16

4.2 based on 16 customer reviews

8
5
2
0
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Incredible

NW-ZX300 16/03/2018 by Sticks56 (USA)

Can't put it down. Using it with Campfire's Vega IEM's with lossless or DH files. The sound is so pure, present and full of separation, pure bliss. Great battery life, easy navigation and the size is truly portable. Have tried other DAP's but totally satisfied with this Sony. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Impressive sound quality

NW-ZX300 25/05/2018 by MerlinRider (USA)

I bought this to pair up with my Sony XAV-AX200 DVD receiver with Bluetooth. Well this is a problem, either with the car unit or the mp3 player, as the Bluetooth connection fails to reconnect when I start the car unit. My iPhone has no problem reconnecting. Seems to me Sony to Sony would be idea but there are issues that should not exist between Sony products. Also, the Music Center software is great on the computer but the same interface does not translate to the Sony car unit when music is played back, unlike an iPod Classic which closely mirrors the PC version. Again, as a Sony to Sony unit you should be able to control the Walkman through the car unit as if you were actually using the Walkman. Sony has great sound but their interface and software fall short of being good. I recommend the Walkman for playback but not as interface with the car unit. I also think the controls are over thought and complicated, they should be simpler like the iPod classics.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

16 Customer Reviews

0

Nearly Fantastic.

NW-ZX300 01/10/2018 by Cunk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player zx300 is a well made hi-res dac walkman that functions best with headphones. It has a few drawbacks that as I have experienced when it is connected through an amplifier. The 4.4 mm balanced output on the player needs a jack that is not provided by Sony. This along with no case, a poor set of instructions ( the idiot picture guide is terrible) and a clunky Sony OS, says 4 stars. Not 5. Its a £500! Very few after market accessories are available. You need to buy cables/connectors. Sony should include everything out of the box for the consumer. Sadly not. They are a mean company that often has great products but spoil them by the lack of customer focus, short changing folks. Marketing wake up! £38 for an aftermarket case! Sony could add this for pennies on the price. The reason I bought this player is because it sounds good and appears to be well made. I have to live with its bluetooth (flaky) its, slow scroll, as well as needing a PC to use it. Streaming services accese is limited, the volume limiter is annoying and the screen is tiny. 4 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

It's OK

NW-ZX300 30/08/2018 by Frank1244 (United Kingdom)

I got this model as a replacement for my NWZ-F886, which had stopped working and was unable to be repaired. First impression of the ZX300 is it looks good and feels solid with its metal case, definitely its best features. The large storage capacity is also a plus as it allows a large volume of hi res music files to be stored. Unfortunately it's all downhill from there, for the price I would expect it to ship with headphones at the very least. The lack of WiFi capability prevents me from listening to any streaming services, which is a big disadvantage so I tend to find I use my phone more. It also means that all SenseMe analysis has to be done prior to file transfer. Not sure if the promised sound quality justifies the premium price, I listen using a set of Bose over ear Bluetooth headphones and haven't really noticed an improvement over the NWZ-F886, although that may be down to my aging ears and too many gigs in my youth. In summary, a great looking device, but a bit too limited to justify the premium price.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

17

0

very good quality.excellent

NW-ZX300 12/08/2018 by geoff58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

seen this one on line,ticked all the boxes,better than my i pod.sound quality much better.very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Good, could be excellent

NW-ZX300 10/07/2018 by Chimp Twist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Outstanding sound quality and design, the ZX300 is slightly let down by a poor user interface. Prepare for long periods transferring songs and creating the database each time you switch it on. A search feature would be helpful too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Very easy to uploads Flac files.

NW-ZX300 26/05/2018 by Cragrats (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant sound ... easy to use ... what more do you want?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Impressive sound quality

NW-ZX300 25/05/2018 by MerlinRider (USA)

I bought this to pair up with my Sony XAV-AX200 DVD receiver with Bluetooth. Well this is a problem, either with the car unit or the mp3 player, as the Bluetooth connection fails to reconnect when I start the car unit. My iPhone has no problem reconnecting. Seems to me Sony to Sony would be idea but there are issues that should not exist between Sony products. Also, the Music Center software is great on the computer but the same interface does not translate to the Sony car unit when music is played back, unlike an iPod Classic which closely mirrors the PC version. Again, as a Sony to Sony unit you should be able to control the Walkman through the car unit as if you were actually using the Walkman. Sony has great sound but their interface and software fall short of being good. I recommend the Walkman for playback but not as interface with the car unit. I also think the controls are over thought and complicated, they should be simpler like the iPod classics.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Initial Impressions

NW-ZX300 21/05/2018 by Slartybartfast (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the NW-ZX300 for a few weeks but so far so good. Sound quality is every bit as good as I expected with Sennheiser HD 630 VB headphones. The USB DAC Function is good but obviously limited to devices with USB. I have a (rather old)Technics midi system that does not have a USB and it would have been good to have been able to use the DAC function with this. The menu's are well laid out and intuitive to use. I bought this as upgrade for the NWZ-A15 and features such as the DSEE HX are much superior on the ZX300. The build exudes quality and having controls for volume etc on the outside of the case increases ease of use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Great

NW-ZX300 16/05/2018 by Samarls (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So happy I bought this Walkman it’s great Walkman I had

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Lack of Volume

NW-ZX300 09/05/2018 by ChrisinOz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Maximum volume is too low. Therefore unable to appreciate its supposed superior sound quality.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

12

0

Delighted with the product!

NW-ZX300 25/04/2018 by Howey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought the Sony MP3 player about two months ago. We copied all our CDs onto the player (about 400!). Some of the CDs hadn't been played in a while so when we play them in the 'shuffle' playback mode, we are hearing songs we'd forgotten we had! Very enjoyable listening and great sound quality.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

26

0

Excellent

NW-ZX300 23/03/2018 by P3NG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice design, excellent sound and superb overall package. Very well made and the best all round portable device for high resolution music. Qobuz streaming would be a bonus.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

Incredible

NW-ZX300 16/03/2018 by Sticks56 (USA)

Can't put it down. Using it with Campfire's Vega IEM's with lossless or DH files. The sound is so pure, present and full of separation, pure bliss. Great battery life, easy navigation and the size is truly portable. Have tried other DAP's but totally satisfied with this Sony. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Return of the Walkman

NW-ZX300 16/03/2018 by Reality bytes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a fantastic piece of hardware. Engineered for sound purity and it delivers. The sound clarity is wonderful and full. The software is easy to navigate and the Bluetooth connection works seamlessly unlike other players by other manufacturers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Nice but could be better

NW-ZX300 06/03/2018 by Daniei (USA)

Everything is fine so far, but I really miss standard sound options like ClearAudio+, VPT, Sound effects like concert hall etc. I hipe they will add it per firmware update.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent sound.

NW-ZX300 21/01/2018 by Yrrag (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound especially using balanced output and Campfire Audio Andromeda's. Very good build quality and battery life. I have found it very easy to transfer flac files from my to computer to this device. I would definitely recommend this device on sound quality, build and ease of use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

5

0

Fantastic music player

NW-ZX300 30/12/2017 by Dev Bhadouria (USA)

So, I got Sony NW-ZX300 music DAP a week ago, and initially I compared the sound quality with my iPhone 7 Plus (mp3 320kbps music files only) and I did not find any big differences in sound quality and I was little upset. then next day I tweaked equalizer and a few other sound output settings( high gain and equalizer settings together can boosts the volume level also up to 150% in my experience). So then those similar mp3s(320kbps) got a life and sound way better. Then now I downloaded 20-30 FLAC music and a few DSD files and then it was wonderful music listening experience. I would definitely recommend those.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

2