisgarbage (USA)

This tv was a real disappointment. It sucks for streaming and has to be rebooted every other day. Most recent firmware update installed another line of sponsored ads which cannot be moved or removed. I can't believe I paid top dollar for this piece of garbage when I bought it. Sony use to make good products but if this tv is any indication of the other Sony products - no more.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Great features and excellent picture quality

KD-65XG8796 17/08/2020 by Maama jero (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV more than a month ago. I'm so pleased with the sound and picture quality. It's got alot of apps that a smart tv can offer. Really impressive would recommend it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony mid range lcd tv

KD-43XG8305 17/08/2020 by hifi enthusaist 52 (United Kingdom)

It took me 12 years to replace my Sony 40inch lcd 1080p backlit tv. The tv was starting to show signs of malfunction and rather than repair it, i thought i would put the money towards a 4K tv. I didn't have a massive budget, so i went for the 2019 tv and got it at a very good price. The features i wanted was the X1 processor. The record function, via an optional usb/hard drive and the apps. previously, i had to use an external box if I wanted netflix, or amazon prime. there is also a promse from sony, that a dedicated app for nowtv will be available. I am a sony fan, so I was expecting good things from this tv. Sadly, the initial impression was average. My old back lit, non smart tv had a brighter, more vibrant appearance when watching freeview. this was a shock. I have woken up to the fact that edge lit tvs simply cannot compare with back lit tvs, for brightness and contrast. However. All was not lost. I spent some 5 hours tweaking the settings to get the desired image. i like my colours to be quite vibrant. but the default settings are quite bland. its up to the individual, but i would recommend going into the advanced settings and playing around. Freeview Hd is very good. Normal sd is ok. But when start streaming. Then the wow factor kicks in. Netflix is great. blu rays are great. Now tv is good, (from external box) amazon prime is great. The colours are great overall. If your budget will allow, please go for the full array backlit version. at the moment, its over a grand. double the price of my tv. Or if you have a really big budget, go for the OLED. At the money I paid, i reckon its as good as anything else out there. And I have looked. I cant give the tv 5 starts. It didn't live up to my expectation. Only because its not too good at processing poorer quality broadcasts. (anything below 720p). This is annoying because it advertises upscalling to near 4k resolution, even from SD. I will recommend the tv, if you can get it for the price i paid. Around £500. The 2020 verion of this tv, at time and date of review, is between £699 and £799.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good picture

KD-43XG8305 17/08/2020 by Dejor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although this TV is now working ok, be careful, it is quite technical to set up, especially if you are using a Youview box. I really do not think it is any different from any other TV that is available at the moment.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Wow

KD-65XG8505 16/08/2020 by Scottie690 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently upgraded to a larger screen (65") and UHD4K and this TV is excellent. You get the feeling that you're on the movie set or on the field of play . We'll pleased!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Big Disappointment

KD-49XG8396 16/08/2020 by Lynnor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very disappointed with the TV. Not all that easy to operate, no programme reminder, with automatic channel change.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

very fragile tv

XBR X850G Series 16/08/2020 by Maddy_jha (Canada)

I bought this tv in dec last year. The tv was ok but on a very small impact from my daughter the LED panel cracked. Tried my best to get it repaired but everyone said its cheaper to buy a new TV.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great picture

KD-49XG8396 12/08/2020 by ISM1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture but can be a bit slow e.g. pressing remote but tv takes a second to process Generally happy but bear above in mind

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Absolutely fantastic telly

KD-55XG8796 12/08/2020 by anka0618 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony tv it’s my no 1.So easy connection with Samsung smartphone and iPad which I couldn’t find in my LG tv. Also many apps doesn’t work in LG tv and here I can use e.g.wp pilot app

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best 4k TV ive brought

KD-65XG8505 11/08/2020 by Eyxhos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony would be my go to TV brand now best product ive ever brought

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Picture Quality

KD-55XG8505 11/08/2020 by Ruk0236 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks a go it's got very good picture quality! All the apps work perfectly apart from the itv hub ! Which was disappointing as it was advertised with itv hub. I need to get an aeriel so my youview will work so then i can watch itv hub on it. Apart from that very happy with tv !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

KD-65XG8796 09/08/2020 by Gjs21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality appears to have the same high standards that we have come to expect from Sony Bravia tv models. Lots of features to choose from with instruction videos to help with set up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent TV

KD-55XG8796 09/08/2020 by snky1987 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I could not be happier with the TV. It works flawlessly, no issues at all. Despite not having any sexy tech words like Samsung it is actually much better than the competition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Do not purchase if you live stream

XBR X850G Series 08/08/2020 by Linhart (USA)

I bought the XBR85X850G back in April. Initially I thought it was great, however when live streaming Hulu TV and ESPN+ live, the picture was not smooth, very glitchy. I thought it was my internet speed so I upgraded to 500mbps. After upgrading my internet the same issue occurred. I reached out to Sony customer support and they are blaming the issue on internet speeds due to COVID 19. Obviously this is an excuse for them to not address the issue at hand. I have 2 Samsung TVs at the house and neither one have this problem. Beware!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

5

0

Ideal for my sitting room.

KD-65XG8796 08/08/2020 by Sunray 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good quality product low power consumption.Sound could be better but not got round setting it up with my speaker system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Premium quality set.

KD-49XG8396 08/08/2020 by DavidTrevor (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a birthday present for my Mother. It has superb picture quality - much better than my own budget brand 4k TV !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

KD-49XG8396 07/08/2020 by Viewone (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace older tv ,very happy with features so far and Siny have good reputation for quality.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Lots of connections to at the back including USB .

KD-65XG8796 06/08/2020 by Bingbongsong (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV just before lock down. The timing was so special. What a TV, what a picture what a bargain. Always had Samsung. Not any more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features and amazing display

KD-55XG8505 06/08/2020 by maira123 (United Kingdom)

Bought this yesterday and really Pleased with the overall product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features

KD-49XG8396 05/08/2020 by AaJn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently and quite happy with it's features and price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect picture

KD-43XG8305 04/08/2020 by Van13 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of weeks ago and very pleased with it. However, have added a sound bar to improve the sound quality as it only gives out 20watts. We also bought a Central stand as the legs wouldn't fit on our unit. The TV itself is great!! It only gets 4 stars due to the sound quality, but this is normal for very slim TVs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0