31

3.6 based on 31 customer reviews

12
8
4
2
5
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Device let down by small battery

16GB 13/02/2021 by NukeYourNanny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything about this device is stellar from the listening experience and having lots of settings to tweak the music at your fingertips. However for some reason shuffle is hidden in the settings? Which makes no sense as its a feature that i find is used more often than loop track. Also the battery life is less than expected from a device that is designed to be able to connect to the internet. When all battery saving modes are turned on it only lasts about 2 days with small amounts of use. A beefier battery would go really far to make it a better product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

An Unfortunate Disappointment

NW-A100 SERIES 16/10/2020 by CoD WaW (USA)

I recently purchased this device to use for music and podcast listening on-the-go, which I do frequently. As in, I need a device that I can use each and every day and rely on to be there for me wherever I go. The Sony A100 Walkman totally disappointed me. I had heard of this device's reputation for poor battery life but it actually turned out even worse than I'd heard. I've done everything I can to conserve the battery, but this thing just won't stay alive long enough to satisfy my needs. I have an 8+ year old iPod that lasts LITERALLY 3-4 times the duration of the Sony A100. I am actually shocked at how this could be possible. Even if all I do is listen to podcasts and music OFFLINE the battery isn't sufficient to last a full day (using the device at the gym and at work). I don't mind having to charge a device each day since I would do that anyway, but it's just incredible that this wasn't designed to last a full day of someone who has a lot of listening time. Totally baffled by this. And as every other person in the world has said, if you enable Wi-Fi and do any sort of streaming this device will drain even faster. If you only listen to one or two hours of music/other media each day this device will suit you. I found the interface a bit laggy/unresponsive but not too much so, just not as good as my smartphone. But anyway as I said, this was a total disappointment to me and I'm sorry that an otherwise pretty neat product is nearly utterly ruined by a single flaw.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

32 Customer Reviews

0

Not so good for the cost

16GB 11/04/2021 by grumpy54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thought being Sony would be simple to use. However, my PC won't allow me to transfer anything to this device so am facing yet more expenses so I am very angry about this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

5 Star Sound Quality

16GB 28/03/2021 by thepars85 (United Kingdom)

I have owned a Sony NWZ-X1060 for many years and have not found another MP3 player that matches the sound quality.... Until now. The NW-A105 is brilliant. The sound clarity is amazing. Yes, it's more expensive than an A35/45 etc, but worth every penny for the sound. The battery life is an issue, but if you use this as music player and not for looking at cats doing funny things on YouTube then it's okay. The update has helped and with the WiFi disabled you'll get some extra playback time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not for Apple MAC Users - A100 Walkman® A Series

16GB 03/03/2021 by warneshall (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not user-friendly for Apple MAC users. Overall not a bad piece of kit if you are working via MS Windows. Somewhat less functional on the Apple MAC. On windows, the software is available that will effectively manage the Walkman interface. No such software available for the MAC OS, other than a 3rd party widget that allows you to transfer audio - and that's about it. The player lacks some fundamental features, for example, you can not create playlists on the device. In fact, the only way to create a playlist is via the Windows Walkman app. No feature yet available for Mac users, so, no playlists!!!. Other niggles include: Systems menu is well hidden unless your eyesight is keen and spot the cog-wheel, watch out for the voice interface feature - the pop up blocks access to key configuration options and you are unable to select or changee them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Great Product

16GB 25/02/2021 by kevdel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only faults with this product very poor battery life takes a long time to charge 4hrs android side should have had a better processor

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

A mixed bag

16GB 19/02/2021 by Uncle Monty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

2 stars for the great sound and 1 star for the wonderful tape cassette graphics but stars deducted for the pointless Android OS - it's not necessary to have phone apps on a music player, keep it simple! - and, worst of all, the annoyance that half my files are listed as 'unknown' with no artist, album or artwork - my Astell & Kern player has no problem with this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Great!!!!!!!

NW-A100 SERIES 16/02/2021 by Serg666 (USA)

this is bomb !!! I recommend, really cool player !!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Device let down by small battery

16GB 13/02/2021 by NukeYourNanny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything about this device is stellar from the listening experience and having lots of settings to tweak the music at your fingertips. However for some reason shuffle is hidden in the settings? Which makes no sense as its a feature that i find is used more often than loop track. Also the battery life is less than expected from a device that is designed to be able to connect to the internet. When all battery saving modes are turned on it only lasts about 2 days with small amounts of use. A beefier battery would go really far to make it a better product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Poor battery

16GB 05/02/2021 by Mike192325 (United Kingdom)

The biggest problem i have with is the battery life it could be better

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Good MP3 Player

16GB 26/01/2021 by MadHactch (United Kingdom)

Good all round MP3 player and Audio device. Great for music and audio books.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound and All the Benefits of Streaming

16GB 16/01/2021 by Wightknight (United Kingdom)

I am really pleased with my Walkman. The sound quality is excellent, particularly now that I have bought Sony WH-H910N headphones. The sound quality on this device is significantly better than my mobile phone, with a much better soundstage and loads of extra detail. As often happens with good hi-fi products, you end up enjoying music you know well afresh and notice many new elements to it. I don't buy that much music now and mainly use Spotify, so the ability to stream music is wonderful. I have downloaded dozens of albums to the device so I have plenty to listen to when not connected to Wi-Fi. (When this product was first released, the sound quality of streamed services was restricted, but this was corrected in one of the updates.) Two small criticisms. First, the battery life. This player is half the size of a mobile phone so the battery must be tiny. I expect to get several hours playback from a full charge, but I need to keep a regular eye on the battery levels and recharge whenever I get the chance. Second, Android updates. It runs Android 9 which is OK, but it desperately needs the battery usage improvements that came with versions 10 and 11. Sony would do well to update this device as soon as possible.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best MP3 player on the planet

16GB 15/01/2021 by raymikid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was apprehensive about buying this walkman as there were a lot of negative reviews regarding the battery life. I will not lie, most of these are right, the battery life is relatively poor. However, the sound from this player is amazing! OK, at most you can expect around 9 hours playtime with airport mode on, but do not underestimate the sound of this little dynamo, it is fantastic. Even with its failing, I thoroughly recommend it 100%. The extra expense is definitely worth it. Trust me it's brilliant!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Brilliant piece of electronics with a fatal flaw

16GB 09/01/2021 by mfpeters (United Kingdom)

I have had my walkman for a year. It's almost brilliant - the sound quality (I use it with wired Sennheiser headphones) is outstanding. I use it for listening to Qobuz and even though I have heard that it is downsampling the hi-res if you use it for anything that isn't played with the walkman app itself, it's still gorgeous sound. However, it has a flaw. The European and South Korean models have a volume limiter. On a regular basis it drops the volume to 50 (out of 120) which is too low for my headphones. And if you try to set it up again, it presents a message telling you to click on a dialog screen that isn't there. The only way to clear it is to reboot the machine. Sometimes I have to do that twice in 20 minutes. It's completely unacceptable. I have reported it to Sony support but they have been useless - I supply everything they ask for but I get the feeling they are just not even reading what I am sending them. Their level of technical support is on the level of "did you try turning it off and on again". It's a software issue which they just don't seem to be clued up to fix. So I love it when it's working and hate it when it does the volume drop thing. I can't recommend buying one and would not buy one from Sony again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

0

Brilliant

16GB 27/12/2020 by dantman48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My son loves this, packed full of features..Battery when connected to WiFi isn’t great but that doesn’t take away from everything else

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome

16GB 24/12/2020 by pubicko (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best technological gadget in the last decade. I am very pleased and I absolutely love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Shouldn't have been marketed

16GB 14/12/2020 by Coriolan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I don't know how this product passed Sony's in-house testing. Battery life laughable, volume insufficient; my Galaxy Note 8 smartphone sounds better. Very disappointed with brand, Sony standards seem to be falling.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

11

0

Excellent little media player.

16GB 10/11/2020 by Retro_Rabbit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using my A105 for about 6months as I write this review, it's an excellent little media player. I bought an Android player because I wanted the ability to stream and d/load new music, rather than just transfer music from my collection, so the ability to install streaming apps was an essential feature. I find the player very easy to use and with the streaming capability, I'm also finding new tunes to play, so all good. The player connects easily with my car, headphones, buds and speakers using Bluetooth or I can also use USB C or a stereo jack cable. Charging via USB C is fast. I'd definitely recommend this player, bung in a decent memory card and take your tunes wherever you want to listen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound.

16GB 27/10/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well built. Would have given 5 stars but for the short battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

An Unfortunate Disappointment

NW-A100 SERIES 16/10/2020 by CoD WaW (USA)

I recently purchased this device to use for music and podcast listening on-the-go, which I do frequently. As in, I need a device that I can use each and every day and rely on to be there for me wherever I go. The Sony A100 Walkman totally disappointed me. I had heard of this device's reputation for poor battery life but it actually turned out even worse than I'd heard. I've done everything I can to conserve the battery, but this thing just won't stay alive long enough to satisfy my needs. I have an 8+ year old iPod that lasts LITERALLY 3-4 times the duration of the Sony A100. I am actually shocked at how this could be possible. Even if all I do is listen to podcasts and music OFFLINE the battery isn't sufficient to last a full day (using the device at the gym and at work). I don't mind having to charge a device each day since I would do that anyway, but it's just incredible that this wasn't designed to last a full day of someone who has a lot of listening time. Totally baffled by this. And as every other person in the world has said, if you enable Wi-Fi and do any sort of streaming this device will drain even faster. If you only listen to one or two hours of music/other media each day this device will suit you. I found the interface a bit laggy/unresponsive but not too much so, just not as good as my smartphone. But anyway as I said, this was a total disappointment to me and I'm sorry that an otherwise pretty neat product is nearly utterly ruined by a single flaw.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Very complicated to use and low volume

16GB 30/07/2020 by Peperami66 (United Kingdom)

I am trying to play my Tidal music on a HiDef device, I was advised that this was the one, but it was a waste of money. Way too hard to work out the storage etc, the lock doesn’t work, so tracks keep jumping, and the volume is very low

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

5

14

0

40 Year Nostalgia Trip

NW-A100TPS 08/07/2020 by Gofmeister (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the 40 Year Anniversary model (NW-A100TPS) and absolutely love it. The sound is amazing through my Sony Headphones, it's a lovely thing to hold when in it's Retro Case, and the Cassette Screen Saver is really clever as it changes according to the file quality you are listening to. I pinned the music player app to make it feel less Android and more Retro Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

A105 Walkman - One month later

NW-A100TPS 05/04/2020 by pug205 (United Kingdom)

I bought my Walkman - A105 on month ago.. Purchased a 128GB Ultra Micro sd card, so do use the on board memory as the 16gb is not big enough for music, as this device is Android based operations uses this availible internal memory. Presently using google play music and alos backing up my cd collection using Sony's Music Centre on a windows based pc. A little inconventent as i'm using a mac and I thought Sony would make this available for mac users as well. The software is fast and easy to use and tranfers quickly to the walkman, you just need a windows base pc. My only bug bare is the battery life. I did read a previous comment about this and thought it would't be a issue. But it is a issue and best adivce is to switch off wifi and put the device in to battery saving mode. does help. I'd love to buy a walkman case, but this seems expensive and not available in the uk, looks as if the genuine part is availible from Japan only. Headphones, which ones to purchase !! with NC function. Yet again, seems as the only ear buds recommened are the IER-NW510n which seem to be available from Japan only. I did find a pair of NC31E (Ebay ~£20) and these work really well and including the Noise Cancelling (probably cuts 95% of background noise). I'm in no rush so i'll keep looking around for the best deals. What i've noticed is I'm not using my smart phone for music and now I have my music in one place. Enjoy, Music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

4

0

Exellent Walkman

16GB 01/04/2020 by Dom1da (United Kingdom)

Fantastic Portable Hi-Res Player. excellent sound when combined with WH-1000XM3 headphones. Good battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Very good sound, very good product, but expensive

16GB 23/03/2020 by StefRod1 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros: Great sound, portable, good UI, Android allows to use Spotify and other apps; equalizer applies to walkman as well as applications (Spotify, Youtube, etc, which is AMAZING). Cons: Battery life is not the greatest even after system update (in fact I think the 2nd update reduced the battery life vs the 1st update); a 10-Band equalizer (or even more bands, or parametric EQ, to tweak the bass region) would be great, maybe in a future update? A more powerful amp would make it more versatile and beat the competition. The price, at time of purchase (but seems to have decreased since then).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/03/2020

Hi StefRod1, We appreciate your feedback about your A105 Walkman. We will forward your feedback to the relevant team. -Sam

0

Storage Woes Lead to Disappointment

NW-A100 SERIES 28/02/2020 by MSonyFL (USA)

Sony has blocked the ability to format SD Cards as Internal Storage on this Walkman, which means that if you plan on downloading hi-res music files from apps like Tidal this will be impossible because you will quickly run out of the internal storage and be unable to transfer the app and its files to the SD card. Very disappointing!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

11

0

Great sound but big issues spoil the enjoyment.

16GB 27/01/2020 by Catscorner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The NW-A105 was a Christmas gift to replace my aging Sony NWZ-E436F which has served me well and will continue to in the car. The sound the NW-A105 produces is excellent. The addition of the Android OS allows for use of online music subscription services such as Amazon Music, although an additional SD card is a requirement as this quickly eats up the 16gb internal storage. My big issue is that there is no way to control the volume other than via the buttons on the machine itself. I have had this confirmed by Sony Customer Service. For such an expensive piece of kit, it's my view that you should have the ability to be able to use inline volume control earphones. It is also disappointing that if you try and use Bluetooth earphones the "sound adjustment" options are unavailable. So while this Wallman can produce a great sound, it's not easy to actually benefit from and enjoy it. The battery life is not brilliant, even when Bluetooth and Wi-Fi are switched off. Another design flaw is that the device switches itself on when you charge it. If you fail to switch it off when charging is finished, expect the battery to be at least half dead when you go to use it. All these points are why I have only given 3 stars. I was expecting so much from this device and I have been sadly disappointed. Oh and a final point, you have to use the Sony software to transfer music files onto the device in order for the Library to recognise them. Unfortunately the software is a nightmare to use and loves to place all the 1st tracks of CDs into an "Unknown Artist" folder and labelling them unknown tract, unknown album etc. Prepare to spend a long time editing tract information and merging them back into the correct CD folder.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

31

13

0

Good features

16GB 04/01/2020 by Markslzn50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using my sony walkman NW-A105 for a week now. The bluetooth is brilliant and connects everytime, not sure about the battery life as it seems to not last as long as I thought so a bit disappointed there, sound and features are great ,but could do with fewer apps being ore- installed, and left for the owner to choose

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

10

0

Very poor and disappointing

NW-A100 SERIES 20/12/2019 by Acis (USA)

There are several very significant flaws with this player unfortunately. Outside the default music player, while it is suggested you can stream tidal, for example, it is actually completely impractical to do so. As soon as the screen goes to sleep, the music starts to skip and stutter. It’s unlistenable. Doesn’t happen with stored music but there you are stuck using the “clear audio” enhancement if you hope to get any presence or volume from music. All other settings make the music sound very far away. The battery is racing to run out as quickly as possible. It’s unbelievable how poor it is. Surely a slightly bigger form factor and a player that lasted more than a few hours would have been a better proposition. I really genuinely wish I never bought this, it’s been a terrible disappointment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

23

20

0

Constant companion

NW-A100TPS 10/12/2019 by OMGM (United Kingdom)

Sony MP3 players are the best. This is my fifth. I was a radio professional and now am a mobile dj. Walkman makes preparing my crate for each set a positive pleasure. I wish accessing sd card content was easier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

18

3

0

Good Sound/Build. Low Volume/Battery Life

16GB 07/12/2019 by Matt7678777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the sound on this and it's built well. However, the volume capping (yet again) let this down. It's important to have that extra headroom but it doesn't deliver. The battery life isn't great but kinda expected. Quite pricey for the things that let it down.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

19

0

Solid build and some great features

16GB 18/11/2019 by Jafster119 (United Kingdom)

The NW-A100 series is a palm-sized rigid aluminium unit thats got a 3.6in touchscreen, and it uses many of the same high quality audio components as the ZX line. That includes the fine sound resistor chosen for its delicate handling of audio detail. It offers somewhere between nine and 26 hours of battery life, depending upon whether you also use noise cancelling or ambient sound modes. Ok the screen is nice and vibrant great for watching YouTube videos or anything else that you would like to put in using the web browser at hand. I use a few apps where I would usually drain the battery on my phone for but now I use this and I must say I’m really pleased with it. The Android 9.0 OS gives access to all of your favourite music streaming apps, but the Walkman app itself is great. Bottom line it’s a little expensive just as all tech is but when Sony builds something it usually of very high quality for that reason I am a big Sony fan. Oh well on waiting for ps5

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

20

4

0

Superb Music Player +

16GB 17/11/2019 by MoggieP (United Kingdom)

When I received the NW-A105 I was immedietly impressed with its style and build quality. It feels solid in the hand and heavy enough to know it is still in your pocket. You could say it is a music player first and a mini-android tablet second as it has Android 9 (Pie) loaded as an operating system. However the display is small and using the NW-A105 as a small tablet (using the built in Wi-Fi) is tiring on the eyes. Given that the NW-A105 is sold as a Walkman its design and functions fit its purpose perfectly. The system is intuitive to use with infrequent reference to the online or printed manuals. WiFi and Bluetooth work very well with no problems connecting to WiFi or various Bluetooth devices (Sony and non-Sony Products). The output quality from the NW-A105 is excellent with lots options for adjustment of sound settings, volume levels are easily set and adjusted to suit my needs. Adding music files to the player is a drag and drop process using file explorer although Sony software is available to rip, access and load files on the player. Anyone with a large music collection may need to expand the memory which is easy with a micro-sd card. A minor issue for perfectionists is the need to name album artwork with the same name as the music folder name to enable the artwork to be shown on the player. Playing the music is a simple process using the Walkman software pre-loaded on the player, however as the NW-A105 can access the Google Play Store alternatives are available to download. Charging the player is simple with the provided cable either through a PC or a USB charger. Battery life seems reasonable although you are advised to disable WiFi and Bluetooth when not in use and also to power off the player when not in use. I can recommend this product to anyone who loves music and does not need the phone connectivity.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

24

1

0

Dead on Arrival

16GB 17/11/2019 by Dragonthoughts (United Kingdom)

When I received this Walkman, I unwrapped it, looked at the getting started guide and connected it to my PC for 6 hours to charge before use. It never charged and was never able to be switched on. As instructed I held the power button for 10 seconds. In case the "hold" button had shifted, I moved it and repeated. In case it was a PC issue, I connected it to a basic charger, using its own power lead. Same results. To say I am disappointed is a complete understatement.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

29