Starting at

$109.99

115

4.2 based on 115 customer reviews

59
34
12
1
9
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Brill sound

8GB 26/11/2016 by keithie 207 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a walkman when it was tapes this one is avast impovement

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A Massive Backwards Step.

NW-E390 SERIES 14/03/2018 by BadSonySonic (USA)

I previously owned the NWZE450 and wanted to stick with Sony when the device got busted. This was the only one I could find on the market at the same/equivalent price range. Boy, what a turkey. No voice recorder. Cheaper design. Terrible terrible terrible.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

115 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Easy to use

8GB 21/05/2018 by Bella zack (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent little gadget - great to use and looks good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

8GB 17/05/2018 by Jandog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with this device, I have a car which can only support a usb music system I used memory stick to play my music which wasn't working, I have loaded my music C/ds onto the Walkman which plugs in & away I go, excellent sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fine not as loud as I'd like though

8GB 14/05/2018 by Ms Person (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's fine but it's not as loud as my iPod when I plug it into my mini rig. Also I would prefer if it was incased in metal like my iPod is because it looks like it could easily be broken or crushed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Can't transfer playlists

NW-E390 SERIES 11/05/2018 by Conrad73 (USA)

My computer will not allow me to transfer WMP playlists, in part because the wrong driver pops up for the device. I've been trying for days to download the correct one, and it is nowhere to be found on Sony's site that I can find...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to operate

8GB 11/05/2018 by Dunelm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a previous model that was stolen, this is a good model not as versatile as my previous one - I cannot remember model number, and a bit more plasticy, but the sound is very good easy to load music on to, (much easier than an IPod I had) and the earphones are far far better. On the whole a good buy, just wish it had some of the features of previous model where you could make your own bookmarks list.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cheap plastic and no blue tooth

NW-E390 SERIES 03/05/2018 by JACKIE56 (Canada)

Bought because my nano is dying. Didn't even load music to it as it does not have blue tooth capabilities for my headphones. This day and age it should have that capability.

Design

Poor

0

0

0

Great sound

8GB 30/04/2018 by Mr Blue Sky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago and not disappointed. Easy to upload music and great sound quality. Might need to change the headphones as the ones supplied are entry level-maybe an offer to upgrade from Sony?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Doesn't recognise albums settings

8GB 30/04/2018 by Mack gooner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although the sound is good, it does not recognises some album songs settings and I find that some songs are being stored in an "Unknown" album folder.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor quality headphones

16GB 28/04/2018 by PhotoGuy1 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this walkman for a gift this past Christmas. One earbud failed to work within 3 months of just casual usage. I look after and handle my electronics with great care. Very dissatisfied with its quality of headphones provided with the unit.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/04/2018

Hi PhotoGuy1, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your walkman. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. You can reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and let us see how we can improve your experience. -Erin

0

Easy to use

8GB 27/04/2018 by Taste (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced my previous one, easy to use and load up music onto. Decent sound. Though this version a bit plasticity compared to by previous model which was metal.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good, apart from one major flaw

8GB 27/04/2018 by HairyOne (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to transfer music, excellent quality of reproduction and easy to use. Problem is that it is far too easy to switch it on accidentally. It needs a better design to prevent such accidental use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use and download music

8GB 12/04/2018 by Daglish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Update for my previous model which died in Madeira after many years good service

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lightweight & Compact

8GB 03/04/2018 by captken (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am pleased with the Walkman and intend to use it mainly on holidays

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Small, lightweigh but very flexible and powerful.

8GB 31/03/2018 by bob491 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the player 2 weeks ago and set it up fairly quickly , Had some diffiulty downloading the Musiccentre programme used in association with the player but that was quickly sorted by Sony Help.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value and Ideal for Music on the Move

8GB 31/03/2018 by anthony1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not had an MP3 before and was a little wary about ordering the Sony Walkman after reading a number of negative comments concerning below average quality and performance. However, I have had many Sony products over the years which have always proved reliable and, as the average review score was more than adequate, I decided to go ahead. I have to say that I am glad that I did as I am delighted with the look and feel of this Walkman and the ease of use for a complete novice like myself. I took advantage of downloading the Sony help guide instructions and also the Sony Music Centre for PC and using both, together with the Walkman, I have immediately mastered downloading my CD collection, adding newly purchased singles from Amazon and organizing different playlists.Not bad for a complete 68 year old dummy! No complaints at all other than having to additionally purchase a small case and charging plug for it separately.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

8GB 28/03/2018 by Eas8 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this specifically for when I go to the gym. Very easy to use and download music onto. My downloads were mostly from cds. I found it a bit more difficult transferring music already on the computer but ok when I got the hang of it. Most of the help us online. Minimal paperwork with item. Quality of sound is good and volume control also good. Have now used it in the card and very pleased with the result. It is nice and light, very near so easy to take with you anywhere. Great Value.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but powerful

8GB 23/03/2018 by Stephen 958 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delighted with my Sony Walkman MP3 player - so easy to download music to, so easy to find the album or track I want to play & the sound quality is superb, even through the small earphones. Taking it for its first holiday in 3 weeks' time - can't wait to field test it!! A great buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unfit for purpose

8GB 19/03/2018 by MikeInLeeds (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an older Walkman - which served well for years. The new NW-E394 is wholly unable to provide adequate sound output in outdoor conditions when listening to anything but rock & pop music. It cannot cope with the range of sound output required for classical music. Disabling the AVLS does little to help, since the upper volume limit is too low. I have not experienced the same issue with Apple devices recently purchased. Sony really need to rethink this product. A very unsatisfactory purchase! Incidentally, while EU regulations are cited as the reason for this deficiency, the EU make it clear that the user should be able to over-ride the AVLS restriction. Sony just make it impossible to achieve any real improvement in sound output once AVLS is "off".

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

A Massive Backwards Step.

NW-E390 SERIES 14/03/2018 by BadSonySonic (USA)

I previously owned the NWZE450 and wanted to stick with Sony when the device got busted. This was the only one I could find on the market at the same/equivalent price range. Boy, what a turkey. No voice recorder. Cheaper design. Terrible terrible terrible.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Great little player

8GB 01/03/2018 by Ginge1970 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My friend had one of these, and while I downloaded 8GB of music onto it it got me thinking that I wanted one too. So I bought one and haven't looked back. I haven't used the radio function cos I don't really need it, but the quality of the downloads is great and I can listen to all my favourite music anytimeI want to.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quality sound

8GB 22/02/2018 by Stephen 52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loads of memory. I can easily store all my music. Easy to use and quality sound with a good bass. I recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great product, it has all the features I require.

8GB 19/02/2018 by gardeningchris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product is easy to use & handle.Ideal for listening music anywhere.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Music all day and every day

8GB 19/02/2018 by Earl69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it on holiday and found it a god send to idle away hours of boredom on plane journeys and during quiet moments to myself. With excellent sound quality and ease of use it has replaced my ancient MP3 player and enhanced my mobile access to my favourite music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good battery life

8GB 15/02/2018 by talking book (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with it so far. It “pops” when turn it on which I’m not keen on, but otherwise good sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Performs as expected.

8GB 15/02/2018 by andrewc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Walkman is easy to operate, the sound quality is good. It 'does what it says on the tin'.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Walkman

8GB 03/02/2018 by Nikon tog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little mp3 player good sound and easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and Great Quality

8GB 03/02/2018 by Tony 48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for my wife. She loves it, easy to use and normal good Sony quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the shuttle mode,

8GB 01/02/2018 by ElSid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this as a gift at Christmas,have added many songs onto it,quality sound and easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

8GB 29/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already have a Sony walkman so decided to buy one for my wife becuase they are very reliable and easy to use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony walkman

NW-E390 SERIES 27/01/2018 by Michel1961 (Canada)

My wife bought this for me for xmas and a pair of sony earphones and the earphone's pause and changing song's button doesn't work with this mp3 wish sony could do something for me on this matter

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good design

NW-E390 SERIES 25/01/2018 by nik0007 (USA)

Bought this 7 months before,and still works! Very good design + ease of access.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sounds.

8GB 18/01/2018 by beej (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this for a birthday present and am really pleased with its features and its sound reproduction.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It can play music.

8GB 16/01/2018 by Loosen (United Kingdom)

It was a long awaited present and hoped very much to have good podcast down loading.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love my Sony products

8GB 15/01/2018 by ex jenny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my third Sony Walkman, My second one I am still using and the last was a Christmas present, which I use as a back-up (should my other one need charging) I use these specifically for audio books., as I am not into music. Would not be without them. I do find the manuals a bit difficult to understand as I am not overly computer literate (being 83-years old) and need things spelt out to me in non-computer jargon. But I love my Walkman products, my other being a Sony E-reader.Love my Sony Product

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great and easy to use

8GB 12/01/2018 by Jen01 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few months ago and put it away for a Christmas present. It is compact and easy to use, perfect for my child when outdoors. The only downfall which I hadn't realised when I bought it is that it does not have blue tooth.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Using my Sony digital Walkman

8GB 10/01/2018 by noneentity (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am listening to the excellent radio now, easy tuning and other controls. sometimes it switches itself on , but that's not too much to worry about

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing

8GB 10/01/2018 by jguk_56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought to replace and older model which was having battery problems. Sadly the new model is not nearly as good - radio reception is pretty dire (the older one is great) and less features now. I

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

I love it

8GB 09/01/2018 by hucyb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this device as a Christmas gift. I like it. All music sounds good. I have one problem only: I cannot copy musics from online source such as Deezer or Spotify. Hopefully, you (and the stream sources) will solve this problem in the nearest future. Thanks

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Walkman For Me

8GB 07/01/2018 by WalkmanLover (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this as a present for Christmas and was so happy. I have downloaded a lot of music and it plays well and has a good design and set up. However, it is sensitive and looses battery quickly. Either way, it is a product which I like and I'm going to enjoy using it further.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0