16

4.7 based on 16 customer reviews

14
0
1
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

16 Customer Reviews

0

THE Player !!

NW-WM1Z 16/10/2019 by Wyatt1050 (USA)

I have had many portable players of every type. This is the player to behold. Solid built, exquisite sounds and software, superb workmanship, and detail. 256GB plus I added a 512GB mini SD card; tunes and more tunes, plays back everything you can load. Even bluetooth sounds great. With the firmware upgrades it keeps getting better and capable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Superb Sound

NW-WM1Z 02/06/2019 by TheBaritone (United Kingdom)

Had this a few months now and to be honest not got nearly as much time with it as I would have liked. But the time I have had has been so rewarding and enjoyable and I know it will get even better as the capacitors burn in. Very expensive but there again it is esoteric. I have had many players from the likes of Pioneer, Onkyo, Fiio, and also Sony themselves etc.... all very good in their own ways but this one gives sound quality way above of the competition. Highs, mids and lows all very spacious and well segregated, it's like sitting in the middle of the orchestra and I am hearing detail I never knew existed previously. I have read many letters and articles about spending so much on a player that hasn't even got wireless capability but this dedicated focused player just does so well the thing it was designed to do.... play music to the very best sound quality and delight! It brought home to me just how disruptive and quality destroying listening through Android based players actually is. Build quality is what you expect from Sony, magnificent and the firmware easy to use and intuitive. I also like the weight of this copper player, you feel as though you really have something quality and substantial in your hands. Sits well in the palm with easy access to all the buttons which feels very natural.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

3

0

3 stars, for value and price comparison!

NW-WM1Z 30/05/2019 by fatsmoolah (Canada)

More but less when compared with NWZ-X1 and X2. Own all. X1 has web, apps and speaker. WM1Z is still grossly overpriced for a 4" TFT screen and 256 Gb. One little scratch on the 'oxigen free casing' and the happiness is gone. Try selling for half price, see if possible...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/06/2019

Hi fatsmoolah, We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. -Erin

0

Iconic

NW-WM1Z 18/02/2019 by Ken Costello (USA)

If Sony would create player that participates in streaming services. Game over. They will sell out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

12

0

Good quality

NW-WM1Z 08/02/2019 by Keith1066 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the Walkman to replace my ageing iPod which is full! Capacity is good with available card extension. Sound quality is very good as is the build of the Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Ultimate Walkman for the HiRes era

NW-WM1Z 05/08/2018 by BB24 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have to admit I’ve always loved Sony Walkman products and have premium units from cassette, Minidisc and mp3 all going strong after many years of use.. I upgraded from the ZX2 to the WM1Z 1 month ago and am completely satisfied.. it’s a clear upgrade in terms of audio performance matched with high Quality of construction, materials and detailing.. Expensive yes, but I know in years to come I won’t regret it and will have enjoyed using it immensely for many years..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

4

0

Does not support the typ file i sue

NW-WM1Z 27/06/2018 by Tg4519 (USA)

The walkman dose not support flac 192khz at 32 bit i want to buy it but it does not support Flac 192khz at 32 bit please sony fix the problem withe flac support 192khz at 32 bit.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

60

0

Dynamic, punchy, highly resolving, yet smooth.

256GB 27/05/2018 by Mtorrey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the one you want. The wm1a is solid, even excellent, but the wm1z is special. 250% more expensive and maybe 15% better, but that’s where the magic lies, especially the highly textured bass and silky midrange. Sony focused purely on the sound and an elegant design and hit it out of the park on both counts.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

5

0

Pure Magic

NW-WM1Z 15/05/2018 by ArnoldoDiazOlavarrieta (Canada)

I have to turn it off to sleep... So good it can't be used as a sleeping aid!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

wonderful WalkMan

256GB 12/05/2018 by J M Z (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

after 3 weeks of experimenting, i'm very happy with this purchase. Especially using the 4.4 balanced output. The background is as black as it gets and the detail of the music are phenomenal. Enjoying my high-res files (especially DSD 512) the only thing missing, is the capacity to use typing to do a search. other than that, it'S the perfect DAP. and powerful too !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Perfect music

NW-WM1Z 07/04/2018 by Wihanga (USA)

the perfect, SONY Walkman is million times better than the apple ipod

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

5

0

Great features

NW-WM1Z 18/03/2018 by Gordon J (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is Sony, what more can one say. The build quality, design and functionality are top notch. The sound through the normal headphone jack is crystal clear with a good bass sound. I have it connected to my system using bluetooth and the clarity is amazing. As yet I have not had the pleasure of listening through the balanced out, but i can only imagine how that sounds. Great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

6

0

A true masterpiece

NW-WM1Z 09/03/2018 by flyer1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using this with the XBA Z5 in Balanced and I can say I am delighted with this Walkman player. Sony went all out with this player and used only the best materials and components to achieve perfection in portable sound. While highly detailed it achieves a very pleasant analogue and tube amplifier like sound signature which I can listen to for hours without any sign of fatique. All of this comes at a price but if you only want the best in digital portable audio, this is definitely it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

10

0

The Best of the Best!!

256GB 27/02/2018 by Tboy83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great! I had the NW-WM1A and I enjoyed it a lot. I was sad that the USB connection started to fail on me, but Sony had did something that I have never heard of any Manufacturer doing; that was they had bought it back from me. I was sent a check for 100% what I had paid on it. That’s when I had went to get the NW-WM1Z. I have now found my love. It’s an amazing piece. I carry it everywhere I go. I don’t leave it behind. We go everywhere together. The day I would have to leave it behind would probably be the day I plan to rob a bank, which that would never happen. Therefore this will always be with me, until Sony decides to come up with a newer music player. But I’m still not going to let it go. love this player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

27

6

0

Great performances with top tier craftsmanship

NW-WM1Z 29/07/2017 by AudioLover (USA)

I bought this unit on Christmas, and having her until now. Sony had hit a home run with this Wm1z, and better yet, the cheaper version wm1A. Powerful to drive Utopia and even Hd800 Awesome to look at Wonderful sound performances Hopefully Sony will keep up with this extremely niche Walkman products and will look into the next successor too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29

12

0

The new benchmark in portable high-end audio!

NW-WM1Z 28/06/2017 by Spyridon_K (USA)

When it comes to Sony NW-WM1Z, a lot of things have been written (and are available online) by people far more knowledgeable than me in engineering and audio equipment...this particular device long before it was officially released became a dichotomy in audiophile communities in the internet, because of its price, color and people's desire to quickly condemn what appears to be out of reach... This is an outstanding piece of high-end audio equipment with an unmatched performance to my ears, a device which can easily be complemented by most high end headphones and when used with the Sony MDR-Z1R the results are just ideal! I would not want this review to go into unnecessary lengths for attempting to describe something which at the end comes down to personal taste and I feel that such an attempt would only be inadequate in bringing forward the sound quality that the NW-WM1Z is capable of reproducing, If you are contemplating its purchase, go out and listen to it and I am positive you will feel confident that your money will be well invested in a piece of equipment that is a departure from Sony's traditional audio market segment in celebrating its 70 years and who knows if it will ever be repeated.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

34

18