51

4.0 based on 51 customer reviews

27
11
5
4
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great all around smart home controller

LF-S50G 20/11/2017 by OLED (USA)

Just bought it a few days ago and it is controling everything I have that works with Google Assistant... Except, can't turn off and on my Sony E model TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Poor quality, sound lagging between TV and speaker

LF-S50G 09/09/2018 by Sam89 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and have rarely used it because it is a gimmick. It connects with Sony Bravia TV via Bluetooth but there is 5 second sound lagging. (This is an overpriced Google mini £40 which is better value for money in my opinion)

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

51 Customer Reviews

0

My sony

LF-S50G 05/10/2018 by Holly 2510 (United Kingdom)

I bought three days ago in Aylesbury and it good at telling jokes

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor quality, sound lagging between TV and speaker

LF-S50G 09/09/2018 by Sam89 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and have rarely used it because it is a gimmick. It connects with Sony Bravia TV via Bluetooth but there is 5 second sound lagging. (This is an overpriced Google mini £40 which is better value for money in my opinion)

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Simple to use

LF-S50G 02/09/2018 by Spenny (United Kingdom)

This was a present..so glad I have it. Really useful for getting answers superfast..and doing a shopping list.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Missing some features

LF-S50G 28/08/2018 by William2027 (USA)

I’ve had this a couple of months. The sound quality is good at the higher volumes, less clear at lower volumes. It responds well to Spotify requests, which for me is the main point. I am not satisfied on two issues. The first is the inability to independently control the volume of the google assistant voice. It’s too loud relative to the volume of the music. The second is the inability to make phone calls using the speaker. I emailed Sony supposrt regarding this issue, and received the response that this speaker can’t do that. I’m sure this issue could be solved with a software update, but will Sony do it? I’m not convinced they will.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

This is NOT a wireless speaker

LF-S50G 25/08/2018 by Noor8a (USA)

I find misleading that this speaker is listed with other wireless speakers when in fact, this is a wired speaker that connect wireless to a home network. It is like a wired alarm clock with Google assistant. Not very innovative.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Great products. Great features. Great quality.

LF-S50G 14/08/2018 by Rb59 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this prod two weeks. We love it. Wife can't stop playing with it. Lol

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Elegant appearance

LF-S50G 07/08/2018 by Mapman2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Elegant appearance, good sound and easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Disappointed

LF-S50G 04/08/2018 by Schmidt76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this the same time as a sony tv after liking the idea of voice activation of the tv through the wireless speaker. After set up I found out that the two are not compatible. Strangely though the amazon alexa operates the tv fine.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic! Totally comprehends Spotify commands.

LF-S50G 18/07/2018 by Boselectah (United Kingdom)

Really accurate voice/command recognition with Spotify, unlike the "un-Amazing" speaker my new Sony is replacing

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

S50G google assistant built-in wireless Speakers

LF-S50G 15/07/2018 by 1 superwoman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought a month ago and still getting to grips with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Disappointed

LF-S50G 25/06/2018 by SusieLoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago as a birthday present for my son however, I’ve had to take it in for repair, as for some reason the whole unit died overnight.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not happy can't connect it

LF-S50G 18/06/2018 by Me2018 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spent many hours trying to connect this item to Google home with no success

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

OK Google, you are brilliant!

LF-S50G 15/06/2018 by Nicnic73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was looking for a DAB bedside radio/alarm, then came across this little beauty, no need for preset stations, as many alarms, timers and sleep functions as you could want, and it streams from other devices. Has transformed my bedroom!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A great gadget

LF-S50G 05/05/2018 by Bigaldes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it. Simple to set up as long as you have a Google account. Entertaining using voice interaction and a suitable music app. A great sounding speaker using Bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good Prduct

LF-S50G 29/04/2018 by Sub49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product after considerable research. Any purchase should be done on based of informed choice.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Great Design with bad sound

LF-S50G 19/04/2018 by TinchoEB (USA)

The design I love. The screen informing the time / level of solid is a great contribution, the use of Google Assistance is very pleasant, but as a party leaves much to be desired. The sound is so monotonous that it reaches a point that bothers listening to it and you prefer to go back to using a Chinese player.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Quality Speaker

LF-S50G 10/04/2018 by poolsman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago and very happy with it. Sound quality is brilliant and google assistant works flawlessly. Gesture control a bit hit and miss but voice commands that good its really uneccessary anyway. Overall an excellent bit of kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Great features

LF-S50G 09/04/2018 by Paulambarnes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We got this about 3 weeks ago love it . It’s a great time wasters as trying to find songs lol

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

VERY SATISFIED

LF-S50G 02/04/2018 by google fan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Typical good quality one would expect from Sony. Google Assistant performance is way in front of Amazon Alexa. Suggested improvement; put the clock dimmer control on top for better accessibility. And/or make a wave gesture turn the clock on or off. Reason; even at lowest setting it is a bit brighter than preferred. Otherwise - I'd award 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

great

LF-S50G 31/03/2018 by steampete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this free with my new Sony mobile phone what a great gadget love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

This thing is really cool.

LF-S50G 31/03/2018 by Steve420 (USA)

It looks really futuristic on my bedside table. I've read some negative reviews about the touchless gesture controls but I actually really like them. The touchless controls definitely add to the futuristic vibe of this thing. I'd definitely recommend. Couple things that could make it better is if it could make calls and if it could link up to my other bluetooth speakers. The google home mini and the google home have both those features. I feel like I'm missing out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound from such a small unit... Very pleased

LF-S50G 25/03/2018 by Glynogolf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent speaker which connect easily to my phone etc... Great sound volume and clarity. Would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I forgot i loved music

LF-S50G 25/03/2018 by surrender_monkey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All i can say is thank you sony, after buying this speaker i can listen to whatever i like when i like. Hands full washing up or on my ps4 not a problem with voice commands. Brill

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great product with excellent sound

LF-S50G 08/03/2018 by PeeBe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product with excellent sound. Superb for streaming BBC iPlayer and Google Play. Best voice recognition product used to date. Responds surprisingly quickly. It feels like a must have

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Ok product...not the best...

LF-S50G 02/03/2018 by Niket (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound...better than avg but not the usual sony standard. The volume increases automatically The hand gestures are the worst features. Incomplete guideline on what movement of hand means what...volume seldom increases or decreases with hand gestures...playlist stops at times...

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

What a "cracking" speaker !

LF-S50G 25/02/2018 by Lensman3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already have the Amazon Echo but now wanted to try the "Google" system to run along side but the Google Home speaker I didn't like it looks one bit, so I was really pleased to see Sony had brought a rival speaker out, otherwise I would have not tried the Google system at all. First impressions were excellent, it does look really good they are available in black or white, I went for the black option) and have great proportions (shorter and fatter than the standard Echo but it feels a lot more stable on a table) and also the digital clock that shows through the speaker grill is a welcome addition, which is also dimmable and can even be switched off with a button on the base of the speaker. It has a 'sensor plate' on the top so you can adjust the volume up or down and pause, go forward and go back on any music track you are listening to, it does this by gesture rather than touching the actual plate but it does take some practice to use it correctly, which is the only slight letdown of the speaker, but once you master it this isn't a problem. Finally and most probably the most important feature is the sound, and it certainly doesn't disappoint there. I am a bass fan where music is concerned and it is that aspect that usually lets most speakers down unless they are very expensive, and I use two 'bass heavy' songs to test any speakers I buy. Sony have excelled here and although it is personal opinion (I am a lifelong musician fan and musician) I was really impressed it was better than my Echo for bass and equal to it for treble, vocals sound crisp and clear too. CONCLUSION : At £200 they were a touch expensive but at £150, although more slightly more expensive than the Echo, but they are well worth the money, so much so I purchased another two. I won't go into the pros and cons of Amazon vs Google system as they both have their advantages, to be honest I like both systems absolutely equally, and it would be personal taste as to which eco system you lock into. Needless to say though, that if you want to lock into the Google system you won't find a more pleasing speaker, both in looks and performance than this great Sony speaker, in my opinion it is the best of the bunch by a mile.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

easy to use

LF-S50G 21/02/2018 by yogibear1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to use and set up ,great if you want to know stuff and always good for a joke if you ask it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Brilliant

LF-S50G 19/02/2018 by Waldrock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

No regrets buying this you can even tell to turn on Bluetooth

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Compact, good sound, good connectivity

LF-S50G 13/02/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I listened to a wide range of alternatives in the local Curry's store and I liked the sound of the Sony speaker best of all. To be honest I don't know if the speaker sounds better than the others as even a relatively quiet Curry's store is very different from our living room! But I'm very happy with the quality of sound, and that was my main criterion. I didn't expect to find the Google Assistant function useful, but it's neat and easy to use. Having Bluetooth as well as Google Home powered wifi access is a real boon.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

A new friend

LF-S50G 07/02/2018 by Sony john (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What a great friend just ask and there is an answer and the sound is good too when playing music

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

bad top motion control

LF-S50G 31/01/2018 by jimbobabe (United Kingdom)

Bought a couple of months ago. The top motion control is not good. Sort it. Good point quite good sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

Great sounds and easy to use

LF-S50G 17/01/2018 by Mat82 (USA)

I bought one right after Christmas and loved it so much that I just bought another and hooked it up today. I love the sound quality, and the hand gestures are easy to use. it also seems to "hear" me better than my Mini's ad Home devices. Overall setup was easy, the update installed with no problems either. I only wish Sony will make a model with MORE tweeters and subwoofers for larger sound. I'd buy it immediately!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it

LF-S50G 13/01/2018 by Jojo216 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and love it. Not being techno minded it is so easy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great

LF-S50G 10/01/2018 by jeff3328 (USA)

awesome and very fantastic when touching it, the design is superb

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality smart speaker

LF-S50G 08/01/2018 by Chalkz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this smart speaker for the quality of sound, it has good quality build as you would expect, but if you have volume on hi Google can not hear your commands

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Quality Product

LF-S50G 05/01/2018 by Mad Hatter 65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was a Christmas present from the wife, very happy with the gift.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Helpful and practical

LF-S50G 31/12/2017 by JB1978 (USA)

Looks nice and simple. I enjoy the google assistant, specially while working in the kitchen with dirty hands. The sound is good, I wish it was excellent but for the price I'm happy with the sound. Got it for my wife and she seems to enjoy it as well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Firmware outdated

LF-S50G 28/12/2017 by jlrhouston (USA)

Bought these from Best Buy and the speaker crashed while the firmware was updated the first time they were turned on. Now they won't update at all. Garbage.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

2

0

Good looking, bad temper.

LF-S50G 28/12/2017 by Frank260 (USA)

Purchased and could not get the display (clock/volume) to function. Exchanged for new unit and after the software update, display stopped working. The sound is good, better than the Google speaker, but it isn't inspiring. Design is great, but it overall, it isn't cooked. Yes, I'm very much aware of the luminosity button on the bottom of the unit. 3.5 out of 5

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Nice Sound, Old Firmware

LF-S50G 18/12/2017 by brightstarbeing (USA)

This speaker has better sound quality than a stock Google home, but suffers from the same third-party issues as Android phones: Old Firmware. SOny has not updated the speaker with the latest features from Google like Broadcast and audio calls. This speaker is several versions behind the stock Google Home on software.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

Great Speaker

LF-S50G 03/12/2017 by Sacnuesom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and looks make this speaker well worth buying, and with the ability to cast music and Google Assistant built in, what more do you want

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

6

0

Needs update to enable Google Phone Calls feature.

LF-S50G 25/11/2017 by GoIrish (USA)

Just got it and the sound quality is quite good and pairs nicely with my Sony Android TV. However, it’s disappointing that it does not allow you to make phone calls like the Google Home & Mini. It needs an update to support Google phone calls, or might return it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

2

0

great product

LF-S50G 24/11/2017 by Tom123 (USA)

i bought the product a month ago,it is easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great all around smart home controller

LF-S50G 20/11/2017 by OLED (USA)

Just bought it a few days ago and it is controling everything I have that works with Google Assistant... Except, can't turn off and on my Sony E model TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Not what I was expecting

LF-S50G 18/11/2017  (USA)

I will preface this review by saying that my family and I currently have three of the original Google Homes that we purchased months before the Sony LF-S50G. This lacks the the functionality to make calls like the original Google Home, there was no mention that this feature would be missing prior to me purchasing it and there were no reviewers on YouTube that were able to get access to this model so I honestly did not think there would be any features missing. So along with missing the calling feature,there seem to be several bugs and I have yet receive any firmware updates (which is another reason to buy Google branded products only like the Google Pixel, these partner companies like Sony are doing a very poor job with not only Android updates but also the maintenance updates for these smart speakers) the Sony model will mute content that's being casted to my Chromecast device but yet it will say "the ability to unmute is not yet supported. The sound quality is also not what I was expecting, the original Google Home sounds better in my opinion. Guess I should have just waited on the Google Home Max. This model had so much potential with the unique design but it falls short in performance.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

4

0

All around great but does needs EQ

LF-S50G 15/11/2017 by Sactownshane (USA)

This is a great but needs a EQ to fix the low bass

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Meh

LF-S50G 14/11/2017 by Adam1234 (USA)

I had high hopes for this, but it has fallen a bit short. Disconnects from internet frequently and all voice commands are unavailable when this happens, which is pretty inconvenient when using as an alarm clock, it's 5 AM, and you're trying to tell it to turn off! Am going to try in an area of our home that has stronger wifi, but a competitor's device works fine in our bedroom. It does not do 24H clock.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

Better Than Google Home...

LF-S50G 26/10/2017 by Sunn (USA)

I have bought this a few weeks back and the product is just awesome. This is the best thing to gift someone but the price is a little bit more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Can't connect.

LF-S50G 21/10/2017 by Eric Victor (USA)

Followed the setup. Installed Google home. Can't connect. Not even on Bluetooth with a Sony phone

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

6

0

Great little speaker, a classic Sony product

LF-S50G 17/09/2017 by digginthescene (Canada)

I'm buying this when it comes out, and I'm so happy I made that decision... I took it upon myself to tell everyone how great it is now and just pretty much buy it. Now make a square one please Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awesome product!

LF-S50G 01/09/2017 by Firstbuyer (USA)

Bought 3 already, they all have a nice grip. Good Xmas gift

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

12