121

4.3 based on 121 customer reviews

75
22
11
6
7
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11/05/2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Low sound.

SRS-XB12 03/07/2020 by mlboul (USA)

Bought this last month to blue tooth music for my garage workouts. Volume is to low. My cell is all the way up and It's still not loud enough to hear. Very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

121 Customer Reviews

0

Unbelievable!

SRSXB12/B 21/10/2020 by HotPinkyBean (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This little speaker packs a punch. I've loved it since the day I got it. Shortly after I got it, I noticed it had a feature called "Add A Speaker." Unbelievable! I had no idea I could wirelessly connect two speakers to my smartphone simultaneously! I immediately ordered another one. It's like having portable surround sound! Amazing! Great product with amazing sound quality and my very own "portable wireless surround sound!"

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great

SRS-XB12 12/10/2020 by Suzi B (United Kingdom)

I like the sound. It was easy to start up. It is portable and easy to carry about with my I pod.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Well designed

SRS-XB12 10/10/2020 by ramblerB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a small speaker to use when I was in the bathroom on a morning getting ready for the day ahead and also in the evening when having a shower. As the speaker is waterproof was ideal and with it being bluetooth could connect via iPod (which was left outside the bathroom).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just right

SRS-XB12 02/10/2020 by TracyW (USA)

So easy to pair with my phone. The sound is amazing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic little speaker

SRS-XB12 30/09/2020 by Laurie W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this speaker recently and I am delighted that I did. When it arrived it was smaller than previous speakers which led to umpteen comments from my children, as soon as it started playing they understood that Sony quality....the sound is superb, and ideally packs away for holidays when we are able....I am buying a second to link and play throughout the house..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

SRS-XB12 24/09/2020 by Alexandros75 (USA)

Great Sound. Unbelievable bass for the size. Small size for mobile use. Nice volume. It would be nice to have an app for some small adjustments.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound

SRS-XB12 16/09/2020 by Alipaul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of weeks ago, very pleased with it, take it with me all round my bungalow

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

They last maybe an hour maybe an hour and a half

SRS-XB12 15/09/2020 by The goofy guy who bought (USA)

I would not buy these I bought two they sound good but they don't last

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Miss the nfc capability

SRS-XB12 12/09/2020 by Thehan R (USA)

Good experience after all, i really enjoying using it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SRSXB12/B 10/09/2020 by beautyandbits (Canada)

Great sound and very portable. If you're looking a small Bluetooth option this is a great option. Often can be found for an affordable price point.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB12 06/09/2020 by Dumbcluck (United Kingdom)

Been after portable stereo Bluetooth speakers for a while. Glad I chose these I think they are brilliant. I am not an expert but they deliver good all round sound and plenty of volume. Not cheap but worth every penny in my opinion.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

worth $15 or less

SRS-XB12 02/09/2020 by stopcollectingmydata (USA)

the battery life of this speaker is absolutely useless. definitely does not play for 16h. even worse, after an 1 hour or so of loud music the speaker volume goes down to half the loudness in order to reserve battery. it’ll die about another hour after that besides that very annoying fact the strap is not only cute but also a necessity, u can not leave this speaker on a counter, table, bureau, etc. it’ll fall right off because when music is playing the speaker trembles and can not hold its up. u have to put it on a door knob of something apart from that the speaker does stay clean or is easy to clean i should say. the compact size is great for travelling. but i wouldn't reccomend this speaker to anyone. The Wonderboom is a much better product with all the same amenities and longer lasting sound and battery

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great for a few months, then battery tanked

SRS-XB12 01/09/2020 by ElGringoDecepcionado (USA)

PROS: I loved this speaker when I first bought it, it's surprisingly loud and it's amazing that it's waterproof/sandproof (great for the beach!). It's so small and perfect for traveling. CONS: It has this terribly annoying feature where the volume suddenly turns down to about 30% when the battery is low. Wasn't a huge deal at first because I could just keep it charged and avoid the problem, but the "16 hour battery life" quickly dwindled and dwindled. Now I can listen at full volume for about 30 minutes before it drops, making the speaker useless. I can't even hear it in the shower, where I should have maximum acoustics. The water is louder than the speaker!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Happy with purchase

SRS-XB12 31/08/2020 by LB85 (United Kingdom)

Bought this speaker to replace a previous which no longer holds a charge. Easy to connect to Bluetooth, handy carry strap and great sound. Pleased with choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Awesome sound

SRS-XB12 28/08/2020 by Shrek748 (USA)

For a small speaker Its got great sound. Crystal clear. Connection was easy. It's small enough to carry to carry around. Great product. Just recieved it today. It was on Malboro rewards. Took a chance and happy I did. I would recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing little speaker

SRS-XB12 27/08/2020 by WiggyLuke2019 (United Kingdom)

Have had the speaker for a few months now, am so impressed with both the sound and bass quality and also the battery life. Would highly recommend to anyone that wants a small portable speaker!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Perfect for on the go!!!

SRS-XB12 21/08/2020 by Rockhunter (USA)

I purchased this speaker because of it's small size. As an avid hiker I need to keep my pack light as possible so this was an obvious choice. The sound quality is outstanding, however, the speaker isnt very loud outside. At full volume, the battery lasts less then two hours. So I purchased a second xb12 to pair together and that did the trick for the volume issue. To solve the short battery life I simply plug them both into a usb charger I keep in my pack. Overall, I love these speakers. The sound is crisp and when paired with a second, it's even better! If you're looking for a speaker to take on the go, this is it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

SRSXB12/B 16/08/2020 by Chark (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased my Sony speaker a couple of weeks ago for my IphoneX. It has a great sound for such a small speaker. Its easy to carry around and has a super battery life. I highly recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for outdoors

SRS-XB12 11/08/2020 by Steve_W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this unit a couple of weeks ago to use outside in the summer days were having to spend at home due to Covid. Great sound, good size to carry around, easy to connect to my phone. All round a really good unit for sitting outside

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good sound from a small neat speaker

SRS-XB12 05/08/2020 by Red16 (United Kingdom)

Just received this today & really impressed! Great sound, easy to use & looks good too. Nice to have a choice of colours. I got the blue one which is smart looking. Very portable. Happy with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Love it!!!

SRS-XB12 02/08/2020 by JN76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the speaker a month ago - quality sound, easy to use and great battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0