Starting at

$109.99

147

4.1 based on 147 customer reviews

74
39
16
4
14
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

147 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Neat format

8GB 18/09/2018 by Zluggo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Product has one fault and that is its low battery capacity.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Walkman

8GB 10/09/2018 by XPR_TECH (United Kingdom)

I PREVIOUSLY HAD A WALKMAN DIGITAL PLAYER WHICH FOR THE PRICE IS AN EXCELLENT PRODUCT AND AS I LISTEN TO A LOT OF MUSIC IS IDEAL FOR ME

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good unit

8GB 09/09/2018 by dave1945 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good but could do with a better on/off switch as it tends to switch on in my pocket,if i have not used it for a couple of days,when i come to use it the battery is flat,apart from that it is easy to use ,i have bad hearing but it is loud enough for me

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great easy to use, very user friendly

8GB 06/09/2018 by Seela (United Kingdom)

Much better than my previous mp3 player. Would recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very natty product

8GB 05/09/2018 by robin46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am absolutely delighted with this wonderful device. It is small and very portable and the sound through my headphones is absolutely great. I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is mad about music wherever they are.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not good.

8GB 31/08/2018 by johnnie27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After half an hour or so of working, the buttons start doing functions they should not do.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Easy to use

8GB 30/08/2018 by Tigger29 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product and easy to use. Only sorry it is not Bluetooth capable as this would enhance its usability

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple to use; great sound

8GB 27/08/2018 by Kal 62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my 6 year old niece who has found it simple to use and loves that the screen tells here exactly what she's listening to. She's using it for pleasure but will also be using it to provide music to practice her dancing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid mp3 device

8GB 23/08/2018 by sonyfiend (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I good example of an mp3 player. Small, easy to use, great sound quality, good sized storage, clear display. cons: quality of the plastic used to construct seems tacky (but makes it lightweight), buttons could be more pronounced to help to feel each button without looking at it. thats it though. great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Walkman mp3 player

8GB 22/08/2018 by Ragsta1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice little mp3 player. Has very good sound. Battery charge lasts a long while. So easy to put music on from pc. The only thing i am not happy about is the on button because it is so finger light sensitive touch that it keeps turning its self on in my pocket.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

wonderful

8GB 20/08/2018 by hevmama (United Kingdom)

it was a present from my daughter. it is easy to use...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony MP3 player, could be better

4 GB 19/08/2018 by JayC123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this over a month ago and it is fine for play mp3's and wma but is a let down with some of the buttons being too flat and unresponsive, a pain when all you want to do is power off. It also cuts down the volume on occasion. A feature I could do with out.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Perfect for my Musical Needs

NW-E390 SERIES 15/08/2018 by LionP (USA)

I bought my NWZ-E385 (16GB) a few years ago because I just wanted a player for my second vehicle (first vehicle is using an old iPhone 4 as a player... and nothing else). Don't want to tie up my phone to play music - wanted a nice, compact player with adequate storage for just music and this is perfect for me. Play through an FM radio transmitter so I can listen to it on the vehicle's audio system (no aux input). Sony isn't the only brand I trust, but I've been buying their products a long time and have been happy with every one. The only thing I don't like on this Walkman are the locations of the Back and Option buttons. If I want to skip a song while driving, I'm keeping my eyes on the road and doing it just by feeling - hard to tell exactly what my finger is touching. But if I hit a slight bump in the road, my finger will accidentally touch the Option button. Not a show-stopper, just annoying - that's all. Anyway, you can by a cheaper product, but I'm certain this will last a long time. And Sony's updated Content Transfer app for Mac works a lot better than the original version.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

8GB 12/08/2018 by Annie58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a sony walkman to replace my ipod which was damaged in the weekly wash. I like it better as the battery lasts much longer. The sound quality is great too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Product

8GB 11/08/2018 by Dena888 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the Sony Walkman many years ago when they first came out and have just purchased another one - my original still works tho but I need another one for my car. They are the best products I have ever owned along this line. We live in the country and my Walkman picks up all the radio stations I want to listen to. Also, it's really easy to download my music onto. Thanks Sony for continuing to make this product without changing the commands - it's very familiar and I don't have to learn new commands, etc. to use it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

iPod replacement

8GB 08/08/2018 by grw59 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my awkward to use/upload iPod

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

8GB 08/08/2018 by washer1944 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my old mp3 player clad i did

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Functional

8GB 06/08/2018 by Frogprince (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for a specific purpose and it did what it was designed to

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

unexpected disappointment

16GB 26/07/2018 by RonC1 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product required download of Music Center for PC - I did not like what this did to my music files. Too much time wasted to uninstall and repair file system. Then when use Explorer to drag and drop music, it is only available in 'Folder' without album art. Also I experience sound dropout when song # changes. I own Walkman NWZ-E355 which is excellent product. Thought this would be similar, but NO!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/07/2018

Hello RonC1, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These feedbacks are very much welcome for further improvements to our products and we are more than happy to take a look at this matter.
Regards, _Bob

0

A letdown

NW-E390 SERIES 22/07/2018 by The Grackle (Canada)

I purchased this model last week after my much older model - the NWZ-E354 took a bad fall (one of many over the past ten years) that it didn't wake up from. Much to my dismay this newer model does not meet, let alone exceed any facet of the old one which I think runs counter to the point of making a newer model. The NW-E394 is inferior to the older E354 in not only operation, UI, and of course most importantly the audio quality, but the FM tuner is also seems to be weaker. The cherry on the cake is the surprisingly cheap build of the device body itself. I'm disappointed in Sony. If they were unwillingly to spend money on new affordable mp3 players/FM tuners then why not just continue producing the older, better models with a few tweaks (larger storage, updated inputs)? To be honest I would have rather purchased a used old NWZ E-354, scratches and all.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Player

8GB 21/07/2018 by Rod H (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace one i have had for a few years. For the cost i would have hoped it had lasted longer

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great addition to my Walkman collection

8GB 20/07/2018 by Vgrr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with my new Walkman and it is so easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Could Be Much Better

8GB 12/07/2018 by Unutterable (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is supposed to have 8G memory, but only displays 5.9G. The battery does not last a long time. The sound is not great. There is no suitable case for it. It is rather expensive for what it is, giving me the feeling that I have paid for the brand name and not for the good qualities that the product should have.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Good quality and easy to use

8GB 11/07/2018 by Clive R (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not being particularly techno-minded, I wanted something easy to use but of good quality and this does both! Simple to drop tunes from computer to player and has huge memory.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Smart item

8GB 09/07/2018 by Klinkhammer (United Kingdom)

Exactly what I wanted and very easy to use especially for beginners

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use, not perfect though

16GB 09/07/2018 by UG_SOGMC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Click and drop songs from Macs works well. Playlists are inefficient though. After building the playlist on computer software, it duplicates the songs in the playlist, depleting available memory rapidly. 8.7GB of music ended up occupying over 12GB due to this method. Playlisting would be much more efficient through tagging the library items with a playlist tag-mapping the songs instead of duplicating them. This is why the design aspect was rated at 2 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nomy favorite

NW-E390 SERIES 20/06/2018 by Listen (Canada)

I've had this for several years. The charge only lasts about 6 hours. Sometimes the charge shows total charge but when used it indicates only 1/3 charged.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Not nearly as good as the old model

NW-E390 SERIES 17/06/2018 by Stacey23 (Canada)

Bought this about a month ago, and the shuffle doesn’t work. Very disappointing as that is always how I listened with my old model. I would not recommend this unit

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/06/2018

Hello Stacey23, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Kindly refer to the troubleshooting steps on the links below to isolate and fix the issue:
http://helpguide.sony.net/dmp/nwe390/v1/en/contents/TP0000877550.html
http://helpguide.sony.net/dmp/nwe390/v1/en/contents/TP0000892280.html
Regards, _Bob

0

Very painful earphones hence 1 star

8GB 17/06/2018 by NO WAY NO HOW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ear phone that bad they hurt, could not use until I had replaced them, really not happy that I have had to spend more money to get different ones. Shame really. Shame it also took ages to register product, no help from sony to solve. Player ok, phones terrible and I do mean TERRIBLE

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Does not show videos

16GB 15/06/2018 by Ikey62 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am thinking of returning this player because it does not show my videos or movies

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Walkman rubbish

8GB 09/06/2018 by Rats back (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Too hard to download music, need a degree to work it out swapped it for ipod

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great features and value for money.

8GB 27/05/2018 by Patricia18 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for when I go walking, to listen to music, glad I did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

8GB 21/05/2018 by Bella zack (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent little gadget - great to use and looks good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

8GB 17/05/2018 by Jandog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with this device, I have a car which can only support a usb music system I used memory stick to play my music which wasn't working, I have loaded my music C/ds onto the Walkman which plugs in & away I go, excellent sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

fine not as loud as I'd like though

8GB 14/05/2018 by Ms Person (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's fine but it's not as loud as my iPod when I plug it into my mini rig. Also I would prefer if it was incased in metal like my iPod is because it looks like it could easily be broken or crushed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Can't transfer playlists

NW-E390 SERIES 11/05/2018 by Conrad73 (USA)

My computer will not allow me to transfer WMP playlists, in part because the wrong driver pops up for the device. I've been trying for days to download the correct one, and it is nowhere to be found on Sony's site that I can find...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to operate

8GB 11/05/2018 by Dunelm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a previous model that was stolen, this is a good model not as versatile as my previous one - I cannot remember model number, and a bit more plasticy, but the sound is very good easy to load music on to, (much easier than an IPod I had) and the earphones are far far better. On the whole a good buy, just wish it had some of the features of previous model where you could make your own bookmarks list.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0