84

3.8 based on 84 customer reviews

36
20
15
2
11
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best of a Select Group

4GB 03/06/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had each iteration of this MP3 player as Sony has in my opinion produced the best music player for gym users such as myself. But. The competition is very limited for wearable MP3 headphone combinations and by no means is this Sony item perfect. It is however, a considerable improvement on the previous version which had a grim power on/off button and serious failure issues whereby it would simply stop working - which happened to mine. First off the buttons are much nicer to use and that makes a real difference. Once you have got the muscle memory in place it's all good. The overall construction both appears and feels very good and Sony seem to have moved back up a step from the previous model fortunately. It is also very secure on the ears and there is an additional rubber adjuster that can be fitted along with different ear buds to turn this into a MP3 player suitable for swimming with. And Sony seem to have worked out that they can't make software and this is a simple drag and drop operation for compatible files or you can sync using Microsoft Media Player which I do. But - like each version Sony have made there are improvements and retrograde steps. Whilst there is no doubt this is a much better player than before Sony have taken away the storage/charging cradle which held the player together securely which was ideal when being dumped in a sports bag. This player has a very small charging-transfer unit that fits to one side only meaning you have to be very careful when removing it from a bag in case it is pulled apart too much. In use the sound is good not brilliant. For my ears slightly bright. And not loud enough as Sony being a responsible company adhere to the dB safe levels which may not be loud enough to completely drown out the piped in stuff in some gyms. For use outside it would be fine I guess. There is a function to allow ambient noise to be heard which is something that road runners may find useful as cars etc. can be heard. Overall though, this is my gym player of choice because it sounds good and I don't have faffy wires hanging around me.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Stopped working after 2 uses

4GB 23/09/2016 by musicless (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A present for me to use when swimming. Followed all instructions and began to use it, but after 2 30 minute swims, in fresh water, it just gave up and became completely unresponsive despite all fixes / advice, including from Sony.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

84 Customer Reviews

0

not load enough

NW-WS410 Series 12/02/2018 by JustMe11 (USA)

I have two of those. Two identical. One seems fine but the other simply is not loud enough. At highest volume and with no surrounding noise, it's fine. But in the water the sound is simply not loud enough. Check volume - keeps coming up and then if you want to go over the recommended volume, nothing happens. Even if it's EU regulation - it sucks. PS I am excellent hearing!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

high pitch frequency and not loud enough

8GB 30/01/2018 by Mitch80 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item a month ago and have tried it with both bluetooth and mp3. Also both in and out of water. Annoyingly there is a high pitch noise that happens with certain frequency's I think it is something to do with the noise cancellation, hoping to get this fixed somehow. Also it doesn't quite play the music loud enough, compared to other headphones I Have used. This may be because I am using the underwater headpieces. Underwater they work - although due to breathing noise from power breather (bilateral snorkel) they could be a bit louder to drown the breathing out. Otherwise they are the most comfortable headphones I have worn! They wont drop out of ears when running which is a first for the multiple headphones I have been through. Hopefully if the above gets fixed these are a 5* set of headphones - for now Im afraid a 2*....

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to wear

8GB 26/01/2018 by ClareP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love these for swimming easy to use great fit would recommend these

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good buy

4GB 22/01/2018 by Charliedog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good price for smart looking mp3 player. Found it easy to use and put music on to it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does what I want it to do

4GB 20/01/2018 by Mr Trivia1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it as a gift. Should have bought one myself much earlier. Good to hear my favourite sixties music.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic sound for swimming

4GB 17/01/2018 by gillybean6664 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

WOW!! music sound is fantastic, so clear, great motivator for swimming

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound!

8GB 15/01/2018 by KingPrawnie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Walkman a few weeks ago and I’m impressed by the sound! Well worth every penny I spent! I bought it specifically for swimming & wet conditions! Highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Waterproof Sony Walkman

4GB 14/01/2018 by ElsWood (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought after Christmas so have only used it a couple of times so far. So far, so good. It is more user friendly than the last version I had.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Battery average and software needs an update

NW-WS410 Series 12/01/2018 by MJL2112 (USA)

2 Suggestions: 1) Improve battery life! I only get 3 to 4 hours use. Even when they were new. I dont know where the 12 hour figure comes from. 2) Software update to provide a low battery audio warning. The stupid thing about these is that when i get my verbal low battery warning, it then immediately shuts off. It would be nice to get a warning about an hour before the battery is expected to dis.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

walkman mps headset

4GB 06/01/2018 by Rofts (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

its early days yet, but the walkman seems to be very functional and works well

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best earphones I've used

4GB 06/01/2018 by Danjudo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great earphones to use generally or will doing sports

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Too quiet with swimming ear buds in

8GB 05/01/2018 by Swimswimswimswim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent device, easy to upload, comfortable generally good. The crucial failure is that it is very very quiet with the swimming ear buds in. The only reason i got this, was for use in the pool. Very poor performance in the water.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

after firmware udpate 1.03 compeltely stopped work

NW-WS410 Series 07/12/2017 by dukon (USA)

I've succesfully updated walkman with firmware 1.03. and after restart it completely stopped working, just the green/oragne led is working. But I couldn;t hear nothing aven the bulit in sound voices liek when you are changing the MODE. I had to find older one 1.02 which was there originally and put it back. Now it is working back normal, uff.

1

0

0

Hard to find songs

8GB 21/11/2017 by rjkender (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I guess I put on too many songs and should only put selected lists because it is difficult to change songs while you are swimming.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

I can barely hear a thing.

8GB 16/11/2017 by alilow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unless I am an absolutely quiet environment, I can barely hear a thing using this.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Much improved on old model

4GB 10/11/2017 by GinoC (United Kingdom)

Does everything I require and I am very happy with the performance and quality

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent product

8GB 06/11/2017 by Cloda (United Kingdom)

I purchased these to help me swim, amazing product what a great idea highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quality sound, fairly easy to set up, comfortable.

4GB 06/11/2017 by Sinarbol (United Kingdom)

Great product! Would have been 5star if actual band had slide mechanism for size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Very Disapointed

4GB 22/09/2017 by Rhett (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I researched the market for waterproof MP3 players and thought...SONY really good name etc. It was to be my Fathers day present. Open the box, nicely made, followed the instructions carefully, fitted the CORRECT earbuds and off to the pool I went....The sound was TERRIBLE. I was so disappointed. The volume was abysmal, the clarity was poor. The controls were good and the fit good too BUT if the sound is hopeless whats the point.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Great upgrade

8GB 18/09/2017 by ChrissyGC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one to replace the previous Walkman that I'd had for a couple of years and had been worn to death! It's reasonably easy to use but I'm still struggling with the different buttons and what they do. The written instructions that come along with the product aren't very good, so I had to go on line to work out what's what and print it out. Other than that, all good so far.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

A new way of swimming

NW-WS410 Series 30/08/2017 by FFRE (USA)

Takes the boredom out of swimming. Listen to books or music while swimming. Even running works well. Hours of entertainment while on the go without wireless setups. Press and play.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfection!

NW-WS410 Series 30/08/2017 by Scrouby (USA)

Excellent headphones for swimming or running, especially if you don't want to carry on your phone with you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

TREMENDOUS VALUE FOR MONEY SPENT

4 GB 25/08/2017 by CDKD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT THIS WALKMAN A MONTH AGO PRIMARILY FOR MY TIME IN THE POOL. IT IS EASY TO USE, EASY TO LOAD MUSIC FROM MY COMPUTER, AND PLENTY OF VOLUME UNDER WATER. YES, IT REALLY IS WATERPROOF AND KEEPS TRACK OF MINUTES, DISTANCE, AND MORE!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good, but could be better.

NW-WS410 Series 20/08/2017 by Chris10010101 (USA)

These function very well in lieu of an MP3 player with traditional headphones. I was disappointed at first by the awful randomizer for shuffle play, but the firmware update fixed that wonderfully. After using them practically every day for almost a year (got them last Christmas), I have only one continued complaint: no battery life indicator. Yes, the unit has a light that alternates green and orange when "battery is low", but that hits around the halfway point for the battery. I can still get almost two weeks of use once they start blinking orange. Since there is no further warning, I'll be listening and my music will abruptly end with a "Low battery" warning. If there was a audible battery level, like a short push of the power button that causes the voice to read out your approximate battery percentage, I would be satisfied and given this a full 5-star rating. Overall, the unit is solid: good fit, good sound quality, and easy to use. My only complaint is the lack of a battery life indicator.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Where does the sound go?

8GB 13/08/2017 by Europa1557 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In an otherwise quiet room, the maximum available sound (EU-restricted apparently) is just about audible - in a swimming pool with people, or in a Jacuzzi with water sounds, I can't hear anything. The manual says there's an over-ride, but since tthe manual's from Malaysia it's impossible to find it. Not at all happy so far.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Made my ears hurt.

4GB 12/07/2017 by Denis8158 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perhaps because of my non-standard physical structure (I'm a big guy), but my ears remained hurt about 10 minutes after I took them off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Excellent

8GB 04/07/2017 by tessjade (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these for my husband to use at the gym for a bit of music while he is exercising. He says they are perfect for the task, good quality, excellent design and a very comfortable fit.. He would definately recommend them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything is perfect keep improving

NW-WS410 Series 18/06/2017 by Lonewwolf13 (Canada)

Everything is perfect, I love it! Keep improving please and thank you!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

NOT AS EXPECTED

NW-WS410 Series 05/06/2017 by satish1104 (USA)

Bought it 8 months ago and spoilt. Just used for jogging three days In a week. Doesn't satisfy me and its just waste of money. Although Sony replaced with new set but it was dirty and the warranty still follows the date I purchased. What will happen in another few months??Being a faithful Sony customer, I am very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Instructions for the nwws413

NW-WS410 Series 02/06/2017 by Edwardo 111 (USA)

Instructions poor for this product, still having problems

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Swimming Motivator

4GB 25/05/2017 by Clockwork56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought this product to help me keep a fitness routine in my local pool. I am in my sixties and enjoy listening to music and I find the time I have swimming three times a week is an ideal opportunity to have a music boost. I was a little sceptical about how this walkman would sound and operate. It is very simple to use and load music onto. I think the key to the best sound is down to the correct earbuds, even if this means two different sizes. I have not been disappointed and find the music a good motivator for me. I have not so far had any problems with water ingression and the volume perfectly adequate, especially when the ambient button is switched off. They are comfortable to wear and compact. I am glad I did my research and came up with these. Well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Cant get it to play music

4GB 15/05/2017 by Paul K (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I downloaded my music files as usual and all I got was "Data Error"....dont know why and am struggling to find out how to rectify the situation as the instructions are extremely sketchy.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Poor preform

4GB 22/04/2017 by Shayts1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The volume is too low and it's hard to operate between songs

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

replacement for old mp3

4GB 19/04/2017 by walt44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

purchased a few days ago. instructions not all that good. so downloaded better instructions from Sony. I bought this item mainly to use when I am out running. downloading my music was fairly straightforward. I have only used it a couple of times but initial thoughts are am pleased with purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor sound quality on WS413

4GB 15/04/2017 by Tracy O (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Waterproof MP3 player a few months ago as an upgrade from my original model and am disappointed to say it is an upgrade, i do not find the latest model as good. The main problem is the sound quality when the waterproof earbuds are in place I have now resorted to swimming with the non waterproof earbuds in place which works better for me but will not help the life of the machine It feels like I have to try to turn it up a couple of notches to receive the level I like for swimming I find the ambience reducer confusing and unnecessary for me but can understand it's use for jogging etc for others I also find switching from playing albums and shuffle etc a bit confusing

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Great purchase

4GB 13/04/2017 by Redgreg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact and easy to use. Easy to follow guidelines for loading

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works Ok, a bit quiet

4GB 10/03/2017 by Taffnob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It fits well and I like the voice commands. The thing I don't like is the way the volume is controlled. There seems to be a lot of effort made into not disturbing others when I can only just hear it myself. I don't think it needs to be so complicated,it would be better if it was simplified and Sony trusted us to moderate our own volume.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Love it! My search for running headphones is over!

4GB 08/03/2017 by SmartyPants123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been searching for good sports headphones for the past 2 years. I used an iPod shuffle so couldn't have bluetooth. I like the neckbands but they are either way too expensive or have really poor sound. Considered the bone conduction ones but wasn't keen on the fact that people around you can hear your music. I have bought numerous pairs, sent some back, broke some, binned others, etc until someone recently mentioned the Sony MP3 waterproof player. Not the cheapest but after much consideration, I decided to try this as a last resort. All I can say is WOW! This is absolutely amazing. Good sound, volume goes high enough (but there's ambient sound mode too), music transfer is way easier than via itunes, and most importantly, there are no wires around my face and no untangling while running. When I first put it on, the first thing that struck me was the feeling of freedom due to the lack of things being clipped onto my shirt, wires going around, etc. I purchased this for running but it will be used while traveling too, it is so good!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality Construction and design poor sound quality

4GB 08/03/2017 by Jools4merk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like the design and build of these headphones but the sound quality is really quiet when you fit the waterproof earbuds. I know the waterproof earbuds will naturally reduce the volume but the unit should be capable of getting loud enough to compensate them.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good item / bad software

4GB 27/02/2017 by uncleorange (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've got these just for the gym - the soul quality is better than i expected and they fit quite well, after an hour they can be a bit painful. The software is the thing that really lets them down, it's clunky and basically a pain in the bum to use,

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

good features clear sound

4GB 17/02/2017 by Jules m (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased with this controls a little fiddly sound good easy to wear sorft wear a little temperamental at times

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No Support!

4GB 12/02/2017 by Kerryg (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this device with high hopes but I can't even understand the lousy picture instructions! I finally figured out that I needed to download Media Go and was able to successfully transfer the music onto the device. As my vision is not the best, I have to use a magnifying glass to look at the buttons and none of them work although the device has been charged and will communicate no problem with my computer. I searched for 45 minutes on the Sony site for a proper instruction manual with no results and there are almost no links to the device model at all. It may be a great walkman but how can I tell if it won't work and there is no support to help me?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

I can't believe it fits my ears!

4GB 02/02/2017 by HappyTriathlete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having spent significantly more on running earphones, that were totally useless I was not optimistic that these would stay put. Gladly I was wrong. I noticed in the advertisement photos that the earpieces did not appear to sit flush against the women's heads, although it did for men, this concerned me as I have struggled for years to find earphones that stay in my ears whilst running. As in the photos, the mp3 player does not sit so flush for me, but it happily stays in place for 12+ mile runs without adjustment. This alone makes the product worth the investment, but I can also use it for swimming! Because it doesn't sit flush against my head, it does "snag" in the water, and doesn't sit underneath a swim cap. I also have to adjust my stroke so as not to knock it. I did have to readjust several times. This is a minor inconvenience, though would be more irritating if I had bought it primarily as a swimming device. In truth I use it mostly for running. I expect these issues are due to my tiny ears, and I wouldn't expect everyone to find this. The option to turn on ambient sounds is great, although rustling sounds of hair/hats are also amplified. This mp3 player allows drag and drop of files, which is my preferred option. My previous Sony Walkman needed software to do this and was incredibly frustrating as it often did not work. I am not an audiophile, so cannot really comment on the quality of the sound, however I was pleased that the volume has enough range that I can run along side a dual carriageway or above a motorway and still hear my music. I would 100% recommend this for running for anyone, but there may be better options for swimming if you have small ears (I didn't look into those).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not for activity

4GB 02/02/2017 by Yaskaldima (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Doesn't fit on my ears. Impossible to walk or run. Laying is okay

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product but one downfall

4GB 30/01/2017 by Summertime (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift for Xmas for swim training. It's a great product but the volume does not go loud enough.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

COOL

4GB 27/01/2017 by Olibongo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have replaced the original NWZ-W202 with this model as i had many years of problem free mobile music. I have started using these and the sound is great hope they last as long as the others

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0