23

4.0 based on 23 customer reviews

11
7
2
1
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great all around smart home controller

LF-S50G 20/11/2017 by OLED (USA)

Just bought it a few days ago and it is controling everything I have that works with Google Assistant... Except, can't turn off and on my Sony E model TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Needs update to enable Google Phone Calls feature.

LF-S50G 25/11/2017 by GoIrish (USA)

Just got it and the sound quality is quite good and pairs nicely with my Sony Android TV. However, it’s disappointing that it does not allow you to make phone calls like the Google Home & Mini. It needs an update to support Google phone calls, or might return it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

1

24 Customer Reviews

0

Brilliant

LF-S50G 19/02/2018 by Waldrock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

No regrets buying this you can even tell to turn on Bluetooth

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact, good sound, good connectivity

LF-S50G 13/02/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I listened to a wide range of alternatives in the local Curry's store and I liked the sound of the Sony speaker best of all. To be honest I don't know if the speaker sounds better than the others as even a relatively quiet Curry's store is very different from our living room! But I'm very happy with the quality of sound, and that was my main criterion. I didn't expect to find the Google Assistant function useful, but it's neat and easy to use. Having Bluetooth as well as Google Home powered wifi access is a real boon.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A new friend

LF-S50G 07/02/2018 by Sony john (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What a great friend just ask and there is an answer and the sound is good too when playing music

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

bad top motion control

LF-S50G 31/01/2018 by jimbobabe (United Kingdom)

Bought a couple of months ago. The top motion control is not good. Sort it. Good point quite good sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great sounds and easy to use

LF-S50G 17/01/2018 by Mat82 (USA)

I bought one right after Christmas and loved it so much that I just bought another and hooked it up today. I love the sound quality, and the hand gestures are easy to use. it also seems to "hear" me better than my Mini's ad Home devices. Overall setup was easy, the update installed with no problems either. I only wish Sony will make a model with MORE tweeters and subwoofers for larger sound. I'd buy it immediately!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it

LF-S50G 13/01/2018 by Jojo216 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and love it. Not being techno minded it is so easy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great

LF-S50G 10/01/2018 by jeff3328 (USA)

awesome and very fantastic when touching it, the design is superb

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality smart speaker

LF-S50G 08/01/2018 by Chalkz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this smart speaker for the quality of sound, it has good quality build as you would expect, but if you have volume on hi Google can not hear your commands

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Quality Product

LF-S50G 05/01/2018 by Mad Hatter 65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was a Christmas present from the wife, very happy with the gift.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Helpful and practical

LF-S50G 31/12/2017 by JB1978 (USA)

Looks nice and simple. I enjoy the google assistant, specially while working in the kitchen with dirty hands. The sound is good, I wish it was excellent but for the price I'm happy with the sound. Got it for my wife and she seems to enjoy it as well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Firmware outdated

LF-S50G 28/12/2017 by jlrhouston (USA)

Bought these from Best Buy and the speaker crashed while the firmware was updated the first time they were turned on. Now they won't update at all. Garbage.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

0

Good looking, bad temper.

LF-S50G 28/12/2017 by Frank260 (USA)

Purchased and could not get the display (clock/volume) to function. Exchanged for new unit and after the software update, display stopped working. The sound is good, better than the Google speaker, but it isn't inspiring. Design is great, but it overall, it isn't cooked. Yes, I'm very much aware of the luminosity button on the bottom of the unit. 3.5 out of 5

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Nice Sound, Old Firmware

LF-S50G 18/12/2017 by brightstarbeing (USA)

This speaker has better sound quality than a stock Google home, but suffers from the same third-party issues as Android phones: Old Firmware. SOny has not updated the speaker with the latest features from Google like Broadcast and audio calls. This speaker is several versions behind the stock Google Home on software.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Great Speaker

LF-S50G 03/12/2017 by Sacnuesom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and looks make this speaker well worth buying, and with the ability to cast music and Google Assistant built in, what more do you want

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

5

0

Needs update to enable Google Phone Calls feature.

LF-S50G 25/11/2017 by GoIrish (USA)

Just got it and the sound quality is quite good and pairs nicely with my Sony Android TV. However, it’s disappointing that it does not allow you to make phone calls like the Google Home & Mini. It needs an update to support Google phone calls, or might return it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

1

0

great product

LF-S50G 24/11/2017 by Tom123 (USA)

i bought the product a month ago,it is easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great all around smart home controller

LF-S50G 20/11/2017 by OLED (USA)

Just bought it a few days ago and it is controling everything I have that works with Google Assistant... Except, can't turn off and on my Sony E model TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Not what I was expecting

LF-S50G 18/11/2017  (USA)

I will preface this review by saying that my family and I currently have three of the original Google Homes that we purchased months before the Sony LF-S50G. This lacks the the functionality to make calls like the original Google Home, there was no mention that this feature would be missing prior to me purchasing it and there were no reviewers on YouTube that were able to get access to this model so I honestly did not think there would be any features missing. So along with missing the calling feature,there seem to be several bugs and I have yet receive any firmware updates (which is another reason to buy Google branded products only like the Google Pixel, these partner companies like Sony are doing a very poor job with not only Android updates but also the maintenance updates for these smart speakers) the Sony model will mute content that's being casted to my Chromecast device but yet it will say "the ability to unmute is not yet supported. The sound quality is also not what I was expecting, the original Google Home sounds better in my opinion. Guess I should have just waited on the Google Home Max. This model had so much potential with the unique design but it falls short in performance.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

3

0

All around great but does needs EQ

LF-S50G 15/11/2017 by Sactownshane (USA)

This is a great but needs a EQ to fix the low bass

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Meh

LF-S50G 14/11/2017 by Adam1234 (USA)

I had high hopes for this, but it has fallen a bit short. Disconnects from internet frequently and all voice commands are unavailable when this happens, which is pretty inconvenient when using as an alarm clock, it's 5 AM, and you're trying to tell it to turn off! Am going to try in an area of our home that has stronger wifi, but a competitor's device works fine in our bedroom. It does not do 24H clock.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

Better Than Google Home...

LF-S50G 26/10/2017 by Sunn (USA)

I have bought this a few weeks back and the product is just awesome. This is the best thing to gift someone but the price is a little bit more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Can't connect.

LF-S50G 21/10/2017 by Eric Victor (USA)

Followed the setup. Installed Google home. Can't connect. Not even on Bluetooth with a Sony phone

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

6

0

Great little speaker, a classic Sony product

LF-S50G 17/09/2017 by digginthescene (Canada)

I'm buying this when it comes out, and I'm so happy I made that decision... I took it upon myself to tell everyone how great it is now and just pretty much buy it. Now make a square one please Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awesome product!

LF-S50G 01/09/2017 by Firstbuyer (USA)

Bought 3 already, they all have a nice grip. Good Xmas gift

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

12