14

3.4 based on 14 customer reviews

3
6
1
1
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Quality Sound

SRS-ZR7 16/01/2017 by DrJohn51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to expand a sound bar to make a 2.1 stereo surround system. It connects nicely on the bluetooth, but in order to also use headphones in the sound system the speakers disconnect, then when done with the headphones, re-paired to restore. Whilst it is easy enough to re-pair it is a faff. I think this is due to a limitation of the sound bar rather than the periferal speaker though

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound but difficult to connect to

SRS-ZR7 01/11/2017 by Seventysecond (United Kingdom)

purchased this 3 weeks ago and have mixed feelings. When it works it is a great sound but connection is difficult and intermittent. Well built and a quality made product, but just wish the connection was more reliable and easier. I have a Bose WiFi speaker and don't have the same problem, it was only because the Bose was too big to fit in the space we got the Sony as the second speaker and wish the Bose fitted

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

2

14 Customer Reviews

0

Love the solidness of it.

SRSZR7 07/04/2018 by Ron74 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased three ago and so far it's working great. Don't have home internet but a WiFi hotspot instead, and wasn't able to connect it to my hotspot. May be something I am not during right but do have it connected to my mobile bluetooth. Love it so far. Sounds like a complete stereo system. Doesn't quite have that muffle sound as some Bluetooth speakers do. Very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Connections5 sound esp mid/higher4 app3 instructio

SRS-ZR7 10/03/2018 by Boblu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it about 3 weeks ago. The shape and style means it fits in unobtrusively in most rooms, which is what we wanted. The sound is impressive for the size, especially mid and upper range. We play mainly classical so it took quite a while in the shop finding one without a dominant booming bass. Speech can sound muffled, but that seems to be a problem with these speakers generally, they aren't set up for that. The software provided is a bit clunky, the instructions are poor. It connects wirelessly via the app provided but after the days of hours of effort it still doesn't appear on any computer in the house as a device to play music through. You can do it, but always via the phone, not directly from the computer. We didn't want a speaker that you just control via a phone app or Bluetooth and this has more ways to connect then any other we found.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

0

0

0

Small but potent

SRS-ZR7 21/02/2018 by GOLDM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this speaker to enable my multi -room ability, sitting along with my CMT-SX7B Home Audio System. I have been really impressed with the ease of connectivity between the 2 components, and the quality of sound from this very small unit. It fills whichever room it is in with a very precise sound, and with plenty of bass to give the system some oomph! The only issue is that it is a shame there is no battery operation option. There is still a cable lead to trip over so whilst it is small and portable enough to move from room to room, the power cable is a restriction to final placement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor surround sound

SRS-ZR7 04/02/2018 by av8torguns (USA)

I paired this speakers with my NT5 sound bar and subwoofer which produces a rich quality sound. Problem is the wifi speakers volume is so low with normal sound bar levels that the wifi speakers sound like old cheap Kraco speakers. I did adjust the distance and level db setting with no positive affect. These speakers when used as stand alone speakers with your phone app is fine, you can turn the volume up for a nice sound. But again when paired with surround sound you can't even hear the bass in the speakers, the speakers sound hollow. Don't buy as surround sound speakers, major waste of money.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Great sound but difficult to connect to

SRS-ZR7 01/11/2017 by Seventysecond (United Kingdom)

purchased this 3 weeks ago and have mixed feelings. When it works it is a great sound but connection is difficult and intermittent. Well built and a quality made product, but just wish the connection was more reliable and easier. I have a Bose WiFi speaker and don't have the same problem, it was only because the Bose was too big to fit in the space we got the Sony as the second speaker and wish the Bose fitted

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

2

0

Very goog, but

SRS-ZR7 15/10/2017 by alexni (USA)

Very good product, but there are some little things preventing it to became an excelent one: 1. Volume "+" and "-" are not highlighted. And close to the volume buttons is "functions" button. If you push this button accidently (and it happens), you have to spend ~3 minutes to connet the speaker again. 2. When you switch on, the speaker don't remember the station and you have to connet the speaker again. 3. The speaker switches off after some time. And you again have to connect it to the station. Again time. Otherwise I like it much, especially that it has ethernet connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great Features and sound for the size

SRSZR7 26/08/2017 by dstevek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This speaker had all the features I was really looking for, from Wifi, DLNA, Bluetooth, and Chromecast Built-in. Sony quality is solid and the functions work great. The sound quality is impressive for the size of this speaker. This is a great shelf speaker for Google Play Music and Google Home assistance.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

NOT WIRELESS!

SRS-ZR7 19/07/2017 by Bradz (USA)

I bought this thinking it was a 'wireless' speaker as staded in the title, however it is not! You need to have the a/c cable plugged in at all times else it will not power on!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

35

0

Poor integration with other Sony products

SRS-ZR7 13/02/2017 by teddx_uk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this since Sony's website first said the product was compatible with the HT-XT3 soundbase for wireless surround sound, it isn't. Sound quality is mediocre. ARC connectivity with the TV is poor at best.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

15

0

Great sound

SRS-ZR7 02/02/2017 by Nickytoon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for Christmas great sound , have to reconnect blue Tooth quite often

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Nice standalone speaker

SRSZR7 19/01/2017 by Wardell (USA)

I bought this to accompany Sony 2.1 Soundbar and felt it was easy to set-up for BT or wireless as a stand alone speaker, but learned it cannot be used as the rear channel L & R channels of a surround sound system despite having two speakers internally... you must buy two ZR7's, which I felt was too costly - so I took it back for the ZR5's.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

4

0

Quality Sound

SRS-ZR7 16/01/2017 by DrJohn51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to expand a sound bar to make a 2.1 stereo surround system. It connects nicely on the bluetooth, but in order to also use headphones in the sound system the speakers disconnect, then when done with the headphones, re-paired to restore. Whilst it is easy enough to re-pair it is a faff. I think this is due to a limitation of the sound bar rather than the periferal speaker though

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great sound quality

SRS-ZR7 29/12/2016 by Al100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This speaker has excellent sound quality and was really easy to link to my other speaker. The multi room option is excellent!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great deep sound

SRS-ZR7 01/12/2016 by Frittas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this speaker for the dining room as a replacement for my old 2.1 Bose system. Great sound from such a small unobtrusive unit which fully fills the room.with music. Great control via my iphone5. Only downside is that it does suffer from occasional drop of connectivity which results in music stopping.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

6