42

4.3 based on 42 customer reviews

25
11
1
2
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

43 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent Quality

SRS-XB22 11/12/2019 by Nessa 14 (United Kingdom)

Brilliants sound from such a compact speaker totally recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little speaker

SRSXB22/B 05/12/2019 by Rose63 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

good sound, easy to set up, like the style, feels sturdy - not cheap

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Looks great sounds great

SRS-XB22 04/12/2019 by Johnnymemphis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After many years of buying bose I decided to buy the sony XB22 speaker mainly because I had just purchased a sony mp3 player once I heard this speaker I knew I had made the right choice.great looking speaker.sounds just perfect

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Speaker

SRS-XB22 02/12/2019 by Grizwold (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good solid device with good solid sound. only minor thing is It won’t switch itself off when nothing has been played for 15 minutes. Apart from that I’m Rey pleases with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB22 30/11/2019 by WWilt (United Kingdom)

Bought today after trialing a friends, waiting now for delivery of my Sony Walkman as my original Walkman, still going strong but not able to add new music to my old one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound for it's size.

SRS-XB22 27/11/2019 by Leon206 (United Kingdom)

First bluetooth speaker purchase and I am very pleased with the product so far. Long may it continue to give an entertaining musical sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sturdy and good sound

SRS-XB22 26/11/2019 by Ja Ve Ja (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is very sturdy with great sound. Love the colour selection too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB22 12/11/2019 by Trevsky7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good value with a great sound waterproof and vibration proof Ideal for my caravan

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Really useful!

SRS-XB22 31/10/2019 by Suggy58 (United Kingdom)

Great little machine..... does what it says on the tin!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good Sound and compact

SRS-XB22 28/10/2019 by Tampers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well designed with excellent sound and build quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use.

SRS-XB22 23/10/2019 by Pinkgin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to use on holiday but the sound is so good I use it at home.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features & design

SRS-XB22 20/10/2019 by Cyrus1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works perfectly - very good sound quality - overall, pleased with the product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Solid product

SRS-XB22 12/10/2019 by Hemyockian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as replacement after failure of another similar product from different manufacturer. It is just perfect for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Features

SRS-XB22 06/10/2019 by Pedro21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and I've been using it on some yoga classes. It helps to ensure everyone can enjoy the sounds and music throughout the practice. It's also good - thou I have not tried yet - for photo shoots.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little boom box!

SRS-XB22 03/10/2019 by DJBry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a small Bluetooth speaker to take to the beach etc and something with good bass. This unit ticked all the boxes. In fact it gives my other docking station a good run for its money (Bose) and was a fraction of the price. I would definitely recommend the Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality bluetooth sounds

SRS-XB22 29/09/2019 by rollerdoc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I trust Sony products and the Sony brand.......and have not been disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB22 29/09/2019 by Mel03 (United Kingdom)

I just bought this and it was so easy to set up and has an amazing sound as well

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Where is the Extra bass

SRS-XB22 20/09/2019 by Salsaman (United Kingdom)

I purchased this based on the name extra bass only I cant find it anywhere. It would be better I think if the Bluetooth could be turned off if not needed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Sound - Needs some usability improvements

SRS-XB22 19/09/2019 by desktopUser (USA)

I bought this one week ago and have been using it 2-4 hours a day. The sound quality is good and is loud enough. You can have 2 fans on and it is still audible. Improvements I would really like 1. a 1.5A wall charger with 2m charging cable should ideally be provided with the unit. the cable provided is very small ( about 0.3 m ) also no charger is provided 2. No visual battery indicator . Instead of the mood lighting , a multi LED battery level indicator would be nice 3. I would like to use the Aux with my computer and bluetooth with my phone . but, to use the blutooth the aux must be physically disconnected 4. the detailed instruction says you should not charge and play at the same time which is a pain for using as a desktop speaker. Overall, it is ok - but with the 4 issues fixed it can be a good desktop speaker which we can carry as needed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Superb sound

SRS-XB22 19/09/2019 by IRBY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great for outdoors over summer battle between the kids who plays what

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good output for size

SRS-XB22 09/09/2019 by Cruiser2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this two weeks ago and happy with performance so far

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB22 07/09/2019 by Jennykj09 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great speaker, sounds great and the sound quality is excellent. The only problem i had was connecting to my other bluetooth devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I wanted!

SRS-XB22 07/09/2019 by Red Leon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a portable speaker for listening to Internet radio and music saved on my phone and this does the job brilliantly. It's really easy to connect via bluetooth, sounds great and is surprisingly loud ;o) All in all, an excellent buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound quality

SRS-XB22 03/09/2019 by Alan70 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Curry’s told me it would not work with my Sony tv but was greatly surprised when it worked

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Sound Piece Of Kit

SRS-XB22 01/09/2019 by Outlaw Pete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago in order to have a more portable way of listening to music and radio whilst away from home. The sound quality is great, and provides the extra bass sound that I love. The battery life is excellent and the device is fairly quick to charge. I find the party features a bit gimmicky and probably won’t use them much if at all, but if that’s your thing then they work well. Overall a very nice device and great value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well made, compact and easy to connect and operate

SRS-XB22 30/08/2019 by HiFiPaul1946 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit to complement my Mitchell and Brown Smart TV. Like all modern TVs the speakers in the TV are not good. This unit enhances the sound beautifully.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just Brilliant !

SRS-XB22 27/08/2019 by Justin71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of the sound is incredible, I am also impressed with its versatility, you can put it anywhere around the house, or out in the garden should you have friends round on a Saturday night for food and drinks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, low battery

SRS-XB22 12/08/2019 by JoRogers (USA)

Picked one up at walmart last week. The sound is a big step up from my last speaker, but I am only getting 3 to 4 hours of battery life, with the lights and live sound turned off

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Mine is not lasting. Long at all before discharges

SRSXB22/B 08/08/2019 by Moby51 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I traded a jbl for this and not sure if I made a good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Sound quality is great

SRS-XB22 07/08/2019 by Devesh (United Kingdom)

Nice bass with party booster feature.. loved it ..

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loud enough for outdoors

SRS-XB22 23/07/2019 by Melissa dawn (USA)

We have 14 bluetooth speakers in this house cause my husband has bought several and got a few at Christmas. I put in a pool this year and we live by a highway, none of our speakers were loud enough so I tested this one out at best buy and decided this was the one! Got home and tested it out and I didn't hear any traffic! Crystal clear sound and exactly what I need for a portable speaker! Dont let the price scare you off thinking another speaker made in a similar shape for less will be the same cause there not, you get what you pay for and the Sony sounds great! I'm so glad I bought this speaker. Hubby was MAD I bought another speaker and paid almost $90 untill he heard it! He chilled and now he is wanting to play with it.lol TOTALLY RECOMMEND!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, bass is beautifully balanced

SRS-XB22 15/07/2019 by XPOD8 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Immediately replaced all my old portable speakers with these, recommending them to everyone, the WPC & ADD function are brilliant, I need more for all round my house sound.. 10/10

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cracking portable speaker

SRS-XB22 14/07/2019 by Dan C (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not cheap, but worthwhile. Build quality great, sounds good and nice app functions

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact yet Capable!

SRS-XB22 12/07/2019 by iceman1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Size definitely isn't everything with this compact speaker with powerful sound, really pleased with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super product

SRS-XB22 09/07/2019 by tag21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased this product as I had used cheaper speakers before and wasn't impressed by sound quality . The Sony product is superb ; a quality piece of kit easy to use with class leading sound quality - well worth the money .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Hunk of junk

SRS-XB22 09/07/2019 by Bucks (Canada)

Battery lasts for an hour before volume is cut in half . Even when plugged in and over 50 % charge you get half the volume. Never will recommend or buy again Straight up waste of money hunk of junk Battery life is not nearly what is advertised Get something else Trust me

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/07/2019

Hello, Bucks,

We're sorry to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://helpguide.sony.net/speaker/srs-xb22/v1/en/contents/TP0002240450.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Philip

SRS-XB22 23/06/2019 by Philski (United Kingdom)

Pretty nice sound, reasonable price, good looking design

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sturdy and robust!

SRS-XB22 19/06/2019 by Baggieboy1 (United Kingdom)

The speaker arrived in a large box, at least double the size required, unnecessary waste. Speker comes with charging cable, instructions and guarantee. The instructions are not easy to follow. The speaker is sturdy and solid. Lightweight, portable and feels good. There is a 'live sound ' function, a 'Party Booster' function and a speaker phone voice assist function, all of which work well, although I did lose Bluetooth connectivity when using the live function. The sound quality is good, but lacks depth. It does not compare favourably to a JBL flip 4 portable speaker (a similar price bracket) or to a Sonos 1 speaker.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

1

7

0

Small Speaker box - Big on Power

SRS-XB22 25/05/2019  (United Kingdom)

The XB22 sound quality is excellent especially the Live option. Supports LDAC codec for even better Bluetooth sound transfer. Its good you can switch off the LED lighting when not required. The expected battery life of 10-12 hours lives up to its promise.Whilst only have the one its good than many more can be linked up to give an even bigger party experience. Overall Im extremely pleased by the sound, the build quality and the IP67 rating.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

1

0

0

Sony sound master, a must have companion.

SRS-XB22 24/05/2019 by smiffie (United Kingdom)

I've had this little unit for a week or so now and I wonder how I ever managed without it. With the radio player app on my smartphone I mostly listen to podcasts, the world service and classical music, 'I am of a certain age'. The XB22 provides perfect dynamic sound, especially in the engineering environment of my work and competes beautifully with background noise. My granddaughters, bless them. have put the XB22 through it's paces in an entirely different way! using it outside as part of their play. They love it and seem to understand how it all works without any difficulty. I find the method of changing the sound output a little fiddly with my big fingers and I haven't mastered the party boost tap. The girls on the other hand had no issues. They downloaded the Sony music centre app and had it all sorted for me in no time. All in all the XB22 is a loverly piece of equipment and I'm so pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

2

0

0

Take it everywhere. No worries!

SRS-XB22 23/05/2019 by Jordan Speakerguy (USA)

I recently got mine after having gone through similarly prices speakers annually. I take my hiking, kayaking, skateboarding, swimming, boating and every outdoor activity you can list, along with using it normally. The sound quality is impressive, especially when you fine tune it in the App, and also your phone sound settings. The NFC made pairing instant, and party mode is hilarious. I've dropped it in rivers, on concrete and more. It always performs perfectly. The sound for its price and size is unbeatable. It even edged out the similar JBL offering, which was a close one. It has many features for its value and I want more to pair together when Kayaking. Incredivle little speaker!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Lasted 3 months

SRS-XB22 11/05/2019 by JohnGP (Canada)

After 3 months it stopped charging no matter the cable and power supply. The first 3 months, the battery lasted less than 1 hour

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2019

Hello JohnGP,

We regret to know that you are having charging issues with this speaker, please check the link below and follow the steps provided to isolate the fix the issue:

https://helpguide.sony.net/speaker/srs-xb22/v1/en/contents/TP0002240443.html

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

I Wanted To Like It

SRS-XB22 15/04/2019 by CBS TrueConsumerReviews (USA)

I really tried to justify the feature to price ratio in this speaker. Unfortunately, it doesn't make any sense to spend $100 on what is simply a small bluetooth device. (No smart features[Google/Siri/Alexa]what-so-ever.) It only kinda really feels worth it, if you link it to at least one other Sony wireless speaker. Meaning you'll need to get at least 1 more Sony speaker and up to, but far from likely, 99 speakers The charging cable( only micro USB, not Type-C.) should be longer and there should be a charging brick in the box. If you're spending $100, you deserve to get a Sony brick. I personally believe this one should be at the XB15's price point.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

19