222

2.9 based on 222 customer reviews

37
48
44
45
48
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Dual headphone activation during a Cell Call

WF-1000X 03/11/2017 by Andrew0025 (USA)

I got the earpieces and the sound is awesome. So is the noise canceling? However, A big issue is fat that only the left ear operates when making a call. Major drawback. How will you fix this?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Please fix it

WF-1000X 07/12/2017 by Tommacgr (USA)

After latest update no ones can hear my voice clear in calls . Noise reduction also disappears. What are you doing SONY ?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

223 Customer Reviews

0

Unstable connection with poor microphone

WF-1000X 18/08/2018 by Blomster (USA)

Tried this for 1 month (2 different units after the stir claimed they where malfunctioning) but same result in both. The stable connection feature does not work at all in crowded areas, and the connection between the units breaks every time the phone try’s to WiFi or let boost.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

OK product

WF-1000X 16/08/2018 by T1677 (United Kingdom)

There is issues with headphones stability they keep disconnecting from each other then coming back on they cost a lot of money so this issue needs putting right and I would recommend to a friend only if the stability is put right

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nearly perfect

WF-1000X 16/08/2018 by JoeyB (USA)

Sound quality is the best of them all. Noise cancelling is good. Connection is good for me. Battery isn't nowhere near 3 hours as advertised -- after 90 minutes you're definitely going to need to charge up. Hopefully there's a fix in the next update for the mediocre battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Wireless Freedom Like No Other

WF-1000X 14/08/2018 by Joey Luu (USA)

Just for my pair of the WF 1000X and already I am in utter love with it. Sound quality is pure aces, the noise cancelling is unparalleled, and the Sony connect app makes it more brilliant to use. Looking forward to the Google Assistant integration adding an even better experience just like my 1000Xm2.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 12/08/2018 by Basshead27 (United Kingdom)

I brought these about 3 months ago, great sound, good noise cancelling, but frequent drop outs, but I can live with it due to great sound and good noise cancelling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sent them back !!!!!!

WF-1000X 12/08/2018 by Maximum Bob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unable to give zero stars as the system won't allow it. £150, and the product did not work. Sound kept cutting out every 15 seconds or so. Not what I would expect from Sony but there you are, won't go back, it's Apple all the way for me going forward

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice try.

WF-1000X 10/08/2018 by D Ray (USA)

I purchased the sony 1000x around 2 months ago. I'm a bose lifer. But decided to try sony. Big issues the headphones do not stay communicating with each other. I've had to factory reset 4 times.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best of best

WF-1000X 08/08/2018 by Ken1002 (United Kingdom)

I love it so much so i have to buy imedenly and i have no request

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Performance vs battery life

WF-1000X 07/08/2018 by DB49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works very well, small, comfortable fit with overall good sound performance. Charging case is a good solution for frequent travel

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing set of Bluetooth Earphones

WF-1000X 05/08/2018 by TfromC (Canada)

I bought these second hand and couldn't be happier. Great sound for the size. Been using them for work for 6 months, after the 2.0 update they work nearly flawlessly. Sound is very detailed, clear, crisp and full using a LG V30. If you want them louder download an equalizer app. Most are free or under 5 bucks. The problem is your devices sound card not the earphones. I see people complaining about lip sync issues with videos. Do you know most bluetooth earphones work with a delay? Maybe you should do a little research before buying or better yet get a wired set if you want to watch videos. $279 is a little high price point but if you buy them $200 or under they are steal. I bought mine for $120.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Custom made, as if, for me, my ears and my turban!

WF-1000X 30/07/2018 by BhaiBS (USA)

The product is well designed and the featured assets like the ambient sound and NC are indeed worthy of note. I am uncomfortable about the latency when watching videos online or from personal video clips. I have read a few reviews complaining about the audio levels, but having anything louder would not only be hazardous to the eardrums but also endanger road safety. I had wanted to have a wireless earphone which would comfortably settle in under my turban - I am very glad to have purchased these!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Looks good but fails to deliver

WF-1000X 27/07/2018 by flexiboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these 2 help me on the tube as I need noise cancelling and I normally by Bose. The sound quality on these is awful and just about ok with no equaliser settings enabled. I had them on max volume and still couldn't hear anything on the tube coming home. Noise cancelling none existent. I also kept getting drop outs between buds. In the end I took them back as not fit for purpose and am now back to Bose.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great sound and fit... patchy connectivit

WF-1000X 26/07/2018 by velvettank (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great headphones which are marred by signal drop too often for such a high-end wireless product for my liking.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Frequent disconnects

WF-1000X 26/07/2018 by Dr Hemmert (USA)

When they work, sound quality is ok with deeep, powerful bass and crisp (albeit screechy at times) treble. Problem is - they usually don't work - the right earpiece frequently disconnects and reconnects, like once or twice every few minutes if you move around. Staying perfectly still is better, but it will still disconnect. There's a setting to prioritize a stable connection (why would they have that as a setting?? A stable connection is mandatory!), But then you get really bad some quality with audible compression artifacts. There are lots of good things to say about these earphones, but they don't really matter if the right piece can't stay connected, or if you have to settle for bad sound quality... The noise cancelling is ok, but slightly gimmicky, as these are in-ear and provide excellent passive noise canceling anyway. All in all not worth the premium price

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

One of the best pieces of electronics

WF-1000X 24/07/2018 by Mat3 (USA)

Bouth them at launch last year. The sound is perfect for the size. The noise cancelling does a moderately good job but combined with the in-ear insulation the external sounds get filtered really efficiently. Phone connection quality is great. Even the lag when watching video is almost gone with the firmware updates. Fit firmly and comfortably. I guess some of the lower ratings are connected to earlier versions of the firmware

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great !!!!

WF-1000X 21/07/2018 by Falcon123 (United Kingdom)

Great Sound. Balanced Bass, Midrange and clear trebles. I have no drop outs or connectivity issues but a software update is recommended. So comfortable to wear and battery life is around 3 hours. The case is handy. It can charge the earbuds again in 1.5 hours and a 15 minute quick charge gives you around an 1 hour of extra play. A really good premuim product with Sony quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Not the best product

WF-1000X 20/07/2018 by pupuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

To me this item was a HUGE waste of money, so much so I took it back. They say "Noise cancelling" the only form this worked on was volume, I set them up and made sure it was on noise cancel and until I got the volume to a set level they didn't cancel the noise out, I put my old wireless headphones back on and the same volume and no outside noise; I actually managed to turn the volume down without hearing background noise. The main reason I purchased them and probably the same reason others will buy them, also they cannot work independent of each other so you have to have both in and on. I know everyone has different shaped ears but the way they are held in is all well and good until you sweat and then they fall out.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

1/10

WF-1000X 18/07/2018 by Yohane (USA)

First and most annoying thing about these product is the disconnection of the right earbud most of the time. Second is the delay on the voice while watching online. Third is that sony say you need to choose the "Priority on stable connection" on sound quality option. But that doesnt work. Then we need to update the buds to fix these. And nothing change but one thing (more problem). Forth after the update one more adds up to the problem. The unknown beep/tone that keeps on popping for who knows the reason. Summary is - dont get these until SONY fix their pair.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

These things drive me crazy!

WF-1000X 16/07/2018  (USA)

When I first got these they worked beautifully. They would pair as soon as they came out of the charger and sound was pretty good. Battery life was OK tho not the 3 hours they claimed. But after a few weeks, they started spontaneously turning themselves off and on. They pair and unpair, they start and stop spontaneously. The have become completely useless. Help!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Good earphones but limited battery life

WF-1000X 16/07/2018 by Baghdad Bob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these earphones for a month and use them every day. I charge them each evening overnight, they are fully charged in the morning but the battery is dead before I get home. I only use them for 1 hour in the morning and maybe 1-2 hours during the day but they never get through the whole day. also the instructions are useless. they need clear written explanation on how to charge them and how to use them; both earphones have on/off buttons, not clear at all what each function is.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Excellent sound, battery life very poor

WF-1000X 15/07/2018 by Thross (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had these 2 weeks and the claim is that they will give 3 hours of battery life. With noise cancellation on I have a grand time of 50 minutes. With all features disabled, 1 hour 55 mins. Not sure where the 3 hours comes from! The sound quality though is excellent, just a shame the battery life is so poor.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Nicely priced for a noise cancelling earbuds!

WF-1000X 13/07/2018 by dborg01 (United Kingdom)

I bought these almost a week ago and they have been under constant use. I use them on a plane, while cycling from and to work, while in a taxi, at home, on trains, on bus. My main uses are simply to cut out the noise at work which is a constant nuisance, to listen to music or podcasts, and to be connected with my phone mainly to answer calls and to use Siri...which I heavily use. I wanted this kind of gadget, firstly because it gives a better use of technology such as Siri. I also needed them for my workplace as the noise is too tiring. I have reviewed and re reviewed all the major brands. The outstanding differences between Sony and the rest is very simple...the rest almost never offered noise cancellation unless you are ready to have a neckband (which I am fine with but I didn't want) and unless you are ready to pay £100 or above more than the Sony cost. Some do offer better features like better battery life, water resistance, volume control and a smaller carry case. I was already thinking of buying a set in the future as the price for me at the moment was prohibitive...until I came across the Sony ones. I honestly didn't even know Sony did them and I was happy to find about it from a shop at the airport. So I thought of checking the price and the details. They had active noise cancellation and the price was superbly feasible for me! So without further questions I got them. I had Sony earphones since the 1990s. I didn't own a lot of models as they seemed indestructible...well...I still have some of them! My review...I love the sound. One of the best I have ever heard...ever....I love Bass rich sound which doesn't compromise with the mediums and high frequencies and these are perfectly balanced. They are light and comfortable enough to wear and forget and my ear sockets are quite a bit smaller than average. But using the small ear rubber provided in the package made it possible to fit them, even if they're a little tight. The noise cancellation is a great feature and it works very very well. Obviously it won't turn a noisy place into a super quiet place but my noisy workplace became very bearable especially if I allow some low music or podcast to play. The iOS app does a good job too to vary the noise cancellation level. The battery carry case gives some good extra juice for a longish trip. Haven't tested them to the full as I use over ear headphones with noise haptic feedback on a flight...I love feeling a movie rather than just listen to it. The little button on the right ear bud works great too. It helps to quickly pause music and resume when needed. It also helps to quickly skip to the next song. Taking a call seemed very good too. I could hear the caller very well and they could hear me well too. I must say that the taxi driver did mistakenly understand the place I mentioned I'm going to over the phone but I am not sure if it has anything to do with the quality of the ear buds. I can only say that I haven't tested them for long enough in this area. Overall I love them and for the price they are worthwhile. Now...the lowsides: Battery life is extremely short...too short, around 2 hours if no noise cancellation is used but with constant listening to music. The battery carry case charges the earbuds quickly and with a quick short charge you'll get a very good listening time once again. The case itself however takes a long time to recharge....and the biggest downside is that you have no way of telling how much charge is left in the carry case, sadly. This should really be taken into account. The case itself seems a bit too long but I have found that although it looks weird it's easier to carry if you are not a big person! The earbuds themselves do have one big downside....the right side cuts off a lot more than I would like I happily accept. There are many moments when listening is flawless from both sides but at moments the right just decides to keep cutting off. It did improve with the software update and by adjusting the position in my ear. Switching off and on again sometimes helps too. Performing the software update was a pain. I had to try several times and methods until I got through to it...but at least it is doable. My biggest suggestions would be a battery level indicator on the case and that the iOS App supports 3D touch on iPhones. Using 3D Touch to quickly adjust the noise cancelling level would be the perfect addition. Having a Widget and Apple Watch support, even if it is just for the volume and active noise cancellation levels would be another very powerful addition. If you are on a budget and want noise cancelling these are the earbuds for you. But Sony please hear us...please do make an App which suits us better and try to update the earbuds software to reduce the noise cutting from the right earbud! There again...these earbuds are worthwhile. I have already spoken to two of my work colleagues who are set to get them as well very soon!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Noise cancelling & Wire free!

WF-1000X 13/07/2018 by PeterFK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Audio books are clearer and no extraneous noise. The cancelling and ambient sound system is great. Stereo drops very occasionally; a bit annoying. The recharging carry box is very convenient. A great product, I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

wow

WF-1000X 12/07/2018 by Stevie65 (United Kingdom)

the headphones are awesome. fantastic sound and quality. found them very eady to et up. very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Game changer

WF-1000X 10/07/2018 by sturat (United Kingdom)

I recently purchased these after careful consideration and I made the right choice. After the initial setup they come into their own and I am impressed with the quality and sound performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Right ear issues

WF-1000X 10/07/2018 by PK9999 (USA)

Have had this now for 24 hours, and they are practically useless. I’ve done the update as advised (and as Sony think is the solution to all the worlds problems!) yet the right ear drops out every few seconds! Useless. What is the fix Sony??

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

6

4

0

Really wanted to love these...

WF-1000X 09/07/2018 by nunyazz (USA)

I really wanted to love these earbuds but... they keep disconnecting. I love the fit and the sound, but am very disappointed in the battery life and connection between each of the earbuds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic overall

WF-1000X 08/07/2018 by Kopthelot1964 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought them 5 weeks ago fantastic, i have had 4 other wireless ear phones nothing has compared to the Sony ones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Good sound, poor performance

WF-1000X 08/07/2018 by jmal86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these and like a lot of other people there is an ongoing issue with right earbud connection dropping out. Ongoing complaint with Sony about this and keep just referring me to resetting the headset...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Disappointing

WF-1000X 05/07/2018 by Mr Pizz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought these I consider Sony to be a good make. Unfortunately the earphones consistently loose connection, so one side drops out.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

10

3

0

Worse I've had

WF-1000X 05/07/2018 by Nilab06 (USA)

I've used all kinds of wireless earphones, and these are by far the worst I have ever bought. The noise canceling constant changes distorting the music. The earphones would also just cut out, or lose connection.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

It is good but could have been better

WF-1000X 03/07/2018 by Snazzle (USA)

I bought this over other competitor products because it has noise cancellation. The sound quality is great and the headsets stay put securely when I go for runs and exercise. It also charges very quickly. The bluetooth connects very easily to my Android phone. What I don't like is the short battery life (3 hours + 5hrs when charged with the case), it beeps and interrupts music when a new message arrives. I was also told that when I answer calls using this headset, the sound quality is very poor. Also, when answering calls, the sound is on mono i.e. only the left headset has audio. When charging, the headsets doesn't always snap on securely to charge. So please make sure that it snaps correctly until the light blinks. Occasionally, the right headset does not connect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No cables

WF-1000X 02/07/2018 by MX5RS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought on basis of sound quality, not disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

An unfortunate purchase

WF-1000X 29/06/2018 by Rouxster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On paper these headphones are premium - in real life they fall terribly flat. Great sound and fairly good noise cancelling. The problem, and I saw this is a general issue in other reviews as well, the right ear piece kept dropping connection with the left ear piece. This makes for a terrible listening experience. Another issue and again a commen issue on the reviews is the audio delay when watching videos. The call centre attempted to resolve the connection problem, but the problem continued. They also tried to explain that the sound delay issue is inherent with all wireless devices...not true as I owned other brand wireless earphones and they worked with no delays. Earphones should be simple and just work - having to do a song and dance detracts from an enjoyable experience. Very disappointing. I exchanged them for the Sony WH-1000xm2...they are far far far better and a redeeming product after the WI-1000x damaged the Sony brand for me

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

0

Terrible product

WF-1000X 27/06/2018 by Hahn1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product at the airport, and to be honest this is the worst impulse buy I’ve ever done. The sound is good, when it works! The drops on the right ear is so bad, doesn’t matter if I switch it to stable priority, doesn’t matter if I switch off ambient sound. When I walk it drops sporadically, I have not had one instance of continued stability unless I sit really still. The product is clearly flawed and should never have been released commercially. I’ve been a big Sony fan since I was a kid, sad to see it go this bad...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Battery life poor.

WF-1000X 27/06/2018 by Arefm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it at beginning of 2018. Battery issue raised with retailer. They’ve advised to get in touch with Sony. Sony advised upgrade. Still vv poor battery life 1,5 hours at the best. So I have to fly short haul or go to a different brand. Not good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great Sound!

WF-1000X 25/06/2018 by Atko10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound in these earphones is amazing and they are very comfortable to wear. I wouldn't recommend them for exercise though as lots of movement can make them fall out. Occasionally the right earphone can take a while to connect. Overall these are great for chilling out to your favourite tunes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Some issues, but amazing

WF-1000X 19/06/2018 by Hugo Fonseca (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The stable connection is an issue but just once or twice drops (seconds) per hour. The battery life could be better, yes, but for a noise cancelation always on Bluetooth is quite good. The videos not being in sync with the sound... Thats the major one, but hey, I use these beauties on the gym, so no videos there! It's the start of a new thing and I'm sure Sonya will improve them with updates.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Unusable

WF-1000X 18/06/2018 by IvorSony (United Kingdom)

Very bad lip synch issues with video. Constant dropping out of the right channel. Just unusable and a waste of a lot of money.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

0

Connectivity issue with bluetooth on my phone/ipad

WF-1000X 18/06/2018 by FONYs (USA)

earphones constantly disconnecting and also right earphone drop from the connection often. sound quality is ok. but the connection issue made this headphones worthless! often have to restart a few times to connect the earphones to my devices. Not worth of $xxx (which sony website prohibited us to mention on the site) at all when it;s not even working properly. Very disappointing a big brand like SONY will put out a defective product like this. With a product like this, I might as well buy a cheap wiresless headphone from an unknown brand. This will be my first and LAST time buying a SONY product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Disappointing Product

WF-1000X 07/06/2018 by SVMachado (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this premium product considering the features butin such as Noise Cancelling and BlueTooth Technology.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Below average

WF-1000X 06/06/2018 by Ernie73 (USA)

Average sound quality. Connectivity issue between IEMs, left and right keep disconnecting even after firmware update. disappointing.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Not as good as I thought

WF-1000X 05/06/2018 by Dawnus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small, perfect for my little ears, good sound quality but the right ear keeps cutting out for some reason, I’ve adjusted the settings but still it happens so will be returning them.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 04/06/2018 by David64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These earphones have a great sound quality and easy to set up and use, The one little issue with them is the right one can lose connection very briefly but hopefully this’ll get sorted with and update

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very comfortable

WF-1000X 01/06/2018 by Kit6961 (USA)

Why are you overworking just the left ear piece? I would like to use both earpieces for everything calls, music even notifications regarding battery level. please fix this in the next software upgrade.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great fit, stayed in place while slept, good sound

WF-1000X 29/05/2018 by armgusa (USA)

Got them about a week ago...Much better than expected. I tried all the possible products and competitors at the store in the airport and I found the Sony was better fit and better sound that eh Bose (and all others). Charging case is very handy. I put them on a long flight from Sao Paolo to Chicago. I slept for about 8 of the 10 hours and the little guys stay in place with no issue. Even the battery was depleted, the fact that they stay well in place helped to maintain the noise level very low. I do realize you can not have everything in a small package, but the battery life of about three hours is way too low. Typical domestic flight is 1 to 4 hours, plus boarding, deboarding, we should have 6 hours... Then I will be perfectly happy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

No chance to run with them

WF-1000X 29/05/2018 by Hazardius (USA)

No chance to run with them at least with my usual speed. Speed walking no problem but when i start to run they stay in ears maximum 1-2 min awful design. Noise-canceling 3 of 10 points. Sound quality is exponential.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

To early for market

WF-1000X 28/05/2018 by Melejohn (USA)

Not great, they definitely look cool, but don’t completley function. I left them in their charging case over the weekend and when I took them out and turned them on they told me they only had half a charge. Audio cuts in and out in the right headphone consistently, and you have to turn them each on independently but turning them off you just hit the button on the left phone. I’m not sure why when I deleted the Sony Connect app I couldn’t raise the volume on the headphones. I had to redownload it and I could control the volume again. Audio quality seems okay, I’m not to picky about my sound quality. I would say wait until Sony works out all the kinks in these before purchasing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Oh well.

WF-1000X 28/05/2018 by RJKirkman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got the WF-1000X a few weeks ago can't say I'm impressed with them, the ambiance check every 30 seconds is so noticeable it can be off putting. Handy charge box

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound, poor connectivity

WF-1000X 27/05/2018 by Rob82 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 3 weeks ago, quickly realised that the connection between the two earpieces is not strong enough, in crowded areas in particular the right earpiece will not work at all, tried sending back to retailer and raised with Sony but both said its a limitation of Bluetooth so would not allow me to return them, relegated to sitting in a drawer as no good for commuting.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Great Sound, But Critical Problems

WF-1000X 26/05/2018 by RedRocket (USA)

I have had these headphones for about 6 months. They sound great and are very comfortable to wear, but have some very serious flaws. The major problem occurred when I upgraded to firmware version 2.0.0 from 1.05. Firmware version 1.05 was very stable where I did not have dropouts while playing music, but after upgrading to version 2.0.0, the right side headphone keeps dropping out (several time for each song). This did not occur with firmware 1.05, and there is no way to revert back to the old firmware. I did find if I disabled the noise canceling/Ambient sound mode, the drop out in the right headphone stopped, but then what is the use of paying the premium price for noise cancellation if it does not work without dropping sound to the right headphone. I do not know if this is a power management issue or interference with the Bluetooth from the noise cancellation processing, but since it worked with firmware 1.05 I believe it can be fixed with firmware. The only problem is that Sony has known about this issue since 1.07 and has not fixed it. So I can only assume they have no intention of correcting the problem or they would have with this firmware release. I only wished they would allow it to be downgraded back to 1.05 or allow for an option that trades poorer battery life, but will maintain right & left connection + allow the noise cancellation to function.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great Product

WF-1000X 24/05/2018 by Ken K (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with this product the only thing i can find fault with them is i only get 2 hrs play time before thay shut down for a recharge not the 3 hrs sony list on the spec sheet and some drop out

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Avoid at all costs, majorly flawed!!

WF-1000X 24/05/2018 by ButchyB (USA)

These headphones are not fit for purpose. They constantly drop out, regardless of which mode you use. In actual fact, their performance is actually worst on the mode for Priority for Stability.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Work to be done the issues are not resolved

WF-1000X 23/05/2018 by jenglish (USA)

As with many other reviews, I read the negative but thought I'd give them a go as it appeared that Sony had found and addressed the problems...they haven't. These headphones are reviewed in places as having outstanding quality [for wireless earbuds] and this is true, but unfortunately the performance even when walking in the most friendly of surroundings [and with all updates applied] is unreliable to say the least. The issue with the right side bud dropping is still there and I have experienced total loss at times, even with 'Connection Stability over Quality' enabled...when in challenging environments such as standing on the concourse at a crowded station the performance degrades further again. I have to question whether Sony should be selling these as it appears that there are still fundamental issues with these headphones in the environments that their own marketing videos show them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great quality

WF-1000X 21/05/2018 by Fitzy006 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the sound quality ,good style, fits well in your ears

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrible. do not buy!!!

WF-1000X 18/05/2018 by MattT888898 (USA)

Bought these headphones about 2 months ago and just now getting to actually use them but would absolutely return if my window hadnt already passed. Constant issues including dying, connectivity, poor volume. DO NOT BUY! Not worth the hassle or price. Will be buying different earphones soon just wish I could get my money back

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

The most disappointing electronics purchase made

WF-1000X 18/05/2018 by Teknick (USA)

After several months of use, these headphones have taken the prize of being the single most disappointing electronics purchase made. With online reviews so prevalent, I only have myself to blame for what was a spontaneous purchase based on the 5 star WhatHiFi review (who have lost all credibility). + The sound is good, but only as good as Sony's standard entry level wired headphones. + The bluetooth connection is generally ok (the best I've tested), but sound will cut out in the slave unit if I look too far to the left (phone is in my left pocket). + Syncing with devices is easy, although must be done manually each time if changing between bluetooth outputs. + Several silicone options for customising the fit. - Poor fitting! The excessive depth of the unit means the centre of balance is outside the ear resulting in the unit falling out with even minor movement, like walking / commuting. - Battery life is poor and much shorter than advertised, even with limited usage. With a 'medium' battery level reported, they went flat within 15 minutes today. - Call quality is consistently unusable - the caller is unable to hear my voice clearly enough to maintain a conversation. - Usability is frustrating - in principle they should simple to use, but the charging station and devices buttons do not always activate correctly. Overall, these are entry level headphones with wireless connectivity added, and unfortunately the wireless functionality is not worth the additional cost. Due to poor battery, poor design and fit, and unusable call quality, I use my original wired headphones more often than these new wireless ones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Good sound quality, but lacking in other aspects

WF-1000X 17/05/2018 by zzkpt (USA)

I had the 1000X for 2 days, then I just had to return them. The sound is fine, although I got a scare when I got them working the first time connection to the phone was using SBC codec and sound quality was noticeably poor. I'm not sure what I did to fix that, but it was something in the Music Center app, or the Headphones app. The battery life, was fine for the use I had planed. The fit was good, never fell out of my ears and the seal was good too. Now, for the bad news, mine came with firmware v1.0.7 pre installed, no connection issues I can report on, but noise canceling I assure every one of you, is not a feature, at least with that firmware. No noticeable difference whether NC is ON or OFF. Now, for the really bad news, during video playback there was an awful amount of delay between image and sound, and that did it for me. I also own the WH-1000MX2 and a set of Apple Earpods (it's a bit unsettling to use these with an Android phone ahah) none of these have a noticeable delay, as such I cannot live we the shortcomings of the WF 1000X

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

When I got these I was amazed

WF-1000X 12/05/2018 by Blaine (USA)

When I got these I was amazed by the sound and how slim the carrying case/charger case

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Sound! Bad product itself.

WF-1000X 10/05/2018 by gabrielmcosta (USA)

I'm using the for the last 2 weeks. The sound is really amazing but it's almost impossible to finish a song without the sound drop at least once on right earbud. I'm thinking in refund them, what is sad because I love the design and sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Product does not deliver

WF-1000X 10/05/2018 by Di2018 (United Kingdom)

I recently purchased this product. However one ear phone does not work and to date Sony has provides no support as claimed in its product guarantee.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

VERY DISAPPOINTING

WF-1000X 08/05/2018 by Disappointed2018 (USA)

Just purchased this and am very disappointed in the battery life, the fact that you can't do/listen with only one in your ear at a time. I wanted to be able to use the right bud and keep my left ear available for land line phone calls. Can't.... Also, the volume is on my cell phone and not the buds themselves.....

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Very comfortable. Good sound.Bad battery life.

WF-1000X 05/05/2018 by Zaxdad (USA)

I really enjoy the comfort and the sound is okay for a wireless earbud. I'm only getting a little over an hour on a charge

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 03/05/2018 by Obro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this as a gift and enjoy every bit of it. It has the occasional sound drop out but it does not spoil the listening experience. It has good sound quality too for a product that size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not worth the high price....yet.

WF-1000X 01/05/2018 by halla4080 (Canada)

I had read many mixed reviews before buying these - I took a gamble. They're okay, but certainly not worth the high price tag. The biggest issue is the sound skipping/distortion. These work fine when connected to my laptop, but I was bombarded with issues when listening to music on my phone. Essentially, you have to turn off WiFi on your mobile device while you use these, otherwise the sound will constantly cut out and skip. I was extremely frustrated when I couldn't figure it out, and spent a significant amount of time digging around the Internet for answers. The battery life definitely could use improvement. I'd say they last anywhere between 2-3 hours on a full charge. The charging case itself takes about 3 hours to fully charge, so you can take it around with you and charge them on the go. The charging power in the case is good for about 2 full charges. Sound quality is average and actually disappointing for a pair of earbuds at this price point. The biggest letdown is the lack of bass. Even after downloading the Sony Headset app and adjusting the settings to Bass Boost, it's mediocre at best. The noise cancelling function is decent. Overall, they're ok, but certainly not the best headphone on the market. I can't say I'd recommend them. With some adjustments, Sony is headed in the right direction, though.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/05/2018

Hello halla4080, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about the WF-1000X. First, we want to say sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with any audio drop-out. It's honest reviews like this that help us improve our gear. We listened and a new software update has been released that should correct the audio drop-out and other items we received feedback on.

To update your device, simply use the Sony Headphones Connect app. You can check out the below link for more details. Thanks again for sharing & please be sure to let us know how the update goes!
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=WF1000X&template_id=1®ion_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab

Regards, _Bob

0

Disappointing

WF-1000X 27/04/2018 by Pamster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these for travel but when I opened the box and Googled the product they can only be charged via a computer. The instructions specifically say not to charge by the mains. AS I properly travel into very remote areas they are useless to me!

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

4

0

Battery Life needs improvement!

WF-1000X 26/04/2018 by endzoneUK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these to work out with and for travel but have found that the stated 3 house battery life depends on what you are doing with them. I have never managed to get 3 hours battery life from them and after contacting Sony support, was told that it depends on what you are doing to obtain 3 hours battery life. Sadly, it seems using the main functionality of these, ie, noise cancelling, sill reduce the battery life considerably. The best I have achieved is 2 hours but I am told this is quite normal. Sony need to sort this out as they are useless on a long journey without several charges.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound. Love the sound, the design too

WF-1000X 26/04/2018 by LLaw (USA)

I have been using the pair I bought for about a month now. I love the comfort when using them. The sound is good maybe even great. Bass is sufficient, of course, I don't expect anything of this size to offer a chest-pounding bass. Noise cancellation does work well enough. My gripe however, is that YouTube videos experiences lag and latency up to almost 2 seconds at time most of the time its about 1. Twitter videos seem slightly better just milliseconds of latency and is not at all annoying. The noise cancelling cuts of and on while switching apps. Lastly, the right bud do lose connection even when not moving and while my phone is in direct path to the right bud.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Convenient and Work Great

WF-1000X 18/04/2018 by Deepbank (Canada)

I bought these a week ago and they have worked exactly as described. The software update was easy to do through the App on my tablet. The charging can easily be done with a wall plug usb (no need for a computer). The charging case is very slick and the earbuds are easily snapped into the charging ports. The sound is great and within the app different equalizer settings can be selected. So far I prefer the mellow setting. Bluetooth connection to a tablet, cell phone and a computer have all worked flawlessly. As far as N/C goes, I haven't really had a chance to try them out in a tough environment such as a plane. Overall very pleased with these earbuds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DO THESE WORK WITH VIDEO NOW?!

WF-1000X 18/04/2018 by dcbaker (USA)

Ok, maybe I'm overly optimistic but, my headphones are starting to work with video (meaning no lag) now and they haven't been doing that before. Is this something you guys are working on? Other than that, my only complaint is sometimes the connection drops when I'm walking around campus. Solid product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Terrific Travel

WF-1000X 14/04/2018 by normanfgreen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not my first wireless earbuds but the first with active noise cancelling. Tested that on the tube last week. Great sound (excellent for my 67 year old ears) and wonderful noise cancelling. Putting buds into case is very positive. Fooled me at first (so did not charge) but now I have a two-click technique, I know the earbuds are secure and charging (which is reinforced with flashing indicators).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2