18

3.9 based on 18 customer reviews

10
3
1
1
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Far better than it should be

SRS-XB501G 13/07/2019 by bloopy (United Kingdom)

Just moved and wanted a simple setup while i get sorted. Hey ho this kind of replaces my full size hifi. The bass is really deep, there's a great spread of sound and it's such fun to use. Get your Google play songs uploaded and there you go. You can bluetooth or for better sound use google cst over wifi. It's just conveneient and the battery lasts ages so you can carry it around where you go. Totally recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No high quality bluetooth support

SRS-XB501G 26/05/2019 by ripper2020 (USA)

I was excited about this speaker as it's versatile - can be used in the home with the rest of your google cast speakers or taken on road trips using bluetooth. Every sony product I've purchased lately supports LDAC, so I didn't even check if this speaker supported it. IT DOES NOT. The best bluetooth codec is AAC, which isn't great. There is absolutely a noticeable difference in sound quality between casting to this speaker and using bluetooth. Also, it would have been nice to include an aux jack. I think the speaker sounds pretty good, but the lack of quality bluetooth codec is noticeable and I may be returning it. It would be a much more versatile speaker if it had an aux input and LDAC.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

18 Customer Reviews

0

Bad

SRS-XB501G 08/09/2020 by Kanghar (USA)

Bad ,the product did last as i expected for my personal entertainment and family used

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good, solid speaker

SRS-XB501G 19/05/2020 by carzjan (Canada)

Great speaker, great sound. Advertised as having 16 hrs of battery life....not even close. Just playing the tunes or podcasts, no lights -- I'm happy if I get 6 hrs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/05/2020

Hi carzjan, we are glad to hear that you are enjoying your speaker. Thanks to EXTRA BASS™ and LIVE SOUND mode, the SRS-XB501G lets you feel and hear your music like you were there. And with the Google Assistant built-in, you can manage everyday tasks and play your favorite tunes without lifting a finger. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Nah dont buy so disappointing

SRS-XB501G 17/03/2020 by D Oz (USA)

Bought over the Christmas 2019. When leaving in uncharged, even the power is off, still saying battery low. And the Usb-C charging doesnot work when the battery is empty, has to use the power adaptor. So inconvenient. Bass is ok. Sound is ok. Its loud. Just not happy with the battery and the charging issues.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

not Charging purchased less than 6months ago!!!

SRS-XB501G 20/02/2020 by Vegas02 (USA)

I hate Sony I bought this speaker less than 6 months ago and it’s not charging I’m guessing it’s the charger can’t find it anywhere not even the Sony website have to buy a third party charger. Will never buy a Sony blutooth speaker again!!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Bass

SRS-XB501G 20/01/2020 by Ramzey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with sound quality and design of this product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome speaker for the price and the features

SRS-XB501G 14/11/2019 by Mike 1980 (USA)

I purchased this on sale 3 days ago.previous to that I had some bose soundtouch 10 speakers in a stereo pair which quite frankly sounded weak and dull given the price I purchased them for. I am totally blown away by the sound quality without having to spend big bucks on crystal clear audio with great bass portability and Google assistant to boot.do yourself a favour and get this speaker.you wont be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

amazing sound

SRSXB501G/B 21/07/2019 by Tali561 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love everything about it I had the Harmon Kardon onyx 4 and sold it to buy this speaker I like the google assistant and how you can control Spotify without using the phone all in all good speaker and it’s gets a lot of compliments for its sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Far better than it should be

SRS-XB501G 13/07/2019 by bloopy (United Kingdom)

Just moved and wanted a simple setup while i get sorted. Hey ho this kind of replaces my full size hifi. The bass is really deep, there's a great spread of sound and it's such fun to use. Get your Google play songs uploaded and there you go. You can bluetooth or for better sound use google cst over wifi. It's just conveneient and the battery lasts ages so you can carry it around where you go. Totally recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

No high quality bluetooth support

SRS-XB501G 26/05/2019 by ripper2020 (USA)

I was excited about this speaker as it's versatile - can be used in the home with the rest of your google cast speakers or taken on road trips using bluetooth. Every sony product I've purchased lately supports LDAC, so I didn't even check if this speaker supported it. IT DOES NOT. The best bluetooth codec is AAC, which isn't great. There is absolutely a noticeable difference in sound quality between casting to this speaker and using bluetooth. Also, it would have been nice to include an aux jack. I think the speaker sounds pretty good, but the lack of quality bluetooth codec is noticeable and I may be returning it. It would be a much more versatile speaker if it had an aux input and LDAC.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

My first cool big speaker

SRS-XB501G 01/05/2019 by Dave Potato (Canada)

I like the all the lights, the live effect and bass mode, and how it can connect through casting instead of bluetooth. I'm guessing that saves on the phone battery. But I hope it doesn't consume more battery on the speaker itself because it will go from "about 60%" to "please charge" by the next time I use it, which really sucks. I don't blare it so I don't understand why the battery dies so quickly especially when not in use. Anyway this thing is a beast and has cool features like a more natural sounding live effect and customizable colours and white LED effects through the Sony app. Also works with the Google Home app but I don't need those on my phone so I don't use them. It's fine just working out of the box with bluetooth! I wouldn't reccomend this for home use because they have smaller ones with the same features that will probably have a battery that will last longer. Exact same features. My friend has one. These might be more for parties to keep plugged in the whole time which I don't like to do and it is a bit heavy although it has a handle. Those are the only reasons why. I highly recommend the smaller Sony light up bluetooth speakers for ease of use in the home and better battery life, presumably.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bass speaker does not work

SRS-XB501G 16/02/2019 by Macunc69 (USA)

Just opened up and set up. Only 2 tweeters work. Bass speaker has no sound

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

7

0

Great for parties

SRS-XB501G 01/02/2019 by MichaelA92 (United Kingdom)

It's a fantastic speaker and very loud with clear audio. I don't think it really portable as others because of its size, I just didn't expect it to be big as it is. But nonetheless it is a fantastic product that feels solid and top quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

8

2

0

Brilliant device

SRS-XB501G 01/02/2019 by Traveladdict (United Kingdom)

I received this item a week ago and what a well made brilliant device this is. I've always bought Sony products as they are of top quality and very reliable a very happy customer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

7

2

0

An all round performer

SRS-XB501G 28/01/2019 by AndyBuk98 (United Kingdom)

Have used for a few days and really impressed. From hard rock to classical, handles them all well. Bluetooth connection is a breeze, Google responds helpfully. From the great handle (helped get it out of the box on arrival) to the great sound, it’s been designed well.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

6

1

0

Another great piece of sound equipment Sony.

SRS-XB501G 27/01/2019 by golfdon1 (United Kingdom)

I have had the Extra Bass SRS-XB501G Version for five days now I have been using it a lot in that time, it was easy to set up to my wi-fi and my bluetooth devices. The sound is brilliant, especially the extra bass setting and also on live sound, it also has a standard sound if you prefer, and I love the design, it has a very good handle to carry it around also you can fix it to a tripod for those BBQ party's. I have used it all over the house without any loss of connection with wi-fi or bluetooth, also used it in the garden with no effect on connection to the product, ideal for when you have a BBQ in the summer or your working in the garden. The strobe lighting is a nice touch for BBQ'S and party nights it has different settings for the light setting you prefer, Google assist is very good I have had no problems with it, it has given the information I asked for without delay. The Extra Bass system is a nice piece of equipment that I shall be using it every day, and for those BBQ'S it will really impress your friends. I really recommend this product to anyone, if you love your music this is for you great sound quality, another great product from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

7

2

0

Brilliant device

SRS-XB501G 25/01/2019 by Duquey (United Kingdom)

So happy with mt product , top quality very reliable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Reliable and Fun

SRSXB501G/B 01/01/2019 by StrawberryXP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven’t had it for more than a month but so far I had a great experience with it. Having the Google assistant embedded makes the functionality even better and the sound quality is excellent too....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Good sound quality !

SRSXB501G/B 24/12/2018 by John612 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great bass sound! Google Assistant works well. Better than what I've expected.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1