Article ID : 00030458 / Last Modified : 11/03/2014

How to configure and use the System Restore feature.

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

The System Restore feature allows you to revert your computer back to the way it was at a previous point in time. This is an excellent way to fix various computer problems or undo any system changes that may have occurred since that point.

IMPORTANT:

  • Ensure that at least 200MB of free space is available on the system drive.
  • Remove all third-party hardware attached to the computer before performing a System Restore.
  • Disconnect from the Internet and close all open programs before performing a System Restore.

NOTE: In order for the System Restore feature to be able to work, you must first establish an initial Restore Point. Follow these steps to create a Restore Point .

Below are other ways to use the System Restore feature.