229

4.0 based on 229 customer reviews

108
64
23
10
24
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great features

8GB 15/09/2019 by Nightwalker1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and can’t believe how small and lightweight it is. I am still downloading all my cd’s and it is such an easy and quick process and there is so much space, more than I will need. Very easy to operate and find your music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A Massive Backwards Step.

NW-E390 SERIES 14/03/2018 by BadSonySonic (USA)

I previously owned the NWZE450 and wanted to stick with Sony when the device got busted. This was the only one I could find on the market at the same/equivalent price range. Boy, what a turkey. No voice recorder. Cheaper design. Terrible terrible terrible.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

238 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Nice and small

8GB 01/12/2019 by JenL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this walkman mainly as it has a radio. I found the instructions unclear and felt I had to work the controls out myself. There is a so-called instruction manual but it doesn’t tell you how to work the walkman. Haven’t even tried to load music - need help with that....I did eventually find the radio..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Less than expected

8GB 18/11/2019 by Mike141 (United Kingdom)

Expected it to be good, it isn't. So disappointed.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great unit

8GB 08/11/2019 by David 60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good unit good battery easy to use Very light good sound quality would recommend it to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sony Walkman Digital Music Player

16GB 05/11/2019 by Jas82 (United Kingdom)

I recently bought this Item at my Local Store and I am well pleased

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Impossibly complex software - was unable to use

NW-E390 SERIES 23/10/2019 by Skippie (USA)

Bought this to replace Ipod (which broke) - on the basis of Amazon reviews of this product. I have spent hours trying to find a way to download music to it but have failed to either download iTunes to it or to get Amazon music to download to it. Unless you are a computer geek, this is about a frustrating a device as I've come across.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Easy to use and sturdy.

8GB 22/10/2019 by Gaglag (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is just what I was looking for. You press a button and it does what you want it to. No skipping past your menu choice like the touch sensitives players I have tend to do. Excellent memory and battery life. I just love it and would recommend it to anyone. Top marks from me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Works well & Very easy to use.

8GB 20/10/2019 by Dick0848 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a Philips go gear that died and it is better,louder and easy to load.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good quality product

8GB 13/10/2019 by Ding Dong 68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had my Walkman for just over a week and I am really pleased with it. Good quality music reproduction in a nice small slim unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Arrived on time

8GB 29/09/2019 by Hairset (United Kingdom)

This was given as a present , to replace my old walkerman, mother put my music on so I am unable to comment.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Painful for Mac users

NW-E390 SERIES 27/09/2019 by Ermennator (Canada)

This is a very decent product and easy use... if you have windows. It's such a pain to try and download my songs from a Mac because Sony doesn't take iTunes or Apple Music. Sure you can download songs from the Mac but you need a converter which costs more money and while you can download songs from youtube onto a MP3 but they'll all download individually and that takes such a long time to do song by song and isn't worth it. There probably is a way you can download iTunes onto this but is it worth it? Not for me it isn't.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/09/2019

Hello, Ermennator!

We're sorry for the inconvenience. You can transfer content such as music or playlists on your Mac computer or manage with iTunes to your Walkman. However, content with copyright protection cannot be transferred. For instructions, please refer to the link below:

https://helpguide.sony.net/dmp/nwe390/v1/en/contents/TP0000877552.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Complicated walkman

8GB 27/09/2019 by donkey1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a replacement for an ipod, and now regret buying it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Not good

8GB 21/09/2019 by wxyz12344567 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in late July, stopped working in early September. Have had an exchange, see how that works

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great features

8GB 15/09/2019 by Nightwalker1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and can’t believe how small and lightweight it is. I am still downloading all my cd’s and it is such an easy and quick process and there is so much space, more than I will need. Very easy to operate and find your music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

easy to operate

4 GB 10/09/2019 by jasper60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having had a zen this mp3 player is much easier to operate,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Turns itself on too easily

8GB 08/09/2019 by Welsh prop (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Is too sensitive and turns itself in when in the pocket or bag. This drains the battery

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent MP3!

8GB 29/08/2019 by Lukey19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m happy with my device the only downside is the volume can only go up to 30 and it’s ok indoors when ur out n about u cannot hear some songs at all even up at full volume :( Otherwise brilliant

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good MP3 player

8GB 25/08/2019 by teknofobe (United Kingdom)

Bought this to play music in the car as no CD player. Also connects to my Sony micro music centre

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good item for its small size

8GB 11/08/2019 by Britton (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was in the market for a decent mp3 player and I found this one. I can't find much to complain about with this player. Has good sound, standard earphone port, the usual controls and it looks nice. Compared to the old Sony Walkman's of the 1980's and 90's this thing rocks. The battery lasts a long time and the interface is easy to use. It does not feel cheap and flimsy like the generic models I browsed through or owned previously. It's plastic and very light, would be nice if the case was thin metal. It doesn't do video playback and the picture viewing function is neat and all but not really useful as the screen is to small to really see the details of the pictures. Fixing the album art and song data is proving to be difficult. My songs show on the PC as having the artwork and song details but on the player the info is missing. Still trying to figure that part out. Overall I am happy with the music player and hope to get a lot of use out of it. A lower price for it would be nice. It's not worth 70+ dollars and I'm glad I was able to get one for roughly 50 dollars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very good player

8GB 07/08/2019 by sykesy (United Kingdom)

i have 2 other sony walkman same model.very happy with it,also good performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

8GB 29/07/2019 by nap52 (United Kingdom)

Bought this month and very happy with it . Great when walking the dog

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features

8GB 27/07/2019 by Shrimpanator (United Kingdom)

Looks good ,Sounds good and easy to use. And screen is clear , and I hate being dictated to about the length of a review.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound quality

8GB 15/07/2019 by Firefighter4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A really Brilliant Product with a Quality Sound System.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

OK for basic use

8GB 09/07/2019 by Mary1958 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it for mainly downloading podcasts from the radio. It works fine, but doesn't start where it has left off when I switch it off. Also this is the first MP3 player I have had so someone else might find it easier to delete the music which has been already downloaded on to it. Why do they think I want to listen to this music?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great brilliant was very cheap

8GB 05/07/2019 by Ebow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant pease of kit best mp3 player I ever had!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

does what I wanted it for

8GB 30/06/2019 by squashplayer (United Kingdom)

Does what I want from a small digital music player . I do not want something with all sorts of other features that I would never use . This suits my needs perfectly .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Digital Music Player and Music Centre

8GB 25/06/2019 by msl1 (United Kingdom)

Have always had Sony MP3 players using Content Transfer to load music/radio programmes. This new player meant no longer able to use Content Transfer and needed to use Sony Music Centre. This is appalling in comparison. It has lost is ease of use, it now involves too many steps and creates new and unwanted folders making it much more difficult to find individual items. This is not progress, so can I ask if it is possible to revert back to Content Transfer?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

walkman

8GB 24/06/2019 by ozyy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

still quite new,but seems robust and easy to use!!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb sound.

16GB 23/06/2019 by Guitar 71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy and simple to use like the earlier models only better sound quality. Very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing

8GB 22/06/2019 by Clara188 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this for my son thinking that he would be able to store downloaded music on it, but for the life of me, I couldn’t do that. So it has become an entirely defunct product that I wish I hadn’t brought.

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0