Article ID : SX505902 / Last Modified : 10/05/2018

What specific settings are reset by a Network settings reset in Android 6.0, 7.x or 8.0?

    When you perform a Network settings reset in Android 6.0 or higher, a number of features are restored to default. Affected settings are Wi-Fi®, mobile data and Bluetooth®.

    The Network settings reset:

    • Allows background data sync.
    • Clears mobile data limits.
    • Deletes all Wi-Fi® SSIDs.
    • Disconnects all tethered interfaces.
    • Forgets paired devices.
    • Removes all app data restrictions.
    • Sets network selection mode to automatic.
    • Sets preferred mobile network type to the best available.
    • Turns off Airplane mode.
    • Turns off Bluetooth®.
    • Turns off data roaming.
    • Turns off mobile hotspot.
    • Turns off VPN.
    • Turns on mobile data.
    • Turns on Wi-Fi®.

    Android 8.0

    To clear all connection data

    1. Find and tap Settings > Network & Internet.
    2. Tap the menu button (three vertical dots) > Network settings reset > RESET SETTINGS.

    Android 7.0, 7.1 or 7.1.1

    To clear all connection data

    1. From your Home screen, tap the Application screen icon.
    2. Find and tap Settings > More.
    3. Find and tap Network settings reset, then tap RESET SETTINGS.

    Android 6.0

    To clear all connection data

    1. From your Home screen, tap the Application screen icon.
    2. Find and tap Settings > Backup & reset > Network settings reset.
    3. Find and tap RESET SETTINGS.